Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cannibal
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on November 22, 2010
Cannibal is a step backwards for Ke$ha. Not nearly as good as her first album (and that's not saying much, because her first album wasn't that great to begin with). The autotune is too much; there is absolutely no display of vocal ability, and for someone who values vocal ability, that is disappointing. I have found that most of these songs sound exactly like songs from her first album, as well as other songs that were released this year (We R Who We R sounds like Tik Tok, Grow A Pear sounds like California Gurls). It's too repetitive and, unfortunately for Ke$ha, displays very little growth as an artist.

If you have her first album, you basically already have Cannibal. I do not recommend buying this product.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
Ke$ha's debut album was not only bad....it was awful. A mess of auto-tuned "songs" which were aimed at teeny boppers, that really had no real hooks or continuity to it whatsoever.

"Cannibal" is worse, because it repeats the same formula, without a song as catchy as "Tik Tok," which was a rip-off of Kylie Minogue's "Love At First Sight." Ke$ha has been trying desperately to prolong her fifteen minutes of fame, and this little EP is a widget designed to keep her in the public eye until her next album, allowing her to rake in some holiday cash via a useless, lifeless product.

Anyone who calls this "pop" knows not the definition of what makes good pop music. Anyone who calls this "dance" has obviously not heard much of the great dance music out there (like Robyn Carlsson's "Body Talk"). In her attempt to offer something for everyone, Ke$ha has instead offered nothing at all. Twice in the same year, mind you.
1212 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
Kesha pretty much sums it up herself, this album is a filthy, (not so) hot, MESS! I would consider myself someone who likes all types of music, especially good dance tracks, but I could NOT get into this one at all. First off, once you've heard one song, you've pretty much heard them all. The over use of auto tune (in literally EVERY SONG) is distracting and quite honestly, down right annoying. It lacks any creativity and depth. I'm actually really upset because I thought this album was going to be promising! Everyone likes a good dance song to get the party going but don't look for it on this CD, unless you want to be let down like I was.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
It is a miracle that anyone who heard "Animal" would ever buy another Ke$ha album, as it was one of the worst female dance-pop albums ever recorded. And, it went gold.

She is back less than a year later, trying to prolong her 15 minutes with more stolen beats, lifted melodies, and auto-tune warbling.

Ke$ha's music is about as original as a block toilet, and the sound of her voice is enough to make anyone bury their head in a toilet bowl and flush it a few times. What she lacks in originality, she attempts to make up in sleaziness.

If one of those out-of-control teens on afternoon talk shows were to record an album of music, this is about what it would sound like. This is the work of a record label, not an artist. These songs were phoned in by Ke$ha, and the fact that they were written by professional songwriters speaks more to their lack of talent than to hers, because this is hardly her own work. It would be scary to hear what it would actually sound like if it was.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
What can you say about this autotuned mess?

The lead single, We R Who We R, not only sounds like Tik Tok, but half the song consists of a robotic voice repeating "Dj, Turn it up, up, up , up"

Grow A Pear is basically Tik Tok but with different lyrics.

Blow is barely decent Eurotrash. Again half the song is just a robotic voice repeating "Blow, blow, blow"

If California Gurls was a rip off of Tik Tok, there's 2 more rip off of that song here. Is it a surprise that Ke$ha and Katy Perry share the same producers?

But what's more embarrassing are the ballads. Ke$ha's attempts at being a serious artist, with her digitalized voice and "honest" lyrics, don't just fall flat. They're embarrassing.

Grade: F
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
Oh man, this has got to be some of the most demoralizing music I've ever heard. It's heavy, horrofying and the lyrics are terrifying. It's even more terrifying than Neurosis and Khanate combined.

*Sarcasm*

Seriously though, this album sucks. It's a disgrace to all music. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
geez. this cd really really sucked. I kind of liked the first one. it had a few great songs and couple not so great songs but this cd didn't have single good song on it. I hated it!! For a moment, i honestly wondered if her producers were trying to destroy her career on purpose because they didnt like her anymore.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2011
I couldn't stomach the whole thing....it was THAT bad. It sounded like leftovers from the last album, and I would have spent my money better on a burrito for lunch.

If you're 13 years old and think that this is cool, then buy this album and be happy. Otherwise, spend the money and help a homeless person. It might be Ke$ha, after this crap!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I had expected Ke$ha to mature as an artist over time, but that doesn't seem to be the case at all. She actually took a step backwards and decided to copy not just her own previous material, but the material of other artists. For starters, most songs on Cannibal sound the same. That is not usually a bad thing, but after a while you start to notice that all her songs share the same weakness as a result: the copious amounts of auto-tune. I have nothing against using auto-tune in moderation, but Ke$ha overuses it more in this album than in Animal. Ironically, the only song on Cannibal that sounds different from the rest (The Harold Song) sounds exactly like Katy Perry's Teenage Dream. I mean, really? It was bad enough that Ke$ha copied herself, but to copy Katy Perry is just sad. Save your money and buy something of real worth, like Rihanna's Loud album.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
Well, some of these songs are okay. But she is completely autotuned. Oh well. All her songs sound the same.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse