Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant argue with the liner notes
..., this is a outstanding live recording of Walsh material... it's not going to (supposed to) sound like studio versions of the same material. And remember, this was released in 1976, no digital enhancement devices here (just listen to the amp buzz during Vitale's flute solo on Turn to Stone).

For me this recording is about the soul the musicians put into the...
Published on May 25, 2002 by G. E. Bobel

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe's Live Stuff Pre-Eagles...
Having been a fan of first "The James Gang", "Barnstorm" and the rest of Joe Walsh's stuff up through "The Confessor", this album would seem to be a "must purchase" item for me. And in reality, it was, back in the mid-seventies when I bought it on vinyl. The best tracks include "Walk Away" (up-tempo compared to the original which is why I liked it), "Meadows" (I loved the...
Published on March 26, 2007 by John H. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant argue with the liner notes, May 25, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
..., this is a outstanding live recording of Walsh material... it's not going to (supposed to) sound like studio versions of the same material. And remember, this was released in 1976, no digital enhancement devices here (just listen to the amp buzz during Vitale's flute solo on Turn to Stone).

For me this recording is about the soul the musicians put into the performance! Every time I listen I can see Walsh step back from the mic, drop his head and rip it up on Walk Away. And Rocky Mountain Way is given a keyboard treatment that shows the song for the fine, fine blues statement that it is. Put on a pair of headphones and really listen to the organ and piano that drives the underlying rhythm line. You absolutly will be moving every part of your body with a Ray Charles sway and bounce!

As for the personnel, here's the straight poop as read from the original release vinyl album (yes I still own it and play it almost 30 years later, so much for the theory that vinyl [stinks]). Anyway as listed on the back of the inside, cardboard dust jacket, not the back of the album cover, the credits include: Willie Weeks,Bass; Joe Vitale,Drums (he doesn't get credit for the flute solo, but it's him); Andy Newmark,Drums; Don Felder(joined the Eagles in'74), Guitar; Joe Walsh,Guitar; Rocky Dzidzonru,percussion; Jay Ferguson,keyboards; David Mason, keyboards. Vocals on "Help Me Through the Night" by Glenn Frey, Don Henly, Don Felder and Joe Walsh.

Buy this CD, fire it up (as the man said LOUD) and you just may find yourself taping up the door, jammin' a damp towel at it's base, and put'en a fan in the window... blowing out!

Whoever said "You can't go home again", may have been right, but for us 45 year olds, this CD might at least get you back to college...

Whatever you do, Don't "Just turn your pretty head and Walk Away"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice concert souvenir, May 4, 2003
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
Not too used to seeing a six-track CD, are you?
Well, Joe could've certainly have found room for one or two more songs, but this album is from the age of the LP, after all, and three of these six songs are over seven minutes long.
The sound on this live album is very good, and Joe Walsh plays with energy and conviction. He is in good form vocally as well, and he lays down a great, bluesy solo on "Meadows" and plays searing slide guitar on "Rocky Mountain Way".

The songs flow smoothly, starting off with a powerful "Walk Away", and closing with a majestic, eight-minute rendition of the epic "Turn To Stone". And in between you'll find a great lesser-known song, the rocking "Time Out.

This fine live recording has lots of feeling, great sound, great songs, and it is a worthy addition to any Joe Walsh-collection, even if you're not an ardent fan and perhaps only own a compilation or two, or maybe a couple of his solo albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rather you drink, the liver you harm, April 18, 2001
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
This short live album marked the end of the Barnstorm era, just before Walsh got absorbed into the Eagles. I've bought this twice on CD in a pairing with 'The Smoker You Drink ...' -- once in a double CD pack, and the second time squeezed onto the same physical disc, because it's well under 35 minutes long.
In 1975, Walsh went on tour with a band containing, among many, two drummers (Joe Vitale and Andy Newmark), a second guitarist, and Jay Ferguson on keyboards. They must have given some fantastic concerts, and I just wonder what happened to all the rest of the material. Why did Walsh decide to release a single live LP, rather than the double, or even triple LP, that was more the norm for those days?
As other reviewers ave remarked, these live recordings stripped the studio versions of much of their subtlety and clarity. 'Walk Away' is a rip-roaring start, and perhaps a new tune for those unfamiliar with Joe's pre-Barnstorm days. 'Rocky Mountain Way' was hugely disappointing, but it features an enhanced solo on the voicebox gizmo that Walsh introduced Pete Frampton to for 'Show Me the Way' on 'Frampton Comes Alive!'.
For me, the highlights are the new arrangements on 'Meadows' and 'Turn to Stone'. 'Meadows' shares the same riff as Deep Purple's 'My Woman From Tokyo', but for this concert version, Joe ends with a powerful instrumental that is anthemic in a similar vein to 'Freebird' and 'Stairway to Heaven'. It shows Joe at his best, and should have been sited at the end of the album. 'Turn to Stone' has a pleasant synth intro, somewhat reminiscent of the Gary Wright 'Dream Weaver' album, but I've never been able to understand why Joe did three versions of the tune in the space of four albums. This version contains a flute solo from the much underrated Vitale, creator of the classic LP 'Roller Coaster Weekend'.
Overall, not quite as good as 'The Smoker You Drink', but it should be much enjoyed by anyone who only knows Walsh in his Eagles persona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper credits, December 31, 2002
By 
MPQ (San Diego, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
I saw Walsh on this tour and on the one following it, shortly before he joined The Eagles. In no way were The Eagles his backing band. They were busy with their own career at the time. Besides, no way could they smoke like this band! Mr. Bobel is correct in his listing of the backing band. This disc is Walsh in his prime. Though short in length, the band and in particular, Walsh's guitar work, are superb.If you can pick it up,it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must be joking......, February 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
Totally outstanding and thoroughly entertaining live album, especially while driving. Crank the opening tune and get ready to party! Totally captures the mid 1970's stuff us white kids were listening to at the time. I couldn't love this album more. It takes me right back to 1976, the year I graduated from high-school. Dazed and Confused all the way baby.

Although somewhat short, it's not a problem and is actually just another thing that makes the album great, and it's worth every penny. It is a very uniquely recorded live album as well, with excellent sound quality and the live audience sounds down-played. This album is a real sleeper in the world of 70's rock and only a few of us were lucky enough to score it.

Walsh is priceless, a true gem in the world of rock, with a wonderfully unique often self-deprecating and wry sense of humor. His album titles tell the whole story. Check his background out. A top musician and song writer in his own right, you will also find among many other things that he was involved with a vast and eclectic mix of musicians and bands who he produced some truly wonderful music with. Look closely at the closing scene in The Blues Brothers movie and you might see him dancing on a table. And remember, Walsh is responsible for laying down one of the most memorable guitar solos of all time in the song Hotel California by The Eagles.

Over and out
(the Professor recommends: "I Need A Man To Love" off the Cheap Thrills album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best examples of 1970s live rock, April 11, 2007
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
You Can't Argue is a definitive example of the best of 1970s live rock genre. Brilliant musicianship, powerful song-writing and lush, thunderous production qualities take precedence over glitz or gimmicks.

This recording captures Joe Walsh at the peak of his considerable abilities, showing off stunning virtuosity through a variety of themes and forms. Unfortunately, it also serves as a painful reminder how far the rock genre has fallen.

The ONLY quibble with this brilliant live performance is it's length: too short. It is a must for serious collectors of excellent rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe As He Should Have Been, May 9, 2009
By 
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
I am a die-hard Joe W fan and this album acts, unfortunately, as his swan song prior to joining the Eagles. On this and the James Gang Live album you experience what a truly great rock n' roll artist and performer Walsh is. On this album be creates the soaring solos and duets with Don Felder that they later contributed to the Eagles. Not a bad cut here at all. Wonderful arrangements that reinvent the studio cuts adding textures and depth. I can only imagine how much more great music Joe would have created had he not thrown in with the Eagles. I love the guy, but he disappointed me joining the Eagles where he's just a side man. I saw the Hotel California tour and it was great seeing/hearing Joe and Don perform live their dual solo so close to when they first created it. Joe, it was great that you got the James Gang back together recently. Please, ditch the Eagles and get back out on the road with the Gang or a new Barnstorm. You need to shine front and center again. You can't argue with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This has the most beautiful version of Help Me Through The, July 30, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
Night that Joe has done. You get to hear two other version of Meadows and Turn To Stone and i think they are better than the studio versions...Maybe because they are just different. The solos are completely different and I think that is Joe Vitale on the flute..good cd..Rocky Mountain Way, Time Out, and Walk Away sound much better studio recorded though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party All the Time, June 15, 2009
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
The cool photograph of the band members and the concert shot of Joe Walsh doing a "guitar hero" pose says it all....this is unbridled rock without taking time to check the studio arrangements of the six numbers.

Released in October 1976 - and recorded before he became an official member of the Eagles - this is the classic live sound from Walsh; which is no frills, guitar-driven romps that powerfully feed off a revved-up audience. Only clocking in at 35:09 - even skimpy by 1970s standards - the group is Don Felder (g), Willie Weeks (b), Jay Ferguson (key), Dave Mason (key), Rocky Dzidzornu (per), Andy Newmark (d) and Joe Vitale (d).

The album kicks-off with Walk Away - the last hit Walsh had with the James Gang - and then rolls into Meadows, which is a solid lead-in for the iconic Rocky Mountain Way. Time Out has a smooth groove and Don Henley, Glenn Frey and Felder are the "guest" vocalists on Help Me Through the Night. Walsh's lead licks on Turn to Stone shows why Pete Townshend had him tabbed back in the late 1960s as the next great American electric guitarist.

During an era when the mostly self-indulgent double-live sets began to flood the marketplace, Walsh churned out one album of "catch-as-catch-can" music. He scores the pinfall win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album - and lesser known TV appearance, October 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind (Audio CD)
I still have my original scratchy vinyl and would say I wore it out as much as any during the summer of '76. I think a friend also copied it to cassette and thus it became an outdoor party soundtrack that year as well. I loved this recording and the versions of the songs seemed so alive. Listening to it now I think I could do without the disco beat of Walk Away. But Joe or his producers definitely had the pulse of what the young rock audience wanted to hear and delivered a quality live rock performance that wasn't a total commercial sellout, and that was exactly what I wanted to hear.

BUT... no one has mentioned here that this performance could also be seen as well as heard, as it was filmed for the TV show Don Kirshner's Rock Concert. I can't recall which I heard first, the album or TV show, but I remember when I did tune in that late night, just to prove it to my nerdy self that it was in fact the same performance, I actually was able to somewhat sync up my record player with the picture! It would be great to see the video released someday. At a time when VHS recorders were just being introduced at $900, I doubt too many people taped it, although I think I downloaded a torrent awhile back with a rough copy. Good times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind
You Can't Argue With A Sick Mind by Joe Walsh (Audio CD - 1990)
Click for more info
In stock on December 22, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.