Canon 50 mm 1.4 and/or Canon 100 mm IS Hi everyone,
I am new to photography and have myself a T2i. I want to get a lens for portrait work and for macro - so I was considering the 50 mm 1.4 Canon and the 100mm 2.8 IS Canon. Do I need both? I'm confused because a lot of people say the 50 mm is a must-have standard lens for Canon users, but the 100 mm is also used for portraits. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
asked by Chrissa on November 7, 2010
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 answers
A
It's not fair to make the comparison between these two kind of lenses in my opinion as each has its own forte and fulfills a different function.

If you want both portrait work and macro then you should get the 100mm macro. While you can use the 50mm for portrait work, it is more suited for full body portrait. For closeup, the 100mm is better (less distortion). Of course you can use just about any lens for any application...some just won't perform very well.

With the 100mm, it would be very tough to take landscape pictures (wide angle scenics shots). The 50mm would be better (though not ideal for your T2i which has a 1.6x crop factor). If you must have only one lens, I'd go for the 50mm.
Hank HB answered on July 18, 2011
Comment | 6 of 6 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Yeah, Diverhank nailed it - two very different lenses. Important to note that the 50mm 1.4 is NOT a macro lens and that was something you mentioned in your initial post. I used the 50mm on my T2i and absolutely loved it, though I eventually upgraded (and much preferred) the Sigma 30mm 1.4 for the "normal" focal length on the crop-sensor. I now shoot a full frame and primarily use the 50mm but will likely get the 100mm shortly. Be sure to take a look at the Sigma 30mm before buying the 50mm Canon but if Macro is what you're looking for, you can't go wrong with the 100mm L.
Brian E. answered on May 14, 2012