Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: I Can Do It
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 8, 2012
This book is a lot of fun to read and the illustrations are above and beyond what I expected. A nice little bonus to having your child read this book is that there are hidden animals and items in each picture for them to find, so when they are done reading, they can go back through the book and find something else to do for a few minutes. The author also included discussion prompts at the end of the book that I really liked. I thought this story was very cute and had a nice message about not giving up and believing in yourself that all kids could benefit from. The text was a bit small on the Kindle fire, but you can click on the picture to enlarge it, so that isn't a huge issue. This was a fun book for bedtime or anytime and I enjoyed watching my children's reaction to it. Very well formatted.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
Sammy the squirrel was excited that his cousins, Silly and Sassy were coming for another visit to Walnut Grove. He had a special adventure planned for his friends and his cousins. They were going to explore Whispering Willows a magical forest. He was keeping it a secret as to how the forest was magical. He wanted them to experience the magic for themselves.

Some of the activities took courage and they would have to brave. They would probably be doing things they had never done before. But Sammy was there to protect them.

Bucky the beaver has a big surprise for Silly and Sally and his friends. What kind of surprises and adventure does Sammy and Bucky have in store for Silly and Sally?

You will want to get your own copy of I CAN DO IT in order to find out about their adventure. You do not want to miss all the magic and fun!

The author always has a lesson to be learned in her story. The lesson in this story is I CAN DO IT. She teaches that one can have self confidence by putting fear aside. This is definitely a great lesson!

The illustrations depict a fun adventure in the magical forest with some things hidden just for you to find. The illustrations gives you the feeling of experiencing the magic as you read the story.

I highly recommend this book.

Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from the Lehman Publishing for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon February 19, 2013
While "I Can Do It" is a story that can stand on its own, the character development is more fully understood if the previous two books in the series, Adventures at Walnut Grove and I DOUBLE Dare You! have been read first. In "I Can Do It", Sammy the Squirrel goes on a trip with his friends and mischievous cousins to a magical forest. During their trip, the characters face situations where they are challenged to do something they are not sure they can do, and are given the confidence to try from the encouragement of their friends. This story is a bit more imaginary than the previous two, since it takes place in a trip to an enchanted forest. It's also a bit longer than the last books, since it offers a little background in the story, referring to events from the previous two tales.

It's well written and easy to read. The story uses terms and words easily understood by young audiences. Kids will have no problem following along and the author even includes a list a questions about the story at the end of the book. These are a great resource for teachers to use during a story time in class. It challenges kids to remember each part of the story, and think about the lesson being taught. The illustrations are hand done and add just the right amount of imagery for the story. They don't overwhelm the book, causing the story to get lost in the pictures. But they do give a great visual for kids to have a picture of what is currently taking place. This series of three stories work well together, and you can tell the author put thought into how to put a lesson story together that would work well for teachers and group reading settings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2010
As a nanny I try to read books that leave a little one feel as though they've been inspired and encouraged to do the things they only dream of. "I Can Do It" carries a positive message that will only make a child's self esteem and confidence grow. My little ones will look forward to all of the adventures from Walnut Grove. This book will be read over and over again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I Can Do It..by Dana Lehman

Once again the illustrator draws your eyes to this book. Ms. Judy Lehman Illustrations are full of color and fun. Once you pick up the book the author’s story keep you reading. I love everything about this book and the lessons a child can learn. To keep kids focused on each page, the author has different animals hidden so children can find them.

This book teaches kids about believing in themselves. It is reinforced by questions the author asks at the end of the story. This book is number three in a series. All of the books I gave a five star rating. I highly recommend this book. Your kids will love it.

Rated G
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
This is a fun book to read to your little one and the illustrations are equally as fun. A great story to inspire children to try, to believe in themselves. The main lesson in my opinion is help them to say I can and shows them what determination looks like. The author also included discussion prompts at the end of the book. This is a great idea as you can interact with the children further about the story. Helps them to get that imagination going.
The author Dana Lehman has two other great books that I have read; "Adventures at Walnut Grove" and "I DOUBLE Dare You". All three book have the same character in them which helps create a familiarness to the stories.
I highly recommend these book to any parent, grandparent or teacher have available. Books are great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
The characters of Walnut Grove return to teach readers another important life lesson in I Can Do It! After Bucky's near drowning experience in I DOUBLE Dare You!, he learned to take responsibility for his own actions and came to the decision to take swimming a bit more seriously. After spending a great deal of time practicing and learning how to swim, Bucky feels confident in his ability to swim and catch a frog on a lily pad. While some of his Walnut Grove friends discourage him from doing so upon remember his last swimming adventure, Bucky believes in his ability to swim now and eager sets forth, proving that his belief in himself, coupled with lots of hard work has enabled him to learn to swim.

In I Can Do It!, the Walnut Grove characters return to experience a new adventure, visiting a magic forest. It is there that Silly learns the important lesson to believe in himself. After displaying fear of being hurt while building a tree house, Willy lets Silly's friends know that he has become invisible because he "doesn't have the confidence to believe in himself." With much encouragement from his friends and the reminder that he is in a magical forest, Silly begins to believe in himself and eventually does help out building the tree house.

The important lesson to be learned is that belief in yourself is a form of magic - if you believe you can do it, you WILL do it... this is a very important lesson for children who hesitate and seem unsure of themselves, allowing them to find the confidence to try! Definitely a great book for households, libraries and classrooms, as you never know when a child will need this form of encouragement and message!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
My 6 yr old loves this book. While I prefer the first two in the series by Dana Lehman, there is something so magical about this book. The critters head deep into the magical woods to build a treehouse. The animals were so very supportive of Silly the squirrel when he didn't believe that he was capable of helping to build the house. With supportive words and inspiration to practice, Silly is able to join the team. A great story to teach kids not to give up. Perfection rarely happens on the first try. Practice, practice, Practice, and believe in yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
A wonderful storyline combined with adorable animal friends, lots of encouraging words, and a message of self-esteem. When they all work together and help encourage Bucky to learn to swim plus using each of their individual talents to come together to build their tree house, they all have a great sense of self-worth and accomplishment.

As with Lehman's previous two books in this series, the detailed and beautiful water color illustrations are sure to catch the eye of the reader!

This book also has "food for thought" questions in the back for reading comprehension.

I highly recommend all three of the books in the Walnut Grove Series! I hope there are many more on the horizon!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Synopsis: This is the third book in this series. From the author of Adventures at Walnut Grove: A Lesson about Teasing and I DOUBLE Dare you comes a story about believing in yourself.

Sammy enjoys visiting new places. So he decides to go to a forest called Whispering Willows with his friends. Along the way, they go visit Paradise Pond. As they go through the pond, Sammy realizes that with practice and confidence he can finally swim. Magical things happen in Whispering Willows if you believe in yourself. What a wonderful message for kids.

Overall Thoughts: There is no phrase that is more important for kids to understand than I can do it! Kids today are so filled with negativity. Dana's story shows the importance of believing in yourself. Dana's story shows that if kids don't have confidence in themselves, they become invisible. What a great lesson for kids to learn from the earliest age.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.