Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


216 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have book for both the Rebel and the Rebel XT
I wish this book had been available when I first got my Rebel...it would have saved so much frustration and very possibly provided instant gratification. Charlotte Lowrie is an excellent teacher, and this book covers every single aspect of the camera's controls, the Whys, What's, and How to's. As she writes in the Introduction: "Most important, these chapters will help...
Published on July 10, 2005 by Shirley

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent basic book, but not just for Rebel
The book is 250 pages long. Of that, the first 58 are specific to the Digital Rebel XT. The rest are for any digital camera (and parts are for any camera, film or digital). There's a 9 page chapter on lenses that use Canons as examples, but, she could have used Nikons with no noticable difference.

If you're a beginner and have this camera, then get the book. It...
Published on February 21, 2007 by Stephen Kalman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

216 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have book for both the Rebel and the Rebel XT, July 10, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I wish this book had been available when I first got my Rebel...it would have saved so much frustration and very possibly provided instant gratification. Charlotte Lowrie is an excellent teacher, and this book covers every single aspect of the camera's controls, the Whys, What's, and How to's. As she writes in the Introduction: "Most important, these chapters will help you understand how controls and functions on the Digital Rebel work together with your photography knowledge to make a picture. When you know how the exposure is made, you'll be much more confident when changing settings and knowing what results you can expect."

The book is divided into three parts: Part I, Using the Digital Rebel. The Introduction begins with A Quick Tour, where the camera is set up and pictures taken. The next few chapters go through each of the camera's programmed modes...what they do, how to set them and how to change them. Part II, Creating Great Photos with the Rebel. Discussion of photography basics, lighting, lenses, techniques for taking great photos (broken down into subject categories that include the usual suspects, plus an excellent section on night photography and fireworks, as well as how to take photos for online auctions), then on to how to download and edit pictures. There are example photos with specific information on how the picture was taken, including lighting, lens, modes and settings. I am really grateful for her explanation and how to's of the RAW format, as well as how to convert from RAW to JPEG. This has added significant pleasure to my photography experience.

In Part III, the Appendices and resource section, there are web addresses for various photography sites for camera accessories; public photography forums to share experiences, sites to learn more about photography, as well as sites where one can share pictures online.

Whether a newbie or a more experienced photographer, this book is an excellent companion for the owner of the Rebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best manual of any kind I've ever read, October 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
As a professional writer who has written dozens of technical books over the years, I feel qualified to comment on the writing skills of the author. Simply put, this is the best-written book on a technical topic that I've ever read. The writing is crisp and easy-to-read; the material is extremely well-organized and flows well from one topic to the next.

I consider myself a very good photographer, and thought I knew a lot about photography. When I started learning neat new things in the Quick Tour, I realized how much more there is to know. I think I'll read this book several times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Intro, April 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The information was a little basic, but that's what I believe she was going for. It is a good book for those just starting out and wanting to know how to use their new XT. If you have already been taking pictures (especially digital pictures) for awhile there are better options out there such as Bryan Peterson's Understanding Digital Photography or John Shaw's Nature Photography Field Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful resource for all, September 30, 2005
By 
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I am fairly experienced as a photographer, but still learned quite a bit about how to use my Digital Rebel XT from this book. It is lavishly illustrated and contains clear but concise instruction on how to use all the features of this camera. The recipes are good, too, for shooting various types of pictures in all kinds of situations. If you're a veteran photographer, you'll find this book valuable. If you're new, you MUST own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, August 30, 2005
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Initially flicking through I thought the guide was 'wordy' rather than practical. Once I got into reading the easy written style I have read the guide like a book knowing I can go back for reference. I have been an EOS owner for 9 yrs but the guide has been useful in explaining the setting for digital and also the protocols for the EOS system. It has helpful advice for setting for different circumstances. It gives you confidence in pushing the limits of the options because you understand the parameters. Obviously it is not the complete answer for REBEL owners but it is both suitable for the experienced and inexperienced EOS user. This book and the manual are a contrast between using the tool to do good work and just using bits and pieces that are available.

Compliments to the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Love it!, July 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This book has been a perfect compliment to my new Rebel! Full color throughout, detailed photos of camera features, clear explanations of how to use the Rebel's features (Canon please take note!), useful quick-reference tables for taking portraits, travel shots, stop-action shots, etc., and lots of techniques for dealing with nearly any kind of photo opportunity. I recommend buying this -- not only for yourself -- but for friends and relatives who also have Rebels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you own a Rebel XT this is a MUST have!, January 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This is a great book. First read the manual that came with the book and then get this book and read it. Great book for beginners in fact its a must have for beginners. If you are experienced you will also find great value in this book. The manual that came with the camera is a summary or the "cliff note" version of the real manual. The real manual is this book, and should be included with the camera when you buy it. It does a great job of explaining every possible setting and photography terms. Only knock against it is that it does not show pictures of the Rebel XT (350), but if you want those pictures open up the manual that came with the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent basic book, but not just for Rebel, February 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The book is 250 pages long. Of that, the first 58 are specific to the Digital Rebel XT. The rest are for any digital camera (and parts are for any camera, film or digital). There's a 9 page chapter on lenses that use Canons as examples, but, she could have used Nikons with no noticable difference.

If you're a beginner and have this camera, then get the book. It is perfect for you.

If you already understand depth of field, exposure times, ISO values and so on, then don't waste your money.

This appears to be a book that can change the first 50 pages with descriptions of a different camera, then republish it as a new/different book.

If you're looking for a book that is well-expanded version of the camera manual get Guncheon's Magic Lantern Guide to the rebel XT (ISBN 1-57990-761-x)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best-selling book on a best-selling camera, April 11, 2006
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The Digital Rebel was the FIRST affordable digital SLR, and this book covers the setup and use of this camera thoroughly. If you're a beginner to using the Canon camera, you need to read this book before making a serious attempt to shoot good pictures. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great help for beginners, March 10, 2006
By 
M. Crawford-Stock (Monticello, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I'm a beginning photographer. I haven't owned a digital SLR in the past, so I really appreciate this book. It's simplistic in it's descriptions without being so much so that someone at a higher level than myself would get nothing from the book. i could see this book being one that I carry around for help...it's well written and gives alot of helpful tips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide
Canon EOS Digital Rebel Digital Field Guide by Charlotte K. Lowrie (Paperback - July 8, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.