Canon 40D or Nikon D200 or D300? Hi, I was a serious amateur film photographer, very old-school, never owned a zoom due to degradation of the optics, knew how to find a "neutral grey" in any scene to pre-meter, never touched any kitchy soft-focus or star-filters. Never owned an autofocus lens. Was hooked on Nikon professional series film cameras until I used my mom's Canon film camera with a higher-end, faster lens which blew my mind. She gave me a Canon film body and a couple of standard lenses, but still hasn't let go of the "best" lens but may.

So now I know I want to buy the best best best lenses out there and every 5 years or whatever is required, I'll upgrade the camera body.

Currently I have a 3-year-old and my high-end point-and-shoot digital is about to drive me insane with the slow lens, shutter delay and blurry pictures.

I want to be able to focus on a person's eyeball, feel certain it's really in focus and then squeeze the trigger. I want to be able to meter a scene correctly and immediately, as well as pre-metering for the conditions such as backlighting. I want zero shutter delay.

I want to be able to buy professional-quality super-fast lenses because I always shoot in available light and never use flash.

I'm basically shooting portraits of someone on the go (preschooler).

I have waited and waited and waited until I felt the digital SLR's were "good enough." Now, I'm still floored by the prices, and don't know how I'll justify the expense, but feel I must do it.

What's the best camera for me, and why?
asked by Amazon Customer on December 3, 2007
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 answers
A
Not knowing your budget, I'll err towards the low end which means you should get the Canon 40D. Yes, the Nikon D300 has more overall features but it's also $600+ more which isn't exactly chump change. Plus those extra features may or may not be important enough to you to hand over that much more cash.