Customer Reviews


594 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (137)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (109)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 315 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small footprint - Canon MG3220
SETUP:
Pretty much basic for a printer. Although Windows 7 didn't have drivers for the printer, the CD included did.
Connection to the PC was uneventful. There is a USB cable provided but you can connect via WiFI.

PROS:
SMALL FOOTPRINT/size for a printer + scanner:
This is a good choice if you don't want a huge printer taking up a lot of...
Published on August 8, 2012 by AEinstein

versus
792 of 806 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Printer, Beware Ink Costs
.
Lots to like about this printer. Well designed, loads of features. Keeping it fed is the problem.

If it starts to feel like an expensive drug habit, see "8 ways to lower your ink costs" below.

Or consider the Brother MFCJ870DW which cooperates with value-priced 3rd party inks. (Although its photo colors are not as good even with genuine...
Published on October 13, 2012 by C. MacPhail


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

792 of 806 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Printer, Beware Ink Costs, October 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
.
Lots to like about this printer. Well designed, loads of features. Keeping it fed is the problem.

If it starts to feel like an expensive drug habit, see "8 ways to lower your ink costs" below.

Or consider the Brother MFCJ870DW which cooperates with value-priced 3rd party inks. (Although its photo colors are not as good even with genuine Brother ink.)

- - - Ink Cost: It Adds Up - - -

This little $60 printer may cost you $1000+ over a 5 year period. With easy $45 installments, Canon hopes you won't do the supply-gouge math.

To get the party started ASAP, Canon ships the printer with cartridges that are 30% and 45% full. (Or 70% and 55% empty if you prefer. See Note 1 for Canon ink details.)

The ink refills (240 and 241 series) include a chip and the actual print heads. This discourages knock-offs. (It also means any print head problem is easily solved with a new cartridge.) You can refill the cartridges with 3rd party refill kits, but apparently you also need a chip reset if you want the refilled cartridge to report ink levels correctly.

- - - PROs and CONs - - -

PROs:

- Lots of handy features
- Print quality seems good
- WiFi connect (requires wireless router)
- Print directly from iPhone, iPad, iPod
- Clean, attractive design
- Ease to use: buttons are easy to read, and make sense

OKs:

- 1 year warranty
- Setup: Reasonably easy, with some confusing moments
- Owner manual: On CD. No printed manual. Good navigation, reasonably clear and complete
- Footprint is 16" x 17.6" (12" x 17.6" when paper tray not in use.)
- Black exterior - shows dust
- Standby power: 1.65 watts with (WiFi on). Zero or unmeasurable wattage when switched off.

CONs:

* Expensive ink (like most inkjet printers. See Note 3)
* High-tech cartridges make 3rd party ink much more difficult
- Combined 3-color cartridge - 10% to 30% of color ink may be wasted
- No hard-wired networking option
- Auto shut-off: Nice energy-saving idea, but doesn't work in most situations (see Note 2).

- - - Alternatives - - -

- Brother MFCJ870DW (cooperates with 3rd party inks)
- Epson Artisan 730 (cartridge chips thwart 3rd party ink suppliers)

- - - Eight ways to lower your ink costs - - -

1. Buy a printer that uses more affordable inks. Step 1: Discover a planet where printer companies charge their ink customers less than 800% of manufacturing cost. If that's too much trouble, get the Brother MFCJ870DW and use 3rd party cartridges.

2. Own a laser printer and use it most of the time. The Brother MFC7860DW, Brother HL-2270DW, and their siblings have the lowest supply cost around. About 1-2 cents per page vs 12-25 cents per (non-photo) page for most inkjets.

3. Inconvenience is your friend. On the off chance that your kids, spouse, or office staff don't know or care about what things cost, put your color printer off the beaten path. Upstairs...powered off...barbed wire...you get the idea. It's a silent reminder that the color printer is not for random everyday use.

4. Buy the XL and XXL cartridges. The cheaper PG-240 and CL-241 are twice as expensive per milliliter of ink.

5. Preview each print job and reduce the page range when possible. Especially when printing Web pages.

6. Shrink your printing...2 pages-to 1, 4-to-1 etc. when it make sense. Make sure everybody knows how easy this is to do.

7. Holiday letters: 20% to 50% of your loved ones would be happier with an emailed holiday letter. Print your letter to a pdf file with the free and easy-to-use CutePDF software.

8. Ink Refill Kits: ND Brand Refill ink kit for Canon PG-240, CL-241, ND 1000ml refill ink kit for Canon PG-240 CL-241, etc. They drop your ink cost to 1/10 or 1/30 of Canon cost. But they're kind of a hassle, there are not many reviews yet, and apparently your refilled cartridge will not report ink levels correctly without a chip reset. Quality seems unknown at this point. Also, if your cartridge print head wears out after a few refills, the savings will be less than stated above.

- - - Notes - - -

Note 1: Canon Ink Choices: PG-240 and CL-241 are starter cartridges - 30% and 45% full. PG-240XL and CL-241XL give you about 1.7 to 2.2 times as many pages. That's about 300-400 standard (ISO/IEC 24712) test pages. PG-240XXL is a fully topped off Black cartridge that gives about 3.3 times the output of a PG-240. There is no XXL color cartridge. For more detail, google "Canon Inkjet page yields".

Note 2: Auto shut off is easily set for 15 to 240 minutes (or Never) but mine never shuts off. Apparently because "The Auto power off setting is invalid when using the machine via network."

Note 3: Ink Cost Studies: QualityLogic's impressive side-by-side comparison of ink costs (per page) says this model's ink cost is higher than average, but their numbers do not reflect savings from XL and XXL cartridges. It's going to take more digging to do a fair comparison. Google "QualityLogic ink cost analysis".

~~~ Comments & questions welcome ~~~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


304 of 315 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small footprint - Canon MG3220, August 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
SETUP:
Pretty much basic for a printer. Although Windows 7 didn't have drivers for the printer, the CD included did.
Connection to the PC was uneventful. There is a USB cable provided but you can connect via WiFI.

PROS:
SMALL FOOTPRINT/size for a printer + scanner:
This is a good choice if you don't want a huge printer taking up a lot of desk space. It is about the same size as my previous printer BUT it includes a scanner.
DUPLEX PRINTING:
-(aka double sided) printing. - for things such as archived TAX RETURNS.
PRINT QUALITY:
It has very good photo and document print quality. Don't forget to ALIGN the print heads!
INK CARTRIDGES:
When you replace the cartridge, you also replace the -heads- so the print quality doesn't deteriorate from extended use or time.
There are only two (1-black and 1-color)cartridges so you aren't having to replace a a single cartridge as often.
SIMPLE CONTROL PANEL:
Easy to use control panel without multiple menus to complicate what should be a simple job.

CONS:
INK CARTRIDGES:
(YES-PRO & CON) When you replace the cartridge, you also replace the -heads-. So you will pay MORE for ink cartridges. You may have to replace a color cartridge before all the colors are out.
SOFTWARE:
The software that is included is pretty much useless. What I like to do when printing pictures is print four pictures on a standard 8 1/2" x 11" sheet. (for obvious reasons - printing on separate 4" x 6" will cost you much more) The software provided, My Image Garden) does not allow this.
However, other Canon software does. The product is EASYPHOTOPRINT and it works with this printer.

OVERALL:
If you want a small footprint printer/scanner this might fit your needs.
This has an easy to use control panel for offline use but if you want a color LCD screen this is not the printer for you.
INK USAGE:
I am very disappointed by the ink use. Having used the printer for a while I can report that after printing exactly -10- 81/2x11 sheets of photos, the color ink ran out!
I don't know how much more ink is in the XL cartridges or how much longer they last but the cost per page is very expensive at that rate.
UPDATE: After installing a NEW ink cartridge I found that the one shipped with the printer was lacking in ink quantity. AND - there are now re-ink kits available should you choose to use them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great- good deal, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
Seen some complaints on this printers ink usage, you have got to be kidding me, this thing is fantastic compared to my last printer- the printer itself and the cartridges are cheaper than what I had been paying prior. Could the price of ink be less for this thing, absolutely, but I don't have any major gripes about it. The printer works quick, gets the job done, and I have had absolutely no problems with printing from my laptops, computer, iPhone or iPad using the wireless feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overall review, August 26, 2012
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Printing speed: Black: mediocre. Color: slow, very slow.
Scanning: slow
Scan quality: good tent to be more blue than original picture
cost of replacement ink: $30 each, $50: kit

It is a heavy unit. The setup is not as straight forward.
The included installation CD requires you to download a few hundred MB of additional software. Took a while to complete.
Setting up wifi wasn't easy. The USB cable is required for initial set up.
The most important: Airprint for iPad!!! I got this specifically for the airprint function. It took a while for this to register on the network for the iPad to detect. There's no separate setup on the IOS to change the settings for the printer. Only on specific apps on iPad can you use airprint. The airprint prints like a screen shot, not full page to the letter size.

The printer is a good price all purpose scan/print/airprint printer.
The replacement cartridges are reasonablely priced. I have yet to count how many copies it can print with each cartridge. The colors are nice and vibrant.
The speed needs much improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, September 20, 2012
By 
Jenna M. (Washington state, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
I just bought this and it works like a champ! Very easy to set up with
the Wi-Fi, which I was worried about because I am completely illiterate
with these types of things anymore!!! The instructions are very clear and
it was a quick and painless set up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customer service at its best, April 7, 2013
By 
Bill (Tucson AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
I bought my 3220 about a year ago. One thing that always bothered me was that it put itself to sleep after a period of inactivity but did not wake itself up when it was needed again. I had to use the power button which was a bit of a hassle due to where the printer is. A Google search found several complaints saying the same thing so I resigned myself to the inconvenience.

Then I recently decided to E-Mail Canon and asked if there was an option I was missing. Less than an hour later, I had a reply telling me exactly what the solution was. It's in the driver software on the computer, not the printer itself. I also took the opportunity to shorten the time the printer stays awake from 3 hours to 30 minutes.

It's nice to run across a company that still cares about their customers like Canon does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO HAPPY, September 21, 2013
By 
Justine (Davenport, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
Before I buy anything online I read all the reviews on amazon and off. I read these reviews and said well it's a risk. I bought this printer anyway and am super happy with the purchase. I am in middle school and I wanted to buy a printer for the document printing and for my own personal uses. It turned out great. The ink is perfect and the options on the printer control is great. I really love the Quick Menu on the computer desktop. This includes an easy to use online manual. By the way I had absolutely NO problem with connecting to the internet/ wifi. If you want a printer that has great printing and a good size, and an amazing price. This is the Printer for you. <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY EXPENSIVE INK, DO NOT BUY THIS, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
The printer works. Unfortunately an ink cartridge does NOT provide the pages per print cartridge that are expected. Most idiotic is the "240", "240XL", and "XXL" versions of ink which ship less air (but still do not last long). A $40 black ink XXL cartridge will print about 200 pages of full text, so that's 20cents per page just for black ink (not counting paper and color ink). Save some money and go to Kinko's copies, or buy just about ANY other printer on the market where generic or refill cartridges work.

This Canon printer does everything possible to prevent generic cartridges or refills from being operational. Low ink status cannot be eliminated with a reset: it wants you to empty your wallet and feed it a brand-new Canon official ink cartridge!

DO NOT BUY this printer, especially because of the low price. This printer ONLY makes sense for someone who occasionally prints a page or two, and prints less than 100 pages per year. Any slightly higher level of printing means you are wasting your money on this product and the cash flow for ink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spend a little more & get a better printer than this!, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
While it's true you get what you pay for, I relied upon the Canon name when I bought this a few short months ago (2-3). From the start I had problems with the printing of 15-20 pages at a time gradually shifting to the left side of the paper. The first 8-10 pages would be OK, but after that the documents would shift a little more to the left with each page until I ended up with the last Page's writing on the very left with no margin. So somehow it's getting off center the more pages I print. I have 5 of just this type of report to do for various clients every month & quickly got tired of this!

Also, when I'd print a copy of something written in pencil it *always* caused a double image - like a shadow. Never happened with things written in ink.

I couldn't find a fix for these issues in the (laughable) "manual," so ditched it & got a Brother w/ wireless capability for about $20 more and it even has a fax included. In my attempt to fix the problems with this model of the Canon Pixma brand, I went over my 30 day return time. Will donate the Canon to a local small church.

I highly suggest looking elsewhere for a printer/scanner/copier!

PS - this is my 1st one star review!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Pixma MG3220 Meets Expectations, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier (Office Product)
The desk top icons are easy enough to understand. I make copies of stuff every day and I use the scanner too. So far, no problems. Before I settled on a Pixma MG3220 I called Canon and spoke to a sales representative about my needs (home use). He was very helpful, suggesting the Pixma MG3220. Canon has other, more sophisticated, printers but I needed help navigating my way through all the models, features, and price ranges - that's why I called Cannon direct. This too, the Amazon/Canon price for a new Canon printer made a big difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.