Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bing by Bing
I read this book as a teen years ago and just purchased the new paperback version. Bing's voice, even as filtered by Pete Martin, is evident here. He's not a deep 'teller of tales' in order to let us see all his personal angst. What we do see is a guy who struggles with parenting spirited boys, who grieves the loss of a wife, who downplays his talent and, as the book's...
Published on February 27, 2004 by Ramona

versus
12 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yup, Lucky.
Crosby says about himself that he had no skill at acting or dancing and that his singing was more gimmick than talent, a strategy learned in vaudeville. If he hadn't been in town at the same time as Paul Whiteman, his life would have taken a different turn, and that would have been okay with him. As it was, he blew around in a wind that carried him to fame, fortune,...
Published on April 20, 2005 by James Hercules Sutton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bing by Bing, February 27, 2004
By 
Ramona (Syracuse, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
I read this book as a teen years ago and just purchased the new paperback version. Bing's voice, even as filtered by Pete Martin, is evident here. He's not a deep 'teller of tales' in order to let us see all his personal angst. What we do see is a guy who struggles with parenting spirited boys, who grieves the loss of a wife, who downplays his talent and, as the book's title suggests, considers himself merely lucky. There's a lot of humor in this book and the caring Crosby feels for his family and his fellow entertainers is quite evident if not overly 'blatant'. Another perfect companion to the Gary Giddins book "Pocketful of Dreams"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The great voice of the century, August 10, 2004
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
Pete Martin, the famous journalist and profile writer who spent a lot of his time working like a beaver for the classic Saturday Evening Post of the 1940s and 1950s--the Norman Rockwell years--and who departed for LOOK magazine when Rockwell did--wrote the bulk of this book, but he did it in close cooperation with the not always easy to work with Bing Crosby, who had attained a new plateau of popularity in the 1950s (when the book was first published). It seemed as if he had everything: wonderful talent, a devoted family, a gift not only for musical comedy but for drama too, as his turns in The Country Girl and Going My Way indicated. Though filmed considerably later than the period he describes in this book, "der Bingle" did a great job as a serial killer in Ira Levin's medical thriller, Dr. Cook's Garden. Bing had a warm, jazz-inspired delivery that wrapped itself around air like it was filled with honey, he was surely the warmest singer who ever lived. If his private life was more complicated than the Saturday Evening Post was then willing to print, what we have in CALL ME LUCKY is another side to the many-faceted Bing Crosby, a construction of grit, daring and tenderness that remains remarkably durable twenty years after his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CALL ME TALENTED!, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
Bing has had some bad press since he died. This is unfortunate and in some ways unfair. He likely was too severe in discipline of his first family but probably not excessive for his day and similar to what he got. He also was keen that his kids earn their money and not feel they were on a free ride, he hoped to instill discipline and ambition. He did not give his kids much praise or recognition. He gives himself almost none. His book focuses on everyone else's part in his success and the rile of luck. There is a total lack of self worship. He has a droll way of telling anecdotes about his buddies and his family. He favours small stories and little humourous incidents and takes the mickey out of every aspect of himself. Read this in conjunction with 'Pocketful of Dreams' by Gary Giddins and listen to some of his radio broadcasts on 'My Old Radio' (don't forget to listen to his music or see a few movies) to get a pretty good picture of this amazing talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good And Interesting Story!, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
This is a very good story to read and i liked reading all about Bing Crosby. I gave the book to a friend to read and they enjoyed it too! This is a very good book to read and the price was very affordable from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 5, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
Arrived in great shape. Great book written by the one and only Bing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy!, September 6, 2010
By 
Karen L. Jeffries (New Orleans, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
Very happy with seller and product! I would definitely buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yup, Lucky., April 20, 2005
By 
James Hercules Sutton (Des Moines, IA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call Me Lucky (Paperback)
Crosby says about himself that he had no skill at acting or dancing and that his singing was more gimmick than talent, a strategy learned in vaudeville. If he hadn't been in town at the same time as Paul Whiteman, his life would have taken a different turn, and that would have been okay with him. As it was, he blew around in a wind that carried him to fame, fortune, race tracks, golf courses and professional friends. Otherwise, he made no contribution, he says, except for two recordings, and he isn't kidding. What we have here is a modest little man with a great deal to be modest about. Vain, conceited, self-centered, pretentious, affable--what media turns into icon. The book itself is a series of anecdotes distilled from conversations with a ghostwriter, interrupted when Bing swaps a highbrow word for a lowbrow one, reaching for distinction. He had an ache for attention, evidently, but his book never deals with the hungers of his personality. So he's not as interesting as the people he mentions, sometimes indiscretely, despite his own penchant for privacy. It was a wonderful ride. I'm glad he enjoyed it. But yesteryear's wisecrack is this year's yawn. For a show biz autobiography that sizzles with self-knowledge, read Oscar Levant's or Lennie Bruce's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Call Me Lucky
Call Me Lucky by As told to Pete Martin (Paperback - Nov. 2001)
$16.95 $14.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.