Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$29.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 23, 2013
The publisher Taschen has provided this classic work in several editions that differ in quality, number of color plates, amount of material and price. The book was authored by Seba and edited by Musch. This review compares the three most common editions.

The most expensive is "Albert Seba's Cabinet of Natural Curiousites", 'Taschen: first edition edition' (Jumbo) contains all four volumes and is listed on Amazon for $499 and up with 635 pages at 17.6 lbs.

Less expensive is the "Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (The Colored Plates 1734-1765)",'original Taschen edition edition' It is listed for $97.50 and up and has 415 pages at 6.2 lbs.

The least expensive is sold as "Cabinet of Natural Curiosities/Das Naturaleinkabinett/Le cabinet des curiostes" 'Taschen: 25 edition' There are two extra authors who are not listed on the other editions. The book is a mix of English, German and French. The color plates are better described as pictures, albeit very good ones. It is listed at $23.12 and up, 416 pages and 6.8 lbs.

There are other less common editions; one is a paperback poster portfolio, another book has 14 framable prints.

I would ask the seller for specific details on the book they plan to ship to you. The more expensive editions use higher quality paper, the binding is sturdier and the plates are sharper. However, reviews make it clear the book is treasured regardless of the edition people buy.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
I believe the reason this book is so inexpensive is that the printing is off. The colors are very dark and brash, which just ruins the delicate quality of the drawings for me. I'm surprised there were so many good reviews - I would have sent it back immediately if it wasn't a pain to. To give some perspective I own a lot of books with botanical reproductions, and have done some printing myself - I can definitely tell that the printing does not look right.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2011
A huge book of illustrations, including birds, insects, botanicals, coral, sea life, and more. Perfect large-scale coffee table book. Definitely a quality product for the price.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2012
I have been wanting this book for a long time, but couldn't find an affordable copy. This edition is just gorgeous. There is an older edition that has a prettier cover, in my opinion, but this one is quite lovely for the reasonable price. This is a very large, heavy book. It's lovely on a coffee table where it's handy to through while enjoying your coffee, or you can do as I did and put it on a tabletop easel. It is, after all, like a work of art. It's easy spend hours enjoying all the interesting drawings inside. If you were in desperate need for some art for your walls, you could even (oh horrors!)cut up the book and frame some of these stunning pages. Well worth the money, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2011
This book is breathtaking. It's from Taschen so you know it's going to be the best illustrations, paper, covering, etc. The price is unheard of as well. This book probably originally sold for $200 dollars, so this selling for $26.39 with free shipping is hands down a must have. You will not be disappointed in this book, absolutely perfect :)
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I was very pleased with my purchase of this book. It is an oversized, heavy, well-bound book, with beautiful images. Being a long time admirer of the more expensive version, this more budget-friendly, condensed version did not disappoint. It contains all of the same images but instead of each image being a full page, some pages contain more than one image. The beauty and the information is not lost, there are many many full page images. I did not have issue with the coloration of the pages either. If you are buying the $25 version of this book expecting the $400 version of this book; you are setting yourself up for disappointment. If you are buying this book to add a beautiful book to your collection than you should be pleased!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
If you like the divine , arts , culture,humanities ,
the curious , wonderful surprises that
await inside these two covers : Taschen never
lets you down. Their bookstores are wonderful and
"Amazon" gets discount prices from the publisher.
This book is the Albert Seba's 1665-1776 collection
of natural specimens and its pictorial inventory.
Take a journey back in time when "learned men"
collected natural specimens and recorded them .Seba was
an apothecary and collector in Amsterdam.
If you want to connect with a man from 400 years ago
and bridge the human gap of knowledge
and delight in seeing the passions of past times
you will like this book .Every plate is worthy
of being framed. This is an heirloom you can pass
on to your children or wait until it is out of print
and sell for more $$ than you paid.
If you like botanicals, zoology: you will enjoy this
great collection of many species that are no longer on this earth.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
This book holds a great arsenal of images and characters. Very inspiring for those who are involved with design, or illustration, and of course people who are just curious with what nature has to offer.
The execution of the drawings is amazing, and the print quality is good.
I can just stare at each page for a long time.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
As I stated in the packaging review , the book arrived as scheduled. The issue I have with this book is that it is supposedly brand new . If this is true then why the big fat thumb print on the actual book front ? The red ink is smeared onto the cream background. There are other issues outside but the inside of the book is beautiful....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
I like this book, but I'm not totally wild about it. Something about the illustration style doesn't really do it for me. Still, I'm glad I have it. The images are large and captivating, and there's a nice variety of subject matter on display. The print quality is good, and the construction of the book itself feels good as well. I'd encourage aesthetically picky buyers to take a look at a few of the images before buying. I do wish it had a dust jacket, though, since the cover has a linen-like texture that seems like it will collect dust and get dingy over time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse