Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice hood
Good product, I like the design. If you have a compatible lens, you need this hood. I bought this for the Canon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM lens that mounts on the Canon EOS-M camera. This camera uses the EF-M mount. M as in Mother of God, please figure out which lens you own before you buy this and give it a one star review for not fitting. This will not work on the...
Published 19 months ago by Richard A. Zwicky, Jr.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have come with the lens
Good fit and performs function well but should be included with the lens. You can't get the most out of this lens in all lighting situations without a hood.... Canon? What were you thinking?
Published 9 months ago by James A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice hood, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
Good product, I like the design. If you have a compatible lens, you need this hood. I bought this for the Canon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM lens that mounts on the Canon EOS-M camera. This camera uses the EF-M mount. M as in Mother of God, please figure out which lens you own before you buy this and give it a one star review for not fitting. This will not work on the 18-55 EF-S lens. S as in ... well, you get the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Lens Shade, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
Recently having purchased the entire EOS-M system the one accessory that didn't come with any of the kits is the 18 to 55mm lens shade. Most sellers didn't even have it but I was able to purchase it at Amazon. It's overpriced for a small piece of plastic, but its really needed for the lens. Easy to install and it works well to control glare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just right but why does it come separately?, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
As one might expect, the lens hood fits just as it should and helps both shade and protect the lens (also prefer to use a UV filter; saved several lenses that way). So what's the beef? T'was a time when you bought a (nice) lens it came with the hood, but nooooo, the makers need to squeeze and squeeze: change the battery and charger with every model, separate the lens hood, what next? The instructions? extra money for a warranty?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits well and stores nicely in the backward position., November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
Fits snugly and easily. Stores nicely in the backward position with no real extra bulk. A must for this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have come with the lens, May 19, 2014
By 
James A. (Wake Forest, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
Good fit and performs function well but should be included with the lens. You can't get the most out of this lens in all lighting situations without a hood.... Canon? What were you thinking?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have come standad with the lens..., May 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
You really do want one of these on your lens! This is the hood for the EF-M 18-55mm IS STM lens that goes on an EOS-M Canon (mirror-less) camera.

Major advantage - It helps protect the lens! It's designed to help with light flares and this does work. This is a real Canon OEM lens hood, and it fits perfectly, easily on, and off. (Off brand hoods have a bad habit of fitting too tight). I love mine.

Message to Canon -- really Canon? why don't you include one of these as a standard with the lens?? You really need to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Hood, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
I always buy a third party lens hood because it works just as good as OEM and a LOT cheaper. This time it's a different story, the price was only $5.00 more to a third party hood so I got one and this is my first Canon lens hood.
Fits very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits like a canon hood should fit, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
Fits lens perfect. Other reviewers stating it does not fit are completely wrong. Giving a product a bad rating because you can't order the correct part is nonsense. This hood is for a EF-M not EF-S 18-55 lens. If in doubt then look at the picture of the lens and compair it to yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition for my EOS M camera, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
I recently got this lens hood for my EF-M 18-55mm lens. It was a perfect fit. I could tell the difference in my outdoor photos right away. Do not buy this hood for an EF-S lens. The description states that it is for the EF-M lens and that is the only one it will fit as you will notice from other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canon EW-54 Lens Hood, June 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-54 Lens Hood for Canon EF-M 18-55mm IS STM Lens (Electronics)
This hood has a bayonet type attachment: quarter turn and she is on. Good quality, compliments the color of the camera. There are other hoods out there that use the screw on type fit - don't buy. They are easily dislodged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.