Customer Reviews


504 Reviews
5 star:
 (256)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Above the Call of Duty?
Call of Duty: World at War is a first-person shooter taking place in the WWII setting once more. I've written many long game reviews in the past few weeks, many great games are sprouting their heads. Long awaited and overall great titles have not only sprinkled the holiday season, but draped it. With power house titles left and right, one must really conserve and pick the...
Published on November 24, 2008 by Corey Turner

versus
25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, and that's not a good thing
I'll break this review into 3 parts - solo, co-op, and multiplayer.

Multiplayer - this game has maybe the worst spawning engine ever in a first-person multiplayer. Several maps are so frustrating small that you will spawn and die many times. That said, there are a couple of brilliant maps, if you can handle the plethora of idiot kids. Also, you still get...
Published on November 13, 2008 by Mr. Nick L. Bell


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Above the Call of Duty?, November 24, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Call of Duty: World at War is a first-person shooter taking place in the WWII setting once more. I've written many long game reviews in the past few weeks, many great games are sprouting their heads. Long awaited and overall great titles have not only sprinkled the holiday season, but draped it. With power house titles left and right, one must really conserve and pick the best. So I'll keep the details simple, and hopefully you can decide by this.

Fan of "Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare"? If so you'll be in for a warm welcome, this game uses the same interface and multiplayer setup. Expect a pretty good frame rate, and a devastatingly hard campaign mode (for players on the 'Veteran' setting that is). In this title you'll fight as both the Americans and the Russians. Take on admirable Japanese soldiers, or destructive German Nazi troops.

Campaign features two fronts, and a few interesting non-typical levels (a rail based flying level, and a tank powerhouse level). From islands soaked in sun, to rainy city streets you'll be fighting in a all out war. Additional features included are the ability to use bayonets on rifles, and the all new powerful scorching flame thrower. Bayonets play out basically the same as your standard melee (knife), and the flame thrower can burn up terrain with a decent range. You'll become acquainted with the staple World War 2 guns once more (M1 Garand, Thompson, PPSH, MP40, Nimbu, Type 100, MG42, BAR, Browning).

Online seekers will find some perks added and some changes in names. Rest assure it's still the same frantic multiplayer combat, but with some more open ended maps. For players not familiar with 'perks', these are implementations to ones character that give additional abilities (and are allowed up to three, ranging in different classes). Dropping grenades upon death, carrying two primary weapons, and having more health, just to name a few. One can pit themselves against a myriad of players and game types to achieve higher ranking, and more weaponry at their disposal. Maps are based off the campaign, and are pretty open ended, but maybe a bit too confusing at times. Tanks have now returned, similar to CoD 3's tank, except it is a little bit harder to defeat. If you've maxed out your rank and feel their is nothing left to do, enter 'Prestige Mode'. Removing all weapons gained along with perks, and beginning a new with a higher rank symbol. Challenges will be depleted too. Multiplayer has now added dogs in place of helicopters at the seven kill mark. Players can obtain special help after benching the three, five, and seven kill mark without dying. One may find the rigors of battling pros to be frustrating, hop into 'Boot Camp' to readily play other beginners. Keep in mind vet players, some perks (cough Juggernaut cough) are just as annoying as ever.

Also available to the multiplayer experience is co-op campaign, and the addicting zombie mode. Co-op campaign is great fun, but be warned achievement junkies, some achieves are nullified in this mode. Zombie mode brings you into less a horror and more a adrenaline rushing doomsday. Up to four players can join and unite themselves in defeating zombies in a worn down base. A currency is used to buy weaponry, and enable usage of other locations in the base. More opened up areas though more zombie accessibility. These staggering zombified Nazis strike in waves. Making things even more difficult and tense is their ability to break in to your base! After each wave players can book it to the nearest entrance/window and board them up for currency and brief security. Once all players have died the game ends and tallies up scores, players can revive fallen team mates though before calling it quits. To say the least, this is one of the funnest options any Call of Duty or game has ever included. It's also one of the reasons you have to complete the campaign, as it's only available after completion (oh boy!).

So really World at War doesn't break any new territory like the previous title had done. Yet it glazes the plateau over with a few new features, and another reason to continue playing multiplayer day after day. You may of noticed a longer description dedicated to multiplayer segments. Essentially this game plays out well in solo go a bouts, but is destined to remain a multiplayer investment. If you are a single player person, hopefully a rental will suffice. In the mean time, thousands of players have made the move to this games online and are definitely enjoying it. So maybe it didn't go above the call of duty again, but it sure is a fun worthy purchase.

EDIT: I just wanted to add that there are actually four perks available in multiplayer. The additional perk not available in Cod4 is a vehicular perk slot. Also now having logged in a hefty figure of hours, multiplayer overall still seems to be standing as enjoyable. Some glitches have been located, and people are exploiting them. Mainly a glitch that enables a player the ability to get underneath certain maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 203 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good yet bad. Bad yet good. Go figure., November 14, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Let me say, first off, that I'm rating this game based on their storyline, their zombie game, their online, and their co-op. I have no feelings about the guns, because I mean, it's WWII. I knew they were going to be nerfed and weakened down. I knew bolt actions would be boosted because so many people whined and whined on the forums about not being a "one shot sniper god"--

Storyline: It's completely fine. A lot better than CoD3, because you switch back and forth so much between America and Russia against Japan and Germany. Don't get me wrong, it didn't quite hook me as deeply as CoD4, but then again, I knew basically what was gonna happen in the game- I knew we'd win the war, I knew lots of people would die, and I knew it would all be great and grand in the end with lots of celebrating. CoD4, no, you didn't know anything that was gonna happen next, that's how they hooked you. You can't complain about this storyline just because you can "foreshadow" your HISTORICAL victory. Honestly.

Nazi Zombies: Upon beating campaign on any difficulty, you unlock the bonus mode, "Nazi Zombies" where you're trapped in a building by yourself or with friends and you, yeah, fight off hordes of zombies as long as you can. Is it fun? Not by yourself, unless you're one of those people that like being alone... When you're with a group of 4, with 3 friends, yeah, I personally have tons and tons of fun. Nothing quite like laughing while you poke your gun at a crawling zombie with no legs that keeps trying to bite you. I've had more fun with the Nazi Zombies mode than I have with CoD4 multiplayer & CoD5 multiplayer put together. It's just fun, luck, and skill.

Online Multiplayer: Here's where the game lost a star in the "fun" part of this rating... Online Multiplayer is without a doubt... boring. It's basically if I can pull my trigger before you, I kill you. If you pull yours before me, you kill me... let down :/ The spawn points are as said earlier... really messed up. I recall playing a match recently with tanks on the level. The other team had all 4 tanks, and they had parked their tanks outside of my team's spawn. Basically, when we so much as tried to leave our spawn, we were tanked down. It was horrible. Sniping is so much more aggrivating than CoD4... Don't get me wrong, I appreciate having to earn my own sniper scope. THAT is fair, no sarcasm or anything. I feel you should show skill before just jumping in with a scope and going 'YEAH I RULE' However-- I don't agree with a bunch of kids that haven't hit puberty yet putting Stopping Power and Steady Aim on their class and just basically spraying with a bolt action and getting insta-kills. THAT makes me mad.

Co-op: You can't complain about their co-op. They give you the option to play storymode with friends, they give you the option to fight together, they give you the option to NOT fight alone. Is it perfect? Not really- only because I don't approve of having one teammate die and the rest of the team fails because of it. That's my only dislike in the co-op. I personally enjoy playing with my friends on xbox live or split-screen :).

That's it. It's a decent game. If you enjoyed CoD4 because of style, graphics, and playing with friends-- get this game. If you enjoyed CoD4 simply for the storyline and 'pwning' people on multiplayer with your ultra awesome skill that no one in the world could ever hope to match... I'd recommend staying a no-lifer on CoD4, because this game would just make you mad.

Oh, and by the way- The game is not "too dark" If you use your brain and go to OPTIONS in the pause menu... you can adjust how dark or bright the game is. People are so clueless sometimes. It's like calling tech support and when they tell you to turn the off switch to on you reply with, "oh..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Setting, but fun game, December 1, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Call of Duty World at War is set back during WW2. Kind of strange to make a game set in an older era right after the great success of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare.

The guns are old classics, Thompson, MP40, old bolt action snipers, and rifles, etc. At first you'll wonder why you are even playing a game that's set so far back in time. I mean you would think with all the technology we have now, fiddling around with with old stuff would just be boring.

but, Treyarch actually did a very nice job with this game. The campaign is actually engaging, and enjoyable to play through. The multiplayer is also great, as even though the guns are old, they are very fun to use, and you'll never feel like you are at a disadvantage, because all the guns are pretty crappy :P

That aside one of the biggest joys to this game is the addition of "Nazi Zombies". You and up to 3 of your friends can go into a game of waves after waves of zombies! You have to fend them off as long as you can while saving up money to buy weapons and perks. Some may say that this is one of the best Zombie games of all time!

~Final Review
if you like the WW2 time period, and enjoy first person shooters. You will LOVE this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call of duty world at war, October 8, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I got the game a couple months ago, its very fun!!!
very bloody!!!!!!
i wouldn't suggest children under 12-13, heres why.... for example when you have a sniper rifle and you get a headshot the guys head comes off, and their neck is all torn up & bloody( :) ), if you shoot them in the stomache, well you get the picture.
Graphics are great,the guns are detailed,& also detailed bushes & trees & plants, not like call of duty 2 & 3.
You play as a marine & a russian soilder. in split screen you can play as a marine soilder,japanese soilder,german soilder,russian soilder.
The game also has a mode called ZOMBIES, its fun, they look chard up, they look like they have fire in their brain or what ever it is to make their eyes(they don't have eyes) glow orange/red.
HOPE THIS REVIEW HELPED YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, and that's not a good thing, November 13, 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'll break this review into 3 parts - solo, co-op, and multiplayer.

Multiplayer - this game has maybe the worst spawning engine ever in a first-person multiplayer. Several maps are so frustrating small that you will spawn and die many times. That said, there are a couple of brilliant maps, if you can handle the plethora of idiot kids. Also, you still get stuck on windowsils and railings when you jump over them. You can be shooting someone in the back, and then watch them turn around and kill you with a single shot. I know that there are many of you out there that will love it. I'm just not one of them. If you can't get spawning right, the rest is pretty irrelevant

Co-op - This feature allows the playing of the solo missions with up to 3 other people. The maps are random, though. Don't play this before the solo campaign if you don't want storyline spoiler. While fun with a group, it would have been better, in my opinion, to at least have the ability to play the maps in order.

Solo - The missions are variable and interesting, but you're still surrounded by the same band of worthless idiots that plague most squad games. If you think that your fellow NPCs will lift a finger to maybe kill the enemy that is destroying you, think again. Every objective feels like it's you against the entire German and/or Japanese army.

The graphics are on par for what you should expect for a game on a next-gen console. They aren't bad, they aren't awesome, they're just average. If you aren't into the multiplayer, rent it over a long weekend and you'll come out ahead. It's entertaining, but the flaws show the same inconsistencies of COD4. My expectations must be too high for this 1st person shooter, as it seems like more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but Multiplayer is frustrating, November 8, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You pretty much have to buy the map packs to do multiplayer, otherwise, you'll get booted all the time for not having the right maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game is VERY intense......as close to war as I want to get., May 12, 2011
By 
R. Conway "RC" (Earth, Sol System, Milky Way Galaxy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is one of the most intense first person shooter games I've ever seen. From the Japanese soldiers trying to make Banzai charges to German troops trying to hunt you down with their dogs and flame throwers through the streets of Stalingrad. It was graphic, chaotic at times.....it was WAR!! Sometimes this game is more scary than fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Credit where it is due, November 13, 2008
By 
Steven Voelker "BAMF" (swarthmore, pa United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
My friends and I had some hands-on time with the new COD last night. First impressions are good. It did take some getting used to. There are no more laser sights and it is a bit darker than before, which can make it tough to spot and kill enemies. Overall it just seems less polished and precise than COD4. It is very solid, but will probably not blow people away the way COD4 did. Is it the best game I've ever played? No. But it still belongs right up there with the best in my collection.

That being said, here is why everyone should get it right away:

The multiplayer rocks.

I know that is where I spent most of my time in COD4. For everyone who complains, "Not another WWII game!", the story and setting don't really matter once you get into the online play.

The maps are great and seem well thought out. There is a good deal of variety and you never seem to find yourself too far from the action,

There are tanks! There are not jeeps and motorcycles everywhere to cause every idiot to go zipping around the boards like hummingbirds on crack, just a well-placed tank here and there to add some spice to the open areas.

You can tell your party members apart from the crowd! When we played, I noticed that the people in your party show up as a different color (blue) than everyone else. This makes it easy to tell exactly where they are and actually join up with them. It made it much more enjoyable to be able to get in on the action and actually play with my friends instead of just talking to them while I went off on my own. Gone are the days of, "Where are you?" "I am over by that abandoned building" "Which one?" " The one with the caved in roof" " You mean the factory?" "I think it is a warehouse" "By the machine gun?" "Never mind, I just got killed."

Add that to the new ability for eight person private chat, and you will actually be able to play together with your friends without ever hearing another annoying 12 year old!

Co-op campaign seems awesome. You can actually play through the story mode online as a four person squad instead of just by yourself. You can even set it to be competitive and keep track of each player's stats so you can compare kills and such. You can also use some cheat cards you find during the game to keep it interesting. There are even multiplayer achievements.

I haven't unlocked the flame-thrower yet, so we'll see if it is as awesome as it sounds.

If you have gotten through this whole review without ordering the game, here is one more thing for you to wrap your mind around: ZOMBIE NAZIS

Google it and see for yourself!

That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience the Pacific Theater with Brutality, July 26, 2010
By 
Austin (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
After skipping the first Modern Warfare and buying the second version (Modern Warfare 2). MW2 was a total letdown for me. Mulitplayer is way too hectic (pavelows, boosters, commando sprinters, and campers take away alot of the fun, and action).
Then I remembered how much fun I had from Call of Duty 3 and noticed World at War was developed by Treyarch the same who made COD 3, so I thought i'd give it a try.

It is extremely violent, which is realistic. Blow off people's arms,legs,and thier heads. Blood will spray over the walls. The bayonet stab is greatly detailed- If you pull a sucessful stab in the chest of an enemy he'll have a giant hole with blood spraying and him trying to cover it, screaming in agony.

The campaign is great and semi-lengthy. It is also friendly with those who don't have internet with a very addicting game mode called 'Nazi Zombies'. Which will provide hours of fun. Plus if you can't handle the brutality of war turn it off in the options menu! It censors cussing, blood, and gore. Great for kids as well. It brings the rating from Mature to Teen.

Multiplayer is great!
Choose a game mode, complete challenges, level up, and unlock new guns and perks. Guns are equally powerful in thier own way.
Bolt Action Rifles- are slow, but really accurate and powerful. High Range.
Rifles- Single shot, moderate power, accuracy, and range.
Submachine guns- Fully automactic, moderate-low power, and close range.
Shotguns- Super strong in close quarters but fail in long distances. Absoulutely no wall penetration.
Machine Guns- Huge clips, high-low power, long to medium range.
Perks help make you, your guns, or your tank stronger.
BTW the flamethrower is not classified as a weapon but as a perk. It is unlocked at the last level. Low range but powerful. Also has unlimited fuel!
Make friends and play in private matches (no xp will be gained).

Overall this game packs a serious punch for those single and multiplayer people. You won't be disapointed, especially if you were let down by MW2 like me.

If anyone likes to play Online add me on Xbox Live. My Gamertag is:
Cobra9597

I'm not the best online but I don't play to win. I play to have fun.
I hope I helped make your decision easier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to 1942, January 2, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Last year I was playing COD4 like it was going out of style, and still am. However my time playing it has been cut a bit due to the excellent offering by Treyarch. A lot of people bagged the game before it came out due to the setting, WWII. This may be a big deal to some, but not to me, and if you like FPS than it shouldn't matter to you either.
The game, at it's core plays eeirly similar to Modern Combat. The controls are the same, the engine is the same, and the leveling in multiplayer is the same (well almost).
Now, with the obligatory Modern Combat reference, and the mentioning of the WWII setting out of the way I can give you some pros and cons.
The Pros:
Graphics: Absolutely beautiful. Some of the best water and lighting I've seen. Some people may dis agree, but I think it is stunning.
Gameplay: If it ain't broke, don't fix it. The controls are responsive, and tight.
Co-Op Campaign: Something COD4 did horribly wrong, 5 does right. Up to four players killing Nazis! For those of you without LIVE you'll be able to play two player co-op locally.
Zombie Mode: Beat the campaign and you and up to three other friends will be put in a barn to fend of wave after wave of Nazi Zombies. One of the best parts of the game.
Death Cards: You'll find these scattered throughout the game. It's not just simple find and collect them all, they each do something to alter gameplay. Find the first card and you'll be rewarded with a "Exploding Headshots". So instead of your standard headshot, watch the head explode like a freaking watermelon.
Multiplayer: Now if you have LIVE, you're gonna love it. There are some quirks which have been mentioned. Namely spawn points. However, it's not enough to detour you if you enjoy competition. Leveling up (by gaining kills) is as addictive as it was last year.
Now the Cons:
Campaign: The length is the only problem. The story is passable, but it goes by way to fast (unless you play on veteran, which is recommended). You'll get through it in about 6-10 hours depending on your skill.
Vehicle Levels: This is my own personal bias, but I hate vehicle levels in shooter. All of them. Whether it's Gears of War, COD4 or COD5, I just can't stand them. I think they disrupt the game. I didn't come here to drive a tank, I came here to shoot you in the legs with a shotgun.
Enemies in the campaign: Just like COD4 the enemies never stop spawning unless you reach a certain point in the level, kind of a pain. That, and on higher difficulties there is an insane amount of gernades being thrown which makes for some frustrating moments.
That's really it. It's a great shooter, not quite as good as COD4 but it's in the same league. This game has gotten an unfair stigma just because of the setting. In my opinion it's unwarranted.
If you liked COD4 you'll like COD5. If you like online multiplayer, you'll like COD5. If you like killing zombies in a barn with friends, you'll like COD5. If you don't like the aforementioned, or you want more of a single player expierence, this probably isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Call of Duty: World at War Platinum Hits - Xbox 360
$29.99 $19.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.