Customer Reviews


912 Reviews
5 star:
 (733)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,857 of 1,887 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little DSLR worth your consideration.
Final Update, 8/27/14

Even though this camera was released back in early 2011, it still is a wonderful and simple camera to use which delivers excellent image quality under any shooting conditions.

The camera has a glossy plastic finish which doesn't exactly exude quality or make it feel like a high-end camera. But construction on this camera is very...
Published on May 25, 2011 by S. Vogt

versus
194 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A DSLR for the P&S crowd moving up...
Nothing wrong with moving up. But the build quality and features are worth about three stars. In the store, this feels cheap. Pics are better than P&S pics, so most give this five stars (due to the MUCH larger sensor in this compared to almost any P&S; the same is true for all DSRs). I'd advise getting a Canon T3i or T2i if you can stretch a bit. Feels better in the...
Published on March 16, 2012 by Victoria


‹ Previous | 127 28 2992 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really like this camera, September 28, 2014
By 
B. Karczewski (Lake Elsinore, California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
I upgraded from a simple point and shoot. Really like this camera. I do a lot of photography at races, air shows and some astrophotography. Found this camera meets all those demands. Battery life is great as well. I can easily make it through day long events, taking thousands of photos on a single charge. Great quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect starter camera, December 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Perfect starter camera. Takes a great picture and is a great introduction to taking manual photos. Even if you get a better model later this one is nice to have when you are going somewhere that might be a little rougher on the more expensive model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Eye Redux Removal, December 2, 2012
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
This is a great little camera except for one thing: No sync cord connection! In the 1970's we learned how to remove red eye: Get the flash off the camera. If the flash is away from the lens the chances of red eye are greatly diminished. This camera has a built in flash, but no sync cord connection for a flash on a bracket. The built in flash works well and gives good pix, but red eye is a problem. Using a flash on a bracket or off camera solves this problem. Without a sync cord connection you can't connect a flash. SOLUTION: A hot shoe adapter can be attached to the hot shoe. The hot shoe adapter has a sync cord connection to attach another flash. Hook up a flash on a bracket, plug it into the sync cord connection and you get great flash photos with no red eye! Set the camera to M for Manual and set the shutter speed to 1/60 and the aperature to F 5.6. Set these same settings on an automatic flash and you are in business. Enjoy!

Update: The 1/60, F 5.6 @ 200 ISO. Is not a good balance. The flash is too over powering. I like mostly available light with a little fill in flash. To get a better balance meter the available light and then adjust the flash to provide a little fill in. It takes a little trial and error to get it right, but once you get it, the results are very good. Another option is to bounce the light off the ceiling for even more difused light. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product at great price, August 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Just what we wanted at a great price. Not an expert photographer so didn't want to spent too much. Replacing a prior camera we lost. Would definitely purchasee again. But hope we don't need to:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spots appear in photos, August 11, 2014
By 
celt-rock (Burlington, VT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
I love this camera, but what I don't love are the spots that have started appearing in the same place on each picture. Doesn't matter if we change the lens, it's still there which means it's something internal on the light sensor or something. A friend of ours also has spots appear in her photos. They are small, black/grey spots that look more like mold spots. In some pictures you don't even notice but when taking a landscape picture they really stand out in a beautiful blue sky. My hope is that Canon recognizes this problem and has fixed it in newer cameras. In the old days you could just take off the lens and clean the mirror for SLR Film cameras. Cleaning the light sensor on these is beyond my pay grade.

Other than that it's a great camera, battery's last forever before needing a charge, holds quite a few videos and photos (one trip we had 550 photos before finally downloading to our computer). Other than the spots it seems pretty durable and decent quality photos. I wouldn't complain so much about the spots except that it appears to be a common problem with this camera. Otherwise I would have thought that we had just done something to screw it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for Average Camera User, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Hello All,
I have always wanted a D-SLR Camera because I just thought they were so cool! I never really wanted to use all the features I just liked the ability to take great pictures, fast and easily. This camera does the job. I looked at the Nikon as well, but ultimately chose this one because of its ease of use. I've taken about 300 pictures so far and the battery has not yet died. The Nikon is a "better buy" for a experienced or a wanting to be experienced camera user. The main menu is far more confusion and accessories more expensive. But that is a personal decision. i wouldn't buy this camera if you're looking for something totally special, it is perfect for me.
Cons: shutter sound sounds like a toy camera, kind of weird. lower megapixels than the equivalent Nikon
Pros: EASY TO USE, EASY INTERACTIVE MENU TELLS YOU WHAT EACH OPTION IS
Gret Camera for the Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am so pleased with this camera, July 21, 2014
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
I am so pleased with this camera! It is easy to use, the picture quality is great and it's everything I was looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after 5 Years, it's still working!, October 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Best Machine for taking photo! I bought this camera in 2009, it has been 5 years and It's still working! The prices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for our daughter who needed to take phtos ..., October 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Bought it for our daughter who needed to take phtos of speaklers at lectures in low light. She loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 5, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel T3 Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (discontinued by manufacturer) (Camera)
Takes great ;picture. Great price. I bought a 55-250mm lens that I use for capturing wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 2992 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.