Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Fun especially online
I was shocked to see there was as many people playing this online as there is you never have to wait for a game to get enough players.
Sure its not as good as the console but keep in mind what you are playing it on.
Published 22 months ago by James Brewer

versus
108 of 141 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shameless half baked cash in by Activision...
First of all, I always respect other peoples point of view when it comes to taste, that said... I really, really don't understand why people are 4-5 staring what is a total embarrassment of a "call of duty" game..

PROS: It gets the job done when it comes to graphics and controls, there's some fun to be had with multiplayer when you can actually play a...
Published on November 16, 2012 by raul mendoza bojorquez


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 141 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shameless half baked cash in by Activision..., November 16, 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
First of all, I always respect other peoples point of view when it comes to taste, that said... I really, really don't understand why people are 4-5 staring what is a total embarrassment of a "call of duty" game..

PROS: It gets the job done when it comes to graphics and controls, there's some fun to be had with multiplayer when you can actually play a game.

CONS: Everything Else, from the laughable "single player campaign" the hugely broken multiplayer experience (even after the huge 300+ mb patch)the non existent AI and glitchy sound (wear headphones and you'll hear the cracks and pops) the LONG load times on multiplayer...you get the picture.

After playing this game for a few days I am hugely disappointed and I feel suckered in to spending 50 dollars on a product that is half baked and extremely rushed to the market to capitalize on the hype behind Black Ops II that ended up being an insult of a game to us call of duty fans.

Activision promised us a single player campaign that would bridge what happened between black ops to black ops II, what did we get? a poor man's unit 13, with 10 missions, yes 10 missions!! that take between 2-10 minutes to finish, what did activision do as an excuse to extend the life of the "campaign"? well they upped the difficulty level on the hard setting to a ridiculous cheap degree and didn't add checkpoints between missions so you would have to start over from the beginning of the mission and thus taking more time to finish the game with all the missions 3 starred, but play it on the easy level (one star) and you can finish this under an hour, oh and leveling up on single player is also pointless because you can't transfer it to multiplayer (wtf?).

What about multiplayer? well.. if you manage to get connected and play a game, it's not as bad as the single player, but you only get a handfull of maps (Six) and they are quite small, I ended up spawning right in front of the enemy every now and then which resulted in an instant kill as you can imagine that it is very annoying when that happens.

Like I said, I don't understand why people are raving about a half baked, unfinished product that sells for full retail and to add insult to injury activision even charges a 10 dollar premium over the standard 39.99 price for a Vita game because it carries the call of duty name because they know this horrible game will sell.

Sony was counting on Assassin's Creed Liberation and this game to do what Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7 did for the 3DS last year, Assassin's Creed wasn't an amazing game, but it was above average, you can tell the developer put it's heart into it.... but declassified ? this game is just trash. I hope Killzone, (which is actually being developed by Guerrilla, the actual developer/creator of the franchise, declassified was developed by Nihilistic a company known for producing below average games, why activision choose them to develop a game for one of the biggest franchises in the history of gaming is beyond me) shows us how its done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, December 13, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This game is a complete waste of money i am so dissapointed google the reviews of this game they all suck.The campaign was the worst its only 45 minutes long.I suggest you save your money and get uncharted. The multiplayer in this game sucks do not buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so game, February 20, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Kind of hard to get used to using joysticks and touch at the same time. Hard to multi task at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The difficulty level makes this game mediocre at best., January 6, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (LEHIGH ACRES, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I found myself not playing this game after the initial awe wore off. The game is extremely difficult and there are no save points so If you die you go all the way back to the beginning of the map. Frustrating and not worth the 50 dollars it cost. If you want a better experience go with UNIT 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The definition of disappointment, March 24, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This game is an embarrassment when it works at all, which is not that often.

I bought it at a used game store for about a quarter of the MSRP on Sony's network, and I still feel that I overpaid. Long loading times, exceptionally poor online coding, a campaign that's shorter than some prime time TV shows....the list goes on and on. Normally the "Call of Duty" name holds a lot of sway, but this iteration - produced by Nihilistic, rather than series mainstays Treyarch and Infinity Ward - is awful in just about every way. Expect to wait up to twenty minutes to actually play online, as the game will repeatedly spend three to four minutes loading a level only to unceremoniously dump you back to the title screen.

The levels are atrocious too, so cramped and small that there's very little strategy involved. Fans of the Call of Duty: Black Ops franchise will be familiar with the popular level Nuketown, a small arena composed of two suburban houses and their backyards. Nuketown is well-known as a small, frantic map, but the maps in Declassified make it look enormous. In fact, there's a version of Nuketown in Declassified that's called "Nukehouse", because - you guessed it - it only includes one of the houses, effectively cutting an already-small level in half. Declassified attempts to keep things under control in these small levels by limiting games to 8 players at a time, but don't worry - you'll never find enough players online at one time to get into a full match anyways.

I hope I've made my point by now but for those of you still on the fence about this game, let me leave you with this thought: Black Ops Declassified is such a bad game that Nihilistic Software changed their name and moved away from retail game development altogether after its release. After playing this game for a while, it's pretty easy to see why.

In short: don't buy this game. Really. The PS Vita is an amazing system and seems like it has a lot of potential for a fantastic first-person-shooter game. Black Ops: Declassified just isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cod is completely worthless, December 11, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
i was looking foward to this game for a while (i hate cod, im a battlefield fan. but i fiugred since its a shooter and its a vita title, it would be worth it)and when it came out it was horrendous. I think anybody that has good or atleast mediocre reviews are in total denial or are just totally into anything they come out with for the vita console. its sad the potential the vita has but the complete cr@p of games that are coming out. this games campaign and multiplayer are the worst part of the game, honestly if it wasnt for the hostiles mode i would have really lost it.

the campaign- has no real point, no real story, and for some reason it seems like a 12 year old wrote the dialogue. the say the f word every chance they get (i do to and im not one of those people that get offended by bad language in games, i encourage it..to an extent..), its like effin this and effin that and roger effin this....its pathetic...their is no actual story contribution when it comes to black ops 2 or one, i understand they wanted to make short missions like unit 13 (and failed), but there really is no point to the campaign.

the multiplayer- the main reason people love this franchise....its worthless...i spawn either with enemy targets in my sights or i spawn in enemy sights...and thats if you can get a match to load. i have high speed internet so its not that, my vita works just fine...but i hardly ever get into a server to the point when i try again and i get in im actually shocked...this problem was also so for resistance burning skies...nihilistic....same worthless people that brought you this worthless game...(keep in mind worthless comes a lot in this review cus of amazons censorship...i have other choice words in mind) its not like the mechanics in the game are the worse, its just the small levels, lack of being able to get into servers, and the graphics arent the best. things lag sometimes i end up shooting at a person in my team because the green name tag thats suppose to be up doesnt show up till a couple seconds after i confused him for an enemy. same has been done to me.i dont play this game at all for the multiplayer or the worthless campaign.

hostiles-ahhh...finaly...something positive to say..this mode is similar to that of modern warfare 3s version of zombies where you get attacked by waves of hostile soldiers instead of zombies. this is actually fun, because its just shooting people, so i can complain about lack of concept, story, and i dont have to be online so i dont have to deal with the lags this game deals with online. it gets pretty challenging and its just the thing to do while at lunch or any situation where waiting is involved (lunch break, dmv, dentist, bathroom visits lol). but yeah this game is worthless, they should have just had this mode as a dlc....

im not sure how games work, so this may not make total sense if you do know how...but i feel instead of wasting space with the campaign, they shouldve just made a totally bad a$$ multiplayer. with the hostiles cus thats fun too.

do i recommend...no....maybe if you buy used cheap...but dont give your hopes up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go get Killzone instead, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
The controls are terrible, the AI enemies will literally run and hide behind an invisible wall and let you shoot/throw grenades at them. Go buy Killzone Mercenary if you want your FPS fix on the Vita, it's a thousand times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Fun especially online, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I was shocked to see there was as many people playing this online as there is you never have to wait for a game to get enough players.
Sure its not as good as the console but keep in mind what you are playing it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meh. Pretty bad., January 7, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
EDIT: Having played it more extensively, I can honestly say it's a pretty bad game. I've updated my review (though it's mostly additions to the old review).

Full disclosure: I got the Call of Duty set as a gift. I would never buy this game normally unless it was absurdly cheap, and by that I mean like $5. I'm not that into FPSes and if I am my preference runs Playing on PC >>>> Playing on Console > Playing on handheld. Having played it more thoroughly now, let me tell you: don't buy it unless it's like $5. $10 if you're a CoD fan. And if you need to save money, don't buy this at all.

Graphics: Fairly nice for a handheld.

Sound: No complaints.

Load times: Not great, but really not too bad though.

Game engine: Frustrating. It's probably just me, but things don't act consistently for me. Sometimes it'll "auto aim", sometimes it won't. (I never had this problem with the console versions of CoD). Sometimes I'll get stuck on the edge of a box and "run" but not get anywhere. Wide open area, just my hip was caught on the box and I was running in place. I don't remember having that problem in the past... 5+ years. The AI is also bizarrely stupid. It'll shoot at you non stop even if they can't see you or can't get to you. By that I mean they'll hide behind something and shoot at the thing they're hiding behind non stop sometimes. Or sometimes they'll run in front of you and stand there staring at you for a few seconds before starting to shoot. Also it's pretty obvious the game "cheats" by spawning guys at certain events. By that I mean you can clear out a room and then once you cross a certain area, the door you came from closes by itself and suddenly 6+ guys stand up from behind various boxes (that were obviously not there earlier). Also some things are really awkward. The touchscreen grenade and knife feel really awkward for me to use so I usually never use them. And there's one part where I'm fighting enemies and there's one enemy left upstairs. I went upstairs to kill the enemy and you know what happened? The game said "turn back to continue mission" and I kept on going since the bad guy was just around the corner and... "Mission Failed". Stupid.

Difficulty: Having to start the mission all over when you mess up is really annoying. Parts of the game gets hard enough (even on the easier mode) that it pretty much requires you to know where guys spawn because there's a ridiculous amount of enemies at times. This is a problem because it makes the game way too hard or way too easy. There's parts where I get utterly dominated since so many guys pop up but after a few play throughs you know where the guys are and it becomes super easy. Nihlistic decided the way to make the game difficult was to spawn millions of guys instead of actually have smart AI. The star system is kind of annoying too since it assumes everyone is a top notch Call of Duty player. The first time you play a mission, no matter how good you are you'll get the worst rating just purely because to get the best 2 ratings you have to rush through the entire map. You'll have to know exactly where to go and where most of the enemies spawn. As someone who's used to exploring and being careful, having it tell me I did a one star job gets annoying.

Story: Yawn. I'm not too far into it though, maybe it gets better. And now that I've played much more of the game... it doesn't. The story doesn't matter at all. Basically just "kill everything and follow the game prompts". There is no story really.

Game length: There's only 10 campaign missions, all of which last about 5-10 minutes max. There's like 4-5 timed missions which last about 2 minutes each max. I don't play it multiplayer so I can't tell you anything about that.

Conclusion: It's a pretty terrible game. I can see people who love CoD enjoying the game a little bit but even big CoD fans will find this game underwhelming. Maybe the multiplayer is a lot of fun though. I don't know. I just know the single player game is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Nice graphics. It looks beautiful..I am not used to Analog Sticks. Trying to get used to the Sticks and it's little bit hard for me cuz its my first time. Over all this have deserves 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita
Call of Duty: Black Ops - Declassified - PlayStation Vita by Activision Inc. (PlayStation Vita)
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.