Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


618 of 626 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Color Photo Printer, Scanner, Copier
Canon PIXMA MG7120 Black/White/Red/Brown Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier

OVERVIEW:
-----------

This is a new sweet spot for the Canon PIXMA line with a lot of bang for the buck. This is the replacement for the still produced MG6320. The MG7120 has only been available since August 2013.

PROS:
------...
Published 8 months ago by Neil E. Isenberg

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Won't print Avery labels
My wife is yelling at me because this printer will not print Avery Labels. I figured out issue. The Avery identifier at the top of the sheet is tricking the printer sensor. I get a message that the paper is not aligned. Pealing off the top right of the label sheet allows it to print.

Also, Ink on this thing doesn't last long at all. If you buy this thing, you...
Published 6 months ago by G. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

618 of 626 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Color Photo Printer, Scanner, Copier, December 13, 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
Canon PIXMA MG7120 Black/White/Red/Brown Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner and Copier

OVERVIEW:
-----------

This is a new sweet spot for the Canon PIXMA line with a lot of bang for the buck. This is the replacement for the still produced MG6320. The MG7120 has only been available since August 2013.

PROS:
------

- One more color than the MG5420/MG5320 models, GRAY, just like its MG6320/MG6220 predecessors. GRAY is for improved black and white results and to better darken colors. I haven't seen the difference gray makes with color pages, but some reviewers can.

- Has an ETHERNET connection, allowing a solid, simple shared/network wired connection that stays up even when computers are down. Its predecessors MG6320/MG6220 have it too, the MG5420/MG5320 models do not.

- One of the few models that comes in WHITE (as well as BLACK, RED, and BROWN). The MG6320 before it started the white model option and it was a hit.

- Has a handy separate 4"x6" and 5"x7" PHOTO PAPER DRAWER at the front. The year old MG6320/MG5420 models have this too, the older MG6220/MG5320 models before that did not.

- Like the MG6320 before it, the MG7120 is a bit shorter/squatter than the earlier MG6220, which for some is a nicer form factor if on a desk and certainly if on a deep shelf, for example. The new design ditches the rear paper feed to help achieve its new shelf friendly size and form factor. Listed in a section below are some alternatives with rear/straight feed.

- The 250/251 ink tanks, a little over a year old now, for the MG7120/MG6320/MG5420 also come in an XL SIZE now which reduces the page cost significantly. The ink in the 250/251 tanks are the same formula as in the earlier 225/226 ink tanks according to Canon support.

- The touch screen content-sensitive interface of the MG7120 and MG6320 gets rave reviews, however, I find the old interface of the MG6220 just as easy, but the unanimity of positive reviews for it suggests it really is much better for many.

- For copying/scanning the top comes easily off just like the MG6320 (unlike the previous generation MG6220).

- The MG7120 (and MG6320 and MG5420 models) have 2x the number of black ink nozzles as their predecessors the MG6220/MG5320 models. This allows more efficient use of black ink and greater dot accuracy.

- See "vs. MG6320" section below for details on printing directly from mobile.

- With 10+ years of having a number of their products I have always found Canon to have great customer service, which for U.S. customers appears to be based out of Maryland and Virgina.

LESSER PROS:
-------------

- 5-15% faster printing for the MG7120/MG6320 than the older MG6220 depending on b&w vs. color, quality, etc.

- Can print directly from CF memory cards on the MG7120/MG6320 models, unlike the older MG6220, if that is important to you. In addition can print from most SD/MMC/Memory Stick/xD-Picture card types, as always.

- I am leaving out a laundry list of features and specifications you can read on the Canon site to keep the review focused on the big defining features/differences of this model.

CONS/WARNINGS:
-----------------

- This is new (Aug 2013) and as such can be expected to have more issues than after some time passes. On the other hand, this may just be an incremental modification to the MG6320 and so may not have this issue as much.

- These 250/251 ink tanks are different for these newer MG7120/MG6320/MG5420 models than for the previous generation and thus are at this time (late 2013), a little harder to find available at stores, especially in XL sizes.

- For copying/scanning, the lid telescopes up for books only to the thickness of around a cellphone, whereas the MG6220 telescoped up to around twice that. On the other hand the top COMES OFF easily now with the MG7120/MG6320.

- NO BUILT-IN FAX, if this is important to you in an all-in-one. Perhaps you want to get a dedicated fax machine of your choosing near a phone line anyways, however if you are looking for a built-in fax the MX922/MX892 printers have one.

- NO ADF (Automatic Document Feeder), if this is important to you in an all-in-one. The MX922/MX892 printers have an ADF.

- No straight paper path. If this is important to you, consider the rear-feeding models like the MX892 listed in a section below. Keep in mind that the certified paper weight for non-Canon paper is still 17#-30# for MX892 and 17#-28# for MG7120, so not that much difference. Even the old MG6220 rear feed recommendation maxed out at 28#. For Canon Genuine Paper the MG7120 is certified up to 78#.

vs. MG6320 (Its Predecessor):
-----------------------------

- NEW: The MG7120 will automatically turn on if it is off when a print request is sent.

- NEW: The grinding noise of the MG6320 a minute or so after startup appears to have been greatly lessened in the MG7120, it is much quieter during that process whether or not you are in quiet mode. It may have been resolved in newer MG6320's, too, I haven't heard.

- NEW: The MG6320 required a wireless router to print from a mobile device. The MG7120 has an Access Point Mode which allows direct printing to the printer without need for a wireless router.

- NEW: The MG6320 allowed you to print directly (no computer needed) from Picasa, Canon Image Gateway, and Google Cloud Print. The MG7120 now allows you to also download apps to the printer itself that allow printing directly also from Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, DropBox, Evernote, and more.

- There is a specification error online suggesting some changes in the photo paper drawer and MMC card compatibility, but these are misprints, they are the same. The MG7120 and MG6320 are very similar feature-wise.

NEW MODEL NUMBERS CONFUSION
(as of late 2013):
---------------------------------

- The MG5520 you would think replaces the MG5420, however the MG5520 4x6 photo printing can be 110% slower, the copying can be 30% slower, has lower max color resolution, has lower max scanning resolution, and can't print on CDs/DVDs. Thus for 5 ink MG series solutions, MG5420 may still be the sweet spot.

- The MG6420 you would think replaces the MG6320, however the MG6420 is missing the gray tank, has no Ethernet, 4x6 photo printing can be 110% slower, copying can be 30% slower, has lower max color resolution, has lower max scanning resolution, and can't print on CDs/DVDs. Thus it is really the MG7120 that is replacing the MG6320 in my opinion.

SUGGESTIONS TO CONSIDER:
----------------------------

- See below consideration to select it not to automatically shut-off to reduce ink wastage.

- Consider choosing to print "Grayscale" when color isn't necessary, this can lessen the amount of color layering to get black (though the use of grey and colors is not necessarily eliminated). Canon feels the black is better with more color layering, you decide :).

- If the GRAY and ETHERNET (MG7120/MG6320/MG6220) is for sure useless to you and you'd like a SMALLER FORM FACTOR, you might consider looking into the MG5420/MG5320, which are otherwise somewhat similar.

- Use Canon paper when you need optimal results with their ink, and test matte vs. glossy. Matte is much less expensive and may meet most of your needs. Let me know in comments if anyone finds a comparable quality and yet significantly less costly photo paper for this printer, I'd like to test it out.

- When doing black & white, for example text, consider choosing the HIGH QUALITY setting (and perhaps set it as the default) in the printer page set-up, it really makes a difference (though it is slower and uses more ink).

- The Canon site has lots of easy to find product comparison information for these inkjets, you might consider reviewing it before committing on a model. There are errors of omission suggesting differences that are not there, if important you may want to double-check with Canon.

- In case of POWER OUTAGE, it is sometimes necessary to unplug it for A FEW MINUTES and then plug it back in. This allows capacitor discharge. Thanks to Karen for the heads up on this in a comment.

- As soon as you can after getting your printer, print samples of full color, b&w, borderless photos, print on a DVD if that's important to you, etc. Determine if you have a lemon before you get too busy with other things so you can exchange for a good one while it is easy to do. These are complicated machines with lots of parts.

INK USAGE:
-----------

Anyone researching Ink Jet Printers will likely be concerned about ink costs. Here are 6 things you can do to mitigate this with the MG7120:

- Buy the XL versions of the ink, this is supposed to reduce the cost per color page to a very competitive 13-14 cents per page (vs. 16-19 cents).

- As noted above, choose to print black and white or grey scale when that will do just fine. For some documents this can avoid black made from layers of colors. Canon says, for example, MS Word may print in black only with default text color but an Adobe graphics document not saved in a grey scale only format will likely use colors to try to faithfully reproduce the graphics.

- Turn off the automatic shut-off. Standby mode uses 1.0W, so on standby even all year uses around 9kWh/yr., so around $1/yr depending on where you live. This can help lessen the number of minute or so long cleaning routines as it runs around a minute after start-up and sometimes at shutdown. It runs the cleaning other times, too, which is good as it keeps ink from clogging.

- Avoid printing pages with solid or heavily colored background in color when possible.

- Some fonts use 20-40% less ink than others. According to a leading consumer magazine, Times uses much less than Arial which uses much less than Calibri, for example.

- Draft quality mode uses less ink than Standard (and is faster), and of course both use less ink than High quality mode. Note that text is much sharper at high quality.

NOTE #1: If there is no printing or cleaning routine at least once a month or so, select it to run a cleaning routine (easy to do) or turn it off and on to force it to once a month or so to keep the nozzles unclogged. If they clog talk to Canon support for what is often an easy solution.

NOTE #2: The MG6220, 2 quick generations back from the MG7120, had a low ink early warning bug. For example, when I take ink from a MG5320 and put it in a MG6220, the low ink warning bars show the ink as vastly lower. This helps exaggerate the appearance of high ink usage. Actual ink usage is high enough that this bug is pretty unwelcome. If it wasn't for a leading consumer magazine's highest photo quality rating for all-in-ones and their estimated page cost that wasn't crazy, and lots of other favorable reviews, I think this bug could have been much worse for MG6220 sales. This might make you feel better about MG7120's past lineage ink usage wise.

NOTE #3: Gray is supposed to go much faster than the rest, thus you wouldn't want to measure average speed of ink usage based on gray. I haven't tracked it in comparison to the other inks myself.

NOTE #4: Just an informative, probably not very useful factoid :). This model range of Canon inkjet doesn't do a big cleaning/purging after it prints, you are usually hearing head realignment. However, it does quietly "prime the head" to keep the heat from ink clogging the print head and this uses a little ink (even for B&W). This is much less ink than with the big cleaning/purging routine that is much rarer if you set the printer not to auto shut-off.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

INK USAGE CANON DATASHEET:
------------------------------

As it is pretty difficult to find, here below is Canon's published Page Yield per Document numbers (I rounded a little) for MG7120. It is the same as for the MG6320.

I'm not sure how much of the difference between these numbers and users experience is due to the minute or so cleaning routine, difference between test and real world usage, etc.

Here at least you can see real world expected usage ratio between standard and XL cartridges and compare to costs to determine the better value.

----------

Mixed Text/Graphics, A4/Letter, Plain Paper, Adobe Reader 10
ISO/IEC24711 Test Method, ISO/IEC24712 Test Pattern:

PGI-250 __ 300 pages
CLI-251 BK 1100
CLI-251 GY 780
CLI-251 C_ 300
CLI-251 M_ 300
CLI-251 Y_ 300

PGI-250 XL __ 500 pages
CLI-251 XL BK 4,400
CLI-251 XL GY 3,300
CLI-251 XL C_ 650
CLI-251 XL M_ 650
CLI-251 XL Y_ 650

----------

Color Photos, 4"x6":

PGI-250 __ 3000 pages
CLI-251 BK 490
CLI-251 GY 120
CLI-251 C_ 160
CLI-251 M_ 160
CLI-251 Y_ 160

PGI-250 XL __ 3900 pages
CLI-251 XL BK 1120
CLI-251 XL GY 270
CLI-251 XL C_ 360
CLI-251 XL M_ 360
CLI-251 XL Y_ 360

----------

HOW MANY SHEETS DOES IT HOLD?:
-----------------------------------

- 80 sheets of standard 24# ink jet paper comfortably (tested).

- Supposed to hold 125 sheets of 20# (not tested). This is what most copier paper is. Some cheaper 20# has LOOSER FIBERS which is NOT AS INKJET FRIENDLY, I'd stick to paper with a surface designed for ink jets, which is usually also 24#. Of course, specialty Canon papers for photos or line art for inkjets are heavier (45#-93#).

- If using 28# paper, expect less than 80 sheets to fit, of course. Sheets whose surface is designed for laser writers are usually also 28#.

OTHER PRINTERS:
-----------------

For folks not as familiar with printers, I created this section to help delineate when you CLEARLY DON'T want a Canon ink jet printer in the popular 5320/5420/6210/6220/6320/7120/82XX model range at all. Perhaps it may help you find a good starting point to meet your needs.

YOU ARE ALL ABOUT PHOTOS, CAN
SPEND HUNDREDS MORE, AND DON'T
CARE ABOUT COPY, SCAN, ETC:

Consider checking these:
(per a leading consumer magazine and reviews)

- Canon Pixma Pro9500 Mark II
- Canon Pixma Pro1
- Canon Pixma Pro10
- Canon Pixma Pro100
- Epson Stylus R2000

YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT PHOTO QUALITY,
YOU WANT ETHERNET, SHARP B&W TEXT,
GREAT SPEED, AND LOWER PRINT COSTS

Consider checking out these lasers
as a starting point:
(per a leading consumer magazine or reviews)
Printers:
- Samsung Xpress M2825DW
- Brother HL-2270DW
- HP LaserJet Pro 400 M401n/M401dne
Multifunctions:
- Samsung Multifunction Xpress SL-M2875FW
- Canon imageCLASS MF4770n/4890dw

YOU CARE ABOUT PHOTO QUALITY, DON'T
CARE ABOUT GRAY, WANT ETHERNET, AND
MUST HAVE FAX BUILT-IN

Consider checking these:
- Canon MX922
- Canon MX892

YOU CARE ABOUT PHOTO QUALITY AND
CARE GREATLY ABOUT STRAIGHT/REAR
PAPER FEED BUT DON'T NEED TO
SPEND FOR A PRO-100/10/1

- Canon MX892 (released 2012)
- Canon MG6220/MG5320 (released 2011)
- Canon IP8720 (released 2014)
- Canon IX6820 (released 2014)

Hope that helps someone :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


357 of 369 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Truth on ink cost (please read & save lots of money). Ideal versatile printer. Does everything, installs itself., November 21, 2013
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We have tested a LOT of printers - and at one point or another, we have owned every brand of printer.

I really wanted the MG7120 because I loved the last Canon PIXMA I owned. A fantastic versatile machine, great output, slim profile, and super cheap operating cost. But alas, but kids dropped the printer...TWICE! And it still worked!!!...but that second fall broke off the paper tray, so I ended up giving it away.

So the bottom line is, I love the MG7120 even more. This is the first printer that works exactly the way it should. It basically installs itself, maintains itself, does *everything*, beautiful print quality, extremely low operating cost, and versatile enough for home or office.

Yes it has some drawbacks but that doesn't prevent me from giving it 5 stars.

I could talk all day about this printer but here are some highlights:

CLOUD PRINT
If you haven't discovered the world of cloud printing, I strongly suggest downloading Google Cloud Print. You can cloud print with any printer, but this model comes cloud-ready (easier to install/use).

Basically, you can print from anywhere in the world (as long as your printer is turned on). You can also print from just about any modern phone (with the cloud print app). This makes life easier, and it takes about 30 seconds to install Google Cloud Print on your PC, phone, or tablet.

INK
The cartridges that came with the printer have got to be starter cartridges. This was annoying, they only lasted a few days. I recommend ordering ink right away.

The 6th ink cartridge (gray) seems to be a fairly new thing. I can only find this ink in 5-packs (not 6-packs - they are missing the gray), so the gray has to be purchased separately. Not a huge deal since ink is so cheap. This will probably change soon, but just be prepared.

And here's the cost-saving tip for ink:

Modern generics are high-tech. Often, they use the exact same pigments (come off the same assembly line) & use the same chipsets, so the printer recognizes them (well, maybe 95% of the time).

Here's the catch: As I write this (November 2013) this is a fairly new Canon model, so there aren't that many generic inks available. Basically, right now there is one dependable company - Printronic (links below). But give just 2 months, and there will be LOTS more companies making these inks, and the cost will come down even more.

So today, these are the average prices I'm finding for ink replacement: $18.50 per 5-pack ($3.70 per cartridge) and/or $4.66 each per black cartridge (which are twice the capacity of the colors).

Here are two good deals for ink replacement: ASIN # B00DMGF2Z2 & B00EA55G1E. Again, just keep in mind, these prices will be dropping dramatically at the first of the year. And also keep in mind, prices on Amazon fluctuate almost daily.

Biggest Con:

This printer seems to take forever to do just about anything. It set itself up completely on its own...but it said it would take 6-7 minutes, and really took about 25 mins. Booting up takes several minutes. It self-cleans every so often, which interrupts printing & takes several minutes. Powering down takes almost a minute. I still think this is worth 5 stars, but be prepared for this minor annoyance.

Some other notes:

* Sheet capacity is only about 50 sheets, and since we're using in an office setting we're refilling frequently. But the paper tray is super easy to pull out & restock.

* Touch screen controls is super easy. We've never had to connect the printer to the computer via USB, and we've never had to tinker with drivers or settings - everything is on-board through the touch-screen control.

* Scans are quick & easy, scanner works exactly as it should.

* Copy mode is super easy. Just select "Copy" on the touch screen, then press the black/white or color button. One-touch copying for simple jobs, but it also has

* The "special" paper tray handles envelopes, photo paper, and a variety of other unique print jobs.

* With minor tinkering, you can get it to print legal size and also special jobs like CD/DVD printing (though I haven't tried this - you need a printable disc to do this).

* This is almost twice as heavy as the previous PIXMA, and the footprint is bigger. But the unit is still light enough to move around if needed, and the footprint isn't anything to complain about.

* A final note - I believe this unit is worth every penny, at around $150. But if you're not quite certain you need all the bells & whistles (like the cloud print, & the gray ink for quality black/white photos), there are some less expensive PIXMA printers that work just as well for most people. For a small step down, check out the MX922 (around $120). For a starter model, try the MG5420 (under $90).

Hope this helped you save some time & money. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


207 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
Had a Canon 4600 5 cartridge photo printer that printed beautiful photos exactly matching what I saw on my monitor. Also had a separate scanner that set on edge and was difficult to use. Decided to see if canon had an all-in-one that would take up less space on my desk and be able to scan easier. Checked Amazon as usual and found this wireless printer had just been released by Canon and was being carried by Amazon at a $35 promotion discount under their Prime free priority shipping program. Ordered one, put it on my desk in our bedroom, printed beautiful pictures and crisp email messages from my cell phone in the living room. Has one tray for 5x7 and 4x6 photo papers and another for letter, legal & envelopes. Tried everything. Everything works as well or better than advertised. Quality of photos and text exceptional. This may be due to the additional grey cartridge. Duplex printing quicker than my old printer. Also the printer has a quiet mode that I use. In fact, everything about this printer is better than any printer I have ever used. The installation instructions are precise, clear, easy to understand, and should be followed exactly. Do not try to wing it.
I liked this all-in-one printer so well I ordered and had one shipped free directly to each of 4 grandchildren as early Christmas presents. They love them too.
Just used printer for making a Hallmark birthday card for my wife. you only have to configure the printer once and it retains the configuration for future cards. Used Hallmark Program and Avery Card stock. Card printed beautifully. Colors accurate in colors and shading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfactory Home Printer, January 23, 2014
By 
Marc O'Polo (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
I have now been using the MG7120 for a little over two weeks. I have checked all modes: printing on both standard paper and photo paper, scanning and copying. All functions have performed to my satisfaction. (I've provided more detail below.)

BACKGROUND:
-------------
After reading multiple reviews for Epson, HP and Canon printers (both on Amazon and other sources, including Consumer Reports), I had serious doubts about the current generation of inkjet printers, particularly wireless devices. Then I read Neil Isenberg's detailed review (posted to Amazon on 12/13/13). That convinced me that the Canon PIXMA MG7120 might meet my need for a light-duty printer.

Presently, my computer system consists of an Acer tower (Windows XP SP3), HP DeskJet 952C inkjet printer (parallel port interface to the Acer), Canon 8600F flatbed scanner (USB interface) and a Linksys WRT110 wireless router. Though the Deskjet is now almost 14-years old, it is still a reliable workhorse. I had a Brother multi-function monchrome laser printer, but it died a few years ago, and I decided to not replace it.

My reason for purchasing a wireless printer, such as the PIXMA, is two-fold: [1] I wanted a printer that would support wireless connectivity so visiting family members could print from their various laptops; and [2] I wanted a printer that supports Apple's AirPrint. (I use an iPad and am in the process of procuring a Mac system.)

INSTALLATION:
--------------
Since plug-and-play appears to be a thing of the past, my approach to the installation was slow-and-careful. I even downloaded the setup instructions from the Canon website and read them before opening the box. That turned out to be unnecessary; the printed instructions in the carton are quite sufficient.

All steps in the setup process are accomplished through the Touch Screen on the printer. The last step is to connect the printer to the wireless LAN. The printer will automatically find available LANs. (My printer *saw* the several LANs that are in use by my neighbors.) Having selected my LAN, I was then prompted to select the authentication protocol for the connection. I use WPA2-PSK. (I suggest you avoid the older WEP and WPA technology.) I was also prompted to select between AES and TKIP encryption; I opted for AES because it's a stronger encryption technology; the fallback is TKIP encryption if your wireless LAN doesn't support AES.
*NOTE* I had not yet installed the drivers on my PC at this point.

Having established the LAN connection, I was able to open a document on my iPad and print to the MG7120. (I tried to print before making the LAN connection, thinking that perhaps the 7120 might act as a WiFi hotspot. Didn't work.)

I was monitoring the Touch Screen and noticed that there was a prompt to update the firmware. I initiated that process, and after several minutes, the displayed message announced that the update was complete. I again printed from my iPad to make sure that all was still well.

I now installed the software and drivers on my PC. However, since software supplied on a CD is frequently downrev, I decided to download from the Canon website. Having completed this operation, the MG7120 now showed up in the printer dialog box (File/Print/Name) as the default printer. You can go into printer properties, as I did, and set another printer as the default if you choose.

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS:
----------------------
Following Neil Isenberg's suggestions, I have tested all the functions of the MG7120, and all have performed in a satisfactory manner, with a few caveats:

[a] Printed on standard letter-size 22# paper with both Standard and Draft quality, in both full color and Grayscale (i.e., black & white) mode
-- all output had acceptable quality, though draft mode was lighter than I have been accustomed to with the HP DeskJet.

[b] Printed a 4x6 borderless photo on three different papers: Canon *Photo Paper Plus Glossy II* (sample provided with the printer); HP *Premium Photo Paper*; and Strathmore glossy digital photo paper
-- I saw no difference in color rendition between the three papers. However, there was a clear difference in finish. The Canon paper produced a pleasing (to my eyes) high gloss; the Strathmore paper produced a matte (almost dull) finish; the HP paper fell between the two, though more towards the matte finish. (I should note that the HP paper in the DeskJet does produce a high gloss finish.) I should also note that I initiated this print job through Picasa3 rather than through Canon's *My Image Garden* (more about this app below).

[c] Printed a full-color PDF file on standard paper in Duplex mode (Draft quality)
-- A happy surprise at the ease of this operation. (With my old DeskJet, I had to print one side at a time, re-collate the output, then print the other sides.)

[d] Scanned a document
-- This is the one function that (in my opinion) compares unfavorably with my old Canon scanner. The default, whether initiated from the Touch Screen or the PC's Canon Scan Utility, assigns a file name with the format IMG_[date][sequence nbr.]. The default location for the saved file is *My Documents*. Through set up in the scan utility, I can specify a different location in which to save the file, but there is no provision to customize the file name. (I can subsequently locate the file and rename it manually.) With my old scanner, I can name the file and specify where it is to be saved on the fly. From my perspective, the scan function of the MG7120 is not as user friendly.

[e] Copied a document
-- No problem here. The output faithfully reproduced the original.

MISCELLANEOUS OBSERVATIONS:
-------------------------------
[1] Under the *Energy Savings Setting* (Touch Screen / Eco Settings), I set Auto Power Off to *Never* and Auto Power On to *ON*
-- I disabled Auto Power Off to minimize the heavy duty cleaning cycle and, hopefully, reduce ink consumption; I set Auto Power On to speed up the ready state when I initiate a print job (at least, I hope that is the result).

[2] I purchased the XL versions of the ink cartridges to avoid downtime when the initial cartridges are exhausted. The XL cartridges are available on Amazon as individual packages (not yet available as complete sets). The Canon part numbers are posted on the side of the carton in which the printer was packed. I opted to spend the money and buy the Canon cartridges rather than generic equivalents. At this stage in my experience with this printer, I don't want to take any chances.

[3] When I initiate a print job, the MG1720 goes through a very noisy cycle before printing actually starts, and it seems to take a long time before the printed sheet drops onto the Paper Output Tray. I found that selecting *Print Preview* in the printer properties menu spools the document before sending it to the printer. This seems to have eliminated the noise cycle and speed up the printing process. As a further step, I selected *Use Quite Mode* (Touch Screen / Quiet Setting) to tone down the noise level.

[4] There are two paper cassettes. The lower one is for standard-sized sheets of paper; the upper is for 4x6 and 5x7 sheets (and printable CDs). Visually, the two cassettes appear to be one with a single hand hold. To pull out the upper cassette, the hand should be curled up; to pull out the lower, curl the hand down. (This is illustrated in the installation instruction but is easy to miss.)

[5] One of the annoying pieces of software (in my opinion) that is installed is called *My Image Garden*. It is an app for the purpose of organizing and printing photos. I prefer to use Adobe's Photoshop Elements and Picasa3 to edit, manage and print my photos. What annoys me about My Image Garden is the fact that it automatically launches when I boot my PC, and so consumes resources. I have used a memory management utility to defeat the automatic launch. An alternate approach to defeating this bloatware is to locate CNQMMAIN.EXE in your Program Files and rename the extension to something that won't be recognized during boot.

--------------------
A final thought. I expect the MG1720 to play nicely with my Mac when I finally receive and install it in the next month. If something untoward occurs, I will update this review.

___________________
UPDATE: 15-April-2014

I have now had my MG1720 connected to my Mac Mini for about two months. It is a wireless connection that has played flawlessly thus far. For some odd reason, Canon does not provide the same interface between the Mac and the MG1720 as it does for my PC. There are fewer variables that can be adjusted when using the Mac. However, I do not regard this as a show-stopper. As with my PC, I went directly to the Canon website to download the necessary software and driver plus the user manual. I've also now begun to replace the original ink cartridges with the XL cartridges that I purchased through Amazon. To my surprise, the original cartridges have lasted longer than I expected (with the caveat that my printing & copying load is light). So my original assessment stands: the MG1720 has proven to be a 5-star purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of features to like, and a few to wish for!, October 5, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Overall, this is a very nice printer and scanner. Below are my specific comments on what I like, don't like, and wish it had.

What I like:
1. How fast it scans and prints.
2. The quality of the scan and prints.
3. How easy it is to use the LED control panel.
4. The USB connection was easy to set up (but you do need your own cable).
5. That it will print from the Cloud or mobile devices (I haven't used this feature yet).
6. The variety of settings that can be used and tweaked for scanning or copying.

What I don't like:
1. The non-transparent ink cartridges. My other Canon printers have transparent ink cartridges which makes it easy to see when the cartridge really is out of ink and needs to be replace. Being able to change the cartridges only when they actually need it is a great way to cut down on the cost of inks for any printer!
2. Even though it is only 6 inches high--it takes up a lot of desk space at 18.5" by 15".

What I wish it had:
1. An auto-feed mechanism for scanning or copying multiple pages.
2. Larger capacity paper trays.
3. A larger size platen. This one is only 8.5 x 12. With the printer being so long and wide it would seem like they could make the platen larger as well!

I hope this helps you decide on if this is the printer for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful All-In-One, Large but Sleek Design, Costly Ink, September 24, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've had Canon printers in the past, (Canon PIXMA MG3120 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One (5289B019)) and while I really liked it, the replacement cartridges were really costly. I've also had a Canon SELPHY which was also expensive to run since the paper and ink had to be purchased as a set. But it printed beautiful pictures. Lastly, my absolute favorite camera is my Canon G10 making me a big Canon fan.

This is a great design, sleek, shiny white finish and seems to be competent in all aspects of its abilities.

So a few notes about this Canon Wireless All-in-One.

SET UP: Was super easy! After removing all the clear plastic coverings, some of them double over screens and logos, and removing all the (clearly marked in the instructions as well as being bright orange) shipping tabs, I was ready to go. Set-up took about 10 minutes and was clearly written in the instructions and on the touch screen. Connecting to my wireless router was super easy as well.

Keep in mind that although the printer will work wirelessly for just about all functions, some of them will require a physical USB connection to a computer. I just purchased AmazonBasics USB 2.0 A-Male to B-Male Cable (16 Feet/4.8 Meters) so that I could keep the printer on the other side of my office but still have the USB abilities.

Putting the ink cartridges in (all were provided) was really neat since there are six (cyan, magenta, yellow, black, photo black and gray) and once a cartridge was correctly placed, it illuminated an LED light on the top of the cartridge. Additionally, there is a clear illustration of where each cartridge goes inside. Installation to each computer was done using the provided set-up CD.

USAGE: Using the copy feature was super easy. Lift the top, place your document, select black and white or color and hit start. The almost perfect duplicate comes out the front. I tried a color flyer to black and white to start. The document was good but did have some 'banding' (gray bars) where the document has a gray bar across the page.

Creating a color copy was also very easy. I tried to duplicate the front of a color, glossy birthday card. The color print came out quickly and was just about spot on with color, albeit slightly lighter.

Scanning is available to either a USB linked computer, email or an SD card (conveniently located on the front of the printer). If you want to scan and save it to a computer or send it via email you will need a USB connection to a printer. There are lots of touch screen options for scanning and it is an intuitive process.

The scans were good and as long as your glass scanning surface is clean, they are sharp and fairly color accurate.

PRINTING: I started by printing a bright color flyer wirelessly and it was smooth and vibrant. The colors were great and the vignette down one side did not band (like the grayscale image) but looked smooth and clean. Printing photos was great and as long as you choose the right paper type (photo paper) it will automatically choose from the photo paper drawer. My pictures have great color, not too much magenta or shadow. Skin tones are good, saturation is just right. Printing speed is pretty good for an inkjet.

PAPER: It's about time that a smaller printer comes with two paper trays! One is for standard paper and one for CDs and photo paper. It will hold about 30-40 sheets of copy paper in the single tray.

ADDITIONAL NOTES: This is a pretty big machine but should sit on an average desk or shelf (check the dimensions carefully) in most small offices. The paper output pops open automatically when it is cued to print and closes with a gentle push.

The software comes with a ton of apps including multiple scanning features (OCR, auto scanning, complete scan control), image editing (creative park premium, image filters, etc.) and a bunch of cloud apps. When you print, you get an ink indicator showing the levels of all cartridges.

The exterior is a super smooth finish and the mechanisms of trays and doors are easy to use and well engineered. There is also a removable section in the back to get jams out.

I really like the multi-functionality of this printer. It seems to do just about everything well while some multi-purpose printers do one or two things well at the expense of other features.

The only drawback, and it's a big one, is the replacement cartridges. There are six (CLI-251 series and 250 for photo black) that cost, on average, $18 each from Canon and about $15 on average from Amazon. There are some package deals but not huge savings. I get it that these machines probably cost more to manufacture than they are sold for and that the cartridges are how Canon can recoup some of the cost (kind of like Amazon and the Kindle...) but with six cartridges to replace, I would not use this as my main office printer but more for the copy and scanning functions, and presentation and photo printing. I originally took a star off my review for the cost of the ink replacement but I got to thinking about how much I used to pay for printers/scanners. If I put the two costs together (some were $300-$1000), they could easily have been many hundreds of dollars more. So if I think about what I would have paid for the equipment in the past and divide that by the cost of ink, I actually have the benefit of quite a few years worth of ink for the same price. I hope that makes sense. In the end, it could still work out to be the same outlay of money.

Because there are six, it is nice to only replace those that are empty. I'll post an update as I get a better feel for longevity of the cartridges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love My Cannon, October 17, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
For the most part, I love this printer. However, as with many, and most products there are pros and cons. Below, I've listed pros and cons as I see them regarding this printer.

PROS
Although it is large in size, it is sleek and futuristic looking. The cover stays closed until you need it, which comes in handy if you're trying to fit it into a small space. I've always been a HP person, but if Cannon can address the Cons below, I'd consider a complete changeover. I love that I can print from my tablet and cell phone to this printer. I am a writer and do a lot of writing on my tablet and being a business owner, a lot of important emails come from my cell phone. It's a great thing that I can print from both. This printer is wireless, which connects to my home network, allowing me to print from any computer or laptop within the house or even outside on my deck. I would suggest not using the color printing on cheap copier paper because the richness of the ink will be soaked up by cheap paper. However, when I used it to print color photos of my grandchildren on the photo paper that comes with the printer, the quality was uncanny. I normally go to Walgreen's or have prints ordered. It's safe to say that with this printer, I'll never pay Walgreen's another dime to print my photos. In addition, although I was initially thrown off by the 6 printer cartridge pay, the pricing for the replaceable cartridges run from $5-$6 depending where you purchase your cartridges from. Another think I like about the ink cartridges, as compared to others, is that if blue runs out, you only have to replace blue, whereas a lot of other cartridges make you replace the magneta, yellow and blue, whether or not the tank is empty or not. To replace ink in other printers I've had in the past, cost up to $72. I'd venture to say you might pay nearly 1/2 the amount. Over all, I like this printer. If you're in need of a great printer without faxing capabilities, then this is a good choice. If you're looking for one with faxing capabilities, you may want to try the MX922. Please see my cons below.

CONS
Even though this printer allows me to print from my cell phone, the print comes out exactly the size of the cell phone text and not in full/regular size
This is a large/wide printer
I'm a bit confused on its caparison to other printers in this line of prints. 1)There is black avaialbe, (which I wish I had chosen) 2)This printer is listed as an All in One. When I think of all in one, I think of print, copy, scan and fax. This all in one has everything, EXCEPT, for the fax feature. 3)The Cannon PIXMA MX922, appears to be the same printer, or close, yet it's only $124 compared to the $164 that this printer costs. In addition, the PIXMA MX922 is called a printer with scanner, copier and fax. In comparison of the two, the PIXMA MX922 seems to do the same thing that this MG7120 does, plus a whole lot more (including fax) for nearly $20 cheaper. What am I missing here. The last con is that in comparison to the MX922, it has a top feeder, which I find easier and more practical.I point out these comparisons because, currently, to get all I need from a printer, I have 3 printers and a fax machine sitting on or around my desk. If this printer had a fax machine, I could get rid of two other printers/fax machine and just have this one, and my Laser HP. What would be greater is if this was a true all in one AND a laser printer, although I understand this would put a printer in a higher price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Won't print Avery labels, February 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
My wife is yelling at me because this printer will not print Avery Labels. I figured out issue. The Avery identifier at the top of the sheet is tricking the printer sensor. I get a message that the paper is not aligned. Pealing off the top right of the label sheet allows it to print.

Also, Ink on this thing doesn't last long at all. If you buy this thing, you should invest in some refill kits. When ink gets low, it can sit in some self diagnostic mode for minutes.

The google cloud print works, but does require a few (3) extra clicks each time you print a page. Not sure it's worth it, but is a good backup if home network is having issues.

Does look nice though.And rear feed is a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 7120 printer - very impressive indeed - revised, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
I had just returned an HP8600 because it wouldn't connect with my network. After two hours on three different calls with HP, I gave up.

I've owned a Canon 9000 printer for about four years and even though I always buy HP printers for everyday printing, or had in the past, I figured I'd try this new Canon 7120, so I ordered one from Amazon.

Regarding the installation: Just about as easy as could be. I loved that only the information you need is what appears on the display. The extra 1/2 inch on the display (compared to the HP) really made a difference when I touched it. What I didn't realize was that Canon includes two trays, one for letter size paper and one for 4x6 or 5x7 paper. The tray for the smaller sized paper is hidden just above the bottom tray (which is also hidden).

Regarding the printing: It comes with a CD for Windows but not for Mac. It did give me the location for downloading software which I immediately did. Again, no problem. After everything was set up (about 15 minutes), I printed a borderless color print that originated from my iPhone. It's hysterical how the paper tray drops down automatically when you start printing. The color was perfect. I then printed a PowerPoint and it was loaded with color. Again, impressive.

All in all, I'm very impressed with the design of the printer, how quiet it is, how user friendly Canon has made it, the quality of the output and the USABLE display.Canon Office Products MG7120 BK Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One Printer

OK, it did eat toner so I returned it for a Canon color Laser printer which set up easier and has worked flawlessly. So much for the $200 printer, when for another $100, the printer is so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Here is what's wrong with it ..., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG7120 Wireless Color Photo All-In-One Printer, Mobile Smart Phone and Tablet Printing, Black (Office Product)
FWIW, I am an experienced computer user, and I have owned several Canon printers. Either I got a lemon, or this is the WORST Canon printer ever. Here is a list of issues that I have uncovered the short time I've owned it:

1. It does not allow you to set different print settings for different sections of a Word 2007 document. The printer remembers the last setting you specify, even if you insert section breaks and specify different paper sizes for each section under Page Layout/Size. This is very inconvenient for form letters with an envelope as part of the document (one paper size) and content pages for the actual letter (a different paper size).

2. After printing one paper size - in my case, the 4 x 6 envelope from the upper cassette - the printer insists on printing the content (size A5) from the upper cassette too, even though the print properties specify lower cassette and A5 paper only fits in the lower cassette!!! So the document can't be printed. (You get an error that the upper cassette is empty.) I had to rename the document, delete the previous section, and print from a new document containing only the current section to be printed. Turning the printer off and on did not help

3. The printer is not found after your computer goes to sleep, so when you wake your computer up, you get printer not found errors until you shut the printer off and turn it on again. Note: This is with the wireless set up; the USB setup might be better.

Please note that the latest Canon firmware is installed, and my Windows 7-64 is up-to-date.

Finally, although the purpose of reviews is to inform the Amazon community, comments from anyone who has encountered and worked around these issues would be much appreciated.

EDIT (Feb 10, 2014):

I couldn't bring myself to spend any more time on this. So in keeping with the old saying "It's okay to be wrong, but it's not okay to stay wrong", I finally decided - reluctantly - to TOSS THE Canon PIXMA Printing Solutions MG7120 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One Printer, Cloud Enabled, Black and buy a different printer. Our new Brother Printer MFCJ450DW Easy-To-Use Inkjet All-In-One Color Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax arrived a few days ago, and the BROTHER PRINTER HAS BEEN GREAT!!

In view of all this, I lowered my rating of the Canon printer from two stars to one - a rating I very rarely give.

LESSON FOR ME: Next time, hold onto the box and packaging for 30 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.