Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

831 of 861 people found the following review helpful
on January 19, 2014
I have tried dieting before, which has worked but for me has always only been temporary weight loss. The great thing about this app is it is SO easy to use, which at first was the biggest reason why I didn't want to calorie count. I have been using this app for about three weeks, along with this supplement that a friend of mine has been taking. I can say that so far, its really been working for me. 9lbs down is nothing to scoff at.

I think that because I can see the stupid little things that actually have a lot more calories than you would think, I am eating a lot less now. Some stuff that normal people eat every day are just NOT worth it for the amount of calories in it, you will end up being happier eating something else, that is much much less calories.

MFP is really personalized and the barcode scanner is THE BEST, so when you dont have to type every little thing into your phone or your computer when you eat it. Now calorie counting is SO easy.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
269 of 283 people found the following review helpful
I hate dieting. I've done it on occasion throughout the past ten years and I've had varying results, but nothing that stuck. The idea of cutting out foods that I love, especially carbs, is something that terrifies me, and so those crash diets where we strip out those lovely breads and pastas trim me down, but the second I'm off of it I'm downing plates of spaghetti and gaining weight faster than I lost it.

With an upcoming trip to Europe planned, I knew that I needed to get into better shape.

Instead of jumping on board with another crash diet, I decided to lose the weight right this time. A friend of mine suggested this app for my phone and I must say, I was skeptical. I have never `counted calories' and I just didn't think it was possible for me to eat enough on something like this.

I am in love with this thing.

Setup was easy, yet essential. Plugging in my weight, sex, age, activity level and goal weight helped set me up with a calorie intake that was best for me. As I kept track of what I was eating, this app helped me to look at food differently. It opened my eyes to the way I was eating previously. It's funny, because you tend to think that you are eating healthy but when you see that ONE meal consists of three-quarters of your daily intake, realize you aren't eating as healthy as you think you are. Sure, it was an adjustment, but as you get to know the average calories in certain foods, it becomes easier to adapt. In five months I've dropped 45 pounds and I feel in better shape than I ever have. The best part is, I can work with these restraints. I still eat carbs (actually, I eat lots of them) and I still have the occasional sweet (I have trimmed those back a lot). I'm not hurting. With a way to track your exercise (and thus add additional calories to your daily intake), this app is well-rounded and highly effective.

This is less a diet and more a way of life; a new way of looking at food.

I recommend this to all of my friends, and quite a few have already loaded it up and have started dropping pounds thanks to its easy use. With an extensive list of foods already logged into the database, and the use of the barcode scanner, calorie counting is ridiculously easy. Besides, after a few months you'll be able to count your own calories. I can't recommend this enough!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
458 of 506 people found the following review helpful
on September 18, 2011
This app has helped me where I've failed so often before. It makes it so easy to track what you are eating. I am then sometimes surprised at what I've thought was healthy in the past, finding it those things really high in calories. Good Luck. This is a great tool to success!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2013
This app is easy to use and helps keep calories at bay. I particularly like that it syncs to all your devices, so I got it running on the kindle and 2 phones, plus a web version when I am planning a meal. Bar cod scan feature is great for snacks. Amazed that it is free!

Tip: don't just use it to track, use it to plan. Put your meal in before you eat it, that may encourage you to skip a slice of cheese or an extra cookie if you know the count beforehand.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
881 of 993 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2011
I began using this app several weeks ago at the recommendation of several friends who had nothing but positive things to say about the program. I can see why they, and so many other people, like this program! After less than a month, I am already noticing results.

The program is incredibly intuitive to use. Registration is very easy, and can be done through the program itself (without being re-directed through the phone's browser). Once registered, you can also access your calorie/exercise log through the company's website. This is far more convenient than relying on a traditional food diary.

The program calculates your caloric need based on your height, weight, gender, lifestyle (active, sedentary, etc), and weight loss goals. This really customizes the program to help you achieve your individual goals, as opposed to going off of some generic information on caloric intake you find elsewhere.

MyFitnessPal's integration of the phone's camera as a barcode scanner really makes calorie-counting no excuse! If of course you can't find an item through the barcode scanner, you can select from their extensive food/beverage databse. If you stick to the caloric guidelines, there is no reason why you can't lose weight with this program!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
372 of 421 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2011
love this app. Has really help me track my food intake. i can download reports to send to my nutritionist for her to review between appts. great that mobile autosyncs w website n viceversa. must have!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2012
This is a pretty good app for anyone looking to lose weight. There is a fairly comprehensive database of foods, and for the most part, I have not had trouble logging my meals. There are certainly times when the calorie estimate may be somewhat questionable, as a lot of the entered recipes are user entries. The "Nutrients" section is also somewhat questionable, as it seems to place the emphasis on using the 30-30-40 method for caloric intake, spread over protein, fat, and carbohydrates. For someone like myself who is trying to avoid refined sugars and many empty carb calories, it continually tells me I have eaten too much protein. It also sets the bar for "sugars" so low that you will blow your sugar budget on an apple and some mixed berries! Mostly, as a result, I ignore the Nutrients section.

The calorie counting is pretty good, but flawed. All in all, however, I found that logging all of my food greatly helped me become aware of how much I was eating, and how much of it was easily replaced. This is not an app for the faint of heart - if you are too scared to honestly log all your food, you won't maximize the weight loss potential of the app. It is beneficial, however, that you can add recipes of commonly used foods (for me, I added in a bunch of smoothies so I don't have to log the foods individually). It makes using the app slightly cumbersome in the beginning, but it is absolutely a breeze after the first week.

One large nit, however, is that it counts whatever you burn off as exercise as "calories" left on your plate. Anyone who has ever cared about fitness knows you do not need to eat ALL of the calories you burned through exercise. Half the point of exercise is adding to your calorie burn! It also does not count any calories as "burned" from strength training, even though lifting weights burns calories.

All in all, this is a good app for anyone starting out who wants a realistic picture of how to go about losing weight. For athletes, or anyone looking to get truly fit, you will find this app frustrating as it logs only weight, not taking into account that muscle weighs more than fat, or how much you should really be eating to keep those muscles happy!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
78 of 89 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2014
I always read license agreements. Language is pretty typical, but this app really stood out as very ... greedy.

You give up so many rights, it's hard to call this app free. The short form: you give rights to EVERYTHING you do on the app/site, including articles and posts, and the company can re-sell/re-print anything *forever* without paying you. May even include name, address, phone!

- Anonymized Data? I did not see any mention of anonymizing data. This is especially problematic given...

- Legal Collection AND Distribution of all Data. Look, none of us naiive here. I'm sure we all expect our data to be culled, analyzed and sold. However, IF the company does not anonymize, they can sell your name, address, phone and other info with the data. A telemarketer's dream! Even if they DO anonymize, *my reading* of the license brought me to conclude that they still have the right to sell your name.address,phone,etc. to third parties. (This is why the subject is "Read the License Agreement"!)

- Legal Collection AND Distribution of Anything! Pictures, blogs, posts, articles, stories, age, weight, etc. If you turn one of your posts into an article that you're payed for, these guys can reprint it anywhere, any time, without paying you ever... and put your picture on it!

This is asking way too much for an app that has many, many competitors with far less rights-taking licenses. I am looking elsewhere.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2012
Believe it or not, there is a revolutionary diet plan out there that will cost you nothing. Leading edge scientists have devised a combination of working out and portion control that will combat you're expanding waistline....

Seriously folks we get fat by eating too much and sitting around, watching TV. This time last year, I weighed 265 pounds. I'm 193 today. Myfitnesspal combines social media, a great database of food data and workout tracking to keep you accountable for every bite you take and every step you make.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on April 28, 2014
I liked this app a lot at first. Then after I used it about a week I started getting pop-ups attached to porn sites. I've complained, but no response. I've noticed other reviewers have said this too. I've used tons of apps and this is the first time I've ever had THIS problem! Disappointed because it was a useful app, but no thanks!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Lose It!
Lose It! by FitNow, Inc

Fitbit by Fitbit, Inc.

Fitness Pal
Fitness Pal by Peaksel

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.