Customer Reviews


430 Reviews
5 star:
 (313)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing power in a super-compact design
I previously had a Canon PowerShot S110 digital ELPH from 6 years ago or so, and loved that camera. I didn't realize that there was so much more that a little camera could do! I researched the new Canon's out there (since I loved the ELPH), and decided on the SD770 IS for its compact design and features outlined well by others.

This camera just blows me away...
Published on August 28, 2008 by Edward Sawma

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noisy pictures.
I've had the camera for a few weeks now. The face recognition and auto red-eye reduction are really cool. It's fairly easy to use but some of the functions could be a little easier to access. It has one menu for general camera settings like pictures size, date, etc. and a separate menu for settings you might set while taking pictures. It can be a little annoying having to...
Published on December 22, 2008 by James D. Schall


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing power in a super-compact design, August 28, 2008
By 
Edward Sawma (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
I previously had a Canon PowerShot S110 digital ELPH from 6 years ago or so, and loved that camera. I didn't realize that there was so much more that a little camera could do! I researched the new Canon's out there (since I loved the ELPH), and decided on the SD770 IS for its compact design and features outlined well by others.

This camera just blows me away. It takes amazing pictures in full-auto mode. In situations where full-auto doesn't quite do the job as well as possible, this camera lets you change ISO settings, white balance, focus method, and tons of other factors.

Compared to the S110, I thought the ability to change the ISO setting was a big improvement over previous generations. You're actually changing the sensitivity of the sensor in the camera, allowing you to take pictures with more clarity in conditions that have less light. This, coupled with the image stabilization (which again, blows me away on this camera), allows you to not have to use flash, preserve the real look of the scene, and take a crisply clear picture.

Battery life is amazing. I haven't charged it once yet... I'm going on over 150 pictures taken now. I've taken many pictures in low light with no flash, which drains the battery faster because the sensors have to stay on longer. The battery low warning has now come on... but I've still taken over 10 pictures on low battery, so it gives you a good amount of warning time.

I also thought I didn't need more megapixels, because my pictures from my 2MP S110 looked great. True, 10MP looks even better, but a HUGE benefit is that it automatically improves your ability to do digital zoom and keep the picture looking crisp. You can take a 10MP full resolution photo of a scene, then crop it down later to the zoomed-in part of the scene that you want, and still have a crisp image for a 4x6 print. The camera is also able to do this more automatically... if you choose to take a photo at a lower resolution, like 4MP, and you use digital zoom, the camera will automatically use its sensor to it's full 10MP capability to zoom digitally and retain image quality.

Just a fantastic camera. I'm glad I stuck with Canon, and I'm glad I bought the latest generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


211 of 215 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trying to decide between a Canon SD1100, SD790 and this SD770?, December 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
If you're trying to decide between these 3 digital elph models SD1100, SD770 and SD790 which fall in a similar price range, here's my take. I have used the SD1100 and SD790 extensively and SD770 is like an in-between hybrid.

{The SD790 is actually the 2008 upgrade of 2007s very popular model SD750. The SD1100 is an upgrade of the SD1000. Canon probably felt the need for an in-between model so the SD770 is new, with the layout and screen-size similar to SD1100 but the CCD is larger like the SD790 making it a 10MP camera.}

Common new features:
- Digic III processor = better picture taking
- Face detection - detects multiple faces in a shot and adjusts the flash, white balance so that the faces don't get bleached out and you get less red eye
- Motion detection - focuses on subject even if they're moving so your shot is not blurry.
- Shooting modes - NEW sunset mode (great results) and the usual portrait, night shot, stitch assist (panoramic), foliage, fireworks, indoor, kids and pets, underwater, aquarium, beach, snow and ALSO Color accent (keep one color and rest of pic is B/W) and Color Swap (Exchange one color with another)

Here are the pros and cons of each model:

SD1100: Canon PowerShot SD1100IS 8MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver)
Pros: Small size with a nicely contoured look. Cool colors. Viewfinder with 2.5 inch screen. Lowest price.
Cons: Less MPs (8MP) and smaller CCD 1/2.5 inch.

SD770: (Priced in between SD1100 and SD790)
Pros: Smallest in size. 10 MPs. Viewfinder with 2.5 inch screen. Larger CCD at 1/2.3 inch.
Cons: Camera controls are not as intuitive and flexible as the SD790. Screen size is smaller than SD790.

SD790: Canon PowerShot SD790IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom
Pros: Small camera. 10 MPs. Mega 3 inch screen which really makes composing shots so easy. Larger CCD at 1/2.3 inch. Layout is intuitive. Flat layout on the back with extra button for replay, makes switching between modes faster.
Cons: Price is highest of the three models in consideration. No viewfinder, it hasn't been a problem for me even in bright sunlight but if you prefer to have a viewfinder it may be a deal breaker for you.

All 3 cameras come with Image stabilization and the usual Canon features and shooting modes. All three cameras are small, the SD800s and SD900s are bigger in size.

I prefer SD770 and SD790 over SD1100 due to the slightly improved picture taking.

Just for performance and features my #1 Rank goes to SD790 due to it's larger screen and intuitive controls and great pics. SD770 is a close second with a great balance between size and performance and SD1100 comes in 3rd. (Read comments section for more discussion between SD770 and SD790)

Since price of these cameras fluctuates on Amazon everyday it's hard to rank them using prices but recently I have seen the SD790 go for $189 and SD770 go for $159 and the SD1100 for $149. At just a $10 difference between the SD770 and SD1100 I will recommend the SD770.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


372 of 392 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparing Canon PowerShot Digital ELPH cameras, June 12, 2008
By 
Julie Neal (Celebration, Fla.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
As a travel writer I spend a lot of time at Walt Disney World, and Canon PowerShot Digital Elphs are the most common cameras I see. Families seem to love them, because they're so easy to carry and operate. About the size of a deck of playing cards, each of these "pocket cameras" really do slip right into a pants pocket, and their rectangular designs make them easy to grip. Best of all, they all take good photos. (How do I know? Because I've actually gotten to use every one of these models. Nearly every day guests ask me to take photos of them with their own cameras, which most often are Canon PowerShot Digital Elphs.)

Here's my breakdown of the ten bestselling Digital Elph models. Any of the first six are superb choices:

1ST PLACE: SD1100 IS
An update to the SD1000 (see below), this 2008 8MP beauty features image stabilization, a moderately long zoom (38-114 mm) and a small indent on the right side for a good grip. Plus it comes in colors! My daughter has a blue one and uses it every single day. During school days the image stabilization made a difference in her on-the-bus shots. Hers has gotten scratched up a bit, but the marks are small and hardly noticeable.

2ND PLACE: SD870 IS
The ELPH to buy if you want a wide-angle lens. Slightly thicker than the SD1100 IS, this 8MP model doesn't have an optical viewfinder which makes it tough to use in bright sunlight, otherwise there's little not to love. My husband uses one as a comp camera, to compose shots for the travel guide "The Complete Guide to Walt Disney World."

3RD PLACE: SD770 IS (The camera on this page)
Just released in May, this 10 MP model is, in a way, an update of the SD1100 IS (see above). I rate it lower because it costs about $50 more and doesn't come in colors. On the other hand, it has a longer battery life than the 1100 and features an improved LCD screen that is very easy to view. As for photo quality, I can't tell the difference.

4TH PLACE: SD950 IS
There's a lot to like in this 12.1 MP camera. First off, it's gorgeous. The body, though a little thick, is titanium. An upgrade to the SD850 IS (see below), it has a 3.7x zoom lens and adds manual controls as well as the ability to stitch together panoramic images. The only reason I don't rate it higher is the price.

5TH PLACE: SD890 IS
Want a long zoom lens? Here's your baby, a 2008 10 MP model with a 5x zoom. Also has the new bright LCD screen and all the other 2008 Canon goodies. The most expensive Canon PowerShot ELPH.

6TH PLACE: SD790 IS
With the same 10 MP image sensor and 3x zoom lens as the SD770 IS, this 2008 model stands out only for its larger 3-inch LCD display and, as a result, lack of optical viewfinder. The rear controls are different, too, with a flatter design that uses fewer buttons.

7TH PLACE: SD1000
In my opinion there's no reason to buy this 7.1 MP model. Released in 2007, it's been replaced by the SD1100 IS (see above). The SD1000 is a fine camera but it doesn't have image stabilization, a key feature of the 2008 lineup.

8TH PLACE: SD850 IS
The ancestor to the SD890 IS, this 8 MP Elph combines a 4x zoom and 8 MP photo size with an image stabilizer. Every button, dial and switch has a quality feel. Slighter larger than the other models here, it is a little tougher to pop in and out of your pocket, but if you have larger hands it may be just what you are looking for.

9TH PLACE: SD800 IS
This 7.1 MP predecessor to the 870 doesn't focus well at its edges when set at its widest angle. Unless it's priced really cheap, get the 870 instead.

10TH PLACE: SD750
The 2007 PowerShot flagship offers a light meter that adjusts for facial brightness, 17 shooting modes, some first-rate movie features and red-eye correction -- features that were innovative a year ago but are common in Canon's latest models. No image stabilization; no optical viewfinder. Choose a 2008 model instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Ultra-Compact, June 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This camera is an ideal everyday camera for photos and videos. The image stabilization, face recognition, and great performance (start-up and shot-to-shot times) were especially useful in real indoor and outdoor situations.

The primary purpose for us purchasing this camera was so my stay-at-home wife could quickly and easily capture the "firsts" and other special moments of our almost 11 month old. It was a day-to-day replacement for a Pentax istDS digital SLR (great quality but impractical and SLOW autofocus on indoor/flash shots) and a few years old lowest-end miniDV JVC camcorder (a pain to capture/edit/archive.)

The last semi-compact digital we purchased was a Canon A40. Really great camera. In 2002.

Top Three SD770 Pros:
- Size: There's hardly an excuse not to bring this anywhere you might want to take real photos and quick videos. It's barely thicker than a deck of cards and smaller than one of said cards. (See customer photos)
- Overall Real-world Performance: Truly a joy to use. Even for someone like myself who has handled pro and "pro-sumer" photo and video equipment and has VERY high usability expectations.
- Useful functions: Image stabilization is the best thing evar. Face recognition is better than I expected, especially for this type of camera. Macro works quite well.

Top Three Cons:
- Size: You could EASILY forget this in your pocket and wash it in the laundry. No joke.
- Quality: By default, edges are soft and daytime indoor shots can be grainy (noise), since the auto ISO bumps up to keep the shutter speed fast enough to reduce motion blur. I intend to check settings to remedy this, if possible.
- Useless functions: There's 3 or 4 SOUND themes alone (not including silent). Lots of bloated "features" and photo "effects" that are better forgotten after you play with it the first couple days. Seriously, forget them. If you dare post any online you will be mocked the world over. If there's a way to disable/hide them, someone tell me...

Top Three Accessories: (buy these at the same time or very SOON after)
- Memory card: Simply not optional. The camera includes a 32MB SD card which is roughly equivalent to including a free tank of gas with a new Porsche. "Gee, thanks." We went for the Transcend 16GB SDHC Card with Compact Card Reader which fits over 3,500 photos at full-quality or over 2 hours of video, or some combination of both. It sounds like overkill, but we bought this camera to be the sole capturer of memories on week-long trips with our first child. I changed the resolution to 6MP at Superfine compression and the camera reports we can take photos through 2017.
- Spare Battery: Somewhat optional. Like most modern ultra-compacts, the SD770 uses a proprietary battery pack so you won't be running down to the drugstore in a pinch. Just get it.
- Camera bag/pouch: Not in the same class as a the previous two, but where are you going to keep the spare battery otherwise anyway? It does fit (snugly) in a playing card box, so there is that...

To be sure, I am biased towards Canon, in that I have had nothing but good experiences with their products (scanners, printers, cameras). But considering the exhaustive research I do for most purchases over $10 and my high expectations, the Canon SD770IS does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Better All The Time!, August 8, 2008
By 
Mark Scala (Ridgewood, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
I purchased the Canon SD770IS to replace a PowerShot A95. A couple years ago, I had purchased a Digital Elph for a family member and found myself using that much smaller and lighter camera, instead of my A95. Given advancements in technology, it was time to upgrade. The most important feature in looking for a replacement was small size and the use of a rechargeable battery. Pixel resolution was less a factor as the A95, with only 5 megapixels, produced sharp images. The most noticeable improvement, even over the previous Elph, was in the increased speed of all camera functions including boot up and image recording. Image quality is stellar and the color balance and metering is excellent. If you currently own a Canon digital camera and are upgrading, the basic navigation of features remains primarily the same, so that will be familiar to you. Access to the camera's shooting modes use menus rather than a physical dial as on the A95. The LCD screen is fairly large, well illuminated and easy to view, even in bright light. Ultimately, the most important consideration with digital photography should be image quality and ease of use. I have years of experience with manual SLR film cameras and point and shoots alike, and this model fits the bill perfectly for true "turn it on and shoot" photography. Images are crisp and clear with great detail and vibrant color. The light meter does a great job of assessing the scene and choosing the best possible combination of shutter speed and aperture. I highly recommend this camera for someone looking for an easy-to-use, lightweight, small and effective digital camera. A high capacity (SDHC) memory card will hold a ridiculous number of photos even at the highest resolution. Uploading photos to a PC or Mac is easy with either the supplied software or Apple's iPhoto software, which works seamlessly with the camera. I would recommend both a high capacity SD card and the optional leather case to protect the camera, especially if dropped. A great camera at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographer's P&S, June 25, 2008
By 
ssoguzz (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just bought the SD770 after returning the Sony Cybershot DSCW300 13.6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom with Super Steady Shot. The contrast with that camera made me appreciate the SD770 probably more than I normally would have. So this is a comparison.
. Much sharper lens.
. Images better looking at ISO 80-800, above that they are useless in both cameras.
. Canon images noisier at higher ISOs because of less aggressive noise reduction, but as a result they are crisper. Sony gives a mush wherever there is fine detail. You can simulate the Sony look by running the Canon images through a noise filtering program like Neat Image at a high filter setting.
. Canon is 10MP vs Sony's 13.6MP, but all the above hold true even with the Canon images ressed up to 13.6MP.
. Much smaller body, truly a shirt pocket camera, which is the primary reason for me for buying a P&S.
. Both have usable optical viewfinders. The centering accuracy of the SD770 seems to be even better than Canon G9.
. Much faster operation. For all intents and purposes Canon turns on and off instantly, probably in a second or two. With the Sony I had to tap my fingers waiting for the camera to turn on to take a picture, or to turn off to put it in my pocket.
. Very logical and quick user interface for all the main photographic functions, like exposure compensation, ISO setting, macro setting, etc. Clearly Canon knows what settings the photographers would like to have quick access to even in a P&S.
. Over $100 cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noisy pictures., December 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
I've had the camera for a few weeks now. The face recognition and auto red-eye reduction are really cool. It's fairly easy to use but some of the functions could be a little easier to access. It has one menu for general camera settings like pictures size, date, etc. and a separate menu for settings you might set while taking pictures. It can be a little annoying having to dive into these different menus to find what you what to change. My biggest complaint is the picture quality. The camera automatically jacks the ISO up to get the shutter speed up to limit blur but the result is very noisy and pixelated. Canon, if you are going to boost the ISO to limit blur, you should also use a sensor capable of capturing images at that ISO with little noise.

Summary, get this camera if you want to get quick snapshots of family functions, etc. Skip it if you want to take pictures of anything in less than ideal light conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparing Canon PowerShot Digital ELPH cameras, June 8, 2008
By 
Julie Neal (Celebration, Fla.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As a travel writer I spend a lot of time at Walt Disney World, and Canon PowerShot Digital Elphs are the most common cameras I see. Families seem to love them, because they're so easy to carry and operate. About the size of a deck of playing cards, each of these "pocket cameras" really do slip right into a pants pocket, and their rectangular designs make them easy to grip. Best of all, they all take good photos. (How do I know? Because I've actually gotten to use every one of these models. Nearly every day guests ask me to take photos of them with their own cameras, which most often are Canon PowerShot Digital Elphs.)

Here's my breakdown of the ten bestselling Digital Elph models. Any of the first six are superb choices:

1ST PLACE: SD1100 IS
An update to the SD1000 (see below), this 2008 8MP beauty adds image stabilization, a slightly longer zoom (38-114 mm), another MP of photo size and a small indent on the right side for a better grip. Plus it comes in colors! My daughter has a blue one and uses it every single day. During school days the image stabilization made a real difference in her on-the-bus shots. With that heavy of use hers has gotten scratched up a bit, but the marks are small and hardly noticeable.

2ND PLACE: SD870 IS
The ELPH to buy if you want a wide-angle lens. Slightly thicker than the SD1100 IS, this 8MP model doesn't have an optical viewfinder which makes it tough to use in bright sunlight, otherwise there's little not to love. My husband uses one as a comp camera, to compose shots for the travel guide "The Complete Guide to Walt Disney World."

3RD PLACE: SD770 IS (The camera on this page)
Just released in May, this 10 MP model is, in a way, an update of the SD1100 IS (see above). I rate it lower because it costs about $50 more and doesn't come in colors. On the other hand, it has a longer battery life than the 1100 and features an improved LCD screen that is very easy to view. As for photo quality, I can't tell the difference.

4TH PLACE: SD950 IS
There's a lot to like in this 12.1 MP camera. First off, it's gorgeous. The body, though a little thick, is titanium. An upgrade to the SD850 IS (see below), it has a 3.7x zoom lens and adds manual controls as well as the ability to stitch together panoramic images. The only reason I don't rate it higher is the price.

5TH PLACE: SD890 IS
Want a long zoom lens? Here's your baby, a 2008 10 MP model with a 5x zoom. Also has the new bright LCD screen and all the other 2008 Canon goodies. The most expensive Canon PowerShot ELPH.

6TH PLACE: SD790 IS
With the same 10 MP image sensor and 3x zoom lens as the SD770 IS, this 2008 model stands out only for its larger 3-inch LCD display and, as a result, lack of optical viewfinder. The rear controls are different, too, with a flatter design that uses fewer buttons.

7TH PLACE: SD1000
In my opinion there's no reason to buy this 7.1 MP model. Released in 2007, it's been replaced by the SD1100 IS (see above). The SD1000 is a fine camera, but it doesn't have image stabilization, a key feature of the 2008 lineup. We have one ourselves, although we don't use it anymore since we got the 1100.

8TH PLACE: SD850 IS
The ancestor to the SD890 IS, this 8 MP Elph combines a 4x zoom and 8 MP photo size with an image stabilizer. Every button, dial and switch has a quality feel. Slighter larger than the other models here, it is a little tougher to pop in and out of your pocket, but if you have larger hands it may be just what you are looking for.

9TH PLACE: SD800 IS
This 7.1 MP predecessor to the 870 doesn't focus well at its edges when set at its widest angle. Unless it's priced really cheap, get the 870 instead.

10TH PLACE: SD750
The 2007 PowerShot flagship offers a light meter that adjusts for facial brightness, 17 shooting modes, some first-rate movie features and red-eye correction -- features that were innovative a year ago but are common in Canon's latest models. No image stabilization; no optical viewfinder. Choose a 2008 model instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best choice for a quality compact camera- Canon SD770is, August 19, 2008
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
Like most people, I did lot of research (online and visits to retailers) before deciding on the Canon SD770is. If you're considering a quality, compact digital camera, there simply is no better choice than the Canon SD770is - and go with the black color which features a black circle in front, a slightly darker body color, and a black wrist strap instead of the silver strap that comes with the silver version. I considered the SD790is with the 3" screen, but it's slightly bigger and heavier and only came in silver. The 770 is the successor to the 750 (one of Canon's best digital cameras), and adds image stabilization, a better LCD screen, 10 megapixels, and better battery pack. I won't go into all the specs, because you can read that anywhere online, but the diminutive size makes the 770 very convenient to carry everywhere and the pictures are absolutely great. What more could you ask for? I admit I am biased towards Canon as every year or two I upgrade to another Canon, but they simply make the best digital cameras on the market. Save some time, take advantage of my extensive research, and get yourself the Canon SD770is...and click away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, November 3, 2008
By 
Dany B (Monterrey, Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SD770 IS 10MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) (Electronics)
I bought this camera for my husband, he is grateful for it and has not put it down ever since I gave it to him, its the perfect size and weight, it takes incredible pictures with the best resolution, I recommend this more than the 1100 or the other cameras for 3 reasons
Better resolution
View finder *which enables you to take pictures when it is very bright
Beter lcd screen *that consumes less battery time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.