Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of insider tips and information
I am a relatively experienced camper and backpacker, though by no means an expert. I have browsed lots of similar titles in bookstores, but Camping for Dummies offered the most detail, tips and understandable advise of any. The writer's style is humorous and easy-to-read and his obviously experienced advise has proved invaluable on numerous weekend camping trips already...
Published on April 3, 2003

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For serious adventure camping only!
This book is great for people who want to go pitch a tent up in the hills, but only has a few things to say to those who are headed to the local campground for a family weekend. If you need to know where not to pitch a tent to avoid flash floods, or how to consolidate everything you need into a small compact carry bag, then this is for you.
Published on July 10, 2006 by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of insider tips and information, April 3, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I am a relatively experienced camper and backpacker, though by no means an expert. I have browsed lots of similar titles in bookstores, but Camping for Dummies offered the most detail, tips and understandable advise of any. The writer's style is humorous and easy-to-read and his obviously experienced advise has proved invaluable on numerous weekend camping trips already. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about camping, or simply anyone who wants to pick up some more tips and skills so you feel more like Indiana Jones when outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For serious adventure camping only!, July 10, 2006
By 
Scott "Rutherford1" (Manassas, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is great for people who want to go pitch a tent up in the hills, but only has a few things to say to those who are headed to the local campground for a family weekend. If you need to know where not to pitch a tent to avoid flash floods, or how to consolidate everything you need into a small compact carry bag, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars camping for dummies, September 12, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
this book covered most camping situations in detail. i would recommend this book to any novice camper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Beginers Guide, June 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I have been camping and hiking for about 15 years so this book provided me with a lot of information I already know. However, I could have really used it as a long time ago. It provides a lot of helpful information for anyone who is still camping as a small hobby or anyone who wants to give it a try. It also serves as a nice reference guide/reminder to those of us who consider camping one of the main elements of our lives. But the hardcore campers out there really don't need it. I only gave it a three star rating because I've read other Dummies books on subjects I have extensive knowledge of and still learned a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information across many topics, September 9, 2007
By 
Nate P (Germantown, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I already camp and hike but was looking for a book that would cover areas that I wasn't familiar with yet. It does a very good job of filling this need. It would also be an excellent starter for someone who hasn't camped or hiked before. Once you decide on a specific interest there are deeper books on specific areas available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, March 27, 2008
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I think this book has some pretty good information in it for the novice and experenced alike. It's nice that the author includes kids but also caters to the campers that leave the children home.
The only thing that I did not care for was that the author is constantly writing about hiking in the woods (for day or overnight), which is great if you are going to the woods, but doesn't write about what you can do at other lacations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educating the masses., November 16, 2008
By 
The Col (Saegertown, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
A good basic training manual for those who have not experienced the fun of camping. (Many of the so-called campers are in reality heavy-duty RVers who have never camped.) This treatise looks at camping rationally and should be MUST reading for the outdoor recreation populace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for first timers, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I had never been camping before and this gave me some good ideas so if you are a camping virgin you wont go wrong with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No thrills, but some good info..., October 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
It is a decent book with some good information. I found it rather dry with it's line drawing illustrations and black and white pictures. But did find some good to know information in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beginner Book- For Sure, May 9, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camping For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book because I have learned alot from other "Dummies" Books. This book is a good introductory book for someone who has never went camping. It mostly has common sense ideas and isn't for the advanced camper (although one might find the lists helpful). Few illustrations and the way that it is set up doesn't provide much field use. Overall, a pretty good reference for a novice which I suppose is who the author intended to reach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Camping For Dummies
Camping For Dummies by Michael Hodgson (Paperback - May 23, 2000)
$19.99 $12.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.