Canon PowerShot SX1IS 10 MP CMOS Digital Camera with 20x Wide Angle Optical Image Stabilized Zoom and 2.8-inch LCD
Used & New from: $204.00
Cannon SX1IS for Safari I am a beginner that is looking for a good camera to take on a safari (good zoom, and can capture motion). Is this camera a good fit for me? If not, what do you suggest?
asked by safari on March 2, 2009
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 answers
A
I would say yes since it has great burst rate 4 fps and zoom (and high def video), but if you can afford an SLR with a fast lens that is best.
brewster lewster answered on March 3, 2009
Comment | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Thanks for your help Brewster. I wouldn't mind getting a SLR, but I'm afraid it might be too complicated?! Is there one that you'd recommend?
safari answered on March 3, 2009

A
In my humble opinion, I think Canon is still the Queen of point and shoot while Nikon is the King of SLR. There are some cheapish Nikons good for entry level, but the D90 is worth the extra money and is cutting edge for what it offers (HD video, etc.) but you may want to look at spending even a little more for a better lens instead of the one that comes with the kit. Yes, indeed, if you are a beginner it can be intimidating, but they all have full auto functions. And just a bit of reading and experimenting can teach you the basics of f-stop (aperture), ASA, shutter speed, and you can go on from there.
brewster lewster answered on March 3, 2009

A