Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Apple family...high ink cost
I've had an iPad and an iPhone for several years now. One of the biggest complaints was that I could never print anything off (tickets, emails, documents, etc.). When Apple's AirPrint feature was first released there was only a handful of printers that worked with it and reviews were mixed.

I've been utilizing the MG4220 printer for the past year and it's...
Published 19 months ago by R. Hammer

versus
63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canon Has Done Better
This is a very decent printer/copier/scanner. But virtually every Cannon Printer I've owned (Pixma 4000, 4200, 5320) is better.

* The best thing about the printer is the AirPrint function. So you can print with an Ipad or Iphone directly.

* But I find the printer to be slow. It is much slower that the 5320 when printing photos.

* The...
Published 19 months ago by Gadget Man


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Apple family...high ink cost, May 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've had an iPad and an iPhone for several years now. One of the biggest complaints was that I could never print anything off (tickets, emails, documents, etc.). When Apple's AirPrint feature was first released there was only a handful of printers that worked with it and reviews were mixed.

I've been utilizing the MG4220 printer for the past year and it's been great, however it's a single sheet scanner. As the home business evolved, the need for an automatic document feeder presented itself so I was happy that Canon made this adjustment in the MX522. Setup was straight forward and getting it on the Wireless Network was simple as you use the LCD display on the printer to input your SSID and security settings (including password). WPA is also supported.

Printing from iPhone/iPad:
Once you have the printer on the same wireless network as your "i"-product, I was amazed that the iphone and iPad both recognized the printer with no installation required! Immediately I had the ability to choose PRINT from the "send to menu". The printer was automatically listed there. A simple click of the button and the iPad shot the document right to the printer. I love the fact there is no configuration, installation, etc. required to print to this printer.

Overall printing experience:
The printer as a whole is quick and responsive to everyday home printing needs. It's quiet and utilizes the simple two cartridge system (black and color). You should be aware that while Canon advertised this as an "at-home Photo Lab", the 4800x1200 resolution is just average these days and should not be viewed on the same caliber as their PIXMA line. Costs per page are average to high with black print coming in at 5.6 cents per page, color at 12.6 per page and photo quality at 18.6 cents per page (this is based off a high-capacity cartridge)

PROS:
-PRINTS TO ALL APPLE iPRODUCTS (IPHONE/IPAD) WITH NO CONFIGURATION REQUIRED! (*This was the best selling point for our family*)
-SCANNER IS QUICK
-NICE LCD SCREEN WHICH AIDS IN SETUP AND STATUS
-COMPACT DESIGN CLOSES UP WHEN NOT IN USE
-AUTOMATIC DOCUMENT FEEDER

CONS:
-SO SO RESOLUTION FOR PHOTO PRINTING
-NO DEDICATED PAPER TRAY
-EXPENSIVE INK

FINAL THOUGHT: If you use a bunch of Apple products in your house you will love the ability to easily print from your iOS device with no additional setup/driver installation required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good multi-function printer, but get the better MX922 if you find a good deal on it (it may be priced just a few dollars more)., May 27, 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
இ Fuzzy Wuzzy's Summary:
ѾѾѾѾ Recommended with warm fuzzies (but buy the MX922 instead if you find it at a great discounted price)

փ Positives:

փ The quality of text and graphics on Word/Excel printouts is excellent.
փ The quality of photo prints are good when compared to most all-in-one multi-function printers.
փ This printer has a multitude of flexible connection options: USB 2.0, Wireless Wi-Fi LAN, Wired Ethernet LAN, Wireless PictBridge connection to Canon cameras, Bluetooth from a mobile phone (using an optional Bluetooth adapter), AirPrint printing from iPad/iPhone/iOS devices, Google Cloud Print from Gmail/GoogleDocs/GoogleChrome.
փ The two black/color ink cartridges can be conveniently replaced from a front-facing panel, instead of having to lift up the entire scanner lid to access them.
փ The printer can print in full duplex mode, automatically printing to both sides of the paper.

ჯ Negatives:

ჯ Print speed is a bit on the slow side compared to many other multi-function printers, but its print quality is better than most.
ჯ While this is an excellent printer for home or home office use, its slower speed and limited 100-sheet paper capacity would not be a good choice for a busy small office.
ჯ The single color ink cartridge contains all three cyan/magenta/yellow colors, so each color cannot be separately replaced.

This Canon MX522 is a multi-function printer that can print and fax from a PC, wirelessly print via AirPrint from iPad/iPhone/iOS devices, print from a Web service such as Google Cloud Print, and it can also work as a standalone color copier and fax machine. Its multi-functional appeal is not just limited to its outputs, but it is likewise very flexible with its connection inputs.

Setup was easy and quick. The print speed of this MX522 is its main weakness. Whether printing Word documents, Excel spreadsheets, or photos, it prints about %40 to %60 slower than a comparably priced Epson WorkForce multi-function printer. However, the quality of the print from this MX522 on Word documents and Excel spreadsheets is better than the Epson. Upon close examination, the text and graphics on my Word and Excel printouts have an excellent, clear, crisp look to them, better than the Epson. So perhaps this Canon takes it time printing so that it emphasizes quality over quantity. Fair enough... While the print quality of text on documents is noticeably better on this MX522 when compared to a similar Epson WorkForce printer, the print quality of photos was fairly average, i.e. not good, not bad, and either comparable to, or slightly better than, other multi-function printers.

This printer uses two ink cartridges, a black cartridge (PG-240, PG-240XL, PG-240XXL) and a cyan/magenta/yellow three-color cartridge (CL-241, CL-241XL). Depending upon their pricing, the larger "XL" cartridges are often a better deal than the non-XL cartridges. While replacing a single three-color ink cartridge is more convenient than replacing three separately-colored ink cartridges, I really would have preferred that this printer used three separate cyan, magenta, and yellow ink cartridges in addition to the black color. Regardless of whether I am printing photos or documents containing graphics, the colors are never used up at the same rate. So if I have used up all of the cyan color, I have to replace the color cartridge even though the magenta and yellow inks are likely not empty and still usable. By comparison, Epson's WorkForce printers do use four separate cyan/magenta/yellow/black ink cartridges. But as with "razor blade marketing", I think that all inkjet printer manufacturers earn the bulk of their printer hardware profits from the ink cartridges. Compared to many multi-function printers where you have to lift up a bulky scanner lid in order to access and replace the ink cartridges, the two ink cartridges in this MX522 are easily replaced by accessing a small door located at the front right corner of this printer.

Some all-in-one printers do not offer automatic duplexer. But this MX522 has full duplex capability so I can automatically print to both sides of a sheet without needing to manually insert a printed page back into the printer to print the other side. On printers that have a duplexer, I use this feature a lot since it also saves on paper, especially if I am printing a 70-page document.

This printer includes "My Image Garden" software that lets you manage, organize, and edit your photos. Its photo editing and image enhancement functions are weak and limited when compared to Photoshop Elements or PaintShop Pro, but it is very easy to use for the photo-editing novice, and it can do some pretty nifty things such as capture frames from a MOV/MP4 video, or create cards or calendars to print out.

One nitpick that I have is that even though you can connect this printer using its USB 2.0 port, a USB cable is not provided in the box. So if you want to connect this printer using USB, you have to provide your own cable. But the wireless Wi-Fi printing works so well that you should choose this as the main connection.

௫ Fuzzy Wuzzy's Conclusion:

This MX522 printer is the middle model of Canon's line of three MX scanner/copier/fax multi-function printers. At the time of this review's writing, the better Canon PIXMA MX922 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax MX922 printer is only selling for $15 to $20 more than this MX522. Amazon prices may fluctuate daily, but the $15 to $20 price difference has been going on for a long time now. If you can get a great price deal on the MX922 printer, I would definitely recommend the MX922 printer instead because its print speed is about twice as fast as this MX522, its photo/graphics/text print quality is better, it uses separate color ink cartridges instead of this MX522's wasteful approach of combining all colors into a single cartridge, and it has far better paper handling capabilities. So while I rate this MX522 4 stars, I would rate the MX922 5 stars. If you also want a multi-function printer to print the bulk of your photos at home, instead of using a separate high-quality dedicated photo printer to print photos at home or using a commercial service to print your photos, the MX922's photo print quality is better than this MX522, and it prints photos better than most multi-function printers in general. If the price difference between this MX522 and the better MX922 was $50, then you may have to consider the extra cost. But if you can get the MX922 for just $15 or $20 more, definitely get the MX922 instead of this MX522 because you get a lot more features for a little extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canon Has Done Better, May 7, 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very decent printer/copier/scanner. But virtually every Cannon Printer I've owned (Pixma 4000, 4200, 5320) is better.

* The best thing about the printer is the AirPrint function. So you can print with an Ipad or Iphone directly.

* But I find the printer to be slow. It is much slower that the 5320 when printing photos.

* The copier is functional...but again fairly slow. It has an automatic sheet feeder which is very nice.

* Unlike many recent Canon Printers which have separate color cartridges (Blue, Magenta, Yellow, etc.), the MX522 uses one color cartridge and one black cartridges. That is it...2 cartridges total.

* As far as photo quality, I found it comparable to my 5320 which is excellent...no better and no worse.

* I found the installation to be somewhat confusing. Punching in the numbers, letters, symbols for the wifi connection could be a little clearer.

* The scanning function worked well wirelessly which was nice.

My particular sample came with fingerprints all over the buttons - seems to be permanently on it. I don't know if that was because it was a refurbished unit or somewhat used unit sent to me as a Vine reviewer. But it is the first time I have received a product through Vine that did not look totally new.

In sum, the Canon MX522 is a good multi function printer...but Canon has done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for our needs!, August 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
I recently purchased this printer and so far I just love it! I also owned the Canon MX452 printer. I wanted an upgrade with more features so that's why I purchased the MX522. I have a review written up on the MX452 that you might want to see as well if your interested in that model. But the MX522 just seems to work really well with Windows 8.

The PROS....It was a real breeze to set up! Connected in less than 1 minutes to my wireless modem. Even though the quick set up sheet connects your printer wirelessly without the CD I did notice that I had to use the CD on the desktop and laptops to use all the other features that the printer offered. The CD will walk you step by step to connect your other wireless devices to the printer and install the proper and "necessary" drivers. And the additional "optional" software programs. This is tip is only for the people that may not know this but you don't need to have your PC or laptop on to use the printer and it's many features. I love the large size menu dual function panel on the printer and it's in color. The keypad and any other features on the printer lights up brightly. Just make sure you don't turn off the printers power. When the printer is not in use the printer will just go to sleep to reduce the power. But as soon as you click print or any other feature the printer will wake up immediately. The printer lights all go out when the printer goes into sleep mode when your not using it except for the wireless blue light and the select a feature blue light. Printing documents were really sharp and clear. Really like the auto duplex or double sided page printing. Fax machine was very easy to set up and use. I haven't printed any photos as yet, but if I do I will update this again. But that's if I even try it at all. I did not purchase this printer for color photo printing. I had for a few years my Canon PIXMA iP100 Mobile Photo Printer which prints beautiful color photos! Had to get it repaired only once, but owned it since Feb 2009. The Canon repair guy only needed to tighten a loose screw and "BAM" it looks like it's ready to go a few more years again! The MX522 printer uses two separate ink cartridge tanks. One tank is for color and the other tank is for black. If you want to view the ink cartridges for the MX522 they are.....Canon CL-241 for color, and for black the Canon PG-240. They also come in 2 more different sizes that holds more ink....the XL and the XXL.

The CONS....I wouldn't recommend this printer for a business or busy home office. It only holds 100 sheets and I feel that printing documents would not be fast enough to keep up. It's an excellent printer for home use for a family or an individual or if you just need to print or scan or fax a few pages daily. I still feel that the scanner features still needs more editing tools. But it will scan without any problem. Just remember to go to IJ scan utility settings to set up where you want your scanned documents to go to after you scan them. Not too happy with the online manuals if you happen to need them. I found them somewhat difficult to use and don't go into enough details for solving issues. But I don't heavily rely on the manuals to do what I need to do. I'm the type of person that's going sit down and go through every feature that Canon offers. The hubby doesn't have the time or patience for that, so that's where I come in at.

OVERALL....I have no complaints with this printer in fact I like it so much better than the MX452, that's why I wanted to upgraded. It just seem like everything just came together so much easier than the MX452 for me. The MX522 did not come with a printer cable in the box which was fine with me since I didn't need it anyway. This printer is 100% wireless and I can never go back to a wired anything again! Just love the convenience of being able to print with the Air Print feature from anywhere in the house. But if you don't have a wireless modem then your going to need to purchase a printer cable if you want to connect to a desktop or laptop. I downloaded the Android Canon app for printing and scanning with my cell. I also registered the printer with Google cloud print to be able to print from anywhere.

RANDOM NOTE.....On another thread someone asked a question that if the color ink runs out can you still print with the black? And this answer applies to whichever color runs out first the black or the color ink. And the answer is YES. Just don't remove the empty tank. Leave both tanks in order for this to work. First you need to go to the control panel and select hardware and devices, right click on your MX522 printer. You should see a drop down menu. You will then select printing preferences. Then a box will appears with tabs at the top you will select the maintenance tab. Then click on Ink cartridge settings. It will give you a choice to print with whatever ink tank you choose. Then just hit ok and then close out the boxes. Not to worry it will not change any setting other than which tank you want to print from. But remember when you do want to add new ink just make sure to go back and change the setting for your printer to print with color again. The printing preferences has a lot of great features that you might want to check out too. But I highly recommend this printer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compare MX452 (84.99) and MX522 (129.99), April 28, 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a side-by-side comparison between the Canon MX452 and the Canon MX522 PIXMA printers Canon Office Products MX452 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax

Basically, here you go:

(I tried to create this as a chart, but Amazon's text box won't keep my formatting, so bear with me...)

PRICE:

PIXMA MX452
Retail: $99.99
Amazon: $84.99 (4/28/2013)

PIXMA MX522
Retail: $149.99
Amazon: $129.99 (4/28/2013)

_____________________

SPECIFICATIONS:

MX452
Weight: 19 pounds
Dimensions: 15.2"x 18.1"x 7.9"
Color: Matte Black

MX522
Weight: 22 pounds
Dimensions: 15.2"x 18.1"x 7.9"
(Note: the Canon website lists a larger size for this printer, and Amazon lists them as being identical. I measured them myself and indeed they are identical.)
Color: Gloss Black

____________________

DISPLAY:

MX452
2-Line LCD Display (with NO backlight)

MX522
2.5" LED Display (Very bright)
Dual Function Panel

_____________________

PRINTING:

SPEED:
MX452
Speed:9.7 ipm (Black)/ 5.5 ipm (Color)

MX522
Speed 9.7 ipm (Black)/ 5.5 ipm (Color)

DUPLEX:
MX452: NO

MX522: YES

____________________

INK TYPE:

MX452
Fine Cartridges (Black and Color)
Can use XL and XXL Cartridges

MX522
Fine Cartridges (Black and Color)
Can use XL and XXL Cartridges
*Note: Both printers use the same exact ink(s)

_____________________

PRINT RESOLUTION:

MX452
Up to 4800x1200 dpi (Color)/ Up to 600x600 dpi (Black)

MX522
Up to 4800x1200 dpi (Color)/ Up to 600x600 dpi (Black)

____________________

INTERFACE:

MX452
Wireless LAN (IEEE 802.11 b/g/n)
USB 2.0 High-Speed
Bluetooth v2.0

MX522
Wireless LAN (IEEE 802.11 b/g/n)
USB 2.0 High-Speed
Bluetooth v2.0
PictBridge

_____________________

PAPER SIZE:

MX452
4"x6", 5"x7", 8"x10"
Letter, Legal
US #10 Envelopes

MX522
4"x6", 5"x7", 8"x10"
Letter, Legal
US #10 Envelopes

____________________

PAPER CAPACITY:

MX452
100 Sheets, 30 Sheets ADF (Auto Document Feeder)

MX522
100 Sheets, 30 Sheets ADF (Auto Document Feeder)

_____________________

AIRPRINT:

MX452: YES

MX522: YES

_____________________

GOOGLE CLOUD PRINT:

MX452: NO

MX522: YES

______________________

MISCELLANEOUS FEATURES:

WIRELESS PRINTING: MX452, MX522
DUAL COLOR GAMUT PROCESSING TECHNOLOGY: MX452, MX522
FULL HD MOVIE PRINT: MX452, MX522
FULLY INTEGRATED ADF: MX452, MX522
MOBILE DEVICE PRINTING: MX452, MX522
PRINT YOUR DAYS: MX452, MX522
QUICK START: MX452, MX 522
WORKS WITH EVERNOTE: MX452, MX522

ETHERNET: ONLY MX522
PIXMA CLOUD LINK: ONLY MX522

______________________

Inside the box: Each included the quick start manual, its own CD with proper drivers and identical software, phone line cable, color and black ink cartridges (they use the identical cartridges), updates to the manuals for newer OSs, and the MX452 included the USB/Printer cable (the MX522 did not). This cable was not necessary for either set up, but I did have trouble with their "quick WiFi set up"--on both printers.

Both printers have quick-set-up for connecting to your WiFi home network. You press your router's network button and the printer is supposed to find it and hook up to it. The trouble is, neither did. It wasn't that they didn't "see" the router/network. They did, and both showed it. But they couldn't make that connection on their own. We went to the Canon website (as instructed by the little flyer(s) inside the package(s) with the manuals.) We followed those directions (which were basically the same as the instructions that popped up on the screens of the printers), and had no luck. I finally went into an alternative network setup option and found the router and inputted the security code and both printers hooked into the network without a problem. Seems something about the quick-start didn't work with my Verizon router. Neither printer required any physical connection to the router nor any computer for Network set up.

There are lots of options for both printers--the trouble is, with the 452, it's hard to maneuver the menus because it is hard to see the screen. The 522 was easy and seemed simpler (even though it has a few more options).

The optional software has printing programs for photos, etc. Typical for all Canon and other big-name companies.
The face recognition software was pretty neat--and kind of creepy.
Both can do borderless photo printing, are optimized for Canon photo papers, and claim that with the combination of Canon inks combined with Canon papers, your photos will last up to 100 years in an archival-quality photo album. (Up to? Not much of a promise...if they said, "at least", we'd be talking...)
Auto scan modes, auto document fix, Movie Print, 30 Sheet Auto Document Feeder, and more are on both printers, and work equally well (but I do think the 522 is a tiny bit faster).

The 452 does NOT have full duplex printing. This is a big drawback for me, as I print a lot of paper for school and don't want it all one-sided (and I certainly don't want to stand there hand feeding pages back in to get the backside printed). The 522 has FULL DUPLEX PRINTING. This means that it automatically prints on both sides of the paper (if you choose that option). You do not have to hand-feed the pages back in. My current printer has this, and once you have had it, you don't want to go back.

The Fax programs are the same, and work equally well. Of course, the menu/caller ID is far easier to see with the 522. Transmission speeds on both are (black) 3 seconds per page and (color) i minute per page. Both have a 50 page memory, and both have modems that transmit at 33.6 Kbps.

As a Copier, both Reduce/Enlarge from 25% to 400%. Both have menus that allow you to lighten/darken the copies. Copy speeds are (color) 4.7 ipm.

The Scanner is identical on both printers. Both have a Scanning Element that is a Contact Image Sensor (CIS), with resolutions of 1200x2400 dpi (optical), 19,200x19,200 (interpolated) with ADF (Auto Document Feeder):600x600 dpi (optical). Both have a max color depth of 48-bit internal/24-bit external, and the same max document size of 8.5x11.7" on the flatbed scanner and 8.5x14" on the ADF (Auto Document Feeder)

Standard Interface is identical, except that the 522 includes PictBridge. (See above side-by-side comparison.)
OS compatible with Win 8, 7, RT, 7 SP1, Vista SP1, Vista SP2, XP SP3, Mac OS x 10.5.8, 10.6, 10.7, 10.8 The 452 states that it for Intel Processors Only. This is not listed for the 522.

Both printers can use the XL and XXL ink cartridges.

On the Canon Website, they have some apps that are pretty neat--the printing apps are the iEPP (Print pictures, Scan items), and Mobile Printing (Print Documents, Web Pages, and Images). Both work with iPhone and can be downloaded directly from the App Store for free.

Because the 452 has the 2-Line LCD display with NO BACKLIGHT (How did you miss this one, Canon?) it is quite difficult to read. I have pretty bad vision, and had a tough time getting through the menus.
The 522 has a very bright and clear LED display. It's not a touch screen (that would be the one improvement I'd like to see). It is very easy to read and use, and for those like me with bad vision, it's a blessing.

Both printers have fax, capability, copying capability, Scanning capability, and Caller ID/Call block rules for the fax.

Both printers have built-in templates for graph paper, ruled notebook paper, children's printing paper, schedules, calendars, to-do lists, and more. Getting to the menu options for these is much easier on the 522, but isn't too bad for the 452.

The Quiet feature is wonderful. I don't know how they do it, but both printers ran quieter and the "beep" and "alarm" volumes are very adjustable.

They are each quite capable printers, both are quiet, quick, and do an excellent printing job. BUT there are many differences.

If you are looking for a utilitarian-looking printer, the PIXMA MX452 is a good choice, but the screen is not very easy to read, and you have to do a LOT of scrolling to get through the menus. If you're more like me, and like easy-to-read menus and the sleeker shiny surface and/or you are a Google-Cloud Printer or double-sided printer, you will be better served with the Canon PIXMA MX522.

I took a bunch of pictures of them side-by-side, during the set-up. I will post them on the Customer Images section of this page.
I hope this review helped you out--sometimes we don't realize we "want" a feature until we have seen it elsewhere. (For me, the Google-Cloud Print was my "surprise" feature--but now that I have seen and used it, I know I'll use it again.)

For my use, which is typical home-use and school-use, I'd opt for the MX522. It's 50 dollars more expensive, but I know I'd save that in paper (with the duplex) in no time. It looks better--more sleek, and the LED screen is bright and looks nice, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Epson Expression Beat It By Far, May 2, 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This printer has been a big disappointment for me so far. Here's the backstory:

I bought an Epson Expression recently. It arrived in a broken box with the ink cartridges taped in. The printer seemed to be fine, so I went ahead and set it up and tried it out. When I printed photos, they were gorgeous except that they all had a black streak running across about 3/4s of the way down the photo. I decided to return the printer and buy an un-damaged one.

At the same time, I was offered a chance to try this Pixma. Imagine my delight! This was a slightly more expensive printer, and I trust Canon to have great photo quality. I owned a much earlier Pixma that had great photo quality... but that was not the case this time.

I printed the same photos that I had printed on the Epson on this Pixma, and I was shocked. The Epson photos were vibrant and sharp. The Pixma ones were not. They looked washed out and lacked definition. I thought it must just be a settings issue, so I tried everything on earth and wasted a ton of ink and photo paper. I used Canon's Photo Paper Plus Glossy II, their regular Plus Glossy paper, and Kodak photo paper. All three tanked. I used the high-quality setting instead of the regular setting. It made no difference.

I wrote to Canon and they told me to make sure I was using Easy PhotoPrint EX to print my photos. Well, I hadn't been-- I had been printing from my preferred photo editor, so I decided to give that a shot. First, I am not at all fond of the Easy PhotoPrint EX because there are so few things you can do with it... it's not a photo editor, so you'd have to edit your photos, save them, and open them again in this program every time you want to print something. It doesn't even give you the option to rotate your crop if you want to crop something vertically instead of horizontally.

Anyway, I did it-- and it came out worse. Skin tones came out unnatural and colors were not true to monitor. The photo came out a little sharper, but also more cartoony, lacking depth.

It works absolutely fine as a regular (non-photo) printer, and it's easy to set up and use wirelessly. But this is thus far failing miserably as a photo printer for me. It also doesn't have a dedicated photo paper tray, which has already led me to waste a sheet of photo paper when I forgot to switch back to plain paper after printing out some of my test batch of photos.

I'm using Windows 8, and I have no idea if my problems have anything to do with that, as I see that most other reviewers have seemed happy with their photo quality. That makes it hard for me to know if they are just less picky than I am, or if their photos are really coming out better.

Back to the Epson Expression-- I want to be clear that I'm not shilling for that one, either. The photos came out great, but since the time I bought it, several reviews have cropped up saying that it guzzles ink like crazy. I believe it because I printed just a handful of photos, trying to get rid of the black streak, and it did show that my cartridges were already registering as three-quarters full. So I'm not enthusiastically recommending either one at this point. The Pixma is thus far doing better on ink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The paper output problem, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
This is a great printer for the price, but when we got it, we couldn't figure out how to keep the paper from falling on the floor after printing. There's a shelf with an extension that pulls out, but the paper still falls. We had resigned ourselves to standing there and catching the paper, we don't do that much printing anyway.

But wait! Underneath the paper input cartridge on the bottom is a plastic extension that swings out. And attached to that is another little plastic extension that flips up. This kluge keeps the paper off the floor if you print ten pages or less, but you're going to laugh when you see how it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied with it so far., November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
I recently received my Canon PIXMA MX522 so I haven't used all of its functions yet. However, I've used the basic printing functions and they have worked well. It looks nice and takes up a reasonable amount of space for a home print/scan/copy/fax machine. My favorite function is the automatic feed for scanning. Also, it was very easy to set the printer up. A hint to anyone who wants to set it up for wireless connection and doesn't have the button on the wireless router that the directions ask you to push, it's no problem. Just choose the regular install and you will be prompted to enter the wireless key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice looking but not a good color photo printer., June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
I've had the unit for just a couple of weeks. The quick start instructions get you going, but abandon you at critical times. Customer Service is spotty. The first call was not helpful, but the second person called was very good and solved the problem. Installation for wireless operation was fairly easy using a standard method involving the modem password. The CD software that comes with the unit is straight forward and downloads on my computer easily. Scanning and copying printed items from the printer produces a mediocre color print. Copying photos using the scanner is disappointing. Prints are washed out and off color. Double sided printing is a nuisance using the screen prompts. I did not set up the FAX mode but the instructions look simple enough. Printing pictures directly from my Picture file on my laptop computer to the printer is a disaster. Prints are washed out, faint and off color, totally unusable. The Customer Service representative said picture printing must go through their software program downloaded from the CD. Further, he stated, that I should use their photo copy paper for proper results. When I did this round-about way to print pictures from my computer files, the result was more or less okay. My old broken down HP printer combo was better and simpler. The Canon PIXMA MX 522 "Color Photo Printer" should be avoided for use as a Color Photo Printer. It is okay and fast when it prints e-mail letters in black ink and iffy for anything with color. It looks nice on the desk, however, as an expensive art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great printer, but scanner quit working altogether, September 3, 2013
By 
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX522 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax (Office Product)
I've had this less than 6 months and have been happy with it - it prints great. I did have some problems when it came time to switch ink cartridges - it wouldn't print and would error and stuff after I installed new ink, but I got it smoothed out and it prints great again. Things were fine for awhile, but now the scanner errors out and won't scan. Printer still works, but scanner won't. I've tried everything - I re-installed the program more than once, I've spent many hours on the phone with tech support 3 different occasions and it always ends the same - they don't know why it continues to error and won't scan. Or once in awhile it'll scan, but won't save. Finally I decided to take my computer & printer/scanner in to a computer repair shop. After several days, he finally came back and said he couldn't get it to scan using the cannon program either. He also re-installed it and searched online for solutions, and low & behold, said there were others out there having the same problem! I ended up buying a new scanner/printer....and it wasn't a Cannon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.