Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, dependable
My 9-year-old son is very hard on backpacks -- he rides on them, throws them, and even occasionally uses them to bring his books home for homework. When his last one expired, I looked around for a backpack that might last through Elementary School (2 more years after this one). I think this one might do it. The handle seems a bit wobbly when extended but seems to hold...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Charles K. Summers

versus
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design for the Carry Handle Retainer
So, the backpack itself so far seems well made. Zippers haven't torn apart, nothing has ripped, etc. It also is fairly roomy, as all of my son's books and lunchbox fit inside, along with a sweatshirt and hat and gloves.

As a backpack, my son reports that it's fairly uncomfortable tho. Which is not unexpected I guess given the structure required for the carry...
Published 24 months ago by John Jablonski


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design for the Carry Handle Retainer, March 10, 2013
So, the backpack itself so far seems well made. Zippers haven't torn apart, nothing has ripped, etc. It also is fairly roomy, as all of my son's books and lunchbox fit inside, along with a sweatshirt and hat and gloves.

As a backpack, my son reports that it's fairly uncomfortable tho. Which is not unexpected I guess given the structure required for the carry handle.

Now for the really detailed portion of the review....

After about a week of being lugged around by a 10-year-old boy, the handle came completely out of the backpack. Rather than sending it back for a replacement or refund, I opted to take it apart and fix it. The carry handle is very poorly retained to the bottom stopper. The handle itself is fairly thin aluminum, and there are only two tabs bent in to hold the bottom plastic stopper in place. Needless to say, after a few tugs, those weak tabs broke off, allowing the handle to come out; the plastic retainer stays in the inner tube, which is screwed to the backpack.

After disassembling the handle assembly (a total of 5 screws), I took a slotted screwdriver and hammered several significant sized divots into the bottom of the handle, driving the aluminum into the plastic stopper. The handle assembly should now be "permanent," as I significantly deformed the tube, driving it into the plastic. It is now much more robust than the as-shipped design. (If I can I'll upload pictures.)

I didn't go below three stars despite the handle falling apart within the first week because the pack itself seems well made, and because the handle was able to be disassembled and repaired/improved.

To CalPak: I suggest you improve your retention method to the bottom stopper. It shouldn't be too hard to make a simple tool to better press the two pieces together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, dependable, February 22, 2011
By 
Charles K. Summers (Alta Loma, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 9-year-old son is very hard on backpacks -- he rides on them, throws them, and even occasionally uses them to bring his books home for homework. When his last one expired, I looked around for a backpack that might last through Elementary School (2 more years after this one). I think this one might do it. The handle seems a bit wobbly when extended but seems to hold together well -- just loosely joined. The zipper has survived some good jams and the fabric has made it through mud, rain, and fights. For the price range, this is a good backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and nice looking backpack, September 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is very nice wheeled backpack. It is in very good quality build, and the design and color looks good. However, it is bigger than I expected. I think it is little bigger for kids under 9. This size is suitable for high school kids.

After all, I am still very happy with my purchase. I give it 5 stars and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small for big textbooks!, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this bag better for grade school children because I bought this for my college textbooks and they will not fit well! I tried putting in 2 big textbooks (about 400 pages each) and that's all it will fit. If it's cramped in there, then the bag tilts over and falls down. Not good quality for college students or for larger textbooks. It's not roomy inside at all. I would have bought a different one if I had known. However, the zipper works fine and the handle is alright. Nothing is broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sturdy backpack, August 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i bought this wheeled backpack for my son...he love it. he carry a lot of stuff in school and fits all in this bag. it looks great and sturdy. so happy i bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good!, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have been quite pleased with these backpacks. We have purchased 3, one for each of our children. The handle is easy to raise and lower, the main compartment is sufficient for school books and the wheeled bottom is reinforced. The side mesh pockets were not sufficient in size for our reusable water bottles, which was a bit of a disappointment as they have already ripped, but having tried a couple of other packs first and returning them quickly (one broke same day!), this one seems to be the best for our needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A broken bag, November 9, 2010
By 
Connie Wing (Kowloon, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would like to complain about the quality of this bag. My son 5th grader, started using this bag. It was broken after 3 weeks. Then, when I tried to make a complain that the manufacturing company, they are even charging a fee to make a return. Totally unreasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great rolling backpack!, May 22, 2013
By 
MK (Pleasanton, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Durable material; lightweight; compact and nicely looking design; wheels and handle feel quite sturdy.

*Does not have a laptop compartment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good........., December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Santa brought this item for my 9 year old daughter who wanted a school bag. It is a good solid bag with plenty of room for all her books, folders, lunch box, etc. Due to the weight of her books she wanted a wheeled bag and this fits the bill perfectly. However, as it's less than a week since Santa brought this bag, and as she won't be back at school until Jan 10th, I will have to reserve judgement on how it holds up to daily usage until later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars we can only sell you the spare part you need Best Regards Warranty Center, July 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beware CalPak does not allow warranty if you buy from Amazon. The handle broke within a week and this is the response I got from CalPak.

Warranty Department <warranty@calpaks.com>
Unfortunately our warranty does not cover Amazon customers due to certain agreements the store has with the company, we can only sell you the spare part you need

Best Regards
Warranty Center
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

California Pak Impactor 18 Inch
$120.00 $46.79 - $51.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.