Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star-Spangled Score
Growing up as I did in the UK, the comic book adventures of Captain America didn't mean very much to me. I was aware of the character, of course, and vaguely remember seeing the 1990 film starring Matt Salinger, but beyond that my knowledge of the comics, and the hoopla surrounding him was nonexistent. It turns out that he's actually something of an icon; since his first...
Published on August 19, 2011 by Jon Broxton

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable, but barely so
In fact, my enjoying the movie is probably the only reason I don't give it a lower score.
Following the movie's layout, Captain America (the score) has two modes of music: the plodding, exposition-y background (noise) first half, and the payoff action music second half. Guess which one is better!
And still, even the second half can't overcome the problems that...
Published on August 3, 2011 by shoutsma


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star-Spangled Score, August 19, 2011
By 
Jon Broxton (Thousand Oaks, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Growing up as I did in the UK, the comic book adventures of Captain America didn't mean very much to me. I was aware of the character, of course, and vaguely remember seeing the 1990 film starring Matt Salinger, but beyond that my knowledge of the comics, and the hoopla surrounding him was nonexistent. It turns out that he's actually something of an icon; since his first appearance in print in 1941 - when he was depicted landing a right slug on Hitler's jaw - he has grown to become a true all-American hero beloved by millions, with a large fan base that endures to this day.

This new version of the Captain America story - the last of the series of Avengers prequels that also includes Thor, Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk - stars Chris Evans as Steve Rogers, an ambitious and brave wannabe soldier in 1940s America who is continually turned down for military service due to his scrawny build. After impressing scientist Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci) with his determination, Rogers is selected to take part in a top-secret science experiment that intends to breed a genetically enhanced battalion of super soldiers that will help turn the fortunes of World War II in the favor of the Allies. Having now been enhanced through medicine, Rogers - now nicknamed Captain America - finds himself teaming up with beautiful British soldier Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell) and a genius engineer and inventor named Howard Stark (Dominic Cooper) to thwart the world domination plans of Johann Schmidt (Hugo Weaving), a Nazi officer who, having been horribly deformed after being subjected to too much of the serum which successfully transformed Rogers, has gone renegade from the Nazi party and started a terrorist organization, known as HYDRA.

The film is directed by Joe Johnston, who previously tackled similar wartime heroic escapism in The Rocketeer in 1991, and has a rousing, old fashioned score by Alan Silvestri. Despite initial fears that the powers-that-be would want a score which married with the other scores from the Marvel Universe films, Johnston thankfully asked Silvestri to eschew the Ramin Djawadi route and write a score which had an actual, memorable theme which cinema-goers would leave the theater whistling. Silvestri delivered in spades; not only is the Captain America theme one of the most instantly memorable and catchy main themes in years, it's also Silvestri's best work of any kind since 2004 when he hit us with the one-two double whammy of Van Helsing and The Polar Express. Banishing the tuneless rumbling of scores like The A-Team and GI Joe, Silvestri's Captain America is a rousing, patriotic, vigorously entertaining action score of the highest order, anchored by a magnificent central theme.

The centerpieces of the score are the action sequences, of which there are quite a lot, and which frequently reference other great Silvestri action scores like Predator, Judge Dredd, The Mummy Returns and even Back to the Future. Silvestri is such a distinctive composer, in the way he combines certain instruments, in the way he phrases his brass, in the way he uses percussion in layers of sound (listen for those crazy xylophones!), in the way he uses his strings to perform churning staccato rhythms, that these allusions are not criticisms - it's simply the way Silvestri writes. That warm blanket of genial familiarity is one of Captain America's most appealing aspects, earmarking it as a Silvestri score through and through.

Cues such as "Kruger Chase", "Hydra Train" and "Motorcycle Mayhem" have a sense of unremitting forward motion that occasionally recalls the exciting action material from The Polar Express. The breathlessly anticipatory "VitaRays", the dark and intimidating "Factory Inferno", and the magnificent conclusive pair "Invasion" and "Fight on the Flight Deck" are simply relentless, containing an overwhelming energy and urgency that is palpable. Elsewhere, the nerve-shredding "Troop Liberation" contains one of the score's most prominent uses of synthetic elements, a subtle-yet-noticeable set of electronic pulses and industrial scrapes which add to the tension of the piece. When the strings explode into frantic runs at around the 3:00 mark, the cue really shines. These cues, some of which are interspersed with fanfare-style blasts of the Captain America theme, represent some of the best action material Silvestri has written in years, and are filled to the brim with the ticking snare riffs, the low brass clusters and the surging string writing that has made Silvestri an action favorite for nigh on 30 years.

But the score is not all bombast; there is a great deal of string-led emotion and pathos in cues such as "Farewell to Bucky" and especially "This Is My Choice", as well as a lovely and unexpectedly tender duet for strings and harp in "Passage of Time". The Red Skull, Johann Schmidt's terrible alter-ego, gets a menacing little motif of his own, heard in "Frozen Wasteland", "Schmidt's Treasure", the elaborate and sinister "Hydra Lab", "Schmidt's Story" and "Hostage on the Pier". The Skull's theme plays sort of like a flipped-around version of the Captain America march, the ying to Rodgers's yang. You can hear it rumbling around in the depths of cues such as the aforementioned "Factory Inferno" and "Fight on the Flight Deck", as the Captain and the Skull go mano-a-mano on each other in HYDRA's secret headquarters and later in the cockpit of a prototype plane, and it cleverly echoes the unfortunate similarities between the pair: under different circumstances, Schmidt could have had Rodgers's powers without the unfortunate side effects.

Another thing I like greatly is the way the CD is structured; Captain America's grand theme, although hinted at in several of the opening cues (as a simple brass fanfare in the "Main Titles", with a light, breezy, almost tongue-in-cheek attitude in "Training the Supersoldier") does not appear fully until the ninth cue, "Captain America - We Did It!" By the time we get to "Triumphant Return" the theme has become bolder and more assertive, and by the finale, in cues such as "Captain America" and the "Captain America March", it's virtually impossible not to feel an enormous smile spreading across your face as you listen. The bold brass theme, the martial snare drum licks, the trilling woodwind scales, the cymbal clashes, and the accompanying orchestral flourishes come straight from the John Williams book of rousing finishes, and that is definitely intended as a compliment. This progression of the theme through the score mirrors that of Steve Rogers progression through the film, beginning with his aspirations to become an all-American hero, and not receiving a full performance of the theme until he actually becomes one.

Speaking of the "Captain America March", this is the astonishingly wonderful piece that plays over the first section of the end credits, and is a bonus cue not found on the regular CD release - it is only available as a digital download. While leaving off the best cue on the score off the album entirely is an absolute travesty, I'm going to ignore the fact that it is a horrible marketing gimmick, and instead just recommend that everyone goes out and downloads it anyway, because you won't be disappointed.

The song, "Star Spangled Man", was actually written by Alan Menken and David Zippel for a humorous montage sequence in which Captain America is used as a propaganda tool to raise morale for troops. The intentionally cheesy melody, hilariously sincere lyrics and flighty orchestrations are straight from Irving Berlin's 1940s songbook, and fit perfectly with the slightly camp and over-the-top theatrics of the sequence. It creates a slightly jarring effect when listened to as part of the full CD listening experience because the tone of the piece is so different from everything that preceded it, but I truly hope it picks up an Academy Award nomination next year, for no other reason than I want to see a stage full of red, white and blue chorus girls singing the line "who'll hang a noose on the goose-stepping goons from Berlin".

Captain America is one of the most enjoyable scores of the summer for one single reason - it's fun. There's nothing pretentious about it, nothing hidden, no deeper meanings. Much like the film it accompanies it wears its heart on it's sleeve and has a simple intent: to excite you, entertain you, and leave the experience smiling. Sometimes you just need a score like that, filled with basic pleasures, and Silvestri's work here succeeds on that mark with aplomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!!, July 26, 2011
By 
Ernie McHone (Franklin, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Alan Silvestri has created a memorable score that will entertain generations to come. Having been born in the mid eighties, my childhood memories were filled with the music of John Williams from The Star Wars and Indiana Jones films. To this day, I still believe that the Indiana Jones and Original Star Wars films are among the best ever made. The Indiana Jones films in particular took place in a time when America was preparing to enter the second World War. George Lucas and Steven Spielberg have emphatically stated, that these films were made as a tribute to the great Saturday Matinee serials of their childhood. I never thought in a million years that I would see a film or hear a film score for that matter that would capture that feeling. Captain America is simply put, the movie to beat this summer. Not just because of it's excellent cast (Chris Evans, Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, Hayley Atwell, Dominic Cooper, Neal McDonough,etc) but because of this awesome score. No where in today's cinematic world do we hear the grandiose music of yesteryear. From the opening track to the final "Star Spangled Man", this soundtrack is a thrill ride just like the film.

My personal favorites - "Frozen Wasteland", "Captain America Main Titles" and "Star Spangled Man". Watch the movie and buy the soundtrack today. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid orchestral writing, moments of reverent beauty and triumph, July 19, 2011
By 
Storylover (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Alan Silvestri is no stranger to action movies, so it is no surprise that he can beat out an exciting orchestral score with plenty of pounding tympani and urgent strings (Predator, The Mummy Returns). He also has a gentle way about him (see his marvelous Forest Gump soundtrack, and the charming Stuart Little). Captain America's soundtrack hits all the expected moments--stirring themes that soar into the higher registers before crashing back down into drumbeats with swirling harps. Martial beats with brassy brave trumpet and horn sections, interesting (if not especially complex) percussive writing. The themes are memorable and hummable, but are not especially new sounding. There is nothing here that matches some of the other major film score writers at their most wondrous--no Hedwig's Theme, no Raiders of the Lost Arc, not even a Maurice Jarre moment, but what you will get is fun, loud, brash, well written, tuneful cinematic music. You probably won't place this on frequent rotation, but it is certainly good for the background while studying (if you don't mind loud drums!) and daydreaming. I can imagine some pretty interesting dramatic dances as well. Overall, I've enjoyed this one, but I'm not sure that it will haunt my memories forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Adventure Score Done With Old Fashioned Sensibilities, September 19, 2011
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Alan Silvestri is one of the world's most respected composers, and he is for a good reason. Silvestri thrives on adventure scores yet is able to hit emotional beats with ease. His thematic sensibility is also extremely strong. With scores like Back To The Future, Forrest Gump, The Mexican and The Mummy Returns he has shown what strong themes can do. If I were to compare this score to any of his others it would be The Mummy Returns with the feel of Back To The Future. The whole deal has a hint of Giacchino played through it and the main theme is eerily close to Giacchino's Medal Of Honor theme. However, Silvestri makes it his own and the score is quite good.

The score is old fashioned in that this is a 99% orchestral score. I was surprised that electronics found their way into the soundscape later in the story, but they didn't hinder the feel at all and in fact tied in quite nicely with the science fiction aspect of it all. The music is constantly pumping, which makes for an exciting and entertaining listen. If there are any N64 players who remember Shadows Of The Empire they may be inclined to be a little nostalgic because the score has the feel of that in a few places. The score stays heroic with its soundscape and is always big and boisterous. As you listen through you may get the sensation that the score gets repetitive, and it does in some places. At times it feels like you're running in place but Silvestri kicks it into high gear for the final act.

In the end this is a good adventure score done with old fashioned sensibilities. It lacks any real emotional depth or character, but the experience is worth the price. I personally enjoy his score to The Mummy Returns much more, and with a summer full of super heroes we've seen better. Patrick Doyle and Henry Jackman take the Marvel universe crowns with their scores this summer, but Alan Silvestri is right behind those two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music of Action, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Here one hears music that reflect a movie that is big on action. To make this type of movie its important that one see not only action and mayhem but feel it. This "feel" is that the music conveys this action. Music makes a movie. To get it right the composer must be one with the audience. They must feel the pulse of the music, and with it the pain and the glory with the actors, which allows us to participate not only to see the movie but to be a part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Silvestri., July 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Though the theme isn't great, the action music is exceptional. The sound quality for my Amazon download is questionable, though, sounding like a bad MP3. I'm not sure what's at fault for that, just FYI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable, but barely so, August 3, 2011
By 
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
In fact, my enjoying the movie is probably the only reason I don't give it a lower score.
Following the movie's layout, Captain America (the score) has two modes of music: the plodding, exposition-y background (noise) first half, and the payoff action music second half. Guess which one is better!
And still, even the second half can't overcome the problems that plague the entire score.

It's unmemorable and it's obvious.

Never a moment comes that defies what I would expect from its respective scene, and yet I can't for the life of me hum any of the music (especially the main Captain America theme) or place which sections of music go where. It may, in part, be due to the heavily layered orchestration, but in general it just never soars. My emotions were left un-manipulated.
The two tracks that, for me, are the exception are "Hydra Train" and "'Rain Fire Upon Them'" which bring in some fun bombast here and there.
Then there's the song "Star Spangled Man", written by Alan Menken and David Zippel. While the dark score and bright song don't compliment each other, the song is way too fun and infectious to dismiss, and will more than likely gain a best song nomination come Oscar season. Although little else here will.
Silvestri is an old fashioned composer, a minority these days, but if you want to hear a fun, pop score of his, check out Van Helsing. This is just occasionally fun and a little too paint-by-the-numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure Score!, September 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Adventure Score by Alan Silvestri! Over the years Alan Silvestri has created some gems, Back to the Future, Forest Gump, and some others, and then (in my opinion) he's made some not so great scores, at least for listening to. They work perfectly in the films, but weren't all that fun to listen to.

But this score was Perfect for this film! He created a nice "throw back" feel to when adventure films made you feel good and the scores were a perfect marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Too Homogeneous to be Great, September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good soundtrack, for which I willingly paid $5, but I don't know that it is worth more than that to me. The music is a little to patriotic, almost sappy, and does not have enough variation in it to keep me listening to the album straight through without interruption. It still has some great tracks, however, and is an important part of the Marvel movie library of soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Silvestri, nice job, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (Audio CD)
Always a great selection of music with Alan Silvestri. Sometimes a bit too slow, but the movie was a character builder and that is how he did it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain America
Captain America by Alan Silvestri (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.