Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transition Year
Season 2 of CSI: New York is a transition year. The show no longer is as dark as it was during its first season, the storyline involving Mac Taylor's mourning of his wife's death on 9/11 has disappeared, Dr. Hawks is now in the field, instead of performing autopsies, and Aidan Burn is fired and replaced Lindsay Monroe.

The producers seem to have stuck to the...
Published on September 18, 2006 by David Solomon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good show not the best season
love the show but the first season was a bit slow for me after watching the other csi's. gets better as the show goes on.
Published 23 months ago by Anna L Terwilliger


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transition Year, September 18, 2006
By 
David Solomon (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 of CSI: New York is a transition year. The show no longer is as dark as it was during its first season, the storyline involving Mac Taylor's mourning of his wife's death on 9/11 has disappeared, Dr. Hawks is now in the field, instead of performing autopsies, and Aidan Burn is fired and replaced Lindsay Monroe.

The producers seem to have stuck to the CSI formula for 2/3 of the season to allow the dust to settle. The last few episodes bring in some interesting character developments: the sexual chemistry between Danny and Lindsay, the relationship between Danny and his brother, the wrapping up of the rapist storyline, Stella having a relationship with a man that turns violent, and the revelation of a lighter side to Mac.

In all, Season 2 is a good year of cases and glimpses of what direction this show wants to go in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Season 1, and remains the Best CSI of the complete CSI franchise, June 16, 2007
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
CSI:NY has been going on for the past 3 years and still ramains my favourite show ever. Season 2 is much better than season 1. more violent, better cases and much more exiting. set in the the great city, New York with crimes happening here and there. CSI: NY to me is the best CSI of all three CSI shows and the best crime show. I can't wait for season 3 on DVD.

Description:

"CSI: NY" has several good things going for it compared to the other "CSI" shows. First off, it is fast paced. From the opening moments you're thrown right into the story and it never lets up until the end. That keeps things from ever dragging out unnecessarily. Second, you're able to jump into any individual episode without having seen any other episodes. However, they still manage to give some characters more personality and running storylines through several episodes. This makes them a little less wooden than some of the characters on other "CSI" shows. Finally, the cast is one of the best of the three shows. Gary Sinise is one of my favorite actors and it's always a pleasure to see him in the show, especially supported by a strong cast. This year adds a new face to the mix with Anna Belknap as Detective Lindsay Monroe.

While standing apart from the other "CSI" shows, it still features what makes all of them appealing. You still have bizarre murder cases, flashy special effects, and dramatic cinematography. Each episode looks like a mini-movie and is very stylish. It keeps that "CSI" look and feel while giving it a New York touch. There's also an interesting crossover with "CSI: Miami" and a guest appearance by David Caruso.

If you're a "CSI" fan or if you love murder mysteries, then this is required viewing for you...unless you have a weak stomach.

The bonus features are spread between several discs which makes them a bit tedious to access. However, what's here should make fans happy. "Top of the Heap" discusses Season 2 in general and the changes made from the first season. "Rolling with Jamalot" goes into the making of the "Jamalot" episode and the roller derby action. "A New Look from the 35th Floor" gives a detailed look at the lab set from the show along with the executive producer. "Behind the Scenes - Heroes" isn't a look at the NBC series, but a look at the second to the last episode of the show. It features the return of Vanessa Ferlito as Detective Aiden Burn in a unique cameo related to the running storyline in the show. Finally, "Season 2 Ends with a Bang" covers the season finale and the big explosion featured in it.

Starring:

Gary Sinise as Detective Mac Taylor
Melina Kanakaredes as Detective Stella Bonasera
Carmine Giovinazzo as Detective Danny Messer
Hill Harper as Dr. Sheldon Hawkes
Eddie Cahill as Detective Don Flack
Vanessa Ferlito as Detective Aiden Burn
Anna Belknap as Detective Lindsay Monroe
Robert Joy as Dr. Sid Hammerback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SEASON OF DRAMATIC TURNAROUNDS, October 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
The series' sophomore season comprises a lot of surprises and twists for some of the show's regular cast members, and includes some intricate plots as well. Crimes include a murder in Grand Central Station; an apparent homicide in the zoo; karate killling corporate execs; the return of Aiden's elusive rapist; Aiden's exit from the series; a twist in Stella's love life with Frank; Danny's gangster brother's brutal beating; and a bomb that puts Flack's life in danger.

Gary Sinise, Melina Karakanedes, Carmine Giovinazzo, newcomer Anna Belknap, Hill Hunter, Eddie Cahill, Robert Joy and A.J. Buckley all turn in competent performances and even though the music for this season was more annoying than beneficial and even though the forensic scenarios a little too long, CSI NY remains a great entry in the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season two is a powerhouse!, January 23, 2007
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
The CSI powers-that-be re-tooled CSI New York after a disappointing first season. What a difference! A program that was somber, dark and obssessed with post 911 themes is now loaded with suspense, crackling dialoge, clever plotlines and bright colors. One of the main characters was dumped in an excellent ongoing storyline that eventually concluded tragically at the beginning of season 3. While CSI and CSI Miami are suffering from trite plotlines, CSI New York has blown past them in creativity. Highly, highly recommended. Episodes are beautiful in widescreen and the extras are fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a series to watch again and again, January 18, 2007
By 
Maria Karol (thessaloniki,Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
Placed in the mood of New York rhythms,this second season is as good as the first one.Each case is interesting and different than the Las Vegas and Maimi series.An all time classic for the fans of action combined with science!Too bad there are no subtitles available in the features because all foreign viewers as well as people with hearing problems really have a bad time understanding the story.(that's why 4 stars and not 5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the three (3) C.S.I. series!!, January 11, 2007
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
Good DVD and some good extras, think season 2 is where this series starts to hit it's stride!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSI: New York - The Complete Second Season, August 26, 2011
By 
Lori Graves (LOS ALAMOS, NM, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
CSI: NY is my favorite of the three CSI series. It's gritty, but weaves in snippets of the key players personal lives. Love it, love it, love it. When you throw in the crazy boyfriend of Bonasera...excellent 2nd season. The first season seemed too grey and impersonal, but once they moved everything out of the tomblike atmosphere it became a much better show.

I own 5 of the seasons and will completing my purchase of the rest of it, when they go on sale again. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Few Changes But Sill Concentrates On The Crime, February 10, 2010
By 
Craig Connell (Lockport, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
These stories were just as varied as the first season and maybe even a little bit more suspenseful That's the slight "plus" to it; the slight "minus" being the absence of "Aiden" (actress Vanessa Ferlito) quit the show. However, newcomer Anna Belknap is fine as "Lyndsay.").

Otherwise, CSI-NY continued to have the least amount of soap opera material of the three CSI shows, and I appreciated that. After it is a crime show, so I liked the fact that the NY guys stuck primarily to solving the crime. The only character in which I noticed a change was Melina Kanakaredes (" Det. Stella Bonassera)who began showing more skin and acting a little edgier. Thankfully, was zero change in "Det. Danny Messer" (Carmine Giovinazzo) who is always the most likable guy on the crime-solving team.

Overall, a solid show and the best of the CSIs at doing one thing - concentrating on the crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No sophomore jinx for the follow-up season, September 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
This CD set continues the successful first season and perhaps is better because the supporting characters have more dimension this time around. Vanessa Ferlito is on board for a few episodes then is dismissed for tampering evidence and replaced by Anna Belknap, a forensic expert from Montana. Gary Sinise and Melina Kanakaredes again do the heavy lifting and work well together and the entire cast is very good. There are six CDs and each has four eposides and 2 through 6 have an added special feature and behind-the-scenes looks. As with the first season, this set has no Spanish sub-titles, which doesn't make sense at all, given the ethnic make-up of New York City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, February 2, 2007
By 
Frode Skag Storheim (Austmarka, Hordaland, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: New York: Season 2 (DVD)
When I bought the first season of CSI:NY, I had never seen an episode of the show, but my intuition told me this was the right thing to shop. And I was very satisfied with it.

I've now watched some of the episodes of the second season, and I just like this show more and more. Especially because of the brighter colours, the certain amount of character development and the gallery of characters.

My advice to all of you is: By the second season of CSI:NY! You won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CSI: New York: Season 2
CSI: New York: Season 2 by A. J. Buckley (DVD - 2006)
$22.99 $13.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.