Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Calligraphy Book EVER!
This has to be the best Calligraphy Book. It lays flat and will also "hang" off the top of your drawing table. The descriptions and explanations are well thought out and easy to understand. Maryanne Grebenstein has put a TON of thought into this book and how well its laid out. The tear out sheets in the back are fantastic! The only one I've come across that has them (and...
Published on January 28, 2007 by Skillings

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Inspirational to Me
Unfortunately, I did not like the calligraphic fonts in this book.
That's too bad for me, but it is not to say that no one else
would like these fonts and be excited about the book.
Published 4 months ago by Elise


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Calligraphy Book EVER!, January 28, 2007
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
This has to be the best Calligraphy Book. It lays flat and will also "hang" off the top of your drawing table. The descriptions and explanations are well thought out and easy to understand. Maryanne Grebenstein has put a TON of thought into this book and how well its laid out. The tear out sheets in the back are fantastic! The only one I've come across that has them (and I have MANY calligraphy books). I recommend this book above all the others out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners and advanced calligraphers, December 9, 2007
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
Beautifully and intelligently executed, both beginners and advanced calligraphers will find value in this book. The scripts are rendered beautifully with excellent instructions and diagrams for practice as well as final lettering. It is spiral bound - a thoughtful touch for a book that will be left open to certain pages for lengthy periods of time. There are pull-out templates to use on a light-box underneath paper or vellum. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It's well worth the price and could replace an entire bookshelf of less worthy tomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering, October 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
Great! I bought about 7 books, and while I am happy to own them, this one could stand in for them all. There are 5 plastic guides (very sturdy, they will last indefinitely) to help make lines for your practice sheets for the various hands. Use under tracing paper, a wonderful tool, excellent time saver. Worth every penny/dime/dollar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Calligraphy Book, November 17, 2008
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
I've never done calligraphy before but always been curious. I picked up this book and found that I learned much more quickly than I expected. I would recommend it. The clear plastic sheets at the back are especially useful in helping keep a consist letter size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledgeable Author/Informative/Helpful/Easy to Use/Perfect for a Beginner!, July 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
I was new to calligraphy when I purchased this book. I was interested and wanted to gain a little knowledge and to be given an introduction to calligraphy without frustration. This is a workbook that provides a wealth of knowledge and inspires the artist to work at calligraphy. The history behind calligraphy and the different styles are brought to light. Documents are provided as examples and the author includes her own pieces of work. The work is gorgeous and inspirational. Tips for how to begin, how to hold the pen, types of ink and paper, practice, clear instructions and advice, and much more are given. This book is a steal! I will look into more documents by the author of this informative and practical workbook. So much work, effort, and thought went into making this a very practical resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one, May 26, 2009
By 
Cologodan (Ft. Collins, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
Of the many books for beginning and intermediate calligraphers, this is simply the best. Grebenstein is obviously a talented calligrapher and a good teacher. Moreover, she has a solid scholarly knowledge of the history of writing and the rare skill to render complex historical and technical subjects briefly and clearly. The core of the book is her instruction in the five basic hands, italic, uncial, Carolingian, gothic and foundational. She presents each in a similar manner that is easy to understand and learn. The intelligent, thoughtful page arrangement and spiral binding add much to the books practical value for those who want to learn, rather than just read about, calligraphy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Beginners, September 28, 2010
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
Practical step by step instructions. I find the book inspiring, full of practical instructions. Easy to follow. This is a book for those who want to begin practising calligraphy by themselves. I would suggest it for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginners book, January 6, 2010
By 
Courtney J. Holmes (Santa Rosa, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
I originally tried a different book before picking up this little gem, so I really appreciate the quality. The spiral binding lets the book lie flat, the instructions are clear, and the worksheets are well thought-out. At the back of the book are a couple of nice chapters on laying out a project, and the process of crating a finished work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but only for begginers., September 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
It is a good book that shows an introduction to the art of calligraphy, but I expected more of it. It teaches only the first steps, so if you are looking for something deeper I do not recommend this book, but if you are really a beginner go for it with no mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other reviewers are spot on. Great book, March 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering (Spiral-bound)
Love this book. Very instructional and functional. I removed the spiral cover so it is much easier to use on my drawing table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering
Calligraphy: A Course in Hand Lettering by Maryanne Grebenstein (Spiral-bound - September 1, 2006)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.