Customer Reviews


423 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (129)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redefining the genre? No, but a treat for horror buffs.
One of the things that makes Cabin Fever a genuinely fun outing for horror fans is the cast and crew's obvious enthusiasm for what they're doing. Even without viewing the entertaining (if rather short on substance) "Making of" featurette, you can easily tell that the film was a labor of love with a game cast. While the extras don't shed much light on the film's progress...
Published on January 28, 2004 by skytwo

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from scary but still fun as all get out...
Inspired by the recent review of a fellow Ammy friend I decided to take another look at this quote unquote horror movie. `Cabin Fever' is not a scary movie. It's camp. But when you watch it for the funny film that it really is then you can start to appreciate the movie. It's not a spoof either though, and one must realize that. This is not a movie that makes fun of...
Published on October 31, 2007 by Andrew Ellington


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from scary but still fun as all get out..., October 31, 2007
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
Inspired by the recent review of a fellow Ammy friend I decided to take another look at this quote unquote horror movie. `Cabin Fever' is not a scary movie. It's camp. But when you watch it for the funny film that it really is then you can start to appreciate the movie. It's not a spoof either though, and one must realize that. This is not a movie that makes fun of the horror genre ala `Scary Movie' or `Shaun of the Dead' but is one that embellishes unrealistic situations to a point where it comes off funny instead of dreadful. Yes, director Eli Roth inserted moments of purposeful humor (like the much discussed `Pancakes' boy) but the film is really a quote unquote serious attempt at horror with comedic undercurrents that tend to take over.

The plot is nothing new to the world of horror. It's somewhat like `Deliverance' with a skin virus. You have five friends who decide to retreat to a cabin in the woods for some fun and relaxation only to find anything but. Instead they are greeted by some strange residents to the area and then, later on, by a man dying of some flesh eating virus that he in the process of pleading for help passes along to the five friends. As they slowly die alone in the cabin with no one willing to help them they turn on one another as the bleakness of their situation starts to set in. This could have gone the route of the recent `Bug' and become a more psychological film that delved into the insanity of desperation but instead it decided to go a tad (or more than a tad) overboard. The cast of characters, especially those the five friends encounter, are so clichéd and stereotypical it's unbelievable, but that's all in good fun.

The acting is decent, but then again the film really doesn't call for the actors to act. The scenes are set up for them, the dialog is handed them and they just do their best not to get shown up but the outrageous happenings around them. I remember growing up watching Rider Strong on `Boy Meets World' so I was thrilled to see him in this movie. It's not like the film does him much justice, but then again it's not like I have anything aside from `Boy Meets World' to judge this against so for all I know this is the extent of his talent. Joey Kern is decent for what is required of him, as is Jordan Ladd. James DeBello is just downright obnoxious and annoying but when taken into context is actually quite funny. Cerina Vincent is just utterly gorgeous, enough said.

So in the end `Cabin Fever' is not a film to take seriously but is a film that, when taken for what it really is, is sure to entertain. My wife has never seen this because she's not too keen on scary movies and when I told her it was hysterical she looked at me like I was crazy. Then she watched it with me and she understood. So, if you're looking for that horrifying film to chill you to the bone then find something else to watch, but if you want a good time that is sure to gross you out as much as make you laugh then sink your teeth into this film with reckless abandon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redefining the genre? No, but a treat for horror buffs., January 28, 2004
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
One of the things that makes Cabin Fever a genuinely fun outing for horror fans is the cast and crew's obvious enthusiasm for what they're doing. Even without viewing the entertaining (if rather short on substance) "Making of" featurette, you can easily tell that the film was a labor of love with a game cast. While the extras don't shed much light on the film's progress from unsellable script to most-hyped horror film of 2003-- which would undoubtedly have made for a fascinating story-- the movie is (almost) enough of a delight to make up for it.
Cabin Fever takes pretty much every convention of "classic" drive-in horror films of the 70's, and manages to make them look new again. Curmudgeons may say that it's nothing more than a Scream-esque parody of horror movie chestnuts, but the approach is really quite different. Instead of self-conscious winks to the audience, the walking cliches of Cabin Fever seem to enjoy playing their roles to the hilt, with performances that are as much tribute as spoof. One of the most entertaining aspects of the film is that the lead characters, each a counterpart of a 70's-horror staple, are almost uniformly unlikable. Instead of counting on us to hope that the smug hipster, the ice queen, and the obnoxious jock manage to escape the killer's clutches, we can finally enjoy seeing them get what we thought they deserved all along. I mean, did anyone REALLY identify with any of those too-good-to-be-true high school superstars?
Cabin Fever won't have you leaving the nightlight on, although it does boast some solid shocks. It might be a bit of a letdown for fans of gore, but for my part I'm thankful that the more intensely violent moments were off-camera. Otherwise it might have been too dificult to watch.
The most striking thing about the film is its big-budget look. The directing is confident, the performances are strong, the effects are convincing, and the photography is excellent (unlike most of its ancestors). The DVD transfer's color is glorious, and the sound really fills a room. It belies its independent origins every step of the way, right down to the Angelo Badalamenti score (the composer's hilarious account of his involvement with the film is one of the featurette's high points). In most ways, the pricey DVD release doesn't disappoint. Most highly recommended to horror fans with a sense of humor.
Note: the DVD also includes several short claymation features by director Roth that star a fruitbasket of British rockers who spend most of their time causing mayhem and squirting their own juices over everything in sight. A pleasant enough addition, but they aren't really anything to get excited about. Other features include the clever-yet-useless "Chickvision" option, and a short called "Pancakes" that shows just how much fun the creators were having with their project. Although when the subject grows up, he just might sue them for defamation of character.... The five(!) commentary tracks could probably have been boiled down into just one or two, but their easygoing tone adds to feeling of good-natured fun that went into the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Much Else, August 26, 2010
This is being marketed as a director's cut exclusively on Blu-ray. After watching the original dvd and now the Blu-ray there isn't much difference. The unrated aspect is not really any more gore, but an extra second hold on the already existing scenes. There is really nothing there. The extra stuff in the director's cut is mostly extra dialog which does not add or take away from the movie. I was really hoping there would be more insight into some of the questions I had from the first watch such as what was in the box the hillbilly was carrying. This was not answered. Also I wanted to know about the guy in the bunny outfit in the hospital scene. The movie didn't answer the question, but I did find the answer online. It is a homage to the man in the bear suit in the Shining. The bunny man is holding pancakes by Dennis. The Blu-ray does contain an all new commentary by cast and crew. Not worth picking up if you already own the original dvd, but a fun quirky horror movie to grab on Blu-ray for the first time buyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Karaoke Horror Film..., April 8, 2004
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
The reviewer who described this film as a 'Karaoke performance' was right on the mark. Roth - the director - is merely an imitator, an homage-merchant, and this film's skeletal structure is unashamedly taken directly from films like "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Evil Dead", "The Hills Have Eyes" and, to a lesser extent, "Night Of The Living Dead" and "The Blair Witch Project". And the substance (the meat) of this film is precisely along the surrealistic lines of David Lynch's style of direction - which would explain why also some reviewers may see similarities to the original surrealist film makers, the Italians -- i.e., Bava, Leone, Antonioni, Argento, etc.

However - like Karaoke - this comparison does not make the film fully unentertaining or without its own original qualities and merits. The film is very well done, very well scored, very well choreographed and shot; convincingly gruesome and despairing; and the acting is precisely as it should be - downplayed and reflective of these types of characters, even though NOT ONE is likeable in the least way, and will be the dominant reason you'll wish to stop watching the film. 'Course, concerning the latter, most (not all) horror films produced after the 1960s had leading characters that the audience were not sympathetic to, which makes me think that this aspect of 'Cabin Fever' was also intended by its director.

The only thing that separates this film from the other films it imitates is its antogonist: a flesh-eating disease. However, despite this difference, 'Cabin Fever' is no different than the other films that are seen through the 'killer's' eyes; and the viewer will be along every step of the way, knowing precisely what will be coming next, and giving the few suprises the film holds in store all that much more impact by comparison.

I don't think this film is deserved of anymore than 3 stars, but I also don't think this film is deserved of any less than 3.

'Cabin Fever' is the best film of its kind: a reflective homage to a few inspirational and highly popular 70s/early 80s independent horror films. It's simple, darkly humourous, grotesque, disturbing, horrifying (to those who still know how to be horrified), and lots of fun. 'Cabin Fever' doesn't pretend to be anything else, so don't expect anything else.

Recommended for fans of 'Evil Dead', 'Return Of The Living Dead', and 'Dead End', as well as horror/comedies in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Cut in Beautiful HD!, February 18, 2010
Keep in Mind If you enjoyed the Super Loaded DVD of Cabin Fever with the 5 Audio Commentaries
Hold on to the Standard DVD

This BR is a Completely Different version
Unrated Director's Cut with A New Audio Commentary (Which is Cool for the Director and Cast to do A New One for BR Fans)
Great job more Studios should do this for the HD Format

Lionsgate did A Great HD Transfer
The Audio rocks DTS-HD 7.1

The Film itself is One of the Better Indie Horror Films in the last 10yrs.
It's a Strange Combination of The Crazies, Night of the Living Dead, The Blob, The Stuff, The Thing, and Evil Dead!
With plenty of WTF Moments, Oddball Charters and Plenty of Blood, Gore and Nudity
The Shaving in the Bathtub scene alone is a Must See But, it's so hard to watch!
For those who never seen it I highly Recommend viewing it Once
It's very Unique

A Must own BR for any Horror Fan! 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cabin Fever Blu-ray, April 6, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The DVD is filled with many behind the scenes extras that are fun to watch.

If you like campy horror films filled with profanity, nudity, college kids and blood and gore then this movie is for you! I'm not a huge fan of these films but I occasionally check one out. 5 college kids are out to take a break from the stress of finals and enjoy their summer at a cabin in the woods.
They should have stayed at a Motel 6 (lol). I don't want to spoil anything so
if you like Friday the 13th meets Texas Chainsaw massacre then this film is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cult film, maybe, but not horrifying, October 12, 2009
By 
Wuchak (Eastern USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
2002's "Cabin Fever" was Eli Roth's film debut; he would go on to make the 2005 horror hit "Hostel." "Cabin Fever" has become somewhat of a modern cult film due to its eccentricities and Roth's later notoriety.

THE PLOT: Five college youths -- 3 guys and 2 girls -- take a cabin vacation in the sticks of NC where they are threatened by a bloody skin disease. They soon discover that the local reservoir is contaminated. Can they make it out alive?

I should point out that this is a heavy 'R' picture; Roth was tired of what he called the "watered down PG-13" horror films of the studios, and refused to compromise on the violence, nudity and cussing, insisting they were essential ingredients to an '80s-style horror film. Essential ingredients maybe, but such things can't make up for overall ineffectiveness. I simply don't get what's so great about "Cabin Fever." The plot is good, as are other items, but the film leaves a lot to be desired, unless of course you're not looking for much intelligence or authentic horror and just want a fun, quasi-horor experience. Or maybe you have to be a "true horror aficionado" to appreciate it, whatever that is.

WHAT WORKS:

- I admit that the main reason I bought this disk is the beautiful Cerina Vincent. She was only 21 when the film was made and it shows. As good as she looks in "Cabin Fever" she's far more gorgeous in later films like 2006's "Sasquatch Mountain" and 2005's "It Waits," where she's more curvy with a fuller mane.
- The picture's eccentricities are enjoyable, such as the weirdo party-dude deputy, the inbred karate boy (who looks like a girl) and, especially, the part where we're led to believe an old shopkeeper is prejudiced against blacks until we discover the truth at the end; that was a good one!
- I like the early Fall backwoods North Carolina photography.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK:

- The biggest problem with "Cabin Fever" is that it doesn't take itself seriously. Isn't this supposed to be a horror film? Well, how can the viewer be horrified when the filmmakers keep telegraphing that it's all a joke? If we can't take the story seriously, we can't take the horror seriously either. Suffice to say, the story could have been horrifying but it's not. What we're left with is a somewhat entertaining flick with horror trappings, but no real horror. By contrast, the remake of "Dawn of the Dead" was successfully horrifying because the film (and filmmakers) took the subject seriously.
- Some say the five protagonists are unlikable, but this isn't really true. They act like typical college youths trying to have a good time on vacation. What's not to like? What is a turn-off, however, is their over-the-top cussing. Don't get me wrong here because I actually prefer realistic cussing in the films I view; in other words, I prefer that the characters talk like people in real life. In light of this it's very rare that I would complain about cussing in a movie. But, here, it's just total overkill. Now, someone may defend it on the grounds that people would likely cuss a lot in such a horrific situation and I would agree, but the characters overdo it well BEFORE anything horrific happens. Maybe the cussing overkill is part of Roth's joke: "Let's go ultra R-rated and overdo everything that's watered-down in a PG-13 film." Regardless, this approach makes his protagonists sound like morons who have no right to step foot into an elementary school English class let alone be seasoned college students.

BOTTOM LINE: "Cabin Fever" is worthwhile for a number of reasons, particularly the fact that it has "cult film" written all over it, but if you're a horror fan expecting to be horrified you're wasting your time 'cause it's pretty much a big joke. Sporadically entertaining? Yes. Truly horrifying? Not at all.

GRADE: C- or a weak 3/5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, Bad Execution, February 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
Disease is usually good bait for film directors trying to stay original in the horror genre, and there are plenty of good examples of films which depict disease to good results. Cabin Fever starts out just like any slasher flick you used to see in the 80's, a bunch of teens going to stay in the woods. The only problem is they forgot to hire talented teens to play the parts. About a half hour into the movie we started to laugh out loud at just how terrible their performances were. Overall, the movie does have its' moments (especially towards the end) and could make for a decent RENTAL. Do not buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What says b better then Shawn Hunter from Boy Meets World as the star?, October 26, 2008
By 
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
Cabin Fever is somewhat of a cult classic that has been floating around since 2003. With the amount of b horror we've seen over the years it may be suprising we haven't checked this one out. Undeniably it has b potential all over it, especially when you have Rider Strong and Cerina Vincent as 2 of the key roles. Cerina is a joy to look at but couldn't act her way out of a paper bag. She was definately thrown in there to keep your attention as she does in about 100 other b horrors. This film is also an early work of rising writer/director Eli Roth which lets you know it's going to be a very over the top gorefest, which we usually aren't crazy about, but figured it works well being the Halloween time of year. Since it was on tv why not go for it?

The film starts off with a group of college grads who are looking for one last getaway before they enter the working world. Paul(Rider Strong), Karen, Bert, Marcy(Cerina), and Jeff head out to a remote cabin in the woods to kick off the party. They get a nice bonfire going and start to tell a very b story about a murderer who wacked a bunch of people then bowled with their bodyparts when they are interrupted by Eli Roth who makes a brief cameo. He is a total freak and only gets offered to chill once they find out he has a giant bag of doobage (oh yeah!). It's about the rain and he says he has to run to his tent real quick and will be back to smoke them out in about a half hour. As they eagerly await his return inside they get a knock at the door. Once they open it they are greeted by Harry the Hermit whose skin is falling off while he begs for help. The juice machine Bert freaks out shutting the door saying no way to letting him in for fear they will get whatever he's got. Since they don't let him in Harry the Hermit jumps in the car and tries to steal it. So whats the only logical thing to do? Jump out of the cabin with a golf club, bat, and shot gun and tear apart your own car (1 star earned). It was one of the most bizzare scenes but very hilarious. So as they freak telling Harry to get out he starts puking up blood all over the car. They finally get him out and somehow set him on fire where he goes running off into the woods. Oh the laughs were plentiful!

The following day 2 of the guys decide to find a mechanic since they trashed their own car. They are unsuccesful but do get a visit from an officer who was checking out the place after getting a disturbance call. For some reason he shows up the next day instead of when he gets the call but hey it's b. This cop is a total loser and is obsessed with partying. Paul tells the cop their car was attacked by a crazy homeless guy and thats it. The cop ignores the fact that the entire car is covered in bloood and the investigation ends with the cop saying he'll come back to party with them. Now that the cops gone the good times roll once Karen starts showing strange signs of being sick. It starts off with a crazy looking flesh eating rash on her leg which makes everyone freak out. And being the great friends they are they make her stay out in the shed so they don't become infected. From here on out the remaining crew does everything they can to stay healthy and work hard on getting the car fixed to get Karen to a doctor. By time they get the car running Bert takes off once he shows signs of the virus. He drives to a general store and becomes part of on of the top 5 strangest scenes we have ever scene. Some kid on a bench sees him and screams "PANCAKES!" over and over again then starts doing karate moves as he approaches. Once he gets up to Bert he bites his hand. No sure what any of this meant but it was very entertaining yet disturbing all at once. Bert then becomes hunted by some local hicks who fear he may spread the virus and wind up taking him out. One by one the rest bite the dust. It was all because the guy they set on fire jumped into a lake where he died contaminating the water supply. This then spread it throughout the group and appeared that it would affect the rest of the town after some kids have do a lemonade stand with water from the lake.

Cabin Fever really lacked in many departments but was a fun watch from a b standpoint. The acting is some of the worst we've seen in a more mainstream film. You really don't feel bad for the characters except the chick they dump in the shed. The rest of the film is filled with laughs and confusion. We can't give this one a strong recommendation but will say it may be worth it for some laughs. If you're a gore lover you should really like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, January 13, 2005
This review is from: Cabin Fever (DVD)
Worse than wasting my money at the theater, worse than wasting my money on a rental, I wasted my money by buying this crappy movie on DVD. This movie brings absolutely nothing to the campy/slasher/horror genre that's original, and its "respectful" nods to other successful movies in the genre fall flat and are disgraceful. This is another example of why you shouldn't listen to the mainstream industry critics. They praised this movie and it came with above average reviews. Honestly I haven't been this disgusted since the movie "Ghost Ship".

Anyway, if you haven't figured it out yet. This movie is about five teenage/college aged kids who go on a camping trip to a secluded cabin in some redneck infested woods. By the way, I feel that true rednecks out the there have a legimate shot at a lucrative lawsuit for the way this movie portrays them. Continuing, a hermit stumbles into the camp with a gross skin/lung disease and all hell brakes loose after that. Nothing and I mean nothing in this movie is belivable, coherant or entertaining. The characters freakout and panic to the point of ridiculousness. In any horror movie the characters are expected to make a dumb mistake or two. Mistakes that you see coming and you wish you could slap some sense into character, but this movie would leave a nub on the end of your arm if you tried to keep up with the mistakes.

The only thing that I could remotely praise about this movie is the acting job by the main characters which wasn't too bad. Other than that the plot/theme was unoriginal, the gore was at ridiculously pointless levels, the support characters (IE rednecks) are cursed with the worst dialogue I could ever imagine, any "respectful" nod to the great existing movies out there and/or any of the tried-and-true cliches are horribly managed, and the attempt at humor and jokes reflect the mind of a very twisted and weird individual (whoever the screenwriter is), at the very least the person would have to be the lamest nerd ever.

In conclusion, the movie as a whole tries to be a blatant nod to Sam Raimi's Evil Dead series, but in more ways than can be imaginably possible it fails. I could grab a couple of friends and a camcorder and come up with better amateur content than this movie has. Maybe that's why big studios should leave the campy horror genre to the amateurs who made it good and fun to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cabin Fever
Cabin Fever by Eli Roth (DVD)
$9.98 $9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.