Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of features for the price, some gotchas
Lot of features in this camera especially for someone who wants a camera to do almost everything. The Canon SX510 has a lens that goes from wide angle to telephoto, a stabilization system to let you take sharp photos, and it processes lightning-fast. It is actually a very good camera and for the price. I gave it a try (needed a backup, lightweight camera) but it turns out...
Published 7 months ago by Joanna Daneman

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camera case does not fit
The camera appears to be just what we wanted, however, the camera case that was supplied with the camera does not fit the camera. It is too small and there is no way the camera will fit into this case. I have called Focus camera twice and emailed their customer service department, but no one has gotten back to me.
Published 8 months ago by William D Riley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of features for the price, some gotchas, January 26, 2014
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
Lot of features in this camera especially for someone who wants a camera to do almost everything. The Canon SX510 has a lens that goes from wide angle to telephoto, a stabilization system to let you take sharp photos, and it processes lightning-fast. It is actually a very good camera and for the price. I gave it a try (needed a backup, lightweight camera) but it turns out it is missing a few features I've come to rely on. If you don't need these extras, you'll love it, because it's an excellent camera with a lot of function and quality. You'd have to pay quite a bit more to get the extra features I happen to like, so if you don't need them, this is quite the deal for a highly-functional digital camera.

Good points:

1. 12 megapixel resolution
2. ISO up to 3200 (possible to shoot at ISO 6400 under special low-light setting)
3. 24-720 mm Optial Zoom (one lens from wide angle to telephoto with no changing required.)
4. Min shutter speed 15 sec to a maximum of 1/1600 sec
5. Does video (MP4) w 240 frames per sec at low res, and has hi res available
6. WiFi built in (can do GPS sharing to your mobile phone, etc)
7. Lightweight, small size. Controls are knob plus the direction dial (familar to Canon users)
8. Manual setting available (with some limitations)
9. The IS (Intelligent Stabilization) can let you shoot with a steadier hand at low shutter speeds (great if you tend to shake--I'm not steady anymore below 1/125 sec--when I was a kid, I could handhold 1/60th reliably but not anymore.)

Bad Points

1. No viewfinder and NO flip screen (flat on back) No touchscreen. This was the killer for me--angled flipscreens are dead useful in bright light and when doing video. Once you get used to having one, it's difficult to go without.
2. Hard to see the screen due to glare in bright light.
3. No flip up flash: this is another issue. You have to be reminded to flip UP the flash if you need flash. It doesn't automatically flip up when the exposure is calling for flash.
4. There is a low-light mode (ISO 6400) but you can't set it manually and it works by reducing resolution.
5. No raw shooting mode

Summary:

The steady-Eddie IS system AND the wide range of focal length in the lens make this a one-camera-does-all for most people and if you can live with the screen limitation, this camera gives the user a great deal of function for a moderate price. You can hardly get this much camera if you were to upgrade to a DSLR like a T4i or SL1 without spending at least twice as much, so the flash and the fixed screen and some limitation of low-light shooting may well make this a great do-everything camera for a very reasonable price. The Canon SL1 would be a good alternative to get around the limitations: more resolution, touch screen, optical viewfinder but again, it costs quite a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camera case does not fit, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
The camera appears to be just what we wanted, however, the camera case that was supplied with the camera does not fit the camera. It is too small and there is no way the camera will fit into this case. I have called Focus camera twice and emailed their customer service department, but no one has gotten back to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent camera!, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
I love this camera!! The bundle is worth the price and all the itens look exactly like the picture, I strongly recommend it. I wish the camera bag was a little bit bigger though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied with camera, December 17, 2013
By 
Doris Browning (Cumberland, KY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
I like the camera, however, the case that came with it is too small. It won't fit in there. I had to order a different case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for myself., December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
The reason i only gave it 4 stars was due to the fact that i did not receive the 32GB memory card with it. Went online and printed out in depth directions. Easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon Powershot SX510 HS---After a Weeks Use, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
I mistakenly ordered the Canon 510, instead of the Canon 50. I do like the 510, and have been able to take some very good pictures with it. However, there are two cons that I have discovered so far. The first is that it does not have an small view finder---only the large screen, which make the camera almost unusable in bright sunlight. The other con: Canon has saw fit NOT to provide a user's manual with the camera. So, you must go on line to get one---over half of it pertains to connecting the camera to WIFI. Cameras are bought to take pictures; therefore, with a camera so small and complicated as the 510, explicit instructions are needed to explain and tell the user about the camera's many features. I'm finding every time I use the camera that something is hidden deep within the software that astounds me. We need to be told, in written form, how to get to these features and how to use them.

In order to use the full optical zoom, a good tripod is required. The image stabilizer is simply not good enough to handle the shake which occurs when trying to use the zoom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Powershot, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
Great quality and easy to use. This is a first camera for my son who wants to take professional pictures one day. He absolutely loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
Camera is very good point and shoot. Very good for casual photography. One thing I was disappointed in is the case that was included in package. It would not fit this camera at all let alone a smaller digital camera. Only downside. Rest of package is stuff that will be regularly used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
Quick delivery as usual from Amazon/Focus. Purchased after seeing daughter's SX500. Looked good, works well. I haven't personally used it much but my wife took it on a trip as soon as we got it and was very pleased with it. She got some great shots of hummingbirds using the telephoto while sitting on the patio. I was amazed at the clarity considering the amount of zoom she had to use. There "should" have been too much "shake" for that distance but the pix turned out very good.

Contrary to what I had read, the camera bag was just fine for this camera. As others have mentioned, the partition in the bag is adjustable. It's like my pa always said, "You have to be smarter than the bag you're working with." (I think that's what he meant...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera!, June 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot SX510 HS CMOS 12.1MP w/ 30x Optical Zoom Digital Camera + 32GB Deluxe Accessory Kit (Camera)
Used it on a road trip up the Pacific Coast Highway. I was able to get great close up shots of the Elephant Seals
as well as interior family pix. This camera performs best in low light situations. I had to fiddle around manually in bright sunlight.

It is light weight, easy to use and has a moderate battery life. The battery charger is unique to the camera so don't forget to bring it along, as I did :(

That said, I would definitely recommend this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.