Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


326 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, even without a converter lens.
This inexpensive kit is a must have item. It weighs less than an ounce in total, and allows you to use the full range of available 58 mm filters on your S2. At the very least, any camera owner would benefit from a basic UV filter to improve contrast in hazy conditions, and to protect the camera lens at all times. When you are shooting in super macro mode, the adapter and...
Published on July 11, 2005 by Jim Krupnik

versus
59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sakar version
After reading the reviews here, I decided to instead buy the Sakar lens adapter for the Canon S2 from a local camera shop. It costs $13 and is made of silver-anodized aluminum, but otherwise works exactly the same as Canon's plastic adapter.

If you use filters a lot, you may as well keep the adapter installed on your camera all the time. If you do that, the...
Published on June 3, 2006 by Johnny99


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

326 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, even without a converter lens., July 11, 2005
By 
Jim Krupnik "jkrupnik" (Watchung, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
This inexpensive kit is a must have item. It weighs less than an ounce in total, and allows you to use the full range of available 58 mm filters on your S2. At the very least, any camera owner would benefit from a basic UV filter to improve contrast in hazy conditions, and to protect the camera lens at all times. When you are shooting in super macro mode, the adapter and filter assembly come off of the camera with a push of a button. As the old line goes, if your camera lens never gets dirty, you never have to clean it, and it will never get scratched. The second bonus is that you can buy a quality circular polorizing filter, and be amazed at the improvement in contrast, and the reduction of glare they can make in many typical photos. Just to have the ability of the two above mentioned filters makes this accessory worth owning, but there is more...

The included 58 mm thread lens hood is very effective, and will mount directly on the adaptor, or on the last 58 mm filter you have attached to the adaptor. It is large enough that it makes a real difference in image quality when shooting under contitions likely to cause flare. When using the built in flash, you should remove it, as it is large enough to hide a portion of the flash energy. That's not a problem though, as the two situations are more likely to be mutualy exclusive than not. When you feel the need to have both at the same time, the Canon flash unit offered for the S2 works perfectly with the lens hood.

The last reason to buy this accessory is that Canon offers three converter lenses for the camera, and they require this converter to be in place. So far, I have the tele converter (simply an incredible value. I reviewed it on Amazon today), and the close up adapter that allows you to do macro work at max telephoto lens settings. My next purchase will be the wide angle converter, and if it works as well as the telephoto converter, it too will be a must have, as having a quality 27 mm lens on hand really makes a difference when you try to get a group shot in an indoor setting.

Anyway, the Canon converter lenses extend the useful range of photographic opportunity for the S2 owner, and your goal should be to buy at least the long and the short converter over time. Meanwhile, the adapter/hood combo is very cheap, and will serve you well even if you decide that the standard lens is all you ever need. Buy one for your camera, and buy another for the wide and tele converters when you get around to ordering them. Then, switching lenses is a simple push button operation with no threading involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


292 of 294 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there is a better alternative., November 28, 2005
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
I must agree with "Jim Krupnik" that your S2 IS needs a converter lens for 3 main reasons:
- Attaching external filters and tele/close-up/wide-angle lenses to your S2
- Protecting your camera lens
- Place that your hand can hold for more stable handheld shoot

However, there are reasons that make this set only a 4-star:
- They are black while the camera is silver (as "mechmonk" pointed out)
- They were made in plastics
- They only come in 58mm type, which means if you have old 52mm lenses, you will need to find an extra step-down ring

Moreover, there is a better alternative which is an adapter by Lensmate (search in google for this term). They offer adapters which do the same job without disadvantages stated above:
- They were made in high quality aluminum which is always better than plastic
- They are silver which matches your camera color
- There come in 2 types, 58mm and 52mm, so you don't need an extra step-down ring if you want to use 52mm lenses

I had hesitated a lot before choosing which one I want because Lensmate seems to make higher quality converter while this set is made by Canon, a big guy in the market. I did a lot of research on the internet and found out that Lensmate is actually a very well-known and reliable converter maker for producing high quality items. Photography-on-the-net (search in google for this term) is the largest community for Canon users and they have to admit that Lensmate converters are better than Canon's ones. Since I still had a feeling to have "everything Canon" is better, I bought 1 of each. And I must say I like the Lensmate's one better.

The bottom line is this set is very good; it serves you perfectly what it supposed to do. But there is a better one which is made by Lensmate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My take on this vs Lens Mate adaptor, February 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
After reading the reviews here, I went to the lensmate website and two things became clear...

1) It makes a lot of sense for the adaptor that is going to be on the camera all the time to match the camera plus aluminum seems better than plastic. So I ordered a UV filter and the adaptor from Lensmate. These are very impressive and I can't recommend them enough. Also very fast shipment. I added a lens cap and it stays on the filter nicely.

2) The black Canon adaptor matches all of the lenses even if it doesn't match the camera. It would actually look better for the adaptor to match the lens in this case. From the sample photos on the Lensmate site, the Canon telephoto lens looks better than the others. Since they don't sell the Canon lens, I came back to Amazon and ordered the Canon adaptor and telephoto. Just got these today so haven't taken any pictures but assume they will match the quality from the Lensmate site. About the adaptor, it is plastic but looks well made. I had absolutely no problem mounting the lens to the adaptor or the adaptor to the camera, perfect fits.

In summary, this seems to be the best looking combination, time will tell how the 2 adaptors hold up. As for the lens hood, will probably throw it in a closet with the S2s original lens cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sakar version, June 3, 2006
By 
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
After reading the reviews here, I decided to instead buy the Sakar lens adapter for the Canon S2 from a local camera shop. It costs $13 and is made of silver-anodized aluminum, but otherwise works exactly the same as Canon's plastic adapter.

If you use filters a lot, you may as well keep the adapter installed on your camera all the time. If you do that, the camera will no longer fit in the Canon or Tamarac camera bags that people usually recommend for the S2. A nice bag that fits the S2 with the adapter installed is the LowePro Rezo TLC 10 which has the perfect width and height for the S2 with the adapter. The bag's depth is about 1 inch bigger, giving you some space for extra batteries or lens filters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks very Professional!, August 2, 2006
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
The black of this is the same as on my camera, and with all the parts together, this is one professional looking set up!
I am not sure if this hood cuts down on glare/reflection, as I have not used it on a sunny day, but I don't see why it shouldn't.
And as cheap as this little product is, it is pretty much a must have with this camera! (S3 IS)

One last side note, should you alreay own a extra lens or two. And they happen to be metal, be VERY carful about screwing them into this plastic adaptor! I made that mistake and had to put the whole thing in the fridge for an hour, so the metal would shrink, and I could get the pieces apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does What it's Supposed to..., August 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
You need to remove a ring from the front of the lens to install this. Don't lose the ring. You won't always want this on the camera. The adapter does not hook to the lens. It hooks to the camera and the lense moves inside it. As a result it's longer than the lens and a bit bulky. A standard case will not fit over it. This unit is best when you intend to keep the camera in a camera/gadget bag. It holds lens adapters and filters nicely. If you intend to leave the adapter on the camera, get a 58mm lens cap. The standard one won't fit. By the way, you may want to forgo the wide angle adapter. The camera software does a great job of photo stitching. you can get the equivilent of wide angle without the distortion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon LAH-DC20 Lens Adapter and Hood Set for the S3 IS, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
I purchased this adapter and hood set for my 2006 Christmas vacation in Hawaii. I knew that I was going to take a lot of outdoor photographs and wanted to try using a UV filter to make them more crisp. The only way to use add-on filters and lenses with the Canon S3/S2 IS is with this adapter. My only complaint is that there were no instructions provided on how to remove the ring around the lens housing to install the adapter. It's either in the camera's manual (which I didn't bring with me) or it's something that you should already know from experience. Luckily, I remembered seeing a small button just below and to the left of the lens housing on the front of the camera. I had played with it before out of curiosity but never figured out what it was for. This is the button that removes the ring. Hold down the button and rotate the ring a quarter turn, counter clockwise. There are two white dots that need to line up. The lens adapter will replace this ring. Now, install any optional 58mm filter or lens and then the hood set.

One caveat:
Taking photos with no zoom and the hood attached reveals fuzzy black-rounded corners on all of your photos. At no zoom, the camera just barely picks up the hood set. Just a small tap on the zoom will fix this.
With out the hood set, the adapter provides no obsticles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price - clunky attachment, February 27, 2006
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
If you want to use a filter with this camera, you have to use a lens adapter, and this one works adequately. The mechanics of taking off the lens ring so you can attach the adapter are not intuitive, but it gets easier on subsequent attachments. Unfortunately, it also gets easier to cross-thread the adapter in place unless you are very careful, and then you have the challenge of applying enough force to get it off but not so much that you break it.

Someone somewhere may find a use for the lens hood which is a mandatory part of this set, but I haven't identified one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A necessary evil, February 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
This kit does the job. Unfortunately, the Canon soft case recommended for the S2 IS will not work with this adapter on the camera. Canon should have included a lens cap for the adapter rather than a lens hood, which I will probably never use. Without such a cap, the UV filter on my camera is very exposed to damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adapter and Hood set is a must for every S3 owner, March 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon LAH-DC20 Conversion Lens Adapter (LA-DC58E) and Hood (LH-DC40) Set for the S5 IS, S3 IS & S2 IS Digital Camera (Camera)
To protect the lens the adapter is a must along with a UV filter lens. Then all you need is a good lens cap and you're set. The hood is just for outdoor shots where the sun may cause glare on the lens. It is not for indoor shots and definitely not for any shot with a flash. There is nothing wrong with it. It was made for one purpose, to shield the lens from direct sunlight. If you're not in the sun, take it off. As far as the materials go, I've owned both plastic and aluminum. Metal might feel nice but really, does your camera need to be bullet proof? The plastic is lighter, won't show scratches as much and just plain does what it's supposed to.

New comment, after using the hood adaptor I have found out that if you have the camera set to take a wide shot (zoom all the way out) the hood cuts the corners of the picture off. So you need to be careful when you use it to zoom in just a little so the corners are not cut out of the picture. For most people this would mean probably finding a different hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.