Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The (Semi) Final Season...
The eighth season of "CSI: NY" opens with Detective Mac Taylor (Gary Siniese) absent from the CSI Lab, on a DNA ID project associated with the 9/11 attacks, while Jo Danville (Sela Ward) is acting head of the CSI lab, and newly-promoted police sergeant Danny Messer (Carmine Giovinazzo) is working the streets as a uniformed cop. However, viewers need have no fear; the CSI...
Published on October 23, 2011 by D. S. Thurlow

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Season But Image Quality is lacking
Season 8 has it's flaws creatively, but it is definitely one of the better seasons for sure.

However, the one thing that bothered me about this DVD set was the image quality. Compared to past seasons of CSI:NY and even this year's releases of CSI and CSI:MIAMI, season eight of CSI:NY has a noticeable dip in quality, possibly due to excessive image compression...
Published 22 months ago by Florian T. Boyce


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The (Semi) Final Season..., October 23, 2011
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
The eighth season of "CSI: NY" opens with Detective Mac Taylor (Gary Siniese) absent from the CSI Lab, on a DNA ID project associated with the 9/11 attacks, while Jo Danville (Sela Ward) is acting head of the CSI lab, and newly-promoted police sergeant Danny Messer (Carmine Giovinazzo) is working the streets as a uniformed cop. However, viewers need have no fear; the CSI Lab crew will be reunited within a few exciting episodes.

An early highlight of the season was a tasteful tribute to the 9/11 anniversary, as the characters discuss where they were when it all happened. Mac Taylor sheds some light on the fate of his long missing wife, while assisting an emotionally-damaged fellow public servant to face the day. A mid-season multi-episode thriller involves a case from Jo's past with the FBI, a serial rapist who resurfaces in NYC with disturbing consequences. In late season, Mac Taylor will hestitantly consider a relationship with a woman from his past as a police officer.

"CSI: NY" continues to provide its exciting blend of case-of-the-week criminal investigation in the unique environment of New York City, while delving into the lives of its characters. Mac Taylor will have to make a difficult decision on returning to the lab, displacing Jo Danville, who will find an ocassion to tell Mac that she adores him. Danny Messer runs afoul of Internal Affairs while on the streets, and wonders if he can remain a cop at all. Detective Don Flack (Eddie Cahill) will try to reconnect with a troubled sister. Medical examiner Dr. Sid Hammerback (Robert Joy), Detective Lindsey Monroe (Anna Belknap), Detective Sheldon Hawkes (Hill Harper) and lab rat Adam Ross (A.J. Buckley) all get a little time in the spotlight as the season wraps up. The season finale, a highly effective and moving episode, was filmed before the cast and crew knew they had been renewed for a ninth season. Highly recommended to "CSI: NY" fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Season But Image Quality is lacking, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
Season 8 has it's flaws creatively, but it is definitely one of the better seasons for sure.

However, the one thing that bothered me about this DVD set was the image quality. Compared to past seasons of CSI:NY and even this year's releases of CSI and CSI:MIAMI, season eight of CSI:NY has a noticeable dip in quality, possibly due to excessive image compression. Some images are blocky (artifacting) and some jagged images (aliasing) appears in some of the action/tracking shots. I know that this problem isn't because of my equipment, as I own (and tested) the other CSI shows and seasons on the same gear with no other problems.

A curious problem to an otherwise great DVD set.

If this sort of thing doesn't bother you (and admittedly, after two episodes or more, your eye adjusts) by all means get the this set; CSI:NY is a wonderful show. However, its image quality does hurt the overall presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Persons bureau...., July 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
CSI:NY continues to amaze its avid followers with the uncanny brilliance of mixing science and criminology. The characters grow and mature as personalities instead of tropes. Gary Sinise remains at the helm, and his trusty associates are Carmine Giovinazzo (in a wheelchair this year after a gunshot wound to the spine), Anna Belknap, autopsy expert Robert Joy, funky A.J. Buckley who adds much of the humor when necessary, the every bright Hill Harper, and the amazingly handsome and trustworthy actor Eddie Cahill. Now Sela Ward has stepped in to attempt to fill the shoes worn for so many seasons (2004 - 2010) by the beautiful and talented Melina Kanakaredes, who is a very much-missed member of the team for many reasons. The scripts remain tight and intelligent and the pacing of the show never misses a beat. This is television series at the highest level. Nice to know it has been picked up for another season. If only Melina Kanakaredes could slip back in from missing persons....Grady Harp, July 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of memories, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
There is a bit of memories for me in every DVD. I was born and raised in NY. It is a shame that the writers and directors ended this series. I see quite a few spots where the series could continue. Oh well, make money, but don't think about your audience or their wants. Just put out trash and cancel the good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, November 19, 2012
By 
Monica (Fruitland, ID, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
Not my favorite series anymore. Somehow the characters are no longer real. I have a lot of admiration for Gary Sinise but even the story lines are faky anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, July 21, 2014
By 
Lucy "Lucy" (Richardson, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
We started watching CSI NY from the pilot show and it was sometimes right on sometimes not so much. Pretty much like any tv show. Great actors can take a so so plot and make it at least acceptable. My husband and I found CSI NY to be one of the shows that really showcased the actors ability to do just that. We had watched season 8 when it was on prime time and wanted to see them again. We are glad that we did. Lots of little details that we did not catch the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CSI NY: Season 8, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
I have the entire collection now. One of the best sets I have ever brought. No regrets here. All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CSI: NY - I started since the begining of the series and l like it a lot., June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
Even though some the artists change thru the entire series it maintained the interaction among characters. It also maintained the Spanish audio and/or subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York lives, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
I love this series (CSI:NY) and in my opinion this Season is the best one. It was very powerful to begin the series with the 9/11 disaster. It was also good to put a face to Mac's wife as it helped to understand their relationship and how Mac had to let it go and move on. I love each and every character on the show and feel that Jo has really cemented her place as a dominant member of the cast. If you love both good acting, good stories and crime solving, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great season, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CSI: NY: Season 8 (DVD)
was very happy to get this seaon in the mail i am disabled so watching tv is my life and i love this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CSI: NY: Season 8
CSI: NY: Season 8 by Eric Laneuville (DVD - 2012)
$29.98 $21.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.