Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2005
Pot? Ganja? Marijuana ? The difference...??? Read on...
The author covers the historical development of a very controversial plant delicately.... Cannabis is traced back to ancient times where its usage was (and still is in some parts of the world)more medicinal and related to religious rites as opposed to recreational... The books also delves into the components of the plant itself,optimal growing conditions,growing locations... the active ingredient that gives consumers the BANG!!!

come to the middle of the book we are enlighten with how the move against cannabis was first born.... and later explain the stand of governments on cannabis....

the book covers cannabis from a historical and cultural point of view!!! I enjoyed it!!! a superb history!!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2006
By helping us see how we got to where we are today concerning cannabis, Martin Booth enables us to question the government propaganda about this plant, and the unconstitutional and oppressive methods employed to discourage its use, both as a medicine and a recreational drug. This is important, because the War on Drugs has done more to destroy our individual liberties than almost anything else our government does. If for no other reason, that makes this book a vital read for anyone who loves the liberties our founding fathers attempted to leave us.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2016
I want to congratulate Martin Booth! This book is very well researched and written in a fluid and detailed manner. I fully recommend it. It is definitely worth the price. A must read and must have for anyone truly interested in cannabis. Bravo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I wrote a weekly column about medical cannabis in California for Vice for almost a year. This book was hugely informative in my research. I cannot recommend it enough for those who seek to comprehend why cannabis is illegal right now, and who made it that way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2009
There were areas I wish he would have went more in depth with, like how the coffeehouse scene in Holland came into existance and other areas I wasn't as interested in, like hippy pop culture. Also he overemphasizes a lot of things that went on in Britain, which historicly isn't exactly the epicenter for Marijuana activity and culture. The author isn't a stoner, or at least doesn't come off as one, but he seems to be pro-Cannabis at least to the extent of showing the stupidity of the law enforcement witchhunts against what is more or less a harmless "drug". Overall a good general history of Cannabis.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
From what I can tell Martin Booth is a meticulous historian. If you need a complete reference book for your cannabis library, this is a great addition. If writing style is any kind of a barometer of propensity toward smoking dope. I'll bet dollars to doughnuts that Marty was a straight arrow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2009
Whether you are pro or anti legalization of marijuana use for adults or for medical use, it matters not. At least make an educated decision. Booth provides a well researched and engaging narrative on the history of cannabis and the foibles of those raging against the dangers of The Devil Weed, including hashish. Included are ancient times and maritime; prohibitions solely based on racism (Chinese, Africans and Mexicans); "lumping" mary jane in with opium, heroin and cocaine as if they all are the same thing, and the fear mongering of politicos and the press, most often with little or no personal experience or scientific fact. Economics of weed and hemp are also discussed. Easy to read and enlightening - a real eye-opener to the long and bumpy history and use of marijuana for medicinal, religious and recreational purposes over the centuries. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Cannabis: A History by Martin Booth. Mr Booth is in my opinion offers the best information on this controvercial subject. I am in the process of reading the book at this time, and it offers up more information than anyone who has ever even been in the same room with any Cannabis could ever remember when they try to tell others of this subject. I do read other information on this subject and feel Mr Booth is presenting information which is accurate, if not honest presentation of fact, in that when there is something that is not exactly proven out by these accounts, he will mention the information is possibly correct but not documented in historical fact. A good Read, if not too long for someone who has the known attention span of personal contact with the subject matter. Which is also mentioned several times through out the early part of the book. It portrays how Cannabis is used throughout recorded history, how it was used, where it possibly origionated and who has produced it through out the civilized cultivation on virtually all contenants. If you are interested in gaining some knowledge on Cannabis, Hemp and Pot use, this is for you. I should have been printed on Hemp paper! Rope for Military vessels, Clothing and food, Medicinal use and just to get high, Cannabis has a staying power of a needed plant for all civilizations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Good solid history. Dry writing style, but chock full 'o dank nugs o' knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
This book was in bad shape something some one trashed I think, had no good data at all it was more like an essay. I could not read it had no photo's no Lab's nothing clinical data' I just gave it away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse