Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: Kindle EditionChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2011
This book is wonderful and stands the test of time better than most of the books published last year. So good that reading it is practically gluttony. Sarcasm at it's finest. The sexual undertones are presented in a hilarious manner. For example, the main character of the book is kicked out of the castle he lives at when the lord of the castle finds him in the act of kissing his lovely "innocent" daughter, who had just witnessed the resident philosopher and one of the girls working there in the midst of fooling around in the garden and was "flustered." Disregarding this book is denying yourself one hell of a good story, and it's not often you get told a personal life philosophy through such obvious crowd-pleasing comedy. Go on, read!
0Comment81 of 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
The book is of course a classic that should be read by all interested, but the formatting of the e-book is also well done.

The citations link in two directions so I can stop reading and check the citation, click on the citation and go back to where I left off without any hassle.
0Comment34 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2012
I wish I could convince everyone who avoids older literature to read Candide. This book is hilarious, dark, bitter, snide, and beautiful. If you love Vonnegut novels, you will likely enjoy Candide. The satire from yesteryear is just as applicable to the personal and political interactions of mankind today.
22 comments15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Free Kindle version? Yes please. Though this is a book that is usually readily available for check out at local libraries, I wanted a version that was portable and free. Win win. Granted, this is the identical version to that on the Project Gutenberg website, but at least Amazon will allow this on Kindles whereas they block Gutenberg eBooks. The format of this version is nice and it doesn't have too many issues with the transition to a Kindle eBook unlike most of the Shakespeare plays and such.

It is an older translation, but a good one. If you are assigned this book for class, I would stick with whatever translation the teacher gives you. But if you want to read this for pleasure, or just want to have it read for your core reading list (for college or whatnot), then this is a great version. The wry sense of black humor is wonderful. The spellings may seem odd, but Voltaire wrote this in French in the 1750s, so it's pretty old. And yes, the British were probably spelling Buenos Ayres instead of Buenos Aires and such.

The operetta Candide is based off of this novel as well, though it strays from the novel in the end (though is faithful throughout the first 2/3 to 3/4). A recommended reading for anyone interested in classic literature. Now you're ready for some Kafka!
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
This is a simple and effortless read. For modern, sophisticated, readers I guess it is possible to speed read the story line and wonder what the fuss is about.

Well, Voltaire did not, actually, say: "I hate everything about what you say but would defend with my life your right to say it." - But the fact is he might well have. Enlightenment Liberalism ...

Perhaps Candide is worth reading now, as then, when our news media obsess on a world of troubles, corruption, hypocracy
(" What Democracy turns into when all of the politicians in your country are liars.) and decadence. It is worth reminding ourselves that it was always thus. That we survive. And that it is important, always to maintain a judicious and disinterest compassion for our fellow sufferers. And a healthy sense of humor.

No, really it is a great read and really quite funny in places...
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
This is a strange and surreal read which one must take in the context of the time it was written. Voltaire had some controversial critiques of the instituions of his day - the church, armies, wealth, etc. He found a useful vehicle to convey his views through the adventures of Candide. All throughout, Voltaire is charming, witty, and even a little racy. It's a good read and, hey, the Kindle edition is free, so go for it!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
This is the second time I have read this book. It's been over ten years since, and it's just as good,if not better, this time. My wife and I read it together, and this being her first time, she has not been able to put it down. It's a very good satirical book. Light hearted and a joy and pleasure to read. It's hard to believe that he wrote it in three days!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I had to study this book for an English class. Really funny and quite a satire of modern society (really).
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
Picked this up after hearing a piece on NPR about the book. I enjoyed it, a classic that is easy to follow and a quick read. Covers a great deal about social issues and provides a unique perspective on them. Also pretty entertaining, would recommend it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
Incredible story. This guy has the worst luck. Is very well written and kept me intrigued the entire time. Will probably read it again.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.