Canon EOS Rebel T1i 15.1 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 3-Inch LCD (Body Only)
Used & New from: $250.00
Canon Ti1 + which lens?? Let me start out by saying that I am an ametuer who is moving from my Canon S5IS (which I have been very happy with) to the Ti1. Problem is that since I am new to the SLR world I have no idea about lens. What I do know is that the kit lens does not offer the range I am use to and desire. Am I wrong in thinking I'd be wasting a a lot of the $700+ piece of equipment just using the kit lens?

I am looking to pick up either of these 2 lenses with my purchase.

Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Standard Zoom
or
Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical IF Macro

The kit and either lens is much more than I want to spend but I figure I can get the Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS for $55 after the $200 rebate and get the printer for $46 after rebate and turn around and sell them on ebay to bring the total cost down a bit. Am I wrong in thinking the 55-250mm is not enough range. 18-200 or 270 seems to me like a better all around lens. I don't shoot alot of sports/action shots so speed isn't something high up on my list.

Thanks for any insight and or suggestions. Again, please bear with me..... I am a complete newbie.
[UPDATED] asked by Chris Martin on December 19, 2009
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 answers
A
votes
Chris,