Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Novices
Charlotte Lowrie's EOS 30D Digital Field Guide is a well organized, clearly written, and beautifully illustrated book that is an ideal resource for those new to the Canon 30D as well as those wanting to expand their photography skills beyond what they may have done in the past. The book begins with a section explaining exactly what to do to get up and running with your...
Published on December 15, 2006 by Ellen L. Anon

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed: there are better tools
I've eagerly awaited this book since I bought my 30D last June, but I was disappointed. The manual is just as good for learning your camera, and Ken Rockwell just published a far superior (and free) guide to using the EOS 30D on his website: photography is largely learned by doing, and his guide will get you up and running much quicker than this "field guide". Also, for...
Published on November 10, 2006 by Pipper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Novices, December 15, 2006
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Charlotte Lowrie's EOS 30D Digital Field Guide is a well organized, clearly written, and beautifully illustrated book that is an ideal resource for those new to the Canon 30D as well as those wanting to expand their photography skills beyond what they may have done in the past. The book begins with a section explaining exactly what to do to get up and running with your camera, and then devotes several chapters to more detailed coverage of all the camera's capabilities. Even those who think that they know how to use the camera might find a new trick or two. Lowrie could have stopped there, but instead she continues on to discuss most types of photography that a user might want to explore and offers a multitude of tips from lens recommendations to thoughts about lighting and more. And there are numerous color pictures to illustrate each example. Many novice users - and some who are not novices but prone to sticking to one type of photography only, will benefit from this well written section. Of course there are other books that cover each of those topics in greater depth. That's not the purpose of this book. This book will introduce you to these areas and give you impetus for exploring and growing with your photography. All in all this book is a great resource for those seeking to expand their photography with their new 30D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the new 30D owner, November 18, 2006
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Charlotte's Digital Field Guides for the Digital Rebel have helped thousands of Rebel shooters get the most from their new camera. The 30D Field Guide takes this up another level to cover Canon's prosumer body.

With clear information that goes well past the manual included with the camera, Charlotte provides practical advice on shooting techniques and using the advanced features of your new camera.

I'm not sure what the lobotomy reviewer was expecting, but this book delivers everything promised on the back cover and more.

If you've read through the manual and are still confused, or you're the type of person that benefits from clear examples, along with images that include full shooting information (something I find very helpful for most users), this is a great book to lead you through the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent companion to the owners manual, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The Canon 30D Digital Field Guide is a perfect visual companion to the owners manual that was included with your new camera. Packed with easy to understand step-by-step prodedures for utilizing the many features of the Canon 30D, this compact book will be all that you need to have on hand when out in the field. Its comact design coupled with dozens of full of color photos make this a must have for every level of photography expertice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not lobotomized, just a novice..., November 10, 2006
By 
Shoupster (Indianapolis, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I think this book is great for anyone new to digital SLRs. When you've invested so much in the camera, the small price of this field guide is worth it. It covers the camera's controls as well as some tips on basic photography techniques. The reviewer above thinks that I'd have to have a lobotomy to get something out of this book, but unlike him, I'm new to photography and I've found it to be invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Guide for the 30D, August 5, 2007
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
After owning this camera for some time I find it hard for a book to be useful. However the Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide broke that mold and very well I must say. The book starts off by walking through the features of the 30D and getting you up to speed on how it all works. Once you have an understanding of what the camera is capable you move into setup where you learn how to set the camera for various shoots and uses. One point that stuck out for me in this section was the author explains in great detail advanced settings, such as White Balance and Bracketing. Two very important settings that allow you to create stunning photos.

Part II of the book moves in to setting up your shoot, but keeps it specific to the 30D and compatible hardware. A crash course in Composition was a nice bonus and a necessity for any "starter" photographer or even a pro.

In Part III the author focuses on subjects and how to achieve the best photos depending on who or what your subject happens to be. This final part ends off with three very important topics. Downloading your images, working with Raw photos and keeping your 30D up to date using Canon's periodic firmware updates.

Overall I found this book to be very well written and full of very relevant information. The book is for a 30D but many aspects of it could be adapted to any camera.. such as the composition information, which would be used with an analog film camera as well as digital. If you are looking to learn everything your 30D is capable of, this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed: there are better tools, November 10, 2006
By 
Pipper (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I've eagerly awaited this book since I bought my 30D last June, but I was disappointed. The manual is just as good for learning your camera, and Ken Rockwell just published a far superior (and free) guide to using the EOS 30D on his website: photography is largely learned by doing, and his guide will get you up and running much quicker than this "field guide". Also, for learning digital photography basics, I prefer "The Better Photo Guide To Digital Photography (Amphoto Guide Series)" by Jim Miotke and "The Digital Photography Book" by Scott Kelby: these will get newbies (like me) the info they need to get started quickly: you can delve deeper later. Also, Ken Rockwell has a wealth of free info written in a no nonsense style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, October 5, 2007
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This book has all the basics you need to know for your 30D. It's a great book for anyone new to the 30D. It reads well and is easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Canon 5D field guide, September 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The book is awesome. It really breaks down all of the information in an easy to comprehend presentation and format. This is one of the best instructional books I have ever read. I was torn between this book and another 30D instructional book. I'm so glad I had the wisdom to choose the correct one. I have learned so much about the Canon 30D by reading this book. Kudos to the author and the illustrator........THEY GOT IT RIGHT!!!!!! Yes, THEY GOT IT RIGHT!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Field Guide, July 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Excellent field guide to an astounding camera, the 30D Canon! I bought one for a friend who got the same camera after seeing and using mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome how to use a Canon EOS camera., October 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Great overview of the basics plus a little more of the things you need to operate your Canon EOS 30 D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide
Canon EOS 30D Digital Field Guide by Charlotte K. Lowrie (Paperback - October 30, 2006)
$19.99 $16.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.