Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made a great gift!
I bought this for my mom, a child of the 50s... she loved it! She stayed outside with her wax lips and candy cigarettes and had a great time. Wonderful. Cute box, too.
Published on September 23, 2005 by A. Garten

versus
91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money
1950's Retro Candy Gift Box
I ordered this for my husband for Christmas 2008. The box was torn and banged up. There may have been $5.00 worth of candy in it and most of it was stuff I could have bought in any novelty shop-even cracker barrel. As a matter of fact, Cracker Barrel did have similar items in a basket for half the price. I wish I had saved my money...
Published on February 2, 2009 by roadtripper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, February 2, 2009
By 
roadtripper (Monterey, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
1950's Retro Candy Gift Box
I ordered this for my husband for Christmas 2008. The box was torn and banged up. There may have been $5.00 worth of candy in it and most of it was stuff I could have bought in any novelty shop-even cracker barrel. As a matter of fact, Cracker Barrel did have similar items in a basket for half the price. I wish I had saved my money. Then add on the shipping- it was VERY expensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, November 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
I bought the 1950's candy crate for my daughter for her birthday. I paid $38.00 with shipping and handling. I don't know what I expected but I was stunned at how little we got. It was about $5.00 worth of candy (probably worth no more than $.50 total in the 1950's), .50 for all the waste of paper to stuff the box, and the rest of the cost was probably for nostalgia. I would never buy one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box Purchase, July 13, 2009
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
Great idea.
I was excited to give this as a gift. Very disappointed when it arrived.
Expensive for what you actually get. I felt I needed to purchase an additional gift to go with it which made it even more expensive.
I won't order this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made a great gift!, September 23, 2005
By 
A. Garten (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
I bought this for my mom, a child of the 50s... she loved it! She stayed outside with her wax lips and candy cigarettes and had a great time. Wonderful. Cute box, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the hard to buy, August 27, 2007
By 
SMC77 (Chatsworth, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
My brother thought this was one of the best and unique gifts he had ever received. He and his wife laughed and shared stories of their childhood as they sorted through the basket. They fought over their favorites and thanked me time and again for the fun the had with this gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice assortment, but quality was poor., March 20, 2011
By 
J. Palmer (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
The Retro Candy Gift Box was a nostalgic assortment of nostalgic candies. I bought it for a family member who enjoyed several of these candies during their childhood years. Unfortunately the candy freshness was poor. Most of the confections were shelf-stale. Old. Gums were rock-hard, such as the Bazooka individuals. Suckers had a soft outer layer. Too many items were obviously past their sell-by dates. The joke went around the table that "maybe these candies *are* actually left over from the 50's!". It was a trip down memory lane for the gift receiver, but a disappointing one at that. I would not buy this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stale Candy, January 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
I purchased this product for a gift for someone who liked to reminisce about his old days are kid and the candy he use to eat all the time. After seeing this thought it would be a good gift. However, he opened and wanted to share some and we found out that all of the candy was stale and was inedible. I would not recommend this product for anyone even if they price were to drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro candy, August 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
Well, the thought is really cool and I thought it would be a great gift, but as someone else stated, it is not very much candy for the price. If you want something similar, Cracker Barrel has one much cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From the Past!, June 26, 2008
By 
Lisa K. Lessard (Rutherfordton, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
I bought this gift box for my husband and he absolutely loved it. He went from a 62-year-old man to a 5-year-old kid in the candy store. It had all his favorite candies from the 1950's and he was thrilled. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke a tooth, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box (Grocery)
The candy in the box was very nostalgic(cool) but it very well may have been fresher if it was from the 50's. Holy moly the stuff was hard as a rock(juju-bees and gum). I busted a tooth on the juju's. I didnt expect it to overflow with candy but DID expect it to be a little, check that, a LOT fresher than it was. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e7b1198)

This product

Candy Crate 1950's Retro Candy Gift Box
$32.95 $28.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.