Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!
I bought this game instead of COD Modern Warfare 2 so that I could get a "feel" for this game before moving on to the latest and greatest. I am glad I did! I am playing 1280x960 on a Core2 E6600 (8800GT video card). All I can say is WOW. With a quality set of speakers the realism is fantastic. Get this game and start in if you are new to COD. You won't regret it...
Published on November 23, 2009 by Thomas L. Evans

versus
120 of 131 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but the formula is getting a little stale.
Way back in the day, I was a fan of the Medal of Honour series of games, particularly the Allied Assault series. Back in 2002 this was cutting-edge stuff, with its depiction of the D-Day landings and its mix of realism with solid gameplay. There were limits to what the game could do, however. Due to engine and technical limitations, it wasn't possible to create 'open'...
Published on April 9, 2009 by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 131 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but the formula is getting a little stale., April 9, 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Way back in the day, I was a fan of the Medal of Honour series of games, particularly the Allied Assault series. Back in 2002 this was cutting-edge stuff, with its depiction of the D-Day landings and its mix of realism with solid gameplay. There were limits to what the game could do, however. Due to engine and technical limitations, it wasn't possible to create 'open' levels, so the player was carefully herded where the designers wanted him to go, giving rise to an odd situation where American soldiers fighting across an open field would find their route determined by impassable wire fences. But this was a minor complaint in 2002 given the quality of the visuals and the intensity of the action.
Some of the Allied Assault team broke off in 2002 to form a new company, Infinity Ward, specifically to address issues like this and ramp up the intensity of the war simulation experience. In late 2003 they launched their own take on the concept, Call of Duty, which went on to eclipse its forebear in critical acclaim. Call of Duty 2 carried on this fine tradition. However, both games still felt limited. CoD2 improved things by sometimes allowing a choice of several different paths to an objective, but there was still none of the freedom being offered that would really benefit the game, and the ingredients were feeling a little stale.

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare seeks to update the experience by switching to a near-future setting depicting a Middle-Eastern warlord and a mental Russian agent teaming up to launch a nuclear attack on the United States and 'reclaim' both their countries for Team Crazy. The typically intense CoD combat experience is once again on offer here, and it has to be said that when they are on form, Infinity Ward can't be beaten for offering combat experiences which offer a solid approximation of the chaos of real combat (or so I'm informed by people I know in the army). The problem is that Infinity Ward are so focused on recreating that feeling of insane carnage that they sacrifice a lot of other elements, leading to frustrating gameplay.

I mentioned earlier that in 2002 it simply wasn't possible to have an open gameworld with multiple paths to an objective and also maintain a high visual quality. These days this isn't even remotely an issue any more, as Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter, a game with superior graphics to CoD4, demonstrated, giving you the run of the streets of Mexico City and allowing you your own choice of tactics, approaches, use of cover and weapons and the calling in of support as needed. In CoD4 suddenly being stuck in a closely-regulated 'on a rails' shooter is annoying and frustrating. Engaged in a close-quarters alley gun battle, I hit upon the idea of using a side-alley to flank the enemy, only to be met by a wall of impassable tyres. Great.
Worse was to come, however. The game encourages you to keep up the advance whenever possible, presumably because of the creators' desire to focus on intense combat. This results in slightly ridiculous situations where your entire team is exchanging fire with enemy forces on the other side of a courtyard. In any sane military in the world, you would clear the area of all visible opponents and then move in and mop up the survivors. You can't do that in CoD4 as the enemy's ranks are constantly replenished. You can't actually make a dent in the enemy numbers until you move forward to the next objective. Yup, this military simulator game basically demands that you charge into enemy gunfire and engage them at pointblank range. The uses of cover and making the most of range and numbers, among the most basic concepts of modern warfare, are actually discouraged.

On the plus side, this is a slickly-produced game, with great music, impressive graphics and instinctive controls. Mission briefings are nicely-realised and make full use of satellite maps. The in-game banter is sometimes funny, although it doesn't stray far from the usual macho cliches. The designers are also clearly enormous fans of Aliens, employing music that is very similar to Horner's score for that movie, naming at least one character after an Aliens one and quoting dialogue from the movie several times. It's also good to see the Brits and Russians get a look-in as well as the Americans (although you only get to control the British SAS platoon and an American Marine Corps contingent, not the Russian loyalist forces). There's also a great but all-too-brief level where you get to play the gunner on a Lockheed AC-130 gunship.

The game's highlight is an unexpected flashback mission which takes place in Chernobyl, with just you and another sniper having to sneak past the heavily fortified perimeter in order to assassinate an enemy dignitary. This a very tense, well-designed mission depicting the ruined city in a very atmospheric manner, culminating in an absolutely insane stand-off with half the Russian army where, for once, the enemy's vast numbers actually made sense. And whilst I normally don't rate multiplayer as part of a single-player game (since, as studies continuously show, three-quarters or more of gamers usually never take their games online, unless it's an online-only game, of course), the multiplayer action in CoD4 is solid, since it generally does feature more open levels and of course doesn't have infinite waves of enemy forces.

Call of Duty 4 (***) is a decent, if extremely short (which cost it half a star) action FPS, but I think Infinity Ward really need to reassess what they are trying to do with this series. Continuing to sell it as a warfare simulator when they won't encourage or even allow the use of real military tactics is disingenuous, and the series is now being overtaken and leap-frogged by other games that work much better. As it stands, the series is in danger of becoming stale and predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, November 23, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
I bought this game instead of COD Modern Warfare 2 so that I could get a "feel" for this game before moving on to the latest and greatest. I am glad I did! I am playing 1280x960 on a Core2 E6600 (8800GT video card). All I can say is WOW. With a quality set of speakers the realism is fantastic. Get this game and start in if you are new to COD. You won't regret it. Oh, almost forgot. This game loads, configures and runs perfectly on Windows 7 64 bit. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GUTSY MOVE BY Activision!, April 2, 2009
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
If truth be told, WWII had been done to death. Ever since the original CASTLE WOLFENSTEIN-3D, every war theater, every front, every battle has been done again and again. True, some more than others and, yes, a number of great games was produced. Yet, some game developers seem unable to stop whipping a very tired horse..

ACTIVISION proved it had the guts to break with the mold it had made its CALL OF DUTY franchise a huge success. CoD4 is set in a (fictional) present in which American and British agents are called upon to stop a Russian plutocrat with Soviet-nostalgia and terrorist aspirations.

The weapons are new, the gameplay is inventive, the graphics are realistic, the settings are beautiful - a great game all together! And the GOTY edition comes prepatched and runs like a dream.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Work on Windows Vista Too!, July 27, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Hi,

Call of Duty 4 is a fantastic game, from the single player to the multiplayer. I am mainly writing this review to clear up the misconception that Amazon is perpetrating that this game is only for Windows XP in order for you to buy the more expensive $59.99 version of this game. The back cover of the DVD case clearly says that this game is for Windows XP and Vista.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Infinity Ward/Activision Game so Far, November 8, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Although I have not had a chance to enjoy the multiplayer side to this game, it is the best game I have played- ever. That is, until Call of Duty 6: Modern Warfare 2 comes out. I highly recommend buying this game and playing through to the end Before purchasing the sequel game (mentioned above). Graphics are great, the mechanics are sound, interface is the best of the Call of Duty games so far, the sheer variety of actual weapons is amazing, and the plot is well thought out, and perfectly executed.

For those not familiar with other fps (first person shooters) this is one of the best out there. You carry a main gun, a sidearm, grenades, and a knife. You can swap out your main gun if you find something better, and you can also swap out your pistol if you come across a gun you like better- like a P-90, or the classic AK-47. The knife is used for melee attacks, which are as underdeveloped as any game like this. Just hit the other person before he hits you, and you're good. Throwing a grenade isn't as easy as it sounds- they bounce. And ene,my personnel, just like you, can pick up a grenade and throw it back if they get to it in time. Their are smoke grenades, flashbang grenades, and frag grenades (the best kind). The rest of the gameplay (i.e. shooting) is very cool. While sniping you need to keep track of range and wind conditions- and believe me, on all but the easiest setting this actually matters! Also, it can take several bullets depending on the gun being used to kill someone. A P-90 takes a few bullets more than your standard assault rifle.

You play as either one of two characters depending on the mission at hand: British S.A.S. Commando Sergeant 'Soap' MacTavish, or United States Marine Sergeant Paul Jackson. Soap's commanding officer, Captain Price, is playable in a flashback mission- where you get to be a sniper. Fun! Other single mission playables are as an S.A.S. shooter operating an AC-130 Gunship; another S.A.S. officer, this time infiltrating an enemy plane and rescuing someone aboard before leaping out (very James Bond) during the bonus epilogue mission.

I won't say any more regarding the plot and characters, simply because I don't want to ruin anything for anybody. I know some people like to play video games like they watch movies- with zero spoilers involved.

The best part of this game is supposed to be the multiplayer missions- which I have regrettably not had the chance to partake in. I have seen it played on the xbox, but not the PC or Mac. While I do own a Mac computer- be assured this review is for the PC version of the game.

I hope you all enjoy this game as much as I have. Please buy it and try for yourselves. It's very fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for the Armchair Warrior!, June 21, 2011
By 
Dr. Space (Somewhere, United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Runs great on my Windows 7 machine with Intel Quad processor. Dialed up all the details to max and it's still seamless.
Love sniping. Most fun I've had since they pulled the plug on Hellgate London servers.
Wish I could throw my grenades farther...but who doesn't? LOL. Load the game. Grab a beer. Prepare to have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clean Start on the Future, August 12, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
I've now played this game's Single-Player Campaign through more than once, and loved it. Like other titles in the Call of Duty series, it uses team-based play, and simulates your team using the computer to "drive" your teammates. Continuing in the tradition of the other titles, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare adds more structure to the missions, more life to the characters, and more depth to the story. You spend most of the game as new recruit 'Soap' MacTavish, but you also get to flash back to an earlier point in the story, play as your commanding officer, and learn more about him.

One odd departure from other games is that there are storyline sequences that are not exactly "playable", but neither are they cutscenes. You live a segment of the storyline through the eyes of the person going through it. These are short, so they don't frustrate, and what they do is heighten the drama. It's an interesting technique, and because it isn't overused, it works well here to keep the storyline going.

Another great pacing trick is that the storyline spans countries. It crosses continents and it puts you in more than one spot: one of my favorites was manning three guns using night-vision cameras aboard a large plane as it provides air support to your team on the ground. Overall, the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare graphics are very detailed, the environments feel authentic, and the sounds impressed me. I liked the dialogue and I really enjoyed the fact that my teammates seemed to be somewhat intelligent. There were some really neat goals in each mission, and I have fond memories of the adrenaline rush. I'm delighted that there will be a Modern Warfare 2.

The Game of the Year Edition includes additional map packs, mostly for multiplayer. I don't know if this is unique to the GotY Edition, but stick around for the end credits: you get to play a quick bonus scenario. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not my favorite, November 4, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Campaign:
Campaign is really fun with one big problem... it's too short. It's well designed and exciting. Most of the excitement comes the very cinematic looks of the game. Though the gameplay and look is fun, the plot is only okay. Although, I'm very happy with fighting Islamic extremists and hunting down their leader, there isn't much of a backstory to your character. It's fun, but not a strong story. I rate the campaign 4 stars.

Multiplayer:
At first I played the multiplayer for hours and was really enjoying myself. But after a short while, the multiplayer gets old. The multiplayer doesn't even come close to matching that of Halo. It's cool and all, but way to simple and no room for a whole lot of tactics or new moves. It's basically stand behind the corner and hope your bullet hits the other guy first. Once you know the maps, even that becomes worse. I rate the multiplayer with 3 stars.

The graphics in this game are good but nothing new or amazing (even for when it came out). It looks nice either way, despite the gritty look that Infinityward always goes for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on the PC as well, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
The performance could have been better considering my hardware / software specs but i still love this game and it's great practice for getting used to mouse and keyboard controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best multiplayer in the CoD series, August 7, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC (Video Game)
Back in the day this was the only military fps that mattered, and for good reason... It was the best, sadly there aren't many people playing this anymore. still worth a play through if you never have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Game of the Year Edition - PC
$19.99 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.