Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this camera
(Note: This review is by Lydia McGrew, not by Tim.) I bought this camera after a lot of shopping. (Full disclosure: I didn't actually purchase it through Amazon.) I am not particularly good at photography, and it is just what I need. It has enabled me to take really nice shots both inside and out. You do have to get the owner's manual and read a little bit, but it's not a...
Published 7 months ago by Timothy McGrew

versus
92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job...
I needed to replace my aging Kodak V570 23mm wide-angle camera. This Kodak was one of three I purchased in 2006. While it still works most of the time, I frequently have to take multiple pictures of the same scene due to inconsistent focusing.

The Canon (ELPH 150 IS) is marketed with as a 24mm wide-angle with a 10X optical zoom, plus digital zoom. While the...
Published 9 months ago by spotlightlover


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this camera, May 18, 2014
(Note: This review is by Lydia McGrew, not by Tim.) I bought this camera after a lot of shopping. (Full disclosure: I didn't actually purchase it through Amazon.) I am not particularly good at photography, and it is just what I need. It has enabled me to take really nice shots both inside and out. You do have to get the owner's manual and read a little bit, but it's not a steep learning curve. I have found it quite easy, and I'm so far *extremely* pleased with the results. It takes pictures quickly enough for me, and even one or two that it said were going to be blurry were quite nice. I find that indoor pictures with lower light are more likely to blur if you use the zoom function. The orange hand-shake symbol will warn you, and you can try zooming back out. It usually does not give the hand-shake warning unless I try to use zoom, even under indoor lighting conditions. The files are rather large, so not convenient for sending by e-mail. Perhaps I could change the file size by altering the default pixel settings, but they look so nice that I don't want to mess with anything. I'm getting better shots with this than with our fancier Canon with more settings, because I can understand this camera. After approx. a week of use, I highly recommend it. Don't forget--you do need to buy a separate memory card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job..., March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed to replace my aging Kodak V570 23mm wide-angle camera. This Kodak was one of three I purchased in 2006. While it still works most of the time, I frequently have to take multiple pictures of the same scene due to inconsistent focusing.

The Canon (ELPH 150 IS) is marketed with as a 24mm wide-angle with a 10X optical zoom, plus digital zoom. While the difference in the wide angle aspect is just 1 mm, I can see the difference in comparison photos taken on a tripod in my backyard. However, my Kodak's photos are less clear; whereas the Canon's details are very sharp. Clearly the difference is in the sensor, as the Canon is a 20 megapixel camera vs my 5 megapixel Kodak. Additionally, the Kodak's details are washed out in my photos with white stucco, whereas the Canon photos are well defined.

The Canon is marketed with many features. Upon receipt yesterday, I thought there was a typo in the Canon literature as I could not access the special effects. The "instructions", a double sided large sheet are next to worthless, including a reference to the full manual on Canon's web site, which were nonexistent. A phone call to Canon support corrected this oversight as the Canon tech pointed me to an instruction manual for the ELPH 140 that is also applicable to this ELPH 150 IS. Additionally, while the tech could not access many of the camera's functions at first, he directed me to perform a reset to factory defaults, which solved all. This camera can do a lot. The 120 page manual is well written, but don't try to absorb all the options in one reading, as it will put you to sleep.

OK, do I like it? It's a point and shot with a 24-mm wide angle/10X optical telephoto lens that is smaller than my wallet. It will do all that I need and fit comfortably in my pocket. I am not happy about the protruding lens, but that's an easy tradeoff from my old camera. In taking inside and outside photos I am impressed. The color details in macro photos are rich. The flash, while not powerful, surprisingly provided well-lit photos of my dark, two-car garage. Cycle time with the flash is slow; perhaps 2 to 5 seconds. In setting the flash to auto, the camera provided quality photos of my home, inside and outside without any adjustments on my part. Hair-line cracks in crown moldings were explicit using the telephoto with and without the flash. While I would not rate this camera a ten or even a 9, a 7.5 seems fair for this $150 point and shoot as it meets my needs.

Some things I do not like include inability to charge the battery while in the camera. Slow cycle time in burst mode. Protruding lens when in use (as I tend to bang things around when I am working). Additionally, selecting some of the camera's special functions is difficult to find within the double-function controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The camera takes great pictures and it uses the same SD card as ..., July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The camera takes great pictures and it uses the same SD card as my Sony DLSR camera.
I bought it for ease of use for quick unplanned pictures. It's almost too small and lightweight but I did check it out in a store before ordering so I knew the size very well. One advantage over a cell phone camera is that you can see the display window when it's bright outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... and was hesitant to purchase but this is the best shoot and point that my husband has ever had, September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the reviews for this camera and was hesitant to purchase but this is the best shoot and point that my husband has ever had. The shutter speed is instant, the pictures are GREAT, and the camera is small enough for your pocket. If I could give this 10 stars I would!!! ** We aren't professional photographers, but professional photographs wouldn't be looking at a $129 camera. ha! This is great for vacations and just about anything else you might need it for. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes great pictures but has a few issues, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, the size is great. It fits well in my pocket and the battery life is great! I don't like how there is no option for always flash. It has auto and flash off, but no always, however it still takes great pictures in rooms without the flash. The pictures are in great quality, but sometimes it would blur when I turn it on for some reason but would fix when I zoom in and out or take a picture normally. The biggest issue is when I zoom in while recording something, you always will hear the zoom noise on the video which is irritating and will get on your nerves. Overall good camera, but I recommend using something else to record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE!, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice and small. Pictures come out very nice! I'm not an expert on cameras but for just taking pictures of family and random stuff its great. very simple operating, not difficult to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one works great!!, July 13, 2014
By 
fleetwizard (Poughkeepsie, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot ELPH-150 IS Digital Camera (Black) (Electronics)
This one works great!!! Very clear pictures and easy to use. Nice zoom and still nice clear pictures even freehand. I bought this as a replacement for my Canon Powershot SD450 that I had had for years and the buttons were starting to not work so well anymore. I was hoping that this might at least be nearly as good. Even though it was only a 3x zoom and 5 MP, it took great pictures for when I needed a point and shoot. The new one, with 10x optical zoom, 20 MP, and image stabilization takes spectacular pictures! After upgrading to this and seeing the difference, I may just have to upgrade my DSLR as well since it is about the same age as my SD450 was!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a lousy photographer - the cmera compensates for it!, November 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a lousy photographer. Never could get a good shot off. This camera seems to handle my lack of skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some problems with design and size, bright blue color is great, but may have to change to something better., October 1, 2014
By 
Anne Wilkinson (Sarasota, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's so small I can't hold it securely, and the video "button" is too close to the zoom adjustor so I too often find I am on video instead of just AUTO for regular pics. Am thinking of getting something else, bigger and with better placement. However, the photos turn out very well, color and clarity, etc, and I have been posting some trip scenery on Facebook and/or forwarding via email with no problems.
And certainly the price was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband really likes these Canon ELPH cameras. He wants it as simple as possible and small enough for his pocket. He preferred the SD 1000 that he has been using for years, but it stopped working. This works mostly the same, takes good pictures and is easy to use. I felt the quality of the case ie the battery / sd card cover is reduced. It is slightly bigger than the older version but does have a larger viewing screen. Overall, it is a good choice for a small, no brainer camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Canon PowerShot ELPH-150 IS Digital Camera (Black)
$149.00 $99.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.