Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good seasoning oil
Mix of a few oils, I forget which (I think sunflower seed is one of them). Consistency is a bit thinner than peanut butter in a 68 F house. Doesn't pour out like lotion, but I was able to squeeze it out OK. Others have apparently had a more difficult time.

Used it on my new Camp Chef cast iron griddle. Heat the pan at 200F for about 10 minutes to get a dry...
Published 18 months ago by K. A. Young

versus
47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine for a light coating, but I think a little olive oil might work just as well. Will not order again.
This was a little disappointing, but what could I really expect? Seasoning takes years (or at least a lot of time and smoke in your oven). I was trying to avoid that with this coating. It works OK, as a light coating after you wash your pan. But, truly, I used to rub olive oil on my hot pan, just bring it to a smoke, turn off the heat and let it sit until I used it the...
Published on January 30, 2010 by Susan Batz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good seasoning oil, January 7, 2013
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
Mix of a few oils, I forget which (I think sunflower seed is one of them). Consistency is a bit thinner than peanut butter in a 68 F house. Doesn't pour out like lotion, but I was able to squeeze it out OK. Others have apparently had a more difficult time.

Used it on my new Camp Chef cast iron griddle. Heat the pan at 200F for about 10 minutes to get a dry surface and to open the iron's pores. Put a light coating on so that it glistens. Wipe it down with a dry cloth until the pan looks dry. Bake at 400F for 1 hour. Let cool in the oven for another 2 hours.

Goes in looking grey. Comes out looking black, just like the muffin pan that someone posted in the photo section. Griddle looks 10X better than new. I stopped with just the one coat, since the pan was already pre-seasoned.

Just note that you want to bring the oil (this or any other one you use) above its smoke point. This causes the polymerization process that creates the non-stick seasoning. Yes, the smoke by-product does contain carcinogens.

Flaxseed oil is supposedly the best oil to season a pan with. This worked pretty good, though, was easier to find, was a lot cheaper (7 at sportsmans warehouse), and doesn't require refrigeration.

UPDATE: The ingredients listed, in order, are: Organic Palm Oil, Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Sunflower Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Citric Acid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than crisco, November 17, 2007
This conditioner is better than Crisco or any other shortening or oil because it won't go rancid like other oils can. If you don't use your Dutch oven or other cast iron all winter and it just sits somewhere, chances are good that it will be rancid come spring and you'll have to strip and re-season it. That won't happen with this conditioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast Iron Repair or Restore Oil, June 15, 2011
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
We have been using Cast iron for many years and have some great old pieces from various trips.

Everyone has a different tip or trick to seasoning cast iron, for many years bacon grease was the "hot product" what a mess!

Many of my cast iron finds need some TLC, a little rust or extra build it can hide the true inner beauty of the cast iron, I have some Griswold, Lodge, and Camp Chef Skillets and Dutch ovens that are super old but look better than new.

THIS stuff is great, I use a couple of different tricks for rust, like hay alfalfa and coke, but to put that nice BLACK finish, the cast iron conditioner does the trick, it lasts twice as long as regular oil and doesn't leave any lasting after taste.

Remember you still have to take care of your cast iron and heat it to dry it but this is the easy way to keep it nice and black for a lifetime of great uses.

Someone posted cheaper at walmart, funny at the time of this review walmart was $4 more and ship to store... FYI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine for a light coating, but I think a little olive oil might work just as well. Will not order again., January 30, 2010
By 
Susan Batz (San Anselmo, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
This was a little disappointing, but what could I really expect? Seasoning takes years (or at least a lot of time and smoke in your oven). I was trying to avoid that with this coating. It works OK, as a light coating after you wash your pan. But, truly, I used to rub olive oil on my hot pan, just bring it to a smoke, turn off the heat and let it sit until I used it the next time, and I think that method worked better. I'll use up the cream, but I wouldn't order it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great conditioner for cast iron, July 7, 2010
By 
Neva A. Mayer (Yelm, Wa. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
I was looking for an easy way to keep my iron skillet conditioned as we have several cooks in the house and many people use it. I ask each one to simply clean the skillet and leave on top of the stove so I can condition it before putting it away. It is always ready for use and works as well as seasoning it in the oven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Price to Me, December 9, 2012
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
I do the classic oven or campfire seasoning with Crisco on all new or rusty pieces. This is what I use after I've cooked something in a seasoned pan. It does not go rancid and is far less messy than other greases.

The only down side is it thickens and solidifies in the tube. After one tube split when squeezing, I just poured it into a small plastic tub. Now I do that for each new tube. It needs stirring occasionally, or a quick heat in the microwave, and it's much easier in the tub than the tube.

For best results: Clean cast iron with scrubber and very hot water, little or no soap. Place on stove and heat to dry. Dip a paper towel into the tub, rub it on the cast iron, continue heating to just smoking, set aside to cool, wipe off the excess, and store.

Thanks to this stuff, even my Chinese cast iron looks great and functions almost as well as my Lodge and Griswold pieces, and my grandad's 100-year-old chuckwagon dutch oven.

I recommend it. Considering how little is needed each time, it's a good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced it beats lard; Changed my mind!, October 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
Purchased this conditioner with a new Lodge cast iron skillet. I have used it twice on the skillet and have come to the conclusion that lard works better. That's just my opinion from years of using lard with good results on my cast iron skillets.

After several months of using this product on my old cast iron, I am forced to change my mind about it. My old cast is in better condition than it ever was using lard. It is cleaner, surface is virtually non-stick, and cleanup is easy. The only complaint I have is that you have to nuke it to get it out of the tube if a constant 80+ degree temperature is not maintained where you store it. I have not had any better luck using this product with the new Lodge Logic skillet. I think if I use the skillet enough to get the pre-seasoning off of it, Camp Chef will eventually re-season it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cast-iron conditioner, June 25, 2011
By 
gnosnhoj (Hopkinsville, KY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
Works well, however QC is lacking. Of 3 tubes that I have bought, each has had a different consistency: from thin as veggie oil to too thick to squeeze out without softening in hot water for ~5 minutes.
I ended up consolidating and blending the tubes then reloading with a basting needle, since my smallest spice funnel won't fit the tube. Made quite a mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast Iron Conditioner, September 22, 2007
This product works great for conditioning cast iron cookware. I'm not sure that it's better than shortening (Crisco for example), but it's more convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Product, April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camp Chef CSC-8 6-Ounce Bottle of Cast-Iron Conditioner (Kitchen)
I saw an info-mercial about cooking with cast iron and the host had seasoned the pans with this and swore by it. A while back I had purchased "pre-seasoned" cast iron and was very disapointed in them - everything stuck. I thought maybe this product would remedy my problem so I ordered it. It did not work like he said. Would I buy it again? NO!! It is an OK product and maybe after I "season" the pans again and maybe again after that I might be happier with it. Right now - with what I have seen - I am not happy. It is priced much to high and did not impress me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.