Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Version of Game-Gain some features, lose some found on other systems
Best version of Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I find myself laying in bed playing it without the tv on and using the crisp display on the Wii U gamepad. The controls take a while to get used to but with time, I find the controller better than any other ever made. The game does work with wii remotes and the Wii U pro controller as well as the classic controller pro for the...
Published on November 19, 2012 by Lando101

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks support from activision
Activison decided to abandon dlc for the wii u with this game. So while the other consoles are seeing their fourth dlc coming out now, the official stance is no planned dlc on wii u. Left me feeling burned as I bought this on wii u to play with my friend who only has a wii u. The gameplay is great, as are graphics and frame rate, but the original set of maps has gotten...
Published 19 months ago by daedelus7


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Version of Game-Gain some features, lose some found on other systems, November 19, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Best version of Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I find myself laying in bed playing it without the tv on and using the crisp display on the Wii U gamepad. The controls take a while to get used to but with time, I find the controller better than any other ever made. The game does work with wii remotes and the Wii U pro controller as well as the classic controller pro for the Wii. Online has no lag so far in my experiences and it offers a small community of around 550 as of today, it will grow with time and only get better. I wish it had the elite program and the nuketown 2025 included and as far as I know it doesn't. However I still encourage any Wii U gamer to get COD on Wii U, as Nintendo's Network is excellent. DLC will be available sometime after Nintendo's December eshop update.

UPDATE.

As of now, the community has grown to pretty good numbers, we have been getting double xp etc, however no DLC announced and spotty patches hinder an otherwise great game. It is to be expected with new hardware, I hope we can still get DLC though, as I still believe the Wii U version is the best.

UPDATE.

Wii U version of Black ops 2 now includes Nuketown 2025. Two years after launch, we get some free dlc. Hopefully it's a new trend for third party support for wii U. Map is fun and plays well. Makes getting this game all the more appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best online multplayer game on the Wii U by far., November 26, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
If you're a call of duty fan, and you're interested in buying the Wii U version, rest assured that it's very much identical to the PS3/360/PC versions. Campaign, Zombies(I haven't played it as I'm writing),and online multiplayer almost all is there.. Online-co op, local multiplayer, 4 player split screen, playing with bots, all online multiplayer game modes modes, all regular maps, weapons, kill cam, kill streaks, player cards, weapon statistics, emblems, theater mode, are in the game.

The only thing the Wii U version is missing, is Nuketown 2025 map, CoD Elite,and livestream features, BUT this isn't an issue due to Treyarch. It's Nintendo. The good news is that Nintendo will allow 3rd party developers to allow large DLC in the form of maps/levels in December through a patch, and is working on getting DLC for CoD, by the time the first map pack comes. Activision is working to get Livestream and possibly CoD elite as well, though I don't know when.

Compared to previous CoD games, this game is pretty great. What's revolutionary about this game compared to previous cod games, is the pick 10 system in online multiplayer. The previous cod games allowed you to pick a primary with 1-2 attachments, a secondary with up to one attachment, 3 perks, 1 tactical, and one lethal. However this time, every thing costs a point, and you don't have to spend your point on a perk, or a primary, or a secondary, if you want. This allows for thousands of different combinations of weapons and perks. Luckily, it's very intuitive. You'll get it down very fast!

Campaign is very interesting, and offers a cinematic experience. It's a direct sequel to black ops 1, and the timeline ranges from 1970s to 2025. 2025 is a year when the U.S. is under attack by a terrorist who remotely controls an army of drones.
Some critics like digital foundry, have cited that the Wii U version's framerate dips from 60 to 30fps during campaign mode, when there is a lot going on the screen(notably in the first mission), but I haven't really noticed, and it really doesn't take away the experience for me, if what they say is true. But they've also said that if you play the game on the gamepad only, the framerate is the actually comparable to the 360 version, which is pretty smooth and almost consistentally 60 fps.

I haven't played the zombies mode yet as I'm writing this, but its been getting favorable impressions. You can play it offline or with people online. You basically travel in this very large map called tranzit, while riding a bus, and take stops to multiple locations and fight zombies for multiple rounds. You can play classic zombie survival or grief mode--which is you and your friends vs another team of players trying to survive the longest. You can't kill the other human team directly, but you can indirectly lure more zombies to come to them.

In regards to online multiplayer(the meat and potatoes of this game), it's very addicting, and it plays very smoothly. No framerate drops, even reported by digitial foundary. It plays just like the other HD versions. There's so much to unlock, and thankfully most of the good weapons are already unlocked for you in the beginning, so you don't have to worry about being outgunned. The weapons in general are probably the most balanced in any CoD game. Nothing that stands out to be overpowering at all ranges, so far. The maps also are interesting, but there's 3 ways to get flanked by an enemy, which is my only complaint about the maps.. Otherwise, great map design and looks beautiful. Wii U's online multiplayer is very smooth.

I only have two issues with online multiplayer, which are relatively minor.
1.The Miiverse says that there are 10,000 people that own the game, but currently you can get anywhere between 400-1000 people online at once. You can find matches very quickily, but the only modes that are populated at the moment, is Team Death Match, Free For all, and domination. This is because the Wii U is a new console, and wasn't even released worldwide. When it gets released worldwide on Nov 30, expect to get twice the amount of people playing at any given time. In addition, after Christmas, there will be a rush of new players online, so expect a huge bump then also. So just be patient until new years, if you want to play other modes besides those three.
2. Voice chat compatibility works really weird, and not many people are using headsets at th emoment. This is more of an issue with Nintendo. Currently, if you want to use a headset, you can't use a headset via USB plug in. It has to be plugged in to the gamepad controller. This is a bummer for COD wii vets who relied on the headbanger headset via usb, which also happened to be the only headset used in the cod wii games. However for this game, several headsets are compatible with this game via gamepad controller(like turtlebeach). If you a headset for your iphone, it will also work, just remember that it needs to have a built in mic.

In terms of exclusive wii u features, that aren't offered in any other versions of CoD:
1. Play this game in 4 different ways! With the Gamepad, the Wii U pro controller, the wiimote+nunchuck, and the wii classic controller pro. In In regards to controls, I'm a CoD Wii vet, and my only gripe with the controls are that the IR controls for wiimote+nunchuck feel somewhat sluggish compared to previous games. I believe its because it's missing the cursor sensitivity setting, which was present in the online cod games on the wii console. Luckily, it IS getting patched, so I'm happy with that.
2. If not using gamepad controller, use it as a touch screen for easier access to your create a class menu, kill streaks, and controller settings.
3. Play the gamepad controller WITHOUT having to turn on the TV! You can also play this several feet away from the console. Oh and here's a secret.. If you're using a wiimote+nunchuck, you can also use the gamepad as a screen, while playing with the siimote+nunchuck. Just aim your wiimote towards your gamepad, as it has an infared sensor bar on each side of its camera lens!
4. 2 player online co-op in which none of you have to share the screen. One person can use the gamepad screen and controller, while one person can use the tv screen. Framerates drop a little, but it's barely noticable from what I've seen, and it runs pretty smooth.

So, there you have it. If you already have a 360/PS3, you don't have to get the Wii U version, if you already have a 360/PS3, unless you have a Wii U and you want to try out its exclusive features like 2 player online-co op in which no one shares a screen. Rest assured that this game is an identical experience to the 360 version, both gameplay and graphics, with only 3 missing things(no nuketown 2025, livestream feature, and cod elite), but that could change soon. Other than that, Only major difference is that 360 version has 100-1000X more players at any given moment over the Wii U version, but that's because most people buy their FPSers on 360/PS3 and they both have a huge install base, and the Wii U is only 2 weeks old, and isn't even released worldwide.

Still a great buy! I'd give this game a 9-9.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treyarch did a great job, November 20, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This looks amazing on the Wii U...the way you load out your presets gives anyone the ability to load the perks to their game play advantage. Do we have campers? Yes, but I suspect that it is due to the fast paced game style...lots of close quarters with multiple places for someone to camp...lots of cool new additions to the game (target finder scopes, cool strike package call ins, guns that fire extremely fast and when upgraded to rapid fire empty a clip in about a second...scorpion rapid fire/extended clip...42 shot clip....1.5 seconds...uh...hello Mr. buzzsaw...the new FMG Akimbo.

It appears that this game was set up for run and gun gamers...which makes it fast paced / crazy maps with all kinds of hidden areas just waiting to be exploited by campers and snipers...tons of new gadgets to utilize as well...very fun to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Call of Duty after all..., May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
If you have played the Black Ops or Modern Warfare series, don't expect too much that Black Ops 2 has drastically changed. Yes, of course the game is all about futuristic warfare like using drones or high technological stuff. And we all know that this game has multiple endings. However, the core value of Call of Duty series is pretty much same over here. Cinematic campaign, blast actions, addicting and fun multiplayer, and of course, zombies as well. Nothing out of ordinary, and I guarantee that you will like this game if you are a fan for COD series. But I think that the Call of Duty has gone little bit stale, and I wish this game could be better and have more contents and new stuffs. For Wii U version, you can utilize killstreaks instantly with your gamepad, or you can just play the game with the gamepad while someone else is watching TV. If you are going to play with your friend, one person can play with the gamepad and the other use the TV screen which means that both person can utilize full screen. Overall, it is a very good game, and I definitely recommend Wii U version even though the online community is small and no DLC has released yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 years later but DLC has finally arrived!, August 8, 2014
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This is a great game and it performs flawlessly on the Wii-U. Im writing this review to praise Activision for still supporting this game 2 years after its release by finally offering the Nuketown Map and its FREE. Hopefully more DLC is coming in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return to BLOPS does the franchise good, December 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
BLOPS2 does a good job replicating the multiplayer of the original.

Multiplayer works well on the Wii U and the experience is enjoyable with either the gamepad or Wii U Pro controller. Enough players are logged in that it is always easy to find a match without a wait.

Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks support from activision, June 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Activison decided to abandon dlc for the wii u with this game. So while the other consoles are seeing their fourth dlc coming out now, the official stance is no planned dlc on wii u. Left me feeling burned as I bought this on wii u to play with my friend who only has a wii u. The gameplay is great, as are graphics and frame rate, but the original set of maps has gotten boring. There have been some bugs, particularly with multiplayer, at least they are patching the game for bugs and balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best console version! But not for everyone due to all the hate, August 16, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
The Good: Entertaining story and characters, great multiplayer suite, zombies mode is a blast, can play entire game on Wii U gamepad, a lot of fun weapons

The Bad: Still a shooting gallery at it's core, real life likenesses of celebrities is disgusting, multiplayer hasn't evolved much

Here we go again, another Call of Duty. When will it ever end? Before you start the hate mongering, just know this, Call of Duty still has some of the best online multiplayer you can get. At least Black Ops tried to change the series a bit with new modes and experimented with what Modern Warfare established, it also had a much more interesting story line and had decent characters. Black Ops II is the same way, but it's too late to really matter.

The game picks up from where the first left off, if you haven't played it, good luck figuring it out. Alex Mason is searching for a man named Raul Menendez. This is one sick puppy. This guy is a terrorist and more evil than you can imagine. The story jumps around from Mason's son, Alex, to David Mason back in the cold war. If you notice something, this game is more futuristic. It's set in 2025 so there is some cool tech that's just out of reach for today. Things like cloaking devices, VTOLs, and various other guns. The game just jumps between the first cold war and the second. During the first one you are trying to figure out what made Menendez crack, you later jump to the second one with Mason and Harper using the info you got from a guy who was in the cold war with Mason. It's a bit confusing, and seems pretty boring at first. Later on the story really picks up and gets really interesting, I actually liked it. It's not fantastic and it's no Assassin's Creed, but it's pretty good for an FPS.

The campaign is still a shooting gallery, but it doesn't seem that way thanks to great level design, and a lot of cinematic one-off moments. Moments like jumping on turrets, driving various vehicles and aircraft, among others. It's all fun and not a single level feels the same, but the underlying core is still there: shoot everything that moves. The AI is still pretty dumb, but I like how you can customize your loadout before a mission. There are many unique and fun guns unlike the Modern Warfare series. Later on you will be able to play through special side missions called Strike Force Missions, that is pretty much just a capture-and-hold mode or siege. Those side missions all feel the same and are pretty repetitive. It's not as fun as online because of the dumb AI, you have to do everything yourself.

After you finish the entertaining story it's multiplayer time! The old Black Ops modes return like One in the Chamber and Last Man Standing. Of course all the others from the entire series are here. Honestly, the biggest change is that killstreaks have been replaced with scorestreaks which I prefer. It was so hard to get more than 3-4 kills in a row for most players. Now you get streaks based on your score which lets you be able to use the cooler more powerful ones more often. However, I found the maps to be pretty mediocre. I learned to like a few, but they are lacking a bit in some way.

Zombies returns and is as fun as ever, there are more modes, and 8 player co-op, it also has the full on online component unlike the previous game. There's quite a bit of content here and you will be coming back for hours to come. I just don't understand why Treyarch couldn't break from the mold a bit more. I like the multiple endings and how choices in the story can change the ending. But there are things here like Jimmy Kimmel's likeness in one ending, and Avenged Sevenfold at the end of one. I mean really? Are 14 year olds really going to buy this because Avenged Sevenfold is in it? I really hate how developers do this and can't just use their own ideas. It's a cop-out/sell-out whatever you want to call it. I also don't understand why the campaign can't be a bit more intelligent gameplay wise like Battlefield 3. I blame the young gamer's instant gratification issue on that, but who knows.

What's here is a solid game, and hopefully the last of the Black Ops series. The Wii U version looks a bit better than consoles and you can play the whole game on the gamepad which is nice, no shoehorned gimmicks for it. I did notice that the gamepad's analog sticks are a bit sensitive and I had some trouble adjusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on Wii U, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This game is by far the best on wii u. The multiplayer and graphics are fantastic! The game pad makes me able to play this when someone is watching tv so I'm not always hogging the tv. Just the game pad ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cod so it's not like it's ground breaking but durable on wii u, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
It's cod so it's not like it's ground breaking but durable on wii u. This specific Wii u version isnt any where close to the other 2 major platforms though, seeing as the only game mode people play online are tdm and ground war. And tbh most of the people on this version were very bad as I had almost a 4.0 k/d where as on other versions I had a 1.5 average. Not that that's anything to brag about but worth noting. Another thing, the Wii u game pad is horrible to play with this game. Almost unplayable I would say. If you're going to buy this, get a Wii mote and classic controller pro or a Wii u pro controller as it will greatly help your chances and score. I didn't play the campaign on this version so I don't have much to say about it but from what i can tell from the other versions is that it is, again, cod. Nothing to get your knickers in a twist about. Overall, good for multiplayer because if you're decent, u can run thru as a God. Oh and not many people play the game on Wii u. The numbers are dwarfed compared to other console versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U
Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Nintendo Wii U by Activision Inc. (Nintendo Wii U)
$59.99 $21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.