Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ansel Adams: The Camera (The Ansel Adams Photography Series 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 19, 2002
Ansel Adams is indeed one of the most highly regarded photographers ever, and in this first of three instructional books, he reveals much of the foundational wisdom that he gathered over a lifetime taking pictures. The focus of this book is the camera and deals with all types and formats of film cameras and techniques for using them to take wonderful photos.
This book is one of the most common and cherished textbooks used in beginning photography but is indispensable for any interested in better understanding camera arts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2003
Just like his photos, this book is a classic. It explains the fundamentals quite clearly, with intuitive diagram and real pictures. Its coverage on view camera is extremely valuable. Although not many people use view camera these days, that chapter is an eye-openner for appreciating some of the best pictures ever taken by Ansel and other classic photographers. Its coverage on the basic principles are very thourough too. A must read for every serious photographer.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2001
This book, the first of a three book series, introduces the reader to the various camera systems and accessories required for successful B&W photography. The book progresses into explanations on aperature and shutter speed selection, lens choices, lighting and image management. No detail is neglected. Best read in conjunction with books two and three.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
Let me start with the fact that I've had high school and college classes on photography so I already had some preconceived notions. This book helped change some of those. Mr. Adams works in large format (8x10 I believe), black and white, sheet film. That matters nothing to the education you can get from this book. He starts from the bottom up and explains everything in clear terms, always focusing on how the term or action relates to taking the picture. He could have gone way technical but he stops short and you can tell he wants to teach us to see and to use our tools (whichever ones we use.)

If you are new to DSLR photogrpahy, SLR photography or have a loved one who wants to do better at amateur photography, this is the book to get them started. Whether you are a portrait taker, nature photographer, found object, animal or a mix, this book will serve you well, especially those with little or no training. Thanks Mr. Adams! May we all rise to your level of artistic integrity and skill.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
I am by no means an accomplished or experienced photographer but I enjoy taking pictures of my surroundings. In particular, nature and architecture. I got "The Camera" because I figured that if I wanted to pick up some tips on nature photography than I may as well learn from the master. If you shoot digital than there are parts of the book that aren't particularly useful but it is still very interesting to learn a bit about how Ansel Adams produced all of those amazing pictures. If you are interested in photography at all as an art form than I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
Although an abridged version of the original, it remains a good book for the serious black and white photographer. It is almost impossible (and very costly) to find the original book, therefore, this makes for a good substitute. It was delivered on time. Great buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
Ansel Adams deserves a lot of credit for getting photography recognized as an art as well as technical advances in the field. Even though he worked with film (mainly black and white), and large format cameras, the principles he discusses in this book "The Camera" as well as his other books are still relevant today and found in modern incarnations in digital cameras, Photoshop, and the like.

For anyone who is serious about photography and interested in understanding the underpinnings more deeply in order to take better photos rather than editing them into a better state afterwards, I recommend this book.

I do however have to include the comment that Ansel Adams, while an artistic genius, was also very detail oriented and his writing, while enlightening, is sometimes dry and tedious.

-William Milberry
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
A good general discussion of the operating principles of cameras and the different types. Even thought today virtually everything is digital, anyone would benefit from reading the works of this great master.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
The advice that Ansel gives in this book is applicable to all types of photography, including digital, and no matter how much you think you know, you will learn something. I found that reading the Ansel Adams Photography Series has changed the way that I look at photography in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
This book (part of a three part series) is the definitive work on photography. While Ansel Adams discusses prints, the application for digital is the same. This is required reading for anyone serious about photography and the process!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse