Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Size: 1 Pack|Change
Price:$28.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 31, 2011
I have had my Selphy for 2 years now and overall it is a handy printer. However, what people need to know is that every time you turn the unit off and turn it back on, it loads the ink for one picture. That is, you lose that ink and your ink to paper ratio gets off over time. You eventually start running out of ink before you run out of paper. I called Cannon to find out what was happening-that I was accumulating tons of paper but running out of ink. They informed me that the machine does this and I should leave the unit on (print as many photos as possible in one sitting) if I am to not waste ink. Right now I have tons of paper that will probubly never get used because cannon will not sell ink apart from paper. Very Wasteful! FYI
3939 comments|604 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
The most cost-effective paper and ink pack for the Selphy CP-series, comes down to about 27 cents per photo right now. The box contains three ink packs, each good for 36 prints, and six 18-photo-paper packs (The CP-760 can only hold 18 photos in its tray). Everything you need to print exactly 108 photos. The paper has Canon written on the back in light gray. The Canon KP-108IP Color Ink/Paper Set (note the "IP") has postcard back but is harder to find.

These dye-sub packs print exactly the number of photos indicated, no more, no less, no matter the color coverage on the photo. The "ink" cartridge has a roll of 4-inch-wide film with 6-inch-long sections of each dye (yellow, magenta, cyan) followed by a clear coat, repeated exactly 36 times.

When printing, each dye layer goes over the photo and transfers the color to the paper using heat. Sublimation is vaporizing the "ink" from the film in controlled amounts, which is then deposited onto the paper. The printer lets you see the photo at each stage which is neat. The final layer is a plastic clear coat that makes it smudge-proof and water-resistant.

The result of this process is that the film inside the used ink cartridge ends up with accurate negatives of your prints in each color. That is why the cartridge can't be reused, but that also means the photos you printed can be recovered from a discarded "empty" cartridge. If that is a problem then I suppose you can yank the film out and dispose of it some other way (not heat as it may cause the remaining dye to vaporize in the air you breathe).
99 comments|318 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Some old models of CP printers show a little glitch of running out of ink before paper runs out. Before it starts printing, a printer tries to find the beginning of a new section in the ink cartridge. If it misses this, the printer would feed forward the entire section, wasting that section unused.

The first thing you can do to avoid this is to keep your printer on. This problem often happens at your first print after you turn on the printer.

If the printer has been off, take out the ink cartridge and rewind a film a little before you put it back. If you don't see two black lines and you are in a clear section, that should be enough. You can rewind the film by turning a film spool in the smaller compartment counter-clockwise. To do so, you need to push in both film spools a little. The film should go in the opposite direction as to when you take out a slack.

If the ink reaches the end before you use up paper, rewind the film until you find an unused section. Holding the film onto a white background helps you to find an unused section. Keep rewinding until you pass an unused yellow section and two black lines and until you are in a previously used clear section. The back of a hexagonal pencil is very useful for this.

Hope these tips will help you to get great printouts out of your CP printer the most efficiently.
11 comment|174 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
For the people who always run out of ink before they run out of paper, eject your ink cartridge BEFORE powering down and powering up your printer. I only put my ink cartridge in when the printer is already on and I am ready to print. When I am done, before powering down the machine, I eject the cartridge again. I always have just enough ink for the amount of paper given. I hope this helps.
33 comments|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
The product is great but we always run out of the ink before we run out of photo paper and I would like to request that they be sold separately
22 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2009
This Canon Selphy photo ink and paper set provides excellent 4" x 6" photos and is very easy to use.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2009
This ink & paper is so easy to use.
The pictures are of the greatest quality.
Perfect colors.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2011
Paper is great for the selphy printer....Very clear and cost efficient...A must have..I would buy this product again and again
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
This pack contains the thermal transfer "ink" and photo paper for thd Canon Selphy CP900 photo printer. I think it's a bit over priced -- two of these packs cost almost as much as the whole printer. But I guess that's the way it is with printers, these days. They practically give you the printer; then they've got you hooked for the next few years, buying the expensive toner cartridges.

That said, this paper/toner works perfectly with the CP900 and produces durable photos of good quality. And it's a better deal than the smaller packs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2011
This is a good quality product ..... fresh, just like in the store ..... & cheaper. I've bought many boxes & have never had a problem with any of them.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 56 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.