Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good. From Start to the end.
I will have to admit that at first that thinking movie was going to suck, but I was so wrong. It had great looking guys that could actually act. I also had doubts about a woman writing gay romance books let alone a movie. But I was wrong and glad that I was. G A You rock!!! I hope that this is first of her books converted to the big screen. Please pick up a copy of the...
Published 6 months ago by Stephen Glaspie

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars
I think someone's enjoyment of this movie will depend on two things: one, how much you love the Gay For You trope; and two, how much you can tolerate cheating, as one of the main characters is engaged...to a woman. Myself, I love the former, but hate the latter, so my review of "Capital Games" will reflect that.

Steve is a laid-back, mellow type of guy. He left...
Published 6 months ago by Lasha


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars, January 1, 2014
By 
Lasha (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I think someone's enjoyment of this movie will depend on two things: one, how much you love the Gay For You trope; and two, how much you can tolerate cheating, as one of the main characters is engaged...to a woman. Myself, I love the former, but hate the latter, so my review of "Capital Games" will reflect that.

Steve is a laid-back, mellow type of guy. He left the LAPD and has been working in advertising for the last five years, climbing the ladder to success. Enter one Mark Richfield, new-hire, drop dead gorgeous with a sexy accent to boot and Steve knows his days as top dog in his firm are numbered.

Steve and Mark clash from the moment they meet. Mark is a pompous, arrogant know-it-all and Steve butts heads with him 24/7. When their boss takes the office away to a ranch for "team building" exercises, I think Steve would rather be shot than go. When a simple exercise goes wrong and the men get stranded in the desert together overnight, things turn heated. All that love-hate emotion finally bursts and they have sex. Both men claim neither is gay, and try to put it behind them, but Steve is falling in love with Mark and with Mark's wedding looming, something has got to give.

I've been renting/watching independent films since 1989. Quirky, avant-garde is my thing, so I was excited to see that an M/M author was having a movie made from one of her best-selling books. On one hand, "Capital Games" is a great movie, the cast is talented (sometimes with low-budget gay films the acting is sub-par, that is not the case here). On the other, I had some issues with the plot, which is why I did not rate it higher.

First, the good things.

The production aspects on this film are top-notch. It is beautifully filmed, the sound and editing are perfection. You do not normally see this level of professionalism in low-budget movies, but "Capital Games" has that and more. The sights around Los Angeles are gorgeous and the aerial shots sublime. (Yes, I took a few film classes in college.) Two stars for just the cinematography.

Second, the acting, as I said, is above-average. Eric Presnall won me over as the sexually confused Steve Miller. He's so cute and his acting so believable I wanted to eat him up with a spoon! I see this guy's career taking off big-time. And while I did enjoy Gregor Cosgrove's performance as Mark, his British accent left a lot to be desired, so if you can get over that, you will probably like his Mark Richfield. Plus, the chemistry the two men shared on screen was burning hot. The nailed the enemies-to-lovers trope perfectly. I added another star for just them. The casting department really hit the jackpot with these two.

Now, we have to move to my reservations. While I loved the directing and acting in "Capital Games," the screenplay felt unfinished and disjointed which is why I couldn't rate it higher than 3.5 stars. I read the "Capital Games" book many moons ago, so I had a vague idea what the movie would be about. And while it does follow very closely to the novel, the movie does leave out what I felt were some of the most important aspects of the book, namely Mark's relationship with Jack, his roommate, and Steve's dysfunctional dynamic with his bigoted father, a former LAPD cop himself.

With only 97 minutes, I know a movie cannot cover everything in a book, Stephen King's novels are a great example of that. But if I were just viewing the movie, never knowing about the book, I would have a hard time following the plot. There were many inconsistencies that were never fully explained and characters who were never developed (Jack). At times I was very confused about what was going on. For example, in a flashback scene, you see an older man pull a gun on Steve and his ex-girlfriend in front of a coffee shop. That is not explained until towards the end, when its revealed the "older man" was Steve's dad! Now I know from the book, that action got Steve's father an early retirement, but the whys and hows were never explained in the movie. It just hung out there confusing me.

Another example was after Mark and Steve slept together in the desert, Steve becomes this Edward Cullen-like stalker of Mark. It was a tad creepy and made me want to tell Mark to get a restraining order against Steve. Hey, I like Insta-Love plots, but this was one hand-job...not sure how you can go from that to: "I love you, leave your fiancee." In one scene, Mark is telling Steve to leave him alone, stop touching him, then in practically the next scene they are making out in their work elevator like the previous conversation never happened! Continuity-wise those scenes did not flow together properly, so viewers who have not read the book I think would go: WTH?

Plus, Mark had some huge mood swings in this movie and while the I-want-you-I-don't-want-you can be entertaining, this push and pull was too schizophrenic for me. Mark yelled a lot and then kissed Steve, pushed him away, yelled some more, then kissed him again. I think you get my point. It was a little too soap opera-ish for me.

Now, I did say the movie had some hot sex scenes and it did. Mark and Steve should get an MTV Award for Best Kiss in a Movie. I do believe some tongue was involved. The sex scenes are not for the prudish. Yes, we've all seen simulated sex on screen, some bad, some good; but Capital Games took it to a new level by showing Mark and Steve kissing, caressing, then cut away scenes to actual simulated sex. (I had to re-watch it twice to make sure I wasn't hallucinating. For research purposes, of course. *g*)

Hey, I did say it had hot sex scenes! So, depending on what you are comfortable with, this movie strays into the NC-17 arena. I admit I gave the movie an extra .5 stars for delving into risque territory. It felt very "9 1/2 Weeks" to me.

My last niggle was the ending. I don't want to give it away, but it does end exactly like the book. So if you enjoyed that, you will like this. But that ending was the main reason I didn't love the book. Yes, with a love triangle, someone is going to wind up alone and hurt, but I think that could have been avoided by editing the end of the movie to portray Mark as a more caring, compassionate individual by not doing what he did!

So, overall, I did like many aspects of "Capital Games." I think fans of Ms. Hauser's Action series will love this movie. But for the average gay-themed movie watcher, there are some niggles. Not enough for me to advise against renting/buying it, but still some reservations that makes the movie not join my Top Ten Gay-Themed Films list.

Reviews by Jessewave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good. From Start to the end., January 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I will have to admit that at first that thinking movie was going to suck, but I was so wrong. It had great looking guys that could actually act. I also had doubts about a woman writing gay romance books let alone a movie. But I was wrong and glad that I was. G A You rock!!! I hope that this is first of her books converted to the big screen. Please pick up a copy of the movie. I will start reading the books so take time for the next movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No chemistry, February 15, 2014
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I've watched a lot of bad gay romance movies. I think this takes the cake. I'm half way through and taking a break before going back to finish it.

No one in it can act. The leads are barely touching in their first sex scene. That scene also includes a completely unnecessary dick shot. I'm all for male nudity in films, especial my gay films, but this shot was like a kid looking and quickly looking away from something he wasn't supposed to see. There are a some shots that are completely rushed and make the film feel choppy.

Back to the leads. They insta-hate each other. The hate is over the top. Their talks always go from trying to be intense constantly to screaming with no in-between. That's kind of the whole move for me from here to there with no build in the middle. These two have one shot that's believable so far. They're in the office and the chemistry is actual there for a bit. Then out lead gets all stalker like. They've had one encounter and stalking is happening? That is not romantic, that is crazy with a side of crazy.

That's as far as I've gotten. I'm going to finish but I don't see this getting any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book Becomes a Wonderful Film, November 24, 2013
By 
Richard F. Casson (GLOUCESTER, VA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
GA Hauser, the Queen of M/M erotic romance novels is proving herself to also be the Queen of M/M erotic romance movies. This adaptation of her book, Capital Games, the prequel novel to her series of 14 books in her Action series, truly brings the key characters of Mark, Steve and Jack to life. The opening scene of Steve doing his daily jog is so hot that I could have spent the entire 90 or so minutes of the film just watching that opening scene. Glad that I could not do that, because the rest of the film was so good, I would not have wanted to miss it, nor should you. All three actors portraying Mark, Steve and Jack were excellent. Mark and Steve initially disliking each other because of their competition for the same promotion at their advertising agency morphing into a deep love for each other was totally convincing. As was the distress of both Mark and Steve when Mark is determined to prove to his friends and family that he is not gay by marrying his very demanding fiance whom he is coming to dislike intensely. I will not give away the dramatic climax to the movie, though you who have read the book are aware of it. I also will not reveal the details of the extremely erotic scenes except to mention both the humor and intense sexuality of the scene when Steve wears his uniform from when he was an LA cop knowing that Mark has a police fetish. This DVD is a must have for those of you who, like myself, love this genre and particularly those who love GA's wonderful books. It would also make a great Christmas gift for any friends or relatives who enjoy M/M love stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Me and the five-star reviewers must have watched different movies!, July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since I have read the Capital Games book, I want to start out by reviewing this movie much the way I initially viewed it: as the film adaptation to the much loved book. Unfortunately, as others have pointed out, this movie is far removed from the book - so much so that I had a hard time finding anything that resembled any of the things I came to appreciate and admire about the book's characters and their stories. So this will be brief:

None of the main characters look like, sound like or resemble their respective characters in the book. The settings are quite different and even several of the tertiary characters are only vague shadows of their book selves. This was disappointing, you would think with the author of the book producing the film, you would get a decent adaptation of the story already told, apparently not.

With this in mind I will simply move on to my third viewing of this movie (I couldn't even finish the second viewing, I just lost all interest) - the one I just finished - in which I viewed this as a stand-alone movie with no book comparison (and I made myself not only finish the movie, but take notes).
What this movie IS:

* Capital Games is a movie about two men who supposedly fall in love with each other. (I say supposedly because you really have to suspend all logic to believe the story you see in this movie shows two men falling in love - I don't see it at all.)
* The movie is an independent film's attempt to portray a gay relationship. In other words, it's gay film, which in this day and age is still a feat in and of itself so one star for that hurdle. Again, not done well, but it's still out there.

And... that's about it. Now for what it is not:

The Capital Games movie is not very good. Most namely, the production value on this movie is weak, sophomoric and cringe-worthy at best. Even Ms. Hauser herself, per her blog, stated the following when speaking about CG while discussing the making of her next film:

"Beginning pre-production with a team so powerful it makes Capital Games look like a college film. And perhaps that is all it was. A learning experience for me."

If the producer knows the movie's substandard then that alone should be a huge red flag!

The acting by the two main characters, Presnall and Cosgrove, do give a performance that seems to be a study in their trying their best in a very flawed atmosphere. Although their efforts are laudable, they do not have the chemistry to carry the story on their own merits. The initial kissing scene is indeed long, but not hot, sexy or remotely romantic (to be fair, romantic probably isn't what they were going for, but who knows it's really hard to tell with this movie). Directly after the initial kissing scene is the big "first time sex"-scene where they... give each other a hand job? I'm guessing the college intern wrote that in - it reminded me of something you would see in a fraternity porn flick. In other scenes you either have Mark and Steve screaming hatred for each other, at each other, or gazing upon each other lovingly like they are in puppy-love. One particular scene has them smiling at each other giddily in the elevator at work and kissing tenderly, but they had just a scene or two before been screaming at each other. The elevator kissing scene was so off base it was as if the editor said "hey look what I found on the cutting room floor, let's just stick it here".

The movie's editing and camera work is about ten degrees shy of awful. You have close up shots of Steve taking off his shoes after a sweaty run - why? Who wants to see that, and how does it explain anything? There's tiresome overhead shower shots of Steve - not sure why. Lots of Steve inside his car just driving around, changing radio stations - really? In other words, tons of "padding" in this movie! Seriously, you could have cut out about half of this movie and still gotten the gist of things. It's misplaced shots like these and the cock shots (2 if I remember, and I'm trying not to) that are so unnecessary it's mind boggling as to what the editing team - if there even was one - was thinking (or not thinking). And then there's the odd "body shots": of someone's mouth while on the phone, of feet (I think I mentioned that, but it bears repeating) and then this long, slow shot that runs down the back of Mark's back while he lays in Steve's bed, while Steve looks on smiling (can you say cheesy?), and I don't know who directed, or even wanted that shot, but if I was the actor I would have wanted it cut out. It was not a flattering shot of a reasonably attractive man and I'm pretty sure any first year college student could have told them that.

The tertiary characters are where the acting really lacked (to put it kindly): Sharon, Sonya, Jack Larsen, Steve's sister and most especially the actor who played Charlie are wooden and distracting. Yes, Shane Keough who plays Jack is a very nice looking man, but unfortunately that's not enough here. And don't even get me started on Steve's dad; his line about "I guess you want dark meat" (not verbatim, but I am not going back to check it) was not only delivered like they pulled some guy off the street to do his part, but really? That line is awful! Who wrote that and thought it was good?

Believe it or not, with all of the above said, the one thing that distracted me the most and made me want to stop the the movie mid-stream more than once was the music and sound editing! It's second rate and reminds you of a porn movie (and I'm pretty sure that was not intended). Through most of the movie the music is too loud or there are sounds that play over dialogue. In one scene, that I'm pretty sure was suppose to be sexy, Steve is frisking Mark for fun and all you hear is this awful music, then you see Steve say something in Mark's ear but you can't hear it because the music is playing over it, but apparently it's important because Mark abruptly turns around and shoves Steve and tells him to get off him! So what did Steve say? That was kind of important don't you think?! If you want an idea of just how bad the music/sound is in this movie, watch the trailer - the trailer gives you a perfect example of the music in this film, the atrocious dialogue and the uninteresting characters. If you think the trailer is "top notch"/award winning stuff, then you might... kind of... maybe like the movie. I'm pretty confident that's not going to happen.

I don't know how this movie got 5 star reviews. I'm going to assume that these people either are relatives of the cast/crew/producer, part of the fan club or have never watched a gay-themed film that was really and truly great, or even just good. If you want a great gay movie about men falling in love, beating the odds in a difficult culture with great acting, chemistry, production values, directing, etc. you want to watch The Falls: Testament of Love and the preceding movie, The Falls. These two movies are written and directed by Jon Garcia and are nothing short of brilliant!

Please make sure you read all of the reviews, both the good, bad and the ugly along with the raves. I also would advise NOT to buy this movie, like I had to, because now I have a movie in my video library that I will NEVER watch again. For some reason, and I'm pretty sure I know why, it was decided not to make this movie available to rent so to be able to review it I had to buy it - wonderful. If you want to find out for yourself what all the polarizing reviews are about, wait for the rental option to come out on this movie or find someone you know who has already downloaded it on their device and take a peek before hitting the "buy" button, you will thank me for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Psycho/Thriller meets Rom/Com, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
OK, clearly my opinion is at odds with the majority of reviews for this movie, but diversity is a good thing.

Firstly, psycho: that's who must've written the dreadful script and then believed it would make a good movie. There was no character development which made their actions and motives unbelievable.

Secondly, thriller: I have to say I was thrilled when it finished so I didn't have to squirm with discomfort &/or stifle yawns.

Thirdly, romance: this was supposedly meant to be a romantic movie about two supposedly straight men falling in love. There was nothing remotely romantic about it. The characters were one-dimensional, and the one over-played by Gregor Cosgrove seemed Schizophrenic and about as romantic as three-day-old pizza. The actors also seemed to be physically uncomfortable in each others' presence, hence absolutely no chemistry. To be fair, even the best actors would have failed to bring this dismal script and story to a higher level.

Finally, comedy: yes, it was so bad as to be almost comical.

A lot of reviews make reference to the book, which I have not read and which should be irrelevant - the movie should be able to stand on its own. Unfortunately, for me, it doesn't. The script writer, author and executive producer is G A Hauser, who I assume is a woman. Why is it that so many women think they can write convincingly about gay men ? Surely there are other LGBT books more deserving of a transfer to the screen ?

I guess in summary, desperately trying to find something positive to say, two stars for trying, but I certainly wouldn't recommend spending 97 minutes of your life watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A cut above amateur, December 11, 2013
By 
Kathleen "Kathleen" (Walnut Creek, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I am livid!!! This has been on my wish list since it was released as a DVD. I'm just now getting around to buying it for myself for a Holiday gift and it's UNDER REVIEW? For what? Because it's a gay romance? Just how far are you going to take this censorship thing? Has Amazon turned homophobic? Good grief, what's next, pulling all the gay romance books??? I am one angry Amazon customer!

I buy a LOT of books from you. I own over 2300 ebooks and about 200 audio books. I'd hate to take my business elsewhere, it would be very difficult, but I'll do it if Amazon doesn't start acting like adults. Adults who honor our First Amendment, equality, and diversity.

EDIT: After watching the movie...a scant 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Movie is totally unbelievable, January 4, 2014
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I have not read the book but watched the movie with my husband. When it came to "the big kiss" that is supposed to start the big romance we both looked at each other and laughed. It was so unbelievable. There they are out lost in the desert about to get into a knock down drag out fight and they just leap into this kiss (that wasn't very convincing) and two supposedly straight guys fall in love just like that. What the heck? It pretty much went downhill from there. If you want a good gay romance film, try "Latter Days".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Capital Games the Movie (DVD)
I am a sucker for gay romance told well. This is told well. Having not read the book, I took a chance on buying this movie, and honestly I am glad I did.
Not only are the two main characters Steve and Mark very good looking, I felt the chemistry between these two men.
The first kiss in the desert......wow. The tension and the passion from Steve wanting to punch Mark to just suddenly kissing him. I felt it was very believable.
I have to admit...I was taken by surprise by the few quick shots of male hands on male genitals. I was like whoa! did I just see that? LOL. I had to rewind just to be sure I saw what I saw. Not something I can honestly say I have seen in a movie that wasn't porn.
All in all. I loved this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It grew on me., June 22, 2014
By 
P. L. (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is pretty cheesy. But I have to say, Eric Presnall gave everything he had to this part. It isn't the best movie, and it is very, very corny, but honestly Eric's character was played with such enthusiasm I would be interested to see what else he is in. The other character did a good job as well. It was entertaining enough. I'm not sure why I ended up liking it, other than the two main characters wormed their way into my heart. The ending is a little odd, and the occasional random peen shot were off putting, but it still held my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Capital Games the Movie
Capital Games the Movie by Gregor Cosgrove, Shane Keough Eric Presnall (DVD - 2013)
$15.99 $14.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.