Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finishing Touch When Things Go Bump in the Night
For those times when you have to get into that vault in the dark or low light, this magnet mounted light is a must. It is designed to hug the cylinder of a mechanical lock and contoured to do so flawlessly, shining a red light ( to guard one's nightvision ) to illuminate the numbers for the fastest unlocking possible. There is no white light and none needed, as a mistake...
Published on June 5, 2012 by Mr. Cong

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought from another site.
Pros - It does what it's made to do, and that is provide enought light to access a gun safe in the dark.

Cons - Magnet is much weaker than I expected.
No manual shut off once turned on.
No instructions to install provided battery (front slides off rear).
Published on December 4, 2011 by MgcShroomz


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought from another site., December 4, 2011
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
Pros - It does what it's made to do, and that is provide enought light to access a gun safe in the dark.

Cons - Magnet is much weaker than I expected.
No manual shut off once turned on.
No instructions to install provided battery (front slides off rear).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finishing Touch When Things Go Bump in the Night, June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
For those times when you have to get into that vault in the dark or low light, this magnet mounted light is a must. It is designed to hug the cylinder of a mechanical lock and contoured to do so flawlessly, shining a red light ( to guard one's nightvision ) to illuminate the numbers for the fastest unlocking possible. There is no white light and none needed, as a mistake with the wrong illumination source could prove disasterous for the defender at this crucial moment in time.
Speaking of time, this light has an on/off timer of about 2 minutes, cutting off without any attention from the user, and conserving the life of the battery ( included in the package with this light ). The magnetic mount is not overly strong, but, due to the contour of the base, is more than adequate for the task and stays put rather well. As noted by another reviewer, this is for a mechanical lock; an electronic lock has a different face construction and angle of view, and needs a different safe light, also made by this company ( the two are not interchangable, so be aware of what you have before ordering ).
Overall, for what it does and the price offered on this site, it rates a solid 5 stars, or a full ' 10 '.
Hopefully, you will never have to use it; if you do need it, it's there, just in case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I threw it away, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
When I got this it did not work. The battery did not disconnect after you mashed the button all the way. A very dim light still stayed on so the next day the battery was dead. It appears that a lot of others also had problems. I found a small magnetic flash light at harbor freight for $4.00 and it had a light that shined right at the dial which worked much better. Cannot recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safe light review, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
Works ok, but the red light is really not that good to light up the gold dial on my safe. My eye sight is not what it used to be and I purchased this to be able to open my safe easier. It has helped, but I think, I would have preferred a white light better. Amazon had item in stock and shipped cheap and fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This light does it primary job well., January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a good light for a dial opening gun safe. Magnet holds firmly in place and the red light is bright enough to see the numbers as that are coming around. I would give this product five stars but there is no battery installation instructions, it slides apart from top to bottom also it's packaging say's it can be used as a flashlight, absolutely as a last ditch light source. Not too bright, its design is for a 2 inch illumination and it does this well but flashlight "not". Finally the red light is eye friendly, will not disrupt night vision which is a big plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
This product works well. Unfortunately, my safe has a stainless steel decorative plate surrounding the dial and so the magnet does not stick very well. I put a piece of 2-sided tape on the unit to secure it.

The light is good, but almost too good. It is a very bright and focused light, such that it reflects off of the dial and actually makes it hard to read. I am now looking for some sort of diffuser to soften the beam a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a big safe, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
which I placed inside a wood cabinet to disguise it to the naked eye (contractors, a/c maintenance crew, etc.), so sometimes even with the roof lamp on, numbers in the dial are hard to see. This solved it, has a nice magnet to attach it over the wheel, just press a button and lights on, gives you enough time to open the safe and then turns off automatically. Nice addition to a safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well and it was easy, May 31, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
I saw this item on another website and thought it was a great idea. I found it on Amazon for a few dollars cheaper so I ordered it. I was a little concerned about it sticking to my Big Horn safe, but it works fine. It's not super bright but it's better than no light and does what it is supposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have a black dial with white tick marks and numbers it would probably work pretty good., July 26, 2014
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you have a chrome dial this can make it harder to see, at least for me. I use a white light off to the side that has a magnet on it. If you have a black dial with white tick marks and numbers it would probably work pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good for a chrome safe dial, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light (Tools & Home Improvement)
I should have heeded the other reviews as the red led is not good at all on a chrome safe combination dial. I tried to scotch tape it and masking tape as others have tried but no matter what I have to pull out my trusty magnetic $3 white LED light to actually see the numbers and markings. Sure wish they had a two position switch to select white or red LED or even offer a white light model. I love the size, shape, look and strong magnet so I am going to keep it and possible install a white LED myself. As others have complained, I fully agree that the packaging should tell you how to open it up to install the battery. I had to search for the answer. It is easy enough (hold it tight and push UP on the front panel to slide it off to install the battery. This is just not intuitive at all. C'mon Cannon, put a line of text on the packaging or even a little slip of paper telling you how to open it up. So close to perfection guys, make it happen! I am sure it would be great for a black dial with white numbers/markings. If you have chrome, skip this for a solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cannon Safe Inc. SSL-04-Mechanical Lock Security Safe Light
$19.99 $14.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.