Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greater understanding of what she stands forNi
This book gives your clear. Understanding of what formed the person Nikie Haley is today. She is candid about her past and where she is in her thinking today. The fact that she is a woman I think gives her a nurturing outlook for her job as Governor and a careing for the people she serves.
Published on October 6, 2012 by Lillie McGougan

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i don't. trust nikki haley
she has done great PR promoting the palmetto state....but i don't trust the GOP and i don't see her improving lifefor the poor or for schools.
Published 20 months ago by Carrie Sheridan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greater understanding of what she stands forNi, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book gives your clear. Understanding of what formed the person Nikie Haley is today. She is candid about her past and where she is in her thinking today. The fact that she is a woman I think gives her a nurturing outlook for her job as Governor and a careing for the people she serves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great story!, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
I teach at a women's liberal arts university, and I think that if Nikki Haley were a liberal, my colleagues would be building a statue to her on Front Quad! Her is a woman who overcame prejudice and obscurity, who took on the male-dominated political machines in her town and her state, who held her family together while her husband was deployed, and who imprinted her state government with her view of what's right.

Haley tells her life story with the proper mix of humility and pride, and provides more detail on her policies and political work that I find in most political autobiographies. She treats her enemies with respect (more than they showed her, certainly), and permits the researcher to easily verify the truth of what she writes. This book would make an excellent supplemental text for my college course on State and Local Politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like Nikki Haley's attitude and ambition, September 6, 2013
By 
L Neff (west Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
I did not know that Governor Haley was from an immigrant family. I have a great respect for her and her service to her country the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, inspirational read that makes you want to turn the pages like it is fiction!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
I opted to read this book because I needed to read a biography/autobiography on a policymaker for a class I was enrolled in but, boy, am I glad that I did! Nikki paints a vivid picture of her entire life, making it seem almost as if she is sitting next to you, reading the story aloud. She is very candid and does not skimp on the truth when exposing the 'bad' side of politics. I particularly loved how she talked about how she was able to overcome financial disadvantages in her campaign as that is something that people do not typically talk about. Overall, a great read that I highly recommend for anyone who is at all interested in politics or reading about a strong female leader's journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story!, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
This book was very interesting and informative. I very much enjoyed it. I'm thrilled with the price and quick shipping. Thanks so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't is not an Option: My American Story, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an informative, fast read about the rise of Nikki Haley and also about what's wrong with our political system today. I wouldn't be surprised at all if Nikki Haley isn't our first woman President. She would definitely have my vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read!!!, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book! Very well-written and inspirational! I am a Texan but I can relate to the challenges the state of South Carolina faces because our States are very similar in many respects. I admire and respect Governor Haley so much and I hope she runs for President some day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
Excellent book, sent expeditiously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good job, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good book. I enjoyed it.
They did a great job with service.
The packing was also very good
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story (Hardcover)
was a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story
Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story by Nikki Haley (Hardcover - April 3, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.