Customer Reviews


1,712 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,083)
4 star:
 (395)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (54)
1 star:
 (98)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


624 of 634 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this scanner!
I scrapbook and was transitioning from manual scrapbooking to digital. I had tons of pictures that needed to be scanned into my laptop (thousands). We looked at the small picture scanners that scan hundreds of pictures in an hour or so. Decided against them because even though fast, the quality of the scans were grainy and you had to use sleeves for the pics. They...
Published on October 31, 2010 by Gina

versus
170 of 192 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unlock already!!!
I ordered one of these and very carefully followed all instructions, including the instruction to "unlock" the scanner using the slider switch on the bottom of the scanner. When I had all the software loaded, I plugged in the scanner and tried to scan. The scanner seemed to make a small amount of progress, reversed itself, and then asked me to unlock the scanner and...
Published on February 10, 2011 by Practical Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2172 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

624 of 634 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this scanner!, October 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I scrapbook and was transitioning from manual scrapbooking to digital. I had tons of pictures that needed to be scanned into my laptop (thousands). We looked at the small picture scanners that scan hundreds of pictures in an hour or so. Decided against them because even though fast, the quality of the scans were grainy and you had to use sleeves for the pics. They didn't get good reviews and were double the price of this scanner. This was one of the cheaper full sized scanners we found on Amazon, we decided that the Canon name had to be good for the price. IT IS! It is SO easy to use, nothing complicated at all. The software was easy to load and very user friendly. I discovered I could scan multiple pictures at a time and the software would separate them into their own files so there was no messing around with trying to cut and paste in order to do multiples at one time. It is really light weight and basic. The quality of the scans is fantastic, they looked as good as the original picture. I would recommend this scanner to anyone. You usually get what you pay for, but we were more than pleasantly surprised at the quality of this Canon scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,464 of 1,501 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Little Scanner, October 8, 2010
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
SUMMARY
With a few caveats, this is a great little scanner. The best part is that it actually fits in my Targus computer case WITH my laptop. It weighs only 2-3 pds, and runs off USB power---no converter brick to haul around. Scans are sharp and fast. The automatic settings work very well for nearly all typical originals (old photos, business letters, receipts, etc.). Despite some shortcomings, the price and exceptional portability may make this series of scanners the choice for scanning books---because books which need to be scanned are often non-circulating items in libraries or archives.

SHORTCOMINGS
Unfortunately, the particular design of this scanner (and all other LED-based scanners) is that (unlike most fat desktop scanners) it cannot scan 3D objects. Any portion of your document or image which is not in absolute contact with the glass patten will be very blurry. The raised frame raises the edges of any original which does not fit on the glass patten, causing the edges of scans to be blurry. This is particularly a problem when scanning books. Nor can you just press down harder---that warps the glass causing blurriness elsewhere on the page, and may even jam the scanning mechanism. However, these problems may be overcome using the strategies discussed below.

The lid is non-removable, which means that you may be out-of-luck if you need to scan part of a large object. The software is multi-layered, confusing, and difficult to configure to your best use. Caveat, I've used at least three brands of scanner software, none of which were well designed. From the oddly named "MP Navigator" I suggest checking the box, "use the scanner driver" for access to the "Advanced Settings"--or better yet, scan from your graphics (photo editing) program.

NEVERTHELESS
Even though the frame is a problem, it is lower (1/16") and narrower (3/8") than most other scanners, and so, scanning books etc. is LESS of a problem than with most other scanners.

CHOOSING AMONG THE MODELS
The hardware and "Advanced Settings" portion of the scanning program of all LiDE models (at least models 90 to 210) appears to be identical. The major differences between the models is 1) improvements in the automatic scanning functions, and 2) the rated scanning speed (which is apparently software controlled). Despite the statistics, there is little practical difference in scanning speed between the models. The "slower" models are only slightly slower, but are quieter. Since I use only the "Advanced Settings" (never the automatic settings), the 110 is my preference, regardless of price. Canon CanoScan LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (4507B002)

The 210 may be best for children and other users who will never learn how to use the "Advanced Settings", since it claims to have superior automated scanning. The 210 is slightly faster. Canon CanoScan LiDE210 Color Image Scanner (4508B002)

If you plan to scan books and if you do not plan to carry the scanner around much, you might consider a Canon LiDE 700. It has 2 major advantages. The right edge is actually flush with the glass surface (hurrah!!)---albeit there is still an excessively wide margin. The lid opens 180 degrees, so you can scan portions of a large object--albeit there is still an "edge problem" for the other three edges. Canon CanoScan LiDE 700F Color Image Scanner (3297B002)

SCANNING BOOKS
It is easy to scan books which have at least ˝" of margin between the print and the spine. Place the right side of the scanner at the edge of a table, so that the book hangs open at 90 degrees when placed on the scanner. Place a moderate weight on top of your original (such as a 1" thick book). If you must press down with your fingers, press at the edges of the glass area (or even better, at the corners), not the middle. If you can't quite get in tight enough, place a 1/16" sheet of stiff cardboard directly behind each page before scanning--it is a pain, but it works.

SCANNING CREASED OR FOLDED ORIGINALS
The foam "pressure pad" in the lid is a bit too soft to insure that some originals (such as stiff letters or receipts which have been folded) are pressed sufficiently flat (even with a book on top of the lid). If you notice this problem, then place a stiff cardboard sheet (or a thin book) directly on top of your original, and close the cover.

SCANNING TO A PORTABLE COMPUTER
The scanner draws power only when scanning. However, at least with my ThinkPad---scanning to a portable running on battery-power increases the scanning time by at least 50%. Plan on having your portable plugged into an AC outlet if you plan to scan more than a few pages.

OTHER REVIEWER'S COMPLAINTS AND EASY SOLUTIONS
> The automatic settings impose various limitations on the maximum selectable resolution, maximum file size etc.---which can all be superceded using the "Advanced Settings" (aka "Scanner Driver" from MP Navigator).
> Despite the instructions, it is not essential to close the lid, but it is necessary to avoid bright light from shining into the scanner. I use my dark microfiber cleaning cloth (folded) to cover any exposed portions of the glass patten when scanning in a bright room with the cover open.
> The maximum selectable resolution is 1200dpi. If you want to scan at, say 2400dpi, you have to type the value in manually in the resolution window. However, such scans are very slow, the files are very large, and I have found no actual improvement in resolution (detail recorded).
> The USB cable is nearly 5' long--longer than necessary for a portable scanner. Longer replacement cables, or extension cables are cheap, <$5 if needed.
> Don't panic about the scary "unlock the scanner before using" notice in the instructions. If you try to scan with the scanner locked, it will tell you, "unlock me". If so, just unlock it.

PRODUCING PDF DOCUMENTS
The direct-to-pdf option is not recommended unless quality is unimportant to you and you will only be scanning single pages or very short documents to pdf. The reason is that you cannot make any corrections to the scanned document. What if you scan a 50 page document, and then oops! page 12 is too dark?--you've got to rescan the entire document. For best quality and flexibility scan to 1200dpi tif files, adjust the images with your graphics program, and then convert (and assemble) the files into a pdf document using Adobe Acrobat (or other pdf editor). Beware that any scan, even of text, is an "image" (not real text) and is likely to be downsampled when converting to pdf, unless you specifically disable downsampling. When using a pdf editor to convert to pdf, select "highest quality" --- OR a specific dpi (1200dpi) --- OR disable "downsampling". Perfectly adequate graphics programs and pdf editors are available free if that is a concern.

OCR
OCR means to convert an image of text to real editable text. Unless you absolutely need real editable text to copy and insert into a document, you do not want to OCR. Unless the original is perfect and in a large common font, the error rate will be very high, and you'll loose formatting, graphics, and everything else than text. In most cases, a much better solution is to use Adobe Acrobat (or other pdf editor) to add an invisible OCR-ed layer beneath the image layer. Such a document looks exactly like the original--including photos or other graphics. You cannot edit such a document, but you can search the document, and copy real text from the document.

Caution: such hidden, invisible, OCRed text will probably contain errors (made by the OCR process), even though the text image looks perfect on your monitor. Only when you copy and paste the OCRed text do you see the errors. Unfortunately, with ordinary Adobe Acrobat there is no way to veiw and edit the OCRed layer to fix the errors---albeit, I understand there are some more advanced editors which allow this. Of course, you can fix the errors in the OCRed text you've copied and pasted to your document.

OTHER SCANNING OPTIONS
The "Advanced Settings" offers many options such as auto-tone, unsharp mask, descreen, dust and scratch reduction, fading correction, grain correction, and others. I recommend AGAINST using ANY of these options routinely, because in most cases most will degrade your image, you will not know that it is degraded, and you have no control over the degree of sharpening, or color adjustment, etc. "One size does not fit all". It is better to scan with all of the options off, using only the tone curve to adjust the brightness and contrast. Then use your graphics program to sharpen, descreen, reduce dust, adjust color saturation etc. as necessary--and you'll be able see the changes, and undo mistakes. Honestly, I can see no reason to ever use any of these "other scanning options"---but if you do, test compare the results of each option both on-and-off one-at-a-time for your particular original.

GETTING THE VERY BEST SCANS
Admittedly, the automatic settings work very well under most circumstances when scanning "typical" originals (and it is the only portion of the very annoying scanning program that the Canon geeks make any attempt at improving). But what happens when the automatic settings do not produce good results? You are stuck with crappy scans---or you have to spend half a day learning how to use the "Advanced Settings". My recommendation---use the "Advanced Settings" even for routine scans. You'll become a scanning wizard in no-time---far better than any "automatic" program. It only takes a few more seconds for fine-tuning per scan once you know what you are doing. You've probably already learned how to use your graphics programs to improve your photos---why not use those skills to improve your documents?

The very best scans are produced by using the "Advanced Settings", and setting the tone curve manually, with all of the various options "off". Pre-defining tone curves and other setting for your particular project makes the process easier. Unfortunately, you have to "summon" your pre-defined settings for each scan. Note that you have to define things in a particular order, or the defaults reset---very annoying.

Don't count on scanning with the automatic or default "Advanced Settings" and then fixing things with your graphics program. "Garbage in--garbage out." Beware that you cannot adequately judge the quality in the "preview" view (which is why I ALWAYS scan to my graphics program and examine the scan before saving it).

[If the scanner saved RAW files, you could just do a default automatic scan and fix ANYTHING in your graphics program. But the LiDE doesn't and few scanners do. The saved (tif or jpg) files are "abridged", (abbreviated or truncated), which means you've got to get the brightness, contrast, and color balance at least close to right. You can fix anything else.]

SETTING THE TONE CURVE MANUALLY
The default tone curve is line from the lower left corner of the graph to the upper right corner. The easiest way to alter contrast is to add a point at the midpoint of the line (to anchor it) and then drag the curve into a steep S-shape to increase contrast, or a less-steep reverse-S to decrease contrast. The easiest way to alter brightness is to add a point at the midpoint of the line, and then drag it right (darker), or left (brighter). If the white background of documents scans as gray--or there are gray shadows on the scanned page--then shift the upper right end of the tone curve about 10%-20% to the left. For photos you can shift the lower left end of the tone curve to the right to brighten up shadows. Black and white documents are usually best scanned as "grayscale", but with a steep (high contrast) tone curve.

SCANNING (TRUE) PHOTOS
There is little point in scanning most (true) photos above 600dpi (because the resolution of photographic prints is less than 600dpi). Practically speaking most "sharpening" functions have little effect above 300dpi. Ironically, with judicious use of sharpening tools (in your photo-editing program), photos scanned at 300dpi can look much sharper than those scanned at 1200dpi. IMPORTANT: Sharpen ONLY at the same size (and dpi) that the photo will be printed (or displayed on a monitor [72dpi] if you you do not plan to print them). Because of the lower resolution of your monitor, you need to magnify the image by 3 or 4 times on the monitor to fully judge the effect of sharpening.

SCANNING HALF-TONE PHOTOS
Half-tone (screened) photos (from books, magazines, etc.) should be scanned at the highest resolution possible. You can use Gausian blur (in your graphics editing program) to improve (descreen) them for viewing and printing. Use the lowest possible value which eliminates the dot pattern: typically, 4-5 pixels at 1200 dpi, 2-2.5 pixels at 600 dpi. Caution---if your scan consists of both images and text, you don't want to blur your text---instead (in your graphics program) select only the images for descreening.

SCANNING FADED PHOTOS
Old photos are usually faded and have color shifts. Use "Saturation and Color Balance" (in the advanced settings) to adjust these as close as you can. Often you have to use 100% saturation. Adjust color and brightness as needed.

FILE FORMAT
If you want the best possible scans, you should save to tif---but the only tif files the scanner driver produces are huge uncompressed tif files. Solution: scan from a graphics program which allows you to save files as loss-less tif (LZW compression) which will produce files as small as 1/20 the size with no loss in detail. If it is inconvenient to scan from a graphics program, you can scan to JPG. JPG files are always degraded by compression, but if saved nominally uncompressed, degradation does not become significant unless you repeatedly edit and save the files. Solution: scan as jpg, but convert the files to LZW tif before editing them in any way. LZW tif and uncompressed jpg files of the same image are about the same size.

DUST
Scanners are NOT sealed against dust. Do not use canned air to clean dust off the patten--they blow dust INTO the scanner. Clean the scanner frequently with a damp cloth. Protect from dust--such as in a plastic bag when not in use. (I have a desk drawer a little larger than the scanner where I keep it). Even with the most careful use, dust will eventually accumulate on the inside of glass and/or it will develop a haze. The inside surface of the glass cannot be cleaned nor replaced. The solution is to replace the scanner--which is far more acceptable if it is an LiDE 110 for only $50 or so.

The LiDE 210 fits snugly in a Etekcity Reversable Neoprene Notebook Laptop Notebook Case Sleeve Cover Bag 15.4" 15.6", which makes a great cover for storage/travel and is only $8 with free shipping.

PROBLEMS
I have owned a three different models. The third is new. After about 1000 scans each, the first two began showing irregularities (as faint moire patterns) when black and white half-tone photos were scanned at 1200dpi (or color half-tones scanned at 600 dpi or higher) and then descreened. Typical users would not notice any problem.

The drivers are not common between models. You cannot use two different models on the same computer, nor is there any "remember my settings" option when deinstalling the "old" drivers, nor is there anyway to save or backup your settings, or transfer them to another computer.

My experience with 3 different LiDE sanners is that frequent stopping and restarting while scanning takes up much of the actual scanning time. This could either be a problem with inadequate buffers or inadequate power. Hypothetically, if it is a power problem, a USB Y-Cable, which taps the power of two USB port may help. A USB Y-Cable did NOT improve scan time with my HP xw4200 Workstation, or my Thinkpad running on battery or AC---but in my tests, my new LiDE 110 scanned continously (without stopping and starting) with or without the extra power cable connected. Maybe my original power cords were defective. So, if you experience frequent stopping and starting, particularly in a portable running on battery, try a different power cord. If you need a longer or shorter cord that one that comes with the scanner, consider purchasing a USB-Y cord. It can't hurt, and if it doesn't help, you don't have to plug in the second cable. If you decide you need a longer cable for desktop use, I suggest a Cables To Go 28107 USB 2.0 Mini-B Male to 2 USB A Male Y-Cable (6 Feet, Black). If you decide you'd like a shorter cable for travel, I suggest Bytecc USB2-HD201 - USB cable - mini-USB Type B (M) - 4 pin USB Type A (M) - 3 ft ( USB / Hi-Speed USB ) - black

SUGGESTION TO CANON DESIGNERS
How about a "frameless" scanner (with a removable "clip-on" frame which could be used when desired), and with a removable lid---so that the scanner could be used to scan books and sections of large documents easier?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


277 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to set-up, professional results, November 1, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I recently purchased the Canon CanoScan LiDE 110 as a replacement for an older LiDE 30. This LiDE's most important features is that it is compatible with all versions of Microsoft Windows, including Windows 7 64-bit (the older version is not compatible with 64-bit versions of windows) and the fact that it is powered through the USB 2.0 cable, meaning no power supply to carry around or finding a place to plug in, a plus for use with a notebook computer.

After following the directions for installation, installing the drivers before plugging the scanner into the computer, everything went flawlessly, and the first time the scanner was plugged in, after rebooting, the hardware was found and driver installed.

While this can be used as a stand alone flatbed copier, it can also scan to PDF files right from a button on the front of the scanner, meaning you won't need to have a full featured PDF creation program to create PDF files. A button can also be configured to send a scan directly to your e-mail program, although I haven't tried this feature.

If you use this scanner in a photo editing program, such as Paintshop Pro Photo, or Photoshop, after the driver software loads, I would recommend clicking on the advanced button, as it gives you much more control over the details of the scan, which is important when scanning photos. If you haven't used a scanner before, then let me recommend that you select 600 dpi as your default scanning resolution, instead of the 300 dpi selection you'll see the first time you use it. Also be aware that jpg files at 600 dpi can be quite large when in color, so if you are scanning a black and white photo or document, you're better off selecting Gray Scale instead of Color. In the advanced mode, changes like DPI and color will show up the next time you use the software. If you use the basic mode, and make changes, this is not the case. That's why I always recommend using this in the advanced mode.

If you're looking for a scanner to scan 50 page documents, this is not the scanner to buy. You need one with an automatic sheet feeder, or an All-In-One with a sheet feeder. This flat bed scanner is best used for scanning photos and books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with Mac Lion OS - updating my review, October 2, 2011
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
Just a warning to Mac Lion users. This scanner does not work properly with the Mac Lion OS. I hooked one up to my new MacBook Air which promptly activated the Lion-based driver for the scanner. However, although I had no problem with the scanning function itself, neither the"autoscan", "copy", nor "e-mail" button did anything other than show me a preview of the scanned page on-screen. The only button that worked "automatically" was the "pdf" button, which did automatically produce and save a pdf version of the page being scanned. My question to both Canon and Apple is: what's the point of providing a driver for this product with the Lion OS if it won't work properly?

UPDATE: I am updating this review and improving my rating from two stars to four. After an exchange of emails with Canon customer service, I found the solution to my problem. It turns out that there are FOUR files that one must download from the Canon website in order for this scanner to function fully, including the one-click buttons. These files can be found on the website, under Service and Support for this product. Just click on the "drivers and software" button and be sure to download and install all the 4 items on the list, not just the one called LiDE 110 Scanner Driver. After the 4 items have been installed, you should open the program called MP Navigator EX, click Preferences then adjust the settings for the scan buttons.

Note that if you simply plug your USB connector into the USB port, you only get the scanner to function without the bells and whistles that come with the one-click buttons and, presumably, other features (which I still need to explore) that come with MP Navigator EX. Now if only Canon had made these instructions clearer on their website (particularly for new Canon scanner users who are on the Lion OS), I could have been spared all this trouble. The deduction of one star is for this shortcoming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good general scanner, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I purchased this scanner because I needed something simple to use the few times that I still need to scan an image or a document. This one does the job. It works quickly and gives me options to save as a PDF or send as an email. It works quickly and is very quiet. If you need a scanner that is economical in price but does what it is supposed to do, I can recommend this one. It works well with Windows 7 64 bit as well, and that is a plus for me.

One word of caution however, please note that this scanner will not work if you do not plug it directly into a USB on your computer. I tried plugging mine into a 2.0 USB HUB, and it did not work. If you do not have an available USB port on your computer pass on this one.

Another thing to note is that the cord is not very long. You will need to keep this scanner very close to your computer.

Overall, for simple scans it gets the job done, and does so at a reasonable price. I needed to call Cannon Technical support one time, and am happy to report that the service was fast, courteous and on point. I will purchase Cannon products again because the support is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Affordable, Good for Lots of Photos, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I bought this scanner to scan hundreds, probably thousands, of old photos from my parents picture albums. While the scanning part is not super sonic fast, it is pretty fast...the quality is not bad either. The best feature is the software that will automatically recognize multiple photos and save them as separate images for you. That is the biggest time saver for me. Granted it will not rotate them for you, so in some cases you have to decide if you want to try to maximize the number of pictures you scan each time, or put them in the best position so you don't have sideways photos that you might have to rotate later. Either way, the scanner is fast enough and doesn't require lamp warm up, so it isn't a bother to only scan 3-5 pictures at a time. Overall I am very pleased. It's also a bonus that it doesn't require a power plug, it only needs to be plugged into the USB. That was nice because I can easily unplug it and store it away, without having to mess with plugging it into the power source underneath my computer desk. I would recommend this to someone else looking for a very affordable little scanner to scan all those old pictures that are laying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Scanner for the price. Works great with Windows 7 and 8., November 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
Bought this to replace a Canon LIDE scanner which was also a great scanner.

Love the ease of use and quality for general document scanning.

The only gripe I have is that the scannable image does not go edge to edge. So for documents with printing to the margins, you lose that info with no option to shrink the image down or what have you.

usually scanners have a platen area of a little larger that 8.5" x 11". Not this one! It is exactly that size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


170 of 192 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unlock already!!!, February 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I ordered one of these and very carefully followed all instructions, including the instruction to "unlock" the scanner using the slider switch on the bottom of the scanner. When I had all the software loaded, I plugged in the scanner and tried to scan. The scanner seemed to make a small amount of progress, reversed itself, and then asked me to unlock the scanner and unplug/replug the USB cable. I slid the switch to lock and back to unlock, and unplugged and plugged the USB back in. No dice. I tried reverse psychology and locked the scanner. That didn't work either. I packaged it up and sent it back to Amazon, who rushed out a new scanner. Same problem. Returned it, too.

I looked up this problem online and found that others have had this same problem, but most after a few months of light use. I suppose I got lucky in that both scanners failed immediately and within Amazon's return window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding performance for such a low price, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I have been very satisfied with this scanner. It was simple to setup. Software installed very easy on Windows 7 laptop. Software is not real intuitive but after reading the manual you will be able to navigate it just fine. It powers from the USB cable which is nice. Be sure to install the PC software first BEFORE you connect the scanner to the PC. I was up and scanning in about 10 minutes.
I purchased this scanner mainly for scanning about 1000 photos. I think the scanner did a great job in scanning the pictures. Great resolution. Now, here is what sold me on this product. The scanning tray is about 10x17 in size. You can put several pictures on the scanning bed and as long as you give them some space between each one the scanner will recognize then as separate pictures! I can scan 5 -6 photos at a time? I am scanning at 600 dpi and can scan 5 -6 photos in about a minute from the time I press scan to the time they are transferred to my PC.

I have only scanned about 100 photos at the time of this review but I would highly recommenced this scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, October 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner (Office Product)
I was using a HP all-in-one printer-scanner, which I liked. However, although the HP printer-scanner is cheap, the ink is expensive and I am also switching to Laser Jet instead. Also, the all-in-one is not very convenient when I want to move it around (a printer is always bulky, and there is also a power cable and a converter involved)
This Canon scanner is perfect. It is slim and light (looks like a laptop computer), and both data and power is transmitted through the same USB cable. When you need to carry it around, you can lock the lid so that is won't flop open. (When I transported my HP all-in-one, I needed to seal the lip with tapes)
I simply position the Canon on my book shelf (which is behind my LCD monitor), and it barely wastes any space, and visually it fits quite well with my other computer peripherals (LCD monitor, printer, keyboard, tower, etc, which are all black).
Operating it is very easy, and you don't need to read any manuals. Although I still think HP's scanner software is the best, I think Canon does a reasonable good job and is not disadvantaged much.
You can scan a document or a picture by simply pressing a button on the scanner, or you can twist the setting in the Canon MP Navigator EX software. You can save the documents into PDF files and email them. To sum up, it does what an office scanner is supposed to do (unless you are scanning 20 pages in a time, for which case you want to buy a $400 high-speed scanner), and costs only $56.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2172 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Canon CanoScan 4507B002 LiDE110 Color Image Scanner
$69.01
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.