Canon PowerShot SX1IS 10 MP CMOS Digital Camera with 20x Wide Angle Optical Image Stabilized Zoom and 2.8-inch LCD
Used & New from: $312.58
Canon Rebel XSi or PowerShot XS1 IS? I can't decide between these two cameras. This will be my first non point-and-shoot camera, so I'm just a beginner but am ready to step up to a real camera. There is so much information to decipher. One friend says one is better; another votes for the other. Do any of you experts have any opinions. Thank you very much in advance. This is all very confusing.
asked by Amazon Customer on April 27, 2009
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 answers
A
Hi

I have the Canon XSI and its a terrific camera. I am thinking of getting the Powershot S1 IS because of its 20X zoom which is equivalent to 560mm. I like the fact that I don't have to change lenses and that it has image stabilization at the 20X zoom. If you are an ameteur to semi-professional photographer then the S1 IS is the way to go. With the XSI I have to keep chainging lenses and when I use my 300mm lens I no longer have Image Stabilization. It does require carrying extra lenses which can be a pain when traveling.
I like the fact that the S1 IS has a better sensor and records HD movies.
If I did not have the XSI I would definitely buy the S1 IS. Like I said I am stronlgly considering buying the new S1 IS.
Hope this info helps.
D. CAPONIGRO answered on April 28, 2009
Comment | 3 of 3 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
In this excellent review, the Rebel was clearly inferior in photo quality. http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_PowerShot_SX1_IS/
brewster lewster answered on April 29, 2009
Comment | 1 of 3 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A