Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all who wander are lost...
For me, Californication has always been a story about the real, and not just real people, but REAL everything. Everything that happens on this show I could very well see happening in reality, especially given the setting in which it takes place in. And that's one of the many reasons why I love it and why I can connect with it on a personal level. For the majority of the...
Published on September 1, 2011 by David Matthes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Only have of the episodes on each of the 2 discs were viewable.
Not a product in good or excellent condition. Only half of the total episodes were viewable. The other episodes would not advance. Waste of my money.
Published 18 months ago by Emily Costa


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all who wander are lost..., September 1, 2011
By 
David Matthes (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
For me, Californication has always been a story about the real, and not just real people, but REAL everything. Everything that happens on this show I could very well see happening in reality, especially given the setting in which it takes place in. And that's one of the many reasons why I love it and why I can connect with it on a personal level. For the majority of the show and its seasons thus far, Californication has mostly taken on a dark-comedic edge and while maintaining a serious edge throughout its plot threads, most of the time we're left laughing hysterically at the insanity the characters fall into(most of the time at their own faults).

Season 4 changes all that. And it does so near perfectly. This season takes a turn for the worse in that Hank faces the real-life consequences for his actions in prior seasons, and if anyone knows anything about character development and progression of story, a pivotal point in every story's duration is the point in which the characters feel truly lost and all hope has failed them. That's essentially what Season 4 has to offer. It's a dark time for Hank, and doesn't offer nearly as many laughs as Seasons 1 through 3.

So for anyone who's walking into this season with high expectations, you should still have them; this show is still as genius as ever, just take it with a grain of salt. It may take a few viewings to fully grasp that you're watching a drama moreover a comedy this time around. Can't wait for Season 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Show, October 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
This show is so Brilliant, original and keeps it real. Just when you feel like "I want that life", the writers (and actors) give a 'real-does' of reality. This is what happens in real life and that is why I am a big fan of the show and all the cast members. Season 4 is great and I am so happy it is now available. I also want to thank Showtime for airing this show. They are the only True network for entertainment. All the other shows offered on Showtime air are great too (see the website and you will find out). So get all the Californication seasons and watch from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Downward Spiral Continues, December 12, 2011
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
The train wreck that is Hank Moody's life continues to hurl ahead at full speed in the fourth season of Showtime's raunchfest, Californication. The latest installment in the chronicles of the deeply flawed author finds him dealing with statutory rape charges stemming from an encounter with Mia way back in the first season. One of the great things about this show has always been how its characters are haunted by their past transgressions and its good to see the series getting back to exploring this theme after the largely consequence free romp that was season three.

The twelve episodes of this latest season are wildly entertaining and often jaw droppingly vulgar (see the story arc involving Charlie and his realtor for further proof of this), but they are also frequently shot through with sobering flashes of sadness, regret and heartache. For every fling that Hank engages in and every bit of booze and drugs he consumes, a part of the man he desperately wants to be seems to drift farther away. What's most tragic about this is that Hank knows it's happening but seems unable or unwilling to make the changes needed to become the person he truly wants to be.

Yet Californication continues to brilliantly convey these themes in the guise of a series that is loose, fun and endlessly amusing. It conveys an effortless sense of cool and good times, even though things are falling apart beneath the surface. Just like Hank Moody himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season yet!, September 15, 2011
I've watched the show from the beginning and let me tell you this, Season 4 makes the difference. I think, disaccording with the reviewer before me, that Season 4 gets really deep into the Hank Moody character. You watch it and judge yourself. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babe rating: 10, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
TV has proved such a let down that I now eschew plot, theme and character development and focus on laughs (intentional or not) and the presence of many and varied hot chicks. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show and season 4 was one of the best, May 27, 2012
Hank Moody pretty much never gets old. I would highly recommend any season of this show as they are all tremendous. Great lead character and David Duchovny does an awesome job of portraying him. Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Continued Travails of Hank Moody, October 30, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
I just finished watching Season 4 of Californication and although in my opinion not the best of the seasons, it is still filled with many laugh-out loud, outrageous moments that will keep die-hard Hank Moody fans begging for a 5th season. The 4th Season is primarily focused on Hank battling against accusations of rape pending from his escapade with Mia. His best friend and agent Charlie is getting along after being separated from Marci and is attempting to sleep with 100 women before he dies---problem is he is only up to #11 when the show starts. As the season progresses, you start to feel as if the show is getting slightly old and that if it is to continue it may need a radical makeover. The development of Hank's character as tragic starts to get tired, his moments of self-reflection old, and you continuously wait for some sort of big "bang" to happen to jolt you and Hank and the rest of the characters out of a bit of a slumber. Without giving away the ending of Season 4, I will say that it is not as dramatic as the previous seasons although does involve a ride into the sunset by both Hank and his ex-wife and daughter---although not in the same car. A good but not great or memorable season for Californication lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Closure to an Impressively Compelling Show, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
Californication ended with a BANG and not a whimper in it's 4th season! This season still packed alot of punches to it in it's self-aware parody of the man that would rather have an awkward morning than a lonely night. Before I knew of this show, I had not come across a show this realistic, yet hilariously original in a long time, & I doubt I will again for even longer! If this truly is the last season as they say, you will be greatly missed Hank Moody. I would say more, but what's the point? If you people aren't interested & watching this show 100X more than GLEE, then the apocalypse has already happened and you're all dead on the inside anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly awesome, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hadn't heard of this show until I found it on Amazon, then became hooked. It's smart, sexy, and clever. It really is LA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all good!, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication: Season 4 (DVD)
This series as a whole is incredible it has always exceeded my expectations. The characters are amazing! The story always takes a wild turn. It really knows how to make you feel for the characters and want them to be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Californication: Season 4
Californication: Season 4 by Californication (DVD - 2011)
$39.98 $29.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.