Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $7.00 (70%)

Read this title for free. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Callsign: King (Jack Sigler / Chess Team - Chesspocalypse Novellas Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 46 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 188 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.
  • Similar books to Callsign: King (Jack Sigler / Chess Team - Chesspocalypse Novellas Book 1)

"The Short Drop" by Matthew FitzSimmons
Meet the assassin The Washington Post calls "a doozy of a sociopath" in this debut thriller from Matthew FitzSimmons. Available on Kindle and in paperback.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 578 KB
  • Print Length: 188 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Breakneck Media (June 23, 2011)
  • Publication Date: June 23, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0057X9W7C
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #159,391 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This is full of action and dark goings on in Ethiopia and the Elephant's Graveyard, where ivory is not the only prize. King takes on two opposing and well-equipped forces in a frantic search to find a deadly agent after he is called to Ethiopia by a text from his girlfriend and disease investigator, Sarah Fogg. Things get more complicated and Fogg disappears, adding to the tension as King's motivation increases. Short but definitely sweet novella I and can't wait for the next in the series!
Comment 8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The first book in the Chessocalypse series of novellas co-written by Jeremy Robinson and other writers. Do yourself a favor and pick up Pulse, Instinct, and Threshold in that order before you read any of these novellas, other wise you might be a little lost. If you just want a sampling though get the first novella and I promise it will not be the last you buy. Jeremy Robinson blends military, science, and mythology and monsters together so very well; you will be on the edge of your seat the whole time waiting to see what is next. Not so much a new name in fiction as a great name in fiction, I look forward to all the future works from this truly talented author.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have just finished reading all seven novellas, and I must admit that this was my least favorite of the Chesspocalypse series. That said, it's like saying rocky road is my least favorite ice cream. It's still enjoyable, but I prefer others. My only real complaint is that I am not terribly fond of the supernatural element in this book. The whole possession aspect was unappealing, but that is just a matter of personal preference. Sean Ellis' writing, however, was true to Jeremy Robinson's form. Ellis replicated Robinson's style seemlessly, incorporating different vocabulary of similar ilk, while keeping King's character intact.

One of my favorite wrinkles introduced into the series is a new antagonist. Based on this new nemesis' reappearance in the second King book it is clear that this enemy will continue to battle the Chess Team. Call it a hunch, but I have a feeling we are already familiar with this villian.

With this novella King maintains both his prominance as team leader, and his vulnerability. I love the fact that Robinson's heroes are neither infallible nor superhuman (though their enemies and allies may be). King makes mistakes and suffers his share of injuries, but his intillegence and extensive training are key to his survival.

If you are a fan of the Chess Team/Jack Sigler Adventures then grab the Callsign novellas. They add terrific depth to each team member, are quick reads, and will likely link to the next book in the series.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Earlier this month I finally read Threshold (Jack Sigler) and loved it. The next Chess Team novel is not due until July or August. I usally wait until the e-book price of the Chess Team books come down to under $8 before I buy it. I might not be able to wait until the summer of 2013..........I then discovered the Callsign books and now I have several stories to tie me over until the next full length Chess Team story.

I enjoyed reading Callsign: King - Book 1. Zipped right thru it. I plan to buy all the novellas and will space them out until this summer (in which I will probably break down and consume the Chess Team new book).

I think my next selection will be Callsign: Queen - Book 1.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was such a great book. I was so caught up in the story that I could not put it down. Can't wait for the next book.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I'm going to make it short and sweet. Jeremy is one of my favs, his style lines up perfect with what I enjoy reading! I gave the first 3 chess team books 5 stars but this one I'm giving 4 just on the issue of the rushed ending. Book was great but I felt like the ending was rushed too much... Maybe another 10 pages would have done it. Anyway great read and I would advise everyone to check it up...

Chuck
Comment 3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was a great little adventure story. It moved along very quickly, was a fast read, and kept me entertained for a couple of days. What else can you really ask for? I think it's a great book and recommend it to anyone.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
King, Jack Sigler, starts off running and doesn’t slow down. While returning from a mission, Jack receives a cryptic e-mail from his girlfriend, Sara Fogg. She’s a detective with the CDC and has been called to Ethiopia to investigate a possible outbreak. Jack follows and finds that someone doesn’t really want him there.

A scientific research company is looking into a myth about a graveyard of elephants in Ethiopia. The scientists find something but not what they expected. Now the fate of mankind is dependent on the health and survival of the scientist, Felice Carter, who “inherited” the wisdom of the “old mother.”

A rogue CIA agent kidnaps Sara and Felice. He turns them over to a man from a defunct scientific corporation who works for Brainstorm, the supercomputer.

Throughout the story we get to see King’s special brand of ingenuity and perseverance as he does all in his power to rescue his girlfriend, and Felice, with minimal help from Chess Team.

Jeremy Robinson, with Sean Ellis, write a fast paced, engrossing story with likeable lead characters. They show human weaknesses which makes them more authentic as well as showing the determination that we want our warriors and heroes to have.

In the vein of Cussler, Lincoln, Preston, and Rollins, this short story will hold your attention and leave you wanting more. Fortunately, there are more Chess Team books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in