Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Color: Turquoise|Change
Price:$20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2010
This is my third colander from this line. I also have:
Calypso Basics, 08703, 1-1/2 Quart powder coated Colander, Marina
(as well as a 1-quart version that is really too small to be useful for anything.)

There's a huge variation on the ratings of these colanders, and it seems to me there's a simple reason for this: You buy a pretty colander like this because you're a little bit silly and you like the color. If you want a colander that's going to last forever, buy a stainless steel colander.

The problem, I think, is heat. You shouldn't put enameled ANYTHING in a dishwasher, for example, because the enamel and the metal expand at different rates, and that leads to chipping. I would think that draining pasta would have less of an effect like this, but it might be similar, depending on how hot the water is. I use mine for rinsing vegetables and things like that, so I've never had the chipping problem. (My first one is now a year and a half old.)

These colanders have also impressed me in that I've dropped them from the place where I hang them (above my head) onto the very hard tile floor with no apparent damage.

So yeah, me, I'm silly and the color makes me happy, so I have these hanging next to a stainless steel colander which is the one I use for more serious things. But when I'm rinsing veggies, I grab these.

Oh, another thing to note: The holes on these are pretty good sized. I like that they drain better than my stainless steel colander. But some have complained that their spaghetti slips through, and yes, the holes are definitely big enough for that to happen.
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2010
The colander is attractive, and if used as a fruit bowl or only occasionally it's probably fine. But using it to cook with on a near-daily basis, it's gotten rusty and the enamel has worn off around many of the holes. The pattern of drainholes is also not 100% ideal (would work better if there were drainholes closer to the bottom on the sides).
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
This Colander is pretty, and nice if you just want to use it for decoration. However, I bought it to use and it has started rusting at some of the seams. I wash by hand, and dry immediately after. Very disappointed.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2008
Although very charming looking and available in fabulous colors,this colander does not wear well. After about 9 mos of normal family kitchen use, the bottom is rusting out and the paint is peeling off (my stainless steel colander, on the other hand that I've had for 5 plus years, is still going strong with only some minor dents).If you are wanting/expecting to have a colander that will last-this isn't the product for you.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2008
I really love the size, shape, and weight of the colander. It is also a beautiful color, and it drains well. I do, however, have one complaint. The enamel tends to wear off at points where it is welded and then those spots rust. It happened the second day I had my first one and I had to get a replacement, it is starting to happen with the second one also. Thankfully, it is just at the bottom where no one can really see and I love it otherwise, so I will keep it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2006
We built this new house and also decided to upgrade my kitchen utensils. This colander is sturdily built, a good design, and easy to clean. The only down side is that it does take up shelf space because it cannot be nested with anything else because of its enamel surface. A caveat: I've had this for a number of months now and it has started to RUST around the bottom....
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2007
This is painted metal, not enamel. As mentioned in another review, the paint starts to bubble and chip off with very mild wear. With all the worry about lead lately, I worry about using this painted (not enamel) cookware item.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
oh it was lovely. but after over 5 months of use, think it is a piece of crap. after using it just a few times to strain pasta, the color started fading in weird streaky patterns. now the color is marbled, blue and lighter blue. the finish is clearly not stable. i only hope i am not poisoning myself, and wonder if i should just throw it out. also, noticed today that the finish is wearing off near the base, and rust is forming. considering i hand wash it and dry it immediately after each use, this is pretty pathetic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
We purchased this to replace a 6 year old red colander that was dented. This Reston Lloyd colander looks great out of the box, but within 4 months it started to show signs of failure. The paint began to blister, first around the inside of the base then along the exterior of the colander. Within6 months the finish began to blister on the interior of the colander as well. In addition, this colander drains poorly because it has a flat bottom, not a rounded one. In short, it's ok if you don't intend to use it as a colander....
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
I'm not going to go into how good it looks or well it works. All you need to know is that this ought to be called THE POWDER BLUE RUST BUCKET. No matter how well u dry it, it WILL rust after three months of routine use. After six months, there is more rust than blue. Do yourself a favor and save your money. I wish I could send it back but it's too late. I'm ordering a plastic one instead and recycling this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.