Customer Reviews


430 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Beginning
SPOILER FREE***
Apotheosis, currently acting as the series finale, was not meant to be the end of the series but it should be applauded the care to wrap up the events on this story as neatly as possible and keep fans salivating for more in case Caprica was not renewed for a second season. This episode was just the Beginning of the line and definitely made this show's...
Published on January 5, 2011 by Sam F.

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted and at times I needed to fast forward.
I am about 1/2 way through, but it is getting tough. There are about five story lines at once, most of which is pure melodrama. I am not sure if I can get thru the rest.

If you expect Galactica, you will be very disappointed.
Published 13 months ago by Hereticus


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Beginning, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
SPOILER FREE***
Apotheosis, currently acting as the series finale, was not meant to be the end of the series but it should be applauded the care to wrap up the events on this story as neatly as possible and keep fans salivating for more in case Caprica was not renewed for a second season. This episode was just the Beginning of the line and definitely made this show's 18 episode run worthwhile. To anyone thinking about giving this show a try, do not be afraid for you will not be given a complete cliffhanger. There is clearly meant to be more, but enough closure is given to make the show feel complete enough to warrant the money to download. Caprca may have been fairly slow in the beginning, but it was meant to buld the world and the characters within it so that we could be taken on the wild ride the last 4 episodes trust us upon and this finale was beautiful in the way it used the technology Caprica's world introduced to its viewers and showed how it changed the world forever. If any show I have ever seen deserved a season 2, its Caprica. here's hoping that Syfy gets their heads out of the gutter and realizes the potential this show really has, and it is very evident in the last ten minutes of this brilliant conclusion. So Say We All!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why just France?!, December 21, 2012
For some insane reason, France is the only country with Caprica on Blu-Ray. It will probably never get a US release, and that really sucks. That said, this French release will do in a pinch. The quality is great, and it includes extended scenes, commentary, some interviews, and, interestingly, the entire soundtrack(though, be warned, the tracks have been edited to be background music for the actual show and it's not what Bear McCreary inteded - the real soundtrack is set to be released soon, AFAIK). The menus are in French, but they're fairly basic and not particularly difficult to navigate(though if they are, Google Translate is your friend). The French dub does play by default, but the original English audio tracks are included, as well as subs in both French and English.

There's one huge issue, however: while the Blu-Ray is not actually region protected, it's encoded at 1080/50i. Which the vast majority of US Blu-Ray players will not play. I got around it because I play it with my PC, but it doesn't work on my PS3. So be warned. There are various players that will play it, but you have to do some research first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This isn't the whole season, December 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (DVD)
Customers buying this DVD need to be aware that this is not the entire season. It ends midway through season 1. There's more on Season 1.5. To avoid frustration, I would wait until the entire season is available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled but not the fault of the story...., November 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OK, yes, it was a bit cerebral and philosophical. But the depth of the cultures was being fleshed out. The Taurans and Capricans etc. Not to mention the origins of the Monotheism that was so strangely unexplained in BSG. I wanted to know! They have 5 episodes that they are not going to air any time soon. Well, they should at least put them up for sale, I bought the season---I should get it.

Part of the problem was the constant breaks in between episodes. I mean seriously, this was not BSG and it wasn't as technically demanding of a production. Why did they break it up and doom any chance of an audience following? I am so disappointed.

Like Defying Gravity, the powers that be took away yet another thinking fans show. I am sick to death of giant shark of the month movies and blood and gore and screaming characters whose only purpose is to flash cleavage.

sigh, I'll miss you Caprica. I have to admit it makes me reluctant to watch the new BSG spin off that is in the works that centers around the Cylon Wars, Blood and Chrome. I tolerated the breaks in BSG because it was that good. But I still just tolerated them. If this new spin off is not as good as BSG I won't keep watching if there are 6-12 month breaks in the same season. Too much risk that the show will be cancelled because fans just won't keep up. I hate getting into a show only to see it disappear. Firefly was astonishing tv and poof, thanks to blunders involving the episodes releases and the lack of attention by it's network it died a sudden and untimely death.

No wonder sci fi fans are so reluctant these days. Writers and producers and the money behind it all? You guys need to take more time getting it right before airing it so we are not left with half stories and stupid reruns of Creature of the Week.

Personally, I would love to see the Edgar Rice Burroughs Mars series made into a decent series. John Carter!

~Eva
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To date, this is the best cinematic production of science fiction, May 23, 2009
By 
Solipso (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (DVD)
CAPRICA is a SyFy Channel series including Season 1.0 with a two-part pilot and eight other episodes, and Season 1.5 with nine episodes. Contrary to some reviews and comments, CAPRICA has an ending. Yes, a gap exists between CAPRICA and BATTLESTAR GALACTICA: BLOOD & CHROME and the BATTLESTAR GALACTICA series proper, and there is room for another series in that gap. But the cinematic sequences at the end of CAPRICA's final episode make it clear that the end of the final episode was meant to be the end of the series.

I say it is the best cinematic science fiction drama produced to date, including theatrical releases such as AVATAR. But who am I to say such a thing? Admittedly no one special. Just a humble fan of science fiction since I was a boy in the 1950s.

Why is CAPRICA the best? I hope I do not need to convince you that the sensual aspects of action sequences and special effects are less fulfilling than the intellectual intricacies of drama and science, because the latter two are what make CAPRICA the best. It has powerful characterizations, superb scripting, and diverse storylines that absorb your interest as they move toward conjunction. What's more, the series has a tasteful thematic background that blends computer-science virtual reality with the psychology of being (ontology). More than once in your viewing--assuming a modicum of discernment on your part--you will be faced with the question, "What must be present for the self to exist?"

Rest assured that CAPRICA is not entirely cerebral; it does offer carnal excitement. The cinematography is not the best, though I expect it would be better in Blu-ray. Still, the standard DVD is agreeable. What is critical is that the environment is clean and bright, futuristic, and at times surprisingly convincing. Also, violent scenes are not done with timidity. (You might want to view the series before letting your rugrats view it.) Sexual scenes are more tame, however. No bare breasts or genitals, unless you watch the unrated, extended version of the Pilot.

Be advised! After guzzling a six-pack of beer, you may not be able to keep track of what's going on. You need to respect this production and pay attention (enabling subtitles may help). But if you are looking for science fiction that offers more than laser-beam pyrotechnics and exploding starships, tune into this heady drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!!, September 27, 2013
Glad I got this even if it's from another region. It got here really quick and it is in blu ray that is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (DVD)
Great Show and it was really picking up towards the end. Was cancelled prematurely shame on you SciFi....it would be nice if they did a nice 2 hour move or a mini series to really tie up the loose ends of the series. They better make BSG Blood and Chrome in to a series now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, March 3, 2014
It was a great show! Well written and well acted. It is too bad they cancelled it. I wish I had seen it when it originally aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent season, September 19, 2013
This is an excellent scifi show. It is unfortunate a larger following did not occur. My understanding the 2nd season was already filmed but the network opted not to air due to lack of audience. I'm hopeful that Amazon may one day air the 2nd season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted and at times I needed to fast forward., August 7, 2013
By 
Hereticus (Savannah, GA United States) - See all my reviews
I am about 1/2 way through, but it is getting tough. There are about five story lines at once, most of which is pure melodrama. I am not sure if I can get thru the rest.

If you expect Galactica, you will be very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Caprica: Season 1.0
Caprica: Season 1.0 by Eric Stoltz (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $8.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.