Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cal Ripken, Jr.'s HOTHEAD is a cool read for young and old
When you are trying to get young people to read, the best thing in the world you can do is give them a book about something they love and can relate to. With HOTHEAD by Cal Ripken, Jr. and Kevin Cowherd they have done just that.

The book takes you into the experiences of Connor Sullivan, a young man who pushes himself harder than anyone else and has the...
Published on May 21, 2011 by Cyrus Webb

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars HOTHEAD
BAD BOOK TOO PREDICTABLE. Worst book I have ever read don't read it. Don't spend it time on it it's boring
Published 15 months ago by Gunnar Eyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cal Ripken, Jr.'s HOTHEAD is a cool read for young and old, May 21, 2011
This review is from: Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead (Hardcover)
When you are trying to get young people to read, the best thing in the world you can do is give them a book about something they love and can relate to. With HOTHEAD by Cal Ripken, Jr. and Kevin Cowherd they have done just that.

The book takes you into the experiences of Connor Sullivan, a young man who pushes himself harder than anyone else and has the tendency not to take not reaching his own expectations very well. The result is a string of incidents that could threaten everything that he is working for and do more harm than good.

For individuals who love sports--regardless of your age---you will find this book easy to read and devour it up because it speaks to what you know about the game of baseball and those who play it. For readers like myself, you are definitely fall into the storyline, wondering what will happen to someone with so much potential and promise. Will he lose it all or learn how to keep his emotions in check?

I applaud Ripken and Cowherd for penning this book that is just what we need when it comes to not only telling a story that is very much true to life regardless of what your passion in life is. We all are faced with being our own worse enemy. Using sports as the bait, though, I feel the guys will also get individuals to pick this book up that would probably not be interested in another type of read.

Yes HOTHEAD is a cool read for young and old, regardless what your personal interest might be when it comes to the game. The storyline will be enough to keep you going until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take me out to the ballgame, April 1, 2011
This review is from: Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead (Hardcover)
'Hothead' is a book that is more than a young person's reading. Those who love baseball and are Cal Ripken fans would enjoy this. It is a story about a first-rate young ballplayer, Connor who suddenly has become a hothead and faces the prospect of getting thrown off his team if he cannot control his tantrums on the field.
There is more to learn here than good sportsmanship. Connor's father has lost his job and even though he has a loving family and friends, tensions are high. We learn the value of friendship and confiding in them - many others have lost their jobs too. This of course is also a lesson in good sportsmanship.

Cal Ripken with Kevin Cowherd, a fine sports writer with the Baltimore Sun have written this book that many young, as well as older readers can identify with, whether they play ball or not. It is an example in what was called the Oriole Way in Ripken's playing days. It is not just about baseball though, but life, school, and friends.
It is written for ages 8-12. Younger baseball fans might enjoy having it read to them, as would those older adults that do the reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, August 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead (Hardcover)
I am 28 and play ball 5 day of the week. Big Orioles and Cal Ripken Jr. fan as well. I bought this book just to add to my baseball book collection but read the book because I had it. I too am a player than can have a bit of a temper and this children's book helped me put a few things I do during games into perspective. Long story short I think this children's book will help me as an adult on the ball field by controlling emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 year old son loved it., April 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead (Hardcover)
We purchased this book for our 10 year old son. He isn't an avid reader, but is very into sports, particularly baseball. We thought this book would be a good read for him. He finished it in no time and plans to read it again. He loved the book, the characters, and the lessons learned. He couldn't stop talking about it. We would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead (Hardcover)
good book for kids with temper tantrums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Head, May 22, 2014
Connor Sullivan is an All-Star shortstop on his Babe Ruth team, the Orioles. His fielding and hitting are super-good and out of this world. But he has one big problem. He has a temper. Some folks call it an 'attitude.'
When things don't always go his way he throws a fit by slamming down his batting helmet or throwing his glove. Soon his teammates are fed up and avoid him. Even the coach is ready to kick him off the team. To make matters worse with money problems at home Connor might not be able to attend the prestigious Brooks Robinson Baseball Camp that summer.
When Connor finally realizes that he must clean-up his act he wonders if it's too late to regain his teammates trust not to mention play in the prestigious baseball camp.
Keeping a 'cool head' is very important for every young baseball player, especially if he or she desires to maintain the trust of his teammates. Using his former major league baseball experience, Cal Ripken, Jr. shares with baseball fanatics an intriguing, exciting baseball story. Marvin P. Ferguson, author of THE UNKNOWN BASEBALL PLAYER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These books always save me money and time. This is an excellent book for elementary school children. My son loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you like sports, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was good if you like baseball. it is worth your time if you like baseball. the professionally baseball at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book was really funny and good. cal ripken jr did amazing on the book. I strongly reccomend to anyone who likes baseball and humor. He blew the book out of the park (baseball pun). The worst part of the whole book was when you finish hothead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GIft, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was bought for my nephew and he likes it. I like how the series shows different aspects of sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead
Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars: Hothead by Cal Ripken (Hardcover - March 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.