Customer Reviews


532 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (185)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
I found this book hard to get into at first. The writing just seemed amateurish at best and it seemed like it was taking a long time to get into the meat of the story. But, I gave it a chance and I'm glad I did. When the story started to the unfold, it seemed like the quality of writing also picked up. It's not perfect by any means. The writing isn't entirely...
Published on July 5, 2011 by Tricia N. Adams

versus
93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too original but has the bones I like
The coming of age plot where a youngster - here the teenager Catrin -- discovers magic powers just in time to save the world, isn't new. However, it is an appealing plot line and Rathbone's characters are sweet too. The evil guys are not gory, the unusual alliances are interesting and the landscape is skillfully drawn.
So, I'll consider the next book if its not too...
Published on October 9, 2010 by Ann


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, July 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book hard to get into at first. The writing just seemed amateurish at best and it seemed like it was taking a long time to get into the meat of the story. But, I gave it a chance and I'm glad I did. When the story started to the unfold, it seemed like the quality of writing also picked up. It's not perfect by any means. The writing isn't entirely consistent in quality and the story sometimes needs to be reined in, but overall it's an interesting read. I'm looking forward to reading the next two installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too original but has the bones I like, October 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The coming of age plot where a youngster - here the teenager Catrin -- discovers magic powers just in time to save the world, isn't new. However, it is an appealing plot line and Rathbone's characters are sweet too. The evil guys are not gory, the unusual alliances are interesting and the landscape is skillfully drawn.
So, I'll consider the next book if its not too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dawning of Power - another great fantasy!, December 15, 2010
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Legend says that a Herald will be born who will save the land of Godfist from invaders. This Herald will fight for their freedom. To some it is only a legend but to others it is a prophecy, waiting to be fulfilled. The Zjhon are ancient enemies and are planning an attack but no one takes heed of these warnings until it is too late. Now it is up to the Herald to save them. The question is... will the Herald realize her destiny in time to save Godfist?

But that's not all...the Zjhon believe in the prophecy and have given the order to search for the Herald and do away with her. This is an intriguing fantasy and is hard to put down. The description of scenery is so well written that I could imagine it in my mind. The characters are believable and well developed. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The Dawning of Power is a trilogy, which includes Call of the Herald, Inherited Danger, and Dragon Ore. I would recommend this book for all ages.

Written by Linda Weaver Clarke, author of the new mystery series "The Adventures of John and Julia Evans."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal, easy read, August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This fantasy, while having a few points of interest, is pretty much unoriginal in the basic plotline: girl discovers her wondrous magical powers and goes with a few companions (most of them simply for comic relief) to save the world. I've read many, many fantasy books, and Rathborne's trite treatment of "magic" is something I've already heard before, from better books. The action tends to be rather slow, and didn't grip me as much as other fantasy books, say Eragon. The only moment that caught me was when Catrin was pushed off of the cliff - I thought that was kind of cool.

The writing is a very very easy read... so easy it's almost sickening. The characters are not developed and I felt no sympathy or relathionhip with any of them, except maybe Chase. The book has to makings of a good story, but needs to be treated with a more mature style of writing, greater character development, and less talk more speed. As a reader of great fantasy books, including the Lord of the Rings, I find the comparisions of this book to LOTR highly undeserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly written book with some good ideas behind it, January 19, 2012
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you are a stranger to the fantasy genre then i definitely wouldn't recommend you start with this book...in fact if you are familiar with fantasy then i DEFINITELY recommend not to bother. The story is very stilted, rarely flowing and relying on traditional formulaic phrases to describe scenes and character's emotions. It does have a nice premise behind it involving the return of "magic" to the world, however the plotline could have been lifted from just about any fantasy story going around.

Young girl suddenly develops powers, finds out she's meant to save the world, sets off on quest to kill the baddies and save the world. I'd bought this as part of a trilogy set on Kindle and through the last two books at least i got a good laugh at how awful the dialogue was. At every point it failed to immerse me in the story, overly florid descriptions of surroundings in a dreadful parody of Tolkein's Lord of the Rings, and a heroine who swings wildly between being vacillating and vacuous to self-righteous and determined in almost schizophrenic fashion.

Save your time and money, in the end the laughs i got from this book weren't worth the amount of time i put in reading it, the hint should come when you see that the author's "reviews" come from other literary geniuses who have self-published ebooks.

A true frankenstein's monster of a book with generic fantasy themes jammed together in a horrible mishmash, which is a pity because i'm sure a good editor could have licked this book into some type of reasonable shape over the course of a couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., August 26, 2012
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
While the idea for this story was a decent one, the novel as a whole could have been MUCH better.

The plot is hard to follow. Rathbone doesn't build up the setting enough - the reader is dropped into a world he/she knows nothing about.

The author also gives information randomly, tossing in bits and pieces of detail that has nothing to do with the previous or following sentences. Then there's the problem of giving TOO much information, which drags the story out (e.x.: "...permitting his unconscious mind -- rather than his conscious mind -- guide the way." Obviously if it's unconscious mind, it's not going to be his conscious mind.)He also tells us rather than shows us, which is a personal pet peeve of mine, as well as of language arts teachers everywhere.

Rathbone strings things together that don't make sense: "Leaping over the hedge, Nat moved with confidence and purpose, suddenly trusting his instincts more than his senses. For the first time in a very long time, he believed not only in his father, but also in himself." When you read that entire section of the chapter, the second sentence doesn't connect to anything. Why? Why does he suddenly believe in himself? We don't know because the author doesn't show us.

There is also the problem of overly wordy dialogue: "'Ah, Cat. I wish none of this were happening. You've certainly done nothing to deserve what those sons of jackals just said. Don't take their words into your heart, dear one. They are just scared, confused, and looking for someone to blame. I'll take care of them; don't you worry. Come along now. We've horses to tend, and I need to make a trip to the cold caves this afternoon,' he said..." Much of this dialogue is useless as well as stilted. It would have been much more effective in this case if the author had kept it shorter and to the point.

One of the things that bothers me the most is characters knowing information that they shouldn't know. There's a scene in the second chapter where the main character and her cousin are having a discussion, exchanging information that only the two of them knew. When Catrin, the main character, returns to talk to her father, suddenly he knows the same information. There's no why he could possibly know any of it, so why does Rathbone write it into his dialogue?

As a lover of all things related to grammar and punctuation, I could not have been more sorely disappointed in Rathbone's writing. There are run-on sentences strewn throughout the book as well as missing punctuation and misused words.

There are a FEW good lines throughout the novel, but none that redeem the writing. All I can say is: I'm glad I got this download for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Must be either written by or written for teenagers, April 9, 2013
By 
K. Tinsley (Federal Way, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
poorly written. Must be a book for young folks who dont care about the writing, only the story. Even through the painful writing I actually read most of it, it seemed kind of interesting, but finally had to give it up when teenagers who were being chased by seasoned armed soldiers defended themselves by throwing fruit (which, by some miracle, actually worked) and then cheese which stuck in the soldiers face and then sand stuck to that and then.... well whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a muddle!, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Could have benefited from some judicius editing. Decent character development and interesting concept but suffers from long rambling passages and unneccesary repitition. Although it ends with what obviously leads to the next book there is little temptation to discover what will happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great original story that captures you from the start, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I rarely take my time to write a review, but I just finished reading the whole dawn of power trilogy and I have to tell you that when I got to the end I felt identified with the characters of the story its such a good book that you actually care for them and its refreshing to see something truly original and not another rehash book with little o no value. All and all the books are great and I can't wait for the next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modest Intro to Godsland YA Fantasy Series, April 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call of the Herald: Young Adult Epic Fantasy (Godsland Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Call to the Herald is a short novel introducing the first Godsland trilogy. Godsland is entering an age of prophecy where nations must come accept or fight their destiny. Catrin, a young farm girl, is beginning to demonstrate unusual powers while the Zjhon Empire is plotting to invade her homeland, Godsfist. Conventional coming of age story line follows with Catrin maturing and growing into her destiny.

I had difficulty keeping interest in this book since it felt too much like a rushed introduction with too many points of view and too many balls in the air for such a short novel. Primary focus was on character and world building while plot was not adequately clarified. I have "bought" (available as a free download) the second book in the series, I will start to read it but I am not fully committed to finishing it. My primary dissatisfaction with series so far is that there is inadequate understanding of the underlying nature of the conflict and the prophecies driving the conflict. I understand that it is too early in the series to show all of the cards but still more is needed to be shown to keep my interest. If early parts of the second book show enough plot details and plot progression to keep my interest then I will likely finish the series - otherwise I will drop it.

This is the first book in the debut Godsland trilogy, The Dawning of Power trilogy, which was available for free download when I "bought" it. Next books in trilogy are Inherited Danger (Godsland Series: Book Two) (currently available for free download) and Dragon Ore (Godsland Series: Book Three). There is an omnibus edition of the first 3 books available, The Dawning of Power (Godsland Series: Books One, Two, and Three). Author has started a second Godsland trilogy. The first book in the second trilogy has been published, Regent (Godsland Series: Book Four). Note that the Amazon product page refers to this as Godsland book 4 while the author's website refers to this as book one of the new Godsland based Balance of Power trilogy.

No major editing issues noted. Call of the Herald is 3,617 Kindle locations long. Standard length novels seem to run in the 4,500 to 7,000 plus Kindle location range. Longer books, such as books in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, can range from 15,000 to 20,000 plus Kindle locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.