Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far and away the best show on TV!
I can't talk about this show enough. It's just genius. The dialog pacing is flawless and the humor timing is spot on.
Seriously, David Duchovny is Perfection! David Duchovny's delivery has the timing of a master comic actor and his portrayal of Hank is winning.

This show has it all. It has made me laugh, cringe, smile, cry, and yes, best of all, kept me...
Published 20 months ago by R. Castro

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Season 5.. yeah... I watched it...
It was the worst season yet. Tired and lazily written. Seasons 1 though 4 were edgy, funny and always seemed to have a creative direction.

This was chocked full of homie slang and thuggery, boring twists and lots of yawns.

Don't get me wrong... it had the potential for greatness when Hank got seated next to such a beautiful woman on the plane. Things...
Published 18 months ago by Jason Nobody


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far and away the best show on TV!, November 13, 2012
This review is from: Californication: Season 5 (DVD)
I can't talk about this show enough. It's just genius. The dialog pacing is flawless and the humor timing is spot on.
Seriously, David Duchovny is Perfection! David Duchovny's delivery has the timing of a master comic actor and his portrayal of Hank is winning.

This show has it all. It has made me laugh, cringe, smile, cry, and yes, best of all, kept me thinking about each episode long after the credits have rolled.
This is a David Duchovny showcase and he is iconic but Natacha (Karen), Madeleine Martin (Becca), Pamela Adlon (Marcy) and Evan Handler (Charlie Runkle) are AWESOME too. And I'm in love with Stu too.:) Season Five is my favorite because this show is getting better and better each season. I loved RZA (Samurai Apocalypse) and Megan Good. I've never laughed so hard.

The soundtrack is epic.

Lots of gratuitous sex and drugs and rock and roll and hilarious situations. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, September 19, 2012
This series is amazing, and show time gives it a new spin each season, keeping us on our toes on how this will all come together. I think this is one of the best series out right now and I hope it lasts as long as possible. I want to see a good story from the series, and I haven't lost any interest yet. Californication live strong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Season!, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show is so tantalizing, funny, naughty, and damn right ridiculous. Once again the writers have given the viewers a roller coaster ride of a a season, and boy what a climax in the last episode. I can't wait for season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fugget the Critics~, December 22, 2012
This review is from: Californication: Season 5 (DVD)
I almost decided against buying this season because of the critical reviews on here... then I realized I could buy an episode to stream and see what I thought. I ended up buying them all! This season is great! I just love it! The relationships between characters are some of the most real, riveting, challenging, honest, surprising, and keenly observed I've ever seen! Duchovny delivers his unparallelled and constantly revelatory performance as Hank with all the skill and timing of a master. The supporting characters are the punctuation that breathe infinite life into the story line. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Season 5.. yeah... I watched it..., December 26, 2012
By 
Jason Nobody (Uniontown, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was the worst season yet. Tired and lazily written. Seasons 1 though 4 were edgy, funny and always seemed to have a creative direction.

This was chocked full of homie slang and thuggery, boring twists and lots of yawns.

Don't get me wrong... it had the potential for greatness when Hank got seated next to such a beautiful woman on the plane. Things could have progressed in a very different and interesting direction. But they didn't.

Later that day, they conveniently meet up at the thug rapper's mansion. "Oh, you again?" What a coincidence.

Yawn.

There are so many more story lines in which Hank's character could have been introduced to such a woman other than the tired "watch out for my angry, jealous, gang banger, criminal boyfriend who hired you". As if there aren't any other interesting black guy character types.

The ending was so terrible I couldn't believe I watched it completely.

Hey... it's just a show right? A premium show that I spent hard earned money to buy. I choose what I spend that money on and if Hollywood wants to keep getting that money... I'd recommend putting a little more thought and effort into this stuff.

Huge fan... but this season was a real let down. You feel me G?

Stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication Season 5 (Amazon Instant Video)
I find this show fascinating, and at times depressing. I just got around to watching season 5, and there have been changes in the lives of the characters. Looking forward to finishing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a fantastic show!!!, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication Season 5 (Amazon Instant Video)
The show continues to give even in it's fifth season!! Can't get enough of it! David Duchovny is a brilliant actor and perfect in this role!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny and continues saga well, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication: Season 5 (DVD)
so far it keeps up the tradition of outrageous and funny relationships among the characters. we've watched half the season and it keeps us interested just as the previous seasons did. we love this show!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it and I hate it, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Californication: Season 5 (DVD)
First and foremost I must say that I watched this season, in its entirety, in one sitting, as people are wont to do in this modern age. That being said, I think this season was a season of new beginnings for Hank Moody. I loved the time passing between season 4 and season 5. I believe the Mia (sp?) arc had run its course (the fans of the show know what I'm talkin 'bout). My beloved series needed a revitalizing shot in the arm. However, I am a human being, and change is hard for me. So, not everything about this season was as charming as previous yearly installments. There are several moments that jar me, but not quite enough to disrupt my suspension of disbelief. Old side stories continue, but the new side stories (nanny and Kali, fo sho) did not charm me, to say the very least.
I will say that this season is not without its charm. The revisiting characters, themes, and tropes (oh my) are what keep me coming back. More Moody? Yes please.
(***Oh so minor spoiler) On a final note, this season like the previous seasons does not give Hank the happily ever after he claims to want so dearly. Instead, it gives him merely a glimpse of the house with the white picket fence. Oh well. There's always next year to see how deep the rabbit hole goes. Pour me another whiskey, bartender (top shelf, please).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On auto-pilot, but running on fumes..., January 1, 2013
This review is from: Californication: Season 5 (DVD)
I think all fans can agree that Season 1 & 2 of Californication are by far the best. There was something more than
just sex & drunken debauchery. Like character development & intelligence lurking beneath stupid actions.
Season 3 was the nadir. The absurd school teacher plotline of Hank's affairs w/ stripper student, TA, & head of college all at the same time was idiotic. Then Rick Springfield & Kathleen Turner really made things worse. Season 4 was a bit better, & now Season 5 is about the same as 4. Except the sparkle is gone. The 2 - 3 years Hank was supposedly back in NYC are skipped over completely (& that might have added some fresh ideas). Instead, he goes right back to LA where everything is pretty much the same. This time-jump is handled in a sloppy manner, as if the producers just don't care.

How many more times do we have to see Charlie Runkle walk around bare-ass naked, or jerking-off to porn? How many times do we have to see him having sex w/ ridiculously beautiful women half his age? He would have to be a major movie director to pull that off, not just an agent w/ a nice house. Tom Kapinos has gotten into a rut like Judd Apatov with catch-phrases. The first time you hear "man-gina" it's kind of funny, but the 10th time, not so much. Rapper "Samurai" doesn't add much to the proceedings beyond a vague, stupid plot-device about Hank writing his "Santa Monica Cop" movie. Amazingly, it's actually a relief when Rob Lowe's character reappears toward end of the season. Marcy's marriage to Hollywood producer is boring, un-funny & sometimes just gross to observe...

I still watched the season because the Hank Moody character is still a funny screw-up. But you can predict everything, like the annual flashback episode to when they first moved to LA (but look exactly the same age).
I hope they end this series really soon, so we can remember the great writing, verbal jabs (& sex & debauchery) from the first two seasons. Maybe Hank could die having sex & then they give him a Viking funeral. Either that, or get Larry David to write the scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Californication Season 5
Californication Season 5 by David Duchovny
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.